• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

UPS Selection ?'s

Joined
Nov 17, 2013
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Lansing, MI
#26
Hey As,

I am not concerned as much about run-time during a power out situation as much as just being able to keep my PC running when the UPS is plugged into a live (normal) power source.

The wording on a UPS is kind of deceiving. You would think that a 900w UPS has a 900 watt output only when the line power is out. However it actually means that it can only handle 900w of load power (anything after the ups) at it;s peak performance no matter if the line power (utility) is on or off.

1 minute of run time is enough for me as I am just mainly getting the UPS for protection from grid anomalies.
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#27
I am not concerned as much about run-time during a power out situation as much as just being able to keep my PC running when the UPS is plugged into a live (normal) power source.
Then why do you want a UPS? a surge protector can help for much less without the complication, and no matter what you do it's not enough - you should always back up your data and EXPECT loss, plan for it.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,101 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,234
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#28
Hey As,

I am not concerned as much about run-time during a power out situation as much as just being able to keep my PC running when the UPS is plugged into a live (normal) power source.

The wording on a UPS is kind of deceiving. You would think that a 900w UPS has a 900 watt output only when the line power is out. However it actually means that it can only handle 900w of load power (anything after the ups) at it;s peak performance no matter if the line power (utility) is on or off.

1 minute of run time is enough for me as I am just mainly getting the UPS for protection from grid anomalies.
Yeah, 900w is the max the electronics in the UPS can handle. I'm not sure if it includes surge-only, battery-only, or surge+battery but it is most likely battery-only.

You want at least 5 minutes of runtime: two minutes to save stuff, three minutes to shut down. As long as the overloaded alarm isn't going off, it should be able to supply that much time.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,425 (5.49/day)
Likes
10,574
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#29
My 900w Cyberpower UPS can handle my i7 875 overclocked in my main rig with SLI GTX470s at full load, so I'd say it can handled the SLI 780s. Of course with game load the runtime is like 1 minute... But once I stop the game the runtime jumps to 5+ minutes.
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2013
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Lansing, MI
#30
Then why do you want a UPS? a surge protector can help for much less without the complication, and no matter what you do it's not enough - you should always back up your data and EXPECT loss, plan for it.
Hii,
A surge protector protects against surges like short circuits in the grid or lightening overloads. A UPS does this as well, but it also works to clean power line anomalies like under/over voltages that can damage electronics. They do this because they use a battery to store and send power to your device. It is it's own power filter/source. The benefit of it is that it can also work as a small generator. I want it for the filtering properties.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
832 (0.45/day)
Likes
138
Location
California
System Name Primary/Secondary/HTPC/Server
Processor i5-4590/i3-3220/A4-5300 APU/Pentium G3258
Motherboard MSI Z97S Krait/Biostar TH67+/ASRock FM2A75Pro4-M/MSI Z87M-G43
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S/Stock Intel/Stock AMD/Stock Intel
Memory 16GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/10GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX760 2GB/Radeon HD5870 1GB/Radeon HD7480D/Intel
Storage 480GB SSD+ 3TB HDD/240GB SSD/60GB SSD/2x 2TB HDD Intel RAID1
Display(s) 3x Samsung 23" 1080P/Acer 24" 1080P/LG TV 32" 720P
Case Fractal Design/Corsair (it was free)/Silverstone ML03/Antec VSK3000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W/Cougar 550W/Antec 380W/In Win 350W
Mouse it moves the pointer, clicks, and scrolls
Keyboard CM Storm MX Blue/Logitech/Logitech
Software Win7 Pro/Win7 Pro/Win10 Pro/Win7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Buy American - Choose Chevrolet/GMC Trucks!
#31
Most people think the point of a UPS is so you never need to shut down - wrong. It's only to give you time to save and shut down. That said, it's also a great way to clean the power to your computer, IF and ONLY IF you use a high quality. A lousy UPS will do little to no filtering, lag in switching to the battery letting the voltage dip quite much, then provide unclean power while running from battery. So, if you're going to use a UPS use a high quality unit. I prefer APC personally never let me down - just as with any manufacturer they make some models better than others, so don't go for the cheapest APC you can find.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,379 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,795
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#32
Hey As,

I am not concerned as much about run-time during a power out situation as much as just being able to keep my PC running when the UPS is plugged into a live (normal) power source.

The wording on a UPS is kind of deceiving. You would think that a 900w UPS has a 900 watt output only when the line power is out. However it actually means that it can only handle 900w of load power (anything after the ups) at it;s peak performance no matter if the line power (utility) is on or off.

1 minute of run time is enough for me as I am just mainly getting the UPS for protection from grid anomalies.
Was just letting you know is all :)..


Hii,
A surge protector protects against surges like short circuits in the grid or lightening overloads. A UPS does this as well, but it also works to clean power line anomalies like under/over voltages that can damage electronics. They do this because they use a battery to store and send power to your device. It is it's own power filter/source. The benefit of it is that it can also work as a small generator. I want it for the filtering properties.
Well when our power has dipped which has been about 3 times in it's life time every thing has stayed on and you just hear the fan kick in for a short while.

 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,443 (1.58/day)
Likes
1,623
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#33
I got a 620w Antec HGC-620M and I got an APC Back-UPS 1000VA and I can run at full load for 28 minutes and "normal" load for 55 minutes. Not too bad for a 120USD UPS.