• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

UPS recommendation

sunhdp

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi,
I am new to this forum, Yesterday i got my new APC BACK-UPS 1100va will it able to handle 1000w PSU, Please help
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#2
It's not the PSU it's got to handle it's your system demand. I use a 1500va \900w and i get 30 minutes to a 190w load.

So whats your system and whats the watt of the ups ?.

And a ups is really for saving your shit untill you can shut it down and not to keep it up till power is back.
 

sunhdp

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
Its 1100va\660w and my specs are
core i7 920
rampage ii exterme
6gb ddr3
hd 6970
1 ssd and 2x1tb hard drives
corsair hx1000 psu
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#4
Should be fine to use it, but you might only have a few minutes and the only way to really find out is to try it..

So hook it all up and make sure it's fully charged, any chance UPS made a gadget\program to give you a way to monitor the status of the UPS ?.

So check there site and surly they have some thing to monitor it with..
 

sunhdp

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
No their is no gadget or program for this unit, I contact APC they said that this unit is not recommended for 1000w PSU even for just shut down during power cut so i am going to purchase their APC Smart-UPS 1500VA with 980 Watts/1500 VA.Thanks for reply
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
6,560 (1.71/day)
Likes
835
System Name Vintage
Processor i7 - 3770K @ Stock
Cooling Scythe Zipang II
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage M4 124GB SSD// WD Black 640GB// WD Black 1TB//Samsung F3 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung SM223BW 21.6"
Case Generic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software Windows 7
#6
Hi. I pulled a few posts for you from a thread I made a while back when I was trying to cure a problem related to shutdowns.


It is always recommended to have a UPS that is more powerful than your PSU but as has been pointed out it's not really necessary for short term outtages, what you do need is a unit that will power your equipment for long enough for you to save any work and shut down the PC.

because of that I would perhaps recommend this unit, whilst it has a VA of 1000, in reality it handles 480W which should be more than capable of giving you that 20 seconds shutdown, it is also a tad cheaper than the weaker one you had identified.........

http://www.amazon.co_uk/dp/B00274V510/?tag=tec053-21

Im am not an expert on this, just have researched a bit.

A 360w (~650VA) should be sufficient for simple drop-outs, brown-outs and the occasiona 1 or 2 minute power outage. If you need it to hold for a longer period, get something like a 1500VA.

Only plug in your computer and monitor, not any peripherals, for longer run-time when on the battery. If you are not using the comuter during the power outage, it will most likely be off or hibernating so the battery should hold for quite awhile.

I use both APC and Tripplite here at work and have no problems with either (other than having to replace batteries). I have a 1500VA APC on my rig at home and it is rock solid and has never failed me in a power outage situation.


well the wattage is only part of it - there should also be a VA (volts * Amps) rating that will let you know HOW LONG it can draw the wattage it's rated at.

you also have to make sure the wattage can run your pc, even if only for a few seconds. a serious drop in watts could cause as much damage as a straight loss.

so how big is your power supply, and how much power does your monitor draw. mouse and keyboard should be minimal - but any other usb devices should be counted or plugged into a surge protector outside of the UPS.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#7
Its 1100va\660w and my specs are
core i7 920
rampage ii exterme
6gb ddr3
hd 6970
1 ssd and 2x1tb hard drives
corsair hx1000 psu
No their is no gadget or program for this unit, I contact APC they said that this unit is not recommended for 1000w PSU even for just shut down during power cut so i am going to purchase their APC Smart-UPS 1500VA with 980 Watts/1500 VA.Thanks for reply
They would reconmend that as they probably think your drawing 600w+. Were really your drawing about 200w-400w.

Hi. I pulled a few posts for you from a thread I made a while back when I was trying to cure a problem related to shutdowns.
+1
 

sunhdp

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
That's a great relief i really got worried thinking that my computer may get damaged. Thank you very much for helping me and i am thinking of upgrading my 3yrs old PSU to HX1050, What do you think?
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2009
Messages
180 (0.06/day)
Likes
33
#9
That's a great relief i really got worried thinking that my computer may get damaged. Thank you very much for helping me and i am thinking of upgrading my 3yrs old PSU to HX1050, What do you think?
A power supply with too much load will never be damaged by that load. And the undersized supply will never damage its load. As was true with electronics long before the PC existed. If a load is too big, the power source must simply power off.

A UPS with too much load will never be damaged by the load. And the power supply powered by an undersized UPS will never damage the supply. Properly designed hardware means a load to too big, then power source (UPS) simply powers off.

Since most UPSes connect a computer directly to AC mains when not in battery backup mode, then shutoff will only occur when the UPS switches to batteries.
 
Last edited: