1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[Urgent] Boot a Motherboard with No Power Button

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Ammonite, Jan 30, 2012.

  1. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    I have no case and I want to test my mini-ITX designed Intel Desktop Board D525MW.

    No idea how to do this. The power supply makes the light on the board go on, I've tried touching the red on / off pins together and jump it but it doesn't work.

    Going insane. Urgent help needed, I don't have a lot of time to have it sitting around on the desk.
     
  2. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,516 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    708
    Location:
    Canada
    You need to jump the green with the ground (black) googling for pic
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    That picture makes no sense to me. I have a 10pin PicoPSU that is nothing like traditional power supplies. I thought this has to do with pins on the motherboard?
     
  4. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,516 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    708
    Location:
    Canada
    Sorry 'bout that, let me google an image for a pico PSU....
     
  5. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,905 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    Didn't read :laugh:

    I think your confused here he wants to power on the system not test if the psu works which might be a good idea anyway considering it wont turn on

    momentarily touch the two red pins with something metal to jump them if it dont turn on something else is wrong
    [​IMG]
     
    Ammonite and m1dg3t say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    Uh oh.

    I have been doing that using a screw driver but nothing has been happening. Does this mean I might have a broken board? D:
     
  7. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,516 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    708
    Location:
    Canada
    You got me! Was being lazy and just read the thread title :laugh: O/P you got your answer now :)

    Edit: Perhap's you have to maintain contact longer for it to BOOT up?
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2012
  8. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,905 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    @ midget, ive done this more times than i can count

    @Ammonite try re seating the RAM or just 1 stick at a time, removing all add in cards, clear CMOS.

    According to spec that board takes a standard 24 pin + 4pin CPU if your using a pico itx psu you may have already killed it.
     
    Ammonite says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,516 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    708
    Location:
    Canada
    Learn somethin' new everyday! Back to my beer :toast:

    O/P hope the board/PSU aint fried
     
  10. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    I've done extensive searching and the PicoPSU is not only designed for mini-itx boards, but its compatible with numerous Intel Desktop Boards including this one.

    Definitely not a problem there.

    EDIT: I think I may have found the problem related to a very silly problem with cables. I'll update soon.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2012
  11. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,595 (8.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,693
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Just the slightest touch is enough to power it on. As stated if it's not turning on then something else is wrong.

    Hope OP can update us soon. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    Okay I'm an idiot. My inexperience with hardware and retail gullibility has shined through.

    I'm missing a crucial cable to power the CPU. I didn't know what I was doing and relied on the product description of "powers your mini-itx motherboard without any extra cables" when really I have a motherboard that requires an extension cable to power the CPU that is sold separately.

    Fingers cross I haven't destroyed it.
     
  13. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7,028 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,816
    Location:
    Rochester area
    lol..........:rockout: I doubt you fried it but .. eh live and learn....
     
    Ammonite says thanks.
  14. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,595 (8.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,693
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    It happens to all of us at one point man, pretty sure the rig is okay. Keep us posted.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,460 (6.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,955
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I did the same thing last week. I assembled my HTPC in its case and pressed the power button to get no post. I worked for about 15 minutes before I noticed no 4 pin connected LOL. Thats what I get for being in a rush
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    Lol :eek:
     
  17. JTCPingas09

    JTCPingas09 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Missouri, United States
    A few weeks ago I built a new rig. The thing wouldn't power on and I was under the assumption that the motherboard was DOA. Next thing I assumed was that my power supply wasn't up to the task. Turned out there was a brass standoff touching the bottom of the board. :D Thankfully the board itself is perfectly fine.
     
  18. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    33,673 (9.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,216
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Short its front-panel power switch pins with a screwdriver.
     
  19. saikumar boinpally New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Guys i have a problem my motherboard power pins are not working even i tried them shorting with a screwdriver everything................the only thing is sometimes it gets rarely started up on shorting the pins with a screwdriver..................so plzzz help me get out of this issue
     
  20. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    25,981 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,083
    Location:
    Houston
    It's either broken or you are doing it wrong. For future reference you can make new threads you do not need to resurrect 4 year old ones.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    19,444 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,720
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    ^^^ And with that in mind, this ones closed.
     
    cdawall says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)