• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

UPS's - Does anyone use them for the main rig or their networking kit or something else??

Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
1,198 (0.86/day)
Location
Arizona
System Name Space Heater MKIV
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-PLUS WiFi
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate with Noctua NF-A15 and NF-F12, 3x Noctua NF-A14s
Memory 2x16GB Team T-Force Dark Z DDR4-3600 C18 1.35V
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700 XT MECH OC
Storage 1TB WD Black SN750, 2x1TB Crucial MX500 (striped array)
Display(s) Monoprice 35" 3440x1440p 100Hz
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Panasonic SB-PM19, Klipsch ProMedia Subwoofer, Samson SR850
Power Supply EVGA 750 B3, CyberPower CST135XLU
Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Brown
Software Windows 10 LTSC 2021
I have two identical (1300VA) UPSes for my main PC and my home server. Our wireless networking setup is also on a 450VA UPS.

During the last extended power outage we had, we were able to still use the internet for about 45 minutes if I remember. My server was also able to shut down properly rather than just having the power cut (which can potentially cause all sorts of issues).

I would love to experiment with a whole-house battery backup based on deep-cycle marine batteries or the like. We already have solar, so I'm sure we could do some neat stuff with that.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
52,499 (8.31/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + WD AN1500 1TB + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
I use a Cyberpower one on my main PC, and want a smaller one for my modem/router
It's good with generic drivers as windows treats it as a laptop battery - i think with as much off as possible, i can see around 45 minutes to an hour of power on it

I dont get many outages here, so its not about keeping things running for hours or anything, but rather coverage for the rare brownout and time to safely shut down

Threads like this always make me re-check current UPS prices, always poo. One of those "UPS in a power board" type ones would be ideal for my modem/router.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,558 (5.06/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
I got so desperate about the cost of replacing the batteries that first I tried to extend their life

then I tried supercapacitors to get a few minutes of runtime

nice to see lithium-based UPS units are now available

 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,873 (3.20/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 32GB (4 x 8GB) @ DDR4-3600 (Samsung B-Die)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3 (non-LHR)
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB PCIe 3.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 Titanium 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 w/ Cherry Green Keyswitches & aftermarket PBT keycaps
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
nice to see lithium-based UPS units are now available
Still quite expensive though. Would take quite a few lead acid replacements to make up the difference.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2020
Messages
230 (0.31/day)
Location
Turkey
System Name Asus Tuf
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Asus Tuf x570 Plus Wifi
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism + Arctic MX-4
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) MSI 1660
Storage 500 GB WD nvme + 2 TB Seagate HDD + 2 TB Seagate HDD
Display(s) 21,5" AOC Full HD
Case Asus Tuf
Audio Device(s) Altec Lansing
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Logitech G G102
Keyboard Corsair K68
Software Windows10 LTSC 64 bit
I do use line interactive APC brand UPS. It has also voltage regulator function.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,558 (5.06/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Still quite expensive though. Would take quite a few lead acid replacements to make up the difference.

True, way out of my budget... but putting a lithium battery in an old UPS might not be; but for the moment our electricity is so stable as not to justify such a project.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
2,527 (0.63/day)
Processor AMD 5900x
Motherboard Asus x570 Strix-E
Cooling Hardware Labs
Memory G.Skill 4000c17 2x16gb
Video Card(s) RTX 3090
Storage Sabrent
Display(s) Samsung G9
Case Phanteks 719
Audio Device(s) Fiio K5 Pro
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K95
True, way out of my budget... but putting a lithium battery in an old UPS might not be;
It would be a bad idea to throw lithium chemistry batteries in there w/o a BMS. Take a look at this retrofit 12v Lithium battery for a Tesla and note it's using a lower density chemistry, LFP. Notice that it includes a BMS to regulate voltage, load balancing, damage prevention etc etc. W/o a BMS, think FIRE.

 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,558 (5.06/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
I would not consider a battery without an inbuilt BMS circuit

Dakota Lithium 12v 10Ah Battery - Half the Weight & Twice the Power
"
INCLUDES ACTIVE BMS PROTECTION
Contains a circuit that handles cell balancing, low voltage cutoff, high voltage cutoff, short circuit protection and high temperature protection for increased performance and longer life.
"

Amusingly, by 'twice the power' they really mean 'twice the energy'
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
2,527 (0.63/day)
Processor AMD 5900x
Motherboard Asus x570 Strix-E
Cooling Hardware Labs
Memory G.Skill 4000c17 2x16gb
Video Card(s) RTX 3090
Storage Sabrent
Display(s) Samsung G9
Case Phanteks 719
Audio Device(s) Fiio K5 Pro
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K95
The other thing that will not be good is the charging. I doubt the charger in a UPS is lipo ready/safe.

That said, Tesla has started to change the 12v lead batts in their catl lithium cells. Also, they're doing it in all cars not just the S/X in the article. Lead acid in whatever form marine etc suck balls. These lithium batts will last the life of the car so up to 500K miles which is what is expected of the car's HV pack w/o only 20% degradation. Not bad...


So they can now handle cranking currents?
There's nothing to crank on an EV.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
5,160 (1.73/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard ASUS X570-PLUS TUF Gaming
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240mm AIO
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Ares OEM DDR4-3200 (B-die)
Video Card(s) Inno3D RTX 3070 Ti iChill
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case ghetto CM Cosmos RC-1000
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Modecom Volcano Blade (Kailh choc LP)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
Still quite expensive though. Would take quite a few lead acid replacements to make up the difference.
Not by much, considering all benefits:
1) Don't need to swap as often as SLAB or gel, which saves the cost.
2) Usually your UPS gets a lot longer warranty coverage (usually based on how long your first batch of batteries lasts). W/ led-acid models you usually get 2 years, while Li-ion models from APC or EATON get around 5 year coverage, cause they expect the battery to go first. May be not critical, but gives you a piece of mind.
3) There are relatively inexpensive conversion kits for regular UPS, or a straight-forward drop-in replacements, which only cost few % more than conventional SLAB and sometimes a little cheaper than AGM.

Just found out today that my local manufacturer started selling LiFePO4 UPS batteries for less than $20/ea(only 12V 5Ah, but comes w/ 3Y warranty). Might need to give it a try on my next rotation.
And if you don't trust those mystery cells, you can get a kit from Aliexpress and fill it up with your own cells.
Looks about the same size as your typical 12V 7Ah unit, and accomodates 3s7p setup. With good batteries you can push it to ~18-20Ah (with high-capacity cells), or 12Ah with high-C cells if you need more power. Still not 100% sure how it's gonna work with charge/discharge cutoff voltages in regular UPS, but looks quite promising. Worst case - might need to swap a few resistors on the control board, or replace the charging part of the circuit.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,873 (3.20/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 32GB (4 x 8GB) @ DDR4-3600 (Samsung B-Die)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3 (non-LHR)
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB PCIe 3.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 Titanium 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 w/ Cherry Green Keyswitches & aftermarket PBT keycaps
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
Still not 100% sure how it's gonna work with charge/discharge cutoff voltages in regular UPS, but looks quite promising.
We've been over this. It never charges to capacity, and that's with one of those BMS thingys. Different charge curves, different cell voltages.

Also, 2 vs 5 years for a price increase of almost $600 over lead acid at $200 for a similar VA... no, that pretty much makes my point.

If the UPS was cheaper it'd be swell, because the battery tech IS better. But it isn't cheaper.

W/ led-acid models you usually get 2 years
3 years is my replacement window, seldom have a failure before then...

I have thought about building my own lifepo4 battery bank with inverter though and proper charger, no lie...
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,558 (5.06/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
13,160 (4.97/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory G.Skill 16GB 3600 C18
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Can Mods please shut this thread before it gets any more derailed please.
I'm sure the OP has their answer.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
52,499 (8.31/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + WD AN1500 1TB + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
Can Mods please shut this thread before it gets any more derailed please.
I'm sure the OP has their answer.
OP *is* a mod, he can close it himself if he feels that way
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,558 (5.06/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
I, for one, am finding the detours most educational; it's the very reason I hang out here, to learn.

And it would seem penguins do have knees
 

Attachments

  • penguin-xray.jpg
    penguin-xray.jpg
    37.5 KB · Views: 13
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
5,276 (1.23/day)
System Name RemixedBeast-NX
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2650 @ 2.2Ghz (8C/16T)
Motherboard Dell Inc. 08HPGT (CPU 1)
Cooling Dell Standard
Memory 32GB ECC
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Nvidia RTX2060 6GB
Storage 2TB Samsung 860 EVO SSD//2TB WD Black HDD
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + Dell E2013H 20 in @1600x900
Case Dell Precision T3600 Chassis
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 630w Dell T3600 PSU
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Linux Mint 19.3
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite Router/Sw:Meraki MX64 MS220-8P
I use 2 APC units .. Backups BR1500MS sine wave 1500va/900w for my main rig/Samsung 23in display/Cisco Meraki mx64 router/Arris surfboard modem and a Backups BN1080NS for the switch and wireless they have been good so far. Saved my ass a lot and even work with Linux bc it has integration for battery health and levels and such.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
13,160 (4.97/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory G.Skill 16GB 3600 C18
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
OP *is* a mod, he can close it himself if he feels that way
I am aware of that, but He has not been back since his opening question.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,873 (3.20/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 32GB (4 x 8GB) @ DDR4-3600 (Samsung B-Die)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3 (non-LHR)
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB PCIe 3.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 Titanium 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 w/ Cherry Green Keyswitches & aftermarket PBT keycaps
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
Can Mods please shut this thread before it gets any more derailed please.
I'm sure the OP has their answer.
It's all UPS-related battery discussion. I honestly find it related enough.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
5,276 (1.23/day)
System Name RemixedBeast-NX
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2650 @ 2.2Ghz (8C/16T)
Motherboard Dell Inc. 08HPGT (CPU 1)
Cooling Dell Standard
Memory 32GB ECC
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Nvidia RTX2060 6GB
Storage 2TB Samsung 860 EVO SSD//2TB WD Black HDD
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + Dell E2013H 20 in @1600x900
Case Dell Precision T3600 Chassis
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 630w Dell T3600 PSU
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Linux Mint 19.3
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite Router/Sw:Meraki MX64 MS220-8P
It's all UPS-related battery discussion. I honestly find it related enough.
Same. It would still help the op later on instead of them making a new thread later or procrastinating lol
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
115 (1.17/day)
Processor R7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock X570 Phantom Gaming 4
Cooling be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory G.Skill Trident Z DDR4-3733 (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX 5700 XT 8GB GAMING X
Storage Crucial MX500 500 GB
Display(s) ViewSonic G225fB
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Power Supply be quiet! Pure Power 11 700W
I use one to protect my computer + monitor, I don't have a server or any other computers and this big boy is more than enough, AVR capabilities are being put to good use all the time due to brownouts and outages. Control board was damaged when I got it (for scrap price literally) but it's been working fine after repairs, batteries appear to be working fine and the UPS is able to charge hooked up to a propane generator that I have to face outages that can span over weeks during summer.

It's a really important and useful device when it comes to protect your system(s) from a defective mains grid, though it doesn't makes any sense to have one if you have like two 5 min outages per year and your input voltage is fully stable.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
5,160 (1.73/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard ASUS X570-PLUS TUF Gaming
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240mm AIO
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Ares OEM DDR4-3200 (B-die)
Video Card(s) Inno3D RTX 3070 Ti iChill
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case ghetto CM Cosmos RC-1000
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Modecom Volcano Blade (Kailh choc LP)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
We've been over this. It never charges to capacity, and that's with one of those BMS thingys. Different charge curves, different cell voltages.
This topic got me curious again, so I dug a little deeper. Those branded batteries from our local manufacturer are all LiFePO4 (so as APC and EATON ones), which means they are in a 4S5P configuration.
For 12V lead-acid the workable range is 11.6-14.4V, and for this LiFePO4 setup it's 10.0-14.4V. Charging currents for SLAB/AGM are relatively low (usually under 2A in a single-battery UPS), which means it's safe for LiFePO4 cells (only ~0.5A per cell, but not ideal due to lack of trickle charge mode). So, the drop-in replacement will fully charge without overcharging, but will not fully discharge, giving you approximately 85-90% of total available capacity(with some durability bonuses). Fancy curves don't matter, cause most UPSes don't even care about charging stages(no pre-charge, no trickle), just the good-ole CC->CV. So, the only issue on fancy UPSes with active monitoring is properly reading battery status in-between. Won't really affect the ultimate goal of having adequate uninterrupted power, as far as I can tell.
And I also forgot about another bonus - most AGMs are rated only for 250-300 full discharge cycles, while LiFePO4 can easily handle over 1000. Given the nuance mentioned above (85-90% discharge) you may actually get closer to 2000 cycles.
But that's just the ghetto-rigged solution of old UPS and new Li battery. There are UPSes for this chemistry that don't cost an arm and a leg, and the price will only go down once SLAB/AGM gets slowly phased out. I'm eyeing that local manufacturer I've mentioned earlier, and they've got a new 1500VA UPS model with 50Ah external battery for around $300. Looks like the cut-down version of their entry-level MPPT unit with solar part slashed.
3 years is my replacement window, seldom have a failure before then...
Your replacement window and manufacturer warranty are two different things. Though, some AGMs do have a 36mo coverage.
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
554 (0.47/day)
Location
Coriovallum
System Name Merc
Processor I7-8700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory 32GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti FE
Storage Samsung 980 500GB & 2x 970 EVO 1TB
Display(s) Acer Predator XB1 XB271HU
Case CaseLabs Mercury S8
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX, Logitech Z906, Sennheiser HD6
Power Supply Seasonic TX-750
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Ducky One 2 Skyline & SF
VR HMD Index (sometimes)
Software W10Pro
Benchmark Scores -
I have an APC UPS BR1500G-GR 1500VA for my main driver (see signature) and monitor, and an Eaton 3S550D for my Synology NAS and switch.

The Eaton is the cheaper one because it has a smaller battery, and has 3 schuko connectors for battery and 3 for surge protection. It doesn't have a display nor pass-through for ethernet.
I've setup the NAS to turn-off if the ups switches to battery and stays there for 20 minutes (I've already encountered 2 outages, they both were longer than 30 minutes). Once the power is restored the NAS will restart automatically.

The APC is much more expensive but has a nice display, and you could attach more batteries (3), it is also rated for higher equipment. It also has 3 schuko for surge and battery protection, and 3 for only surge protection. But it does have a display, however it's bright like a night light :mad: It does have pass-through for RJ11 and RJ45.

I can definitely recommend an UPS for your NAS, and if I had to choose between the two I would recommend the APC as it has more connectors, does self-tests, and has an easier way to replace the battery. The price is steep but it's worth the memories ;)
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
2,475 (0.42/day)
Location
Canada
System Name PCGR
Processor Intel 10500 ES
Motherboard MSI Z490 Gaming Plus
Cooling Snowman MT4 Dual Fan
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX 6800XT Gaming OC
Storage 1x 1tb ADATA XPG 8200 Pro NVME | 1x 1TB WD Blue HDD
Display(s) BenQ 24" 1080P
Case MSI MPG 110M
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 550W MWE 80+ Gold
Software Windows 10 64bit Pro
I bought some APC branded UPS' from Costco. 900W for something like $150 CAD. Not bad actually. Use em for my main rig and nas.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,873 (3.20/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 32GB (4 x 8GB) @ DDR4-3600 (Samsung B-Die)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3 (non-LHR)
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB PCIe 3.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 Titanium 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 w/ Cherry Green Keyswitches & aftermarket PBT keycaps
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
There are UPSes for this chemistry that don't cost an arm and a leg
That may indeed change things. I have not seen one linked yet.

As for the "ghettorigged" solution, my claims come straight from a LiFePO4 manufacturer who weighed in on Amazon Q&A (ExpertPower). You can find their full in depth explanation on why it won't work well there on their standard 10ah battery page, I am sure. Many other manufacturers (Dakota etc) have explained similar.

Your replacement window and manufacturer warranty are two different things.
Indeed they are. I don't really consider warranty at all as most amazon batteries are too heavy to make a AGM SLA warranty claim economical anyways.

Regarding my previous post, I just discovered Eaton has aquired Tripp Lite in whole.... wow, did not see that one coming.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,558 (5.06/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Well, even if one is reduced to 80% of the capacity, that's not bad given the capacity is higher anyhow.

For me the issue is one of power, the UPS can't be used at full power and for some people that might be an issue.
 
Top