• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Upgrading the GPU ?

Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name cruiser
Processor Intel quad I7 940
Motherboard gigabyte x58 Extreme
Cooling zalman 9700
Memory corsair 3x2 gig extreme pc 1600
Video Card(s) BFG Gtx295
Storage WD/ raptor 150g
Display(s) fpd2275w lcd monitor
Case thermaltake armor va8000 Bws
Audio Device(s) creative sxfi
Power Supply thermaltake t power700
Software win vista 64bit premium
#1
:confused:I have an asus mobo with an 8800gt and 4gigs of ram
using windows vista. and 700watt psu.
my question is can i upgrade to a 260gt or an 280gt
with this mobo. thanks in advance.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#3
go for a 280 700w is fine
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#4
like a charm. I would wait for the 295 in january.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name cruiser
Processor Intel quad I7 940
Motherboard gigabyte x58 Extreme
Cooling zalman 9700
Memory corsair 3x2 gig extreme pc 1600
Video Card(s) BFG Gtx295
Storage WD/ raptor 150g
Display(s) fpd2275w lcd monitor
Case thermaltake armor va8000 Bws
Audio Device(s) creative sxfi
Power Supply thermaltake t power700
Software win vista 64bit premium
#5
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
3,047 (0.86/day)
Likes
295
Location
Pontaic Michigan
System Name The Netbook
Processor Intel Atom n270
Memory 1GB DDR2 533mhz
Video Card(s) Intel G945
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 10.1" LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Starter x86
#6
So long as your PSU is sporting enough PCI-e rails you should be fine.
 

kysg

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
1,255 (0.37/day)
Likes
98
Location
Pacoima, CA
System Name Workhorse lappy
Processor AMD A6 3420
Memory 8GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) ATI radeon 6520G
Storage OCZ Vertex4 128GB SSD SATAIII
Display(s) 15inch LCD
Software Windows 7 64bit
#7
would you know the difference between 2.0 and the expressx16
on the mobo.
not sure about this question are you talking about bandwidth???

if its one card then your fine, you only worry about bandwidth when you work with SLI.
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.20/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#8
would you know the difference between 2.0 and the expressx16
on the mobo.
The card uses PCIe 2.0 and your mobo uses 1.0. It doesnt make a difference though, they are compatible with each other :).
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name cruiser
Processor Intel quad I7 940
Motherboard gigabyte x58 Extreme
Cooling zalman 9700
Memory corsair 3x2 gig extreme pc 1600
Video Card(s) BFG Gtx295
Storage WD/ raptor 150g
Display(s) fpd2275w lcd monitor
Case thermaltake armor va8000 Bws
Audio Device(s) creative sxfi
Power Supply thermaltake t power700
Software win vista 64bit premium
#9
not sure about this question are you talking about bandwidth???

if its one card then your fine, you only worry about bandwidth when you work with SLI.
try to bare with me , cause i'm not sure myself.
what happen here is that i went to n vidia .com and it gave me an option; (under graphics cards) to choose between 2.0 and the express x16. under 2.0 it showed gpu's from 200 and up.
under express x16 it showed an 8800gtx and i thought it was the best
card i can get for my mobo. so therefore it confused me also .
and led me to ask this ?. where can find more info regarding gpu's.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
5,105 (1.33/day)
Likes
1,249
Location
Kansas
Processor Core i5 3570K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Pro4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Extreme
Memory 2x4GB GSkill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming
Storage 240GB OCZ ARC 100, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Antec P100
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Edge 750W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64
#10
A Crosshair will take any PCI-E card. Fire it up!
 

kysg

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
1,255 (0.37/day)
Likes
98
Location
Pacoima, CA
System Name Workhorse lappy
Processor AMD A6 3420
Memory 8GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) ATI radeon 6520G
Storage OCZ Vertex4 128GB SSD SATAIII
Display(s) 15inch LCD
Software Windows 7 64bit
#11
I gotta think about this for a sec.

Okay crosshair this is the old 590 SLI MCP one right???

if so and if I'm right then I'm sure it uses pci express 16 1.0 spec. you would take a bandwidth hit but I think it would be no biggie for the 280 or the 260. heck you could even add another 8800GT for SLI.

Still I'm not 100% sure on the bandwidth. You can upgrade but there would be slight bandwidth hit. I'd check asus website and google up some information on the board itself. Should be what I thought it was above.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#12
yes... get it... great card, will work fine with ur specs... psu is aplenty for one (or two) of them.
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.20/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#13
I gotta think about this for a sec.

Okay crosshair this is the old 590 SLI MCP one right???

if so and if I'm right then I'm sure it uses pci express 16 1.0 spec. you would take a bandwidth hit but I think it would be no biggie for the 280 or the 260. heck you could even add another 8800GT for SLI.

Still I'm not 100% sure on the bandwidth. You can upgrade but there would be slight bandwidth hit. I'd check asus website and google up some information on the board itself. Should be what I thought it was above.
A GTX 280 wouldnt use much more than PCIe 16x 1.0 bandwith :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name cruiser
Processor Intel quad I7 940
Motherboard gigabyte x58 Extreme
Cooling zalman 9700
Memory corsair 3x2 gig extreme pc 1600
Video Card(s) BFG Gtx295
Storage WD/ raptor 150g
Display(s) fpd2275w lcd monitor
Case thermaltake armor va8000 Bws
Audio Device(s) creative sxfi
Power Supply thermaltake t power700
Software win vista 64bit premium
#15
yes it's a 590 SLI mcp.( when you say bandwidth hit ) does it have to do
with the cpu or the memory?
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.20/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#16
yes it's a 590 SLI mcp.( when you say bandwidth hit ) does it have to do
with the cpu or the memory?
Well PCIe 2.0 has double the bandwith capacity of PCIe 1.0. So a PCIe 2.0 16x slot is like a PCIe 1.0 32x slot (which dont exist).

So, if the card uses more than 16x speed, the 1.0 slot cant produce any more bandwith.

That being said tho, a GTX 280 doesnt use that much more than 16x.
 

kysg

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
1,255 (0.37/day)
Likes
98
Location
Pacoima, CA
System Name Workhorse lappy
Processor AMD A6 3420
Memory 8GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) ATI radeon 6520G
Storage OCZ Vertex4 128GB SSD SATAIII
Display(s) 15inch LCD
Software Windows 7 64bit
#17
OK listen.....when you plug a pci e 2.0 in a x16 slot you loose something like 200 points in 3d mark, nothing considerable.....believe me it's still worth upgrading.;)
I stand corrected. tbh I didn't know too much about the bandwidth.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#18
U wouldnt notice the difference from PCI-e 1.1 to 2.0, it would be like going from DDR2 667Mhz to 800mhz thats why alot of people stayed with there nf 680i and did bother upgrading to 780i. and i would get a 260 or 280 and then wait for the 350 because dual GPU cards are trouble, they mite sound good but i would rather a single GPU card that had the same performance.
 

Boyfriend

New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2008
Messages
160 (0.05/day)
Likes
34
System Name Black Star
Processor Core2Duo E7200 @ 2.53 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5K-VM (G33)
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper N520 + 3 120 mm Fans
Memory Corsair CM2X1024-6400C4DHX , 4,4,4,12,2T, 2x1 GB
Video Card(s) MSI NX8500GT TD256E
Storage WD Caviar Blue 320GB + Maxtor 500 GB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX1940w 19"
Case Vento ATX
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD (On-Board)
Power Supply Cooler Master Extreme 460 W
Software Windows 7 RTM 32-Bit + KIS 2011 CF2 (ab)
#19
PCI Express x16 v 2.0 is only beneficial if u are going to use 2 graphic cards (SLi, Crossfire, X2 Version of a card), else it is of no use.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.14/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#20
even if the gtx 280 will use the full bandwith of pcie 1.0 (which i dont think), it going to kik ass anyway, so plug n play :D
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,576 (1.44/day)
Likes
864
System Name MightyX (MITX)
Processor Core i7 4770K @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asus Z87i-Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 LP
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OC
Storage Lots of SSD's
Display(s) AOC AGON AG352QCX
Case Raven RVZ-01
Power Supply SFX 450 G
Mouse Razer Mamba Tournament Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
#21
the 8800GT should tide you down till the 55nm revamps of the GTX260/280 hit, i'd imagine you'd be more pleased with one of those, and if you have more than 1 pci-e, you can keep the 112 sp's in your 8800GT cranking for physx :rockout:
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#22
go for gtx260+ or ati 4870 , the gtx 280 ot ati 4870x2 booth of them are expensive and there is not too much different from gtx260 or 4870x2
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,870 (0.39/day)
Likes
249
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
#23
get a HD 4870 1GB it will play all games and smooth fps and will output lossless 7.1 audio from Blu-ray and no internal audio cables needed, will also lower cpu usage from 80% to less than 3% when playing back blu-ray
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#24
WHy don't you just pickup a 2nd 8800GT juan?
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
395 (0.12/day)
Likes
46
System Name Dicks
Processor Dicks
Motherboard More Dicks
Cooling Gigantic cocks
Memory Balls
Video Card(s) Not sure, but perfect for gay porn.
Storage HARD GAY!
Case Case of gay
Power Supply Poweful Gay supply
Benchmark Scores 9001 niggawats of gay
#25