• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Urgent help! Reservoir leaks or something wrong

Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
675 (0.20/day)
Processor Intel core i9 10900k @5.5ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus XII APEX
Cooling Custom loop 3*360 45mm thick+ mo-ra3 420+ 2x alphacool 1080mm
Memory 2x16gb Gskillz Trident Z 4600mhz cl16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming OC 3090
Storage 1TB Samsung 860Evo,2*2tb Samsung 970Evo Plus, 1tb Intel 660p nvme
Display(s) LG Ultragear 27" IPS 1440P 144HZ
Case Dynamic XL
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni 5.1 usb sound card
Power Supply Corsair AX1500i
Mouse Model O-
Keyboard Hyper X Alloy Origin Core
I have a mora 420 external and uses it for a few months without a problem. I just installed a new 1080mm rad and the loop keep getting bubbles too much and water in reservoir keep going up and down, so I drained the loop. Now I just use the mora to see if the 1080 rad makes the problem.When I refill it, the water in the reservoir goes down when I turn on but it shoot up when I turn off. I tried to put the cap to seal the reservoir and the water does not goes up to the top when I power off but dam, it leaks out at the bottom of the reservoir. I look at the tube in the case and look like it does not have any water when I turn off the psu. I see water moving around the tube when psu is on. What is going on guys?
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
1,741 (2.68/day)
System Name PowerEdge R730 DRS Cluster
Processor 4x Xeon E5-2698 v3
Cooling Many heckin screamy bois
Memory 480GB ECC DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) Matrox G200eR2
Storage SD Card. Yep, really no other local storage.
Display(s) It's probably a couple of boring Dell Ultrasharps and a sacrificial laptop.
Case 39U 6-rack server room with HEVC and 44KVA UPS
Mouse Maybe
Keyboard Yes!
Software ESXi 6.5 U3
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
A video will probably make that much clearer to understand but surely step one is to fix the leaks? Step two is to work out where your air lock is - sounds like the radiator.

These 1080 radiators, what's the water path through them? is it three 360 rads joined side by side so that water makes six passes across in total (1 up, one down for each bank of three fans) or is it something more complex?
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
4,011 (1.72/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
When I refill it, the water in the reservoir goes down when I turn on but it shoot up when I turn off.
Compression of fluids is the reason here. Other factors include what you use for piping, soft hoses or hard tube. Soft hosing will expand under pressure at the same time fluid will compress slightly.

You best bet is to just fill the system and bleed out any air and leave it alone. This 1080 may need a larger reservoir to accommodate it.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
675 (0.20/day)
Processor Intel core i9 10900k @5.5ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus XII APEX
Cooling Custom loop 3*360 45mm thick+ mo-ra3 420+ 2x alphacool 1080mm
Memory 2x16gb Gskillz Trident Z 4600mhz cl16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming OC 3090
Storage 1TB Samsung 860Evo,2*2tb Samsung 970Evo Plus, 1tb Intel 660p nvme
Display(s) LG Ultragear 27" IPS 1440P 144HZ
Case Dynamic XL
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni 5.1 usb sound card
Power Supply Corsair AX1500i
Mouse Model O-
Keyboard Hyper X Alloy Origin Core
I think its the cyclone in the reservoir because when pc is off, I dont see any bubbles in the reservoir. Its clear but when I turn on, the bubbles appear in the reservoir.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2012
Messages
1,419 (0.45/day)
Location
Northamptonshire, UK
System Name Main/VR/HTPC
Processor 9900K@4.7/Ryzen 7 2700@4.0/i3 4360@3.7
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro WiFi/Aorus B450I Pro Wifi/MSI H81I
Cooling Custom water/Custom Water/Antec C40
Memory Corsair LPX 2x8 3200MHz/HyperX Predator 2x8GB 3200MHz/Crucial Balistix Tactical 8GB
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 Super Ventus /MSI RTX 2070 Super Ventus/Intel HD4600
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 250GB/Sabrent Rocket 256GB/OCZ ARC100 120 GB
Display(s) Acer Z301c/39" Panasonic HDTV
Case Fractal Design Arc XL/Bitfenix Prodigy/Thermaltake Core V1
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V379/Nvidia HD Audio/ Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair RM850/ Corsair SF600/350W OEM
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit
you might wanna shake your rad up a bit, get the bubbles out, and then replace the air with more water.
As for the leak, is the reservoir screwed in tight, could it be pinching the O-ring by any chance?
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
681 (2.40/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & Q9550 Old timer
Processor 9940x with optimus sigV2 & 10900k with optimus foundation & Q9550 with EK Evo
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & Acer WG43M
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8gb/ 4x2gb crucial
Video Card(s) Titan Xp & 1080ti ftw3 & evga 980ti
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many 2.5" ssd's and regular hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Entertainment center
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2
Power Supply evga 1200P2 & 1000P2 & 850P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G910 & G710+x2
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20x2 & win-10 pro x3
Hi,
You have a lot of air still shake the 1080 which ever rad you got a lot
Leave the top off the res until you get most out.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
1,741 (2.68/day)
System Name PowerEdge R730 DRS Cluster
Processor 4x Xeon E5-2698 v3
Cooling Many heckin screamy bois
Memory 480GB ECC DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) Matrox G200eR2
Storage SD Card. Yep, really no other local storage.
Display(s) It's probably a couple of boring Dell Ultrasharps and a sacrificial laptop.
Case 39U 6-rack server room with HEVC and 44KVA UPS
Mouse Maybe
Keyboard Yes!
Software ESXi 6.5 U3
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
Compression of fluids is the reason here. Other factors include what you use for piping, soft hoses or hard tube. Soft hosing will expand under pressure at the same time fluid will compress slightly.
What? No LOL. Go back to school!
Fluids are pretty much incompressible which is why they are used in hydraulic rams and brake systems.

To compress water by 0.1% volume (so 1L becomes 999ml) you need 300PSI or 20Bar. That's a ridiculous amount of pressure that exceeds the strength of the o-rings and compression fittings on any PC watercooling loop. People have actually pressure-tested watercooling loops before and they explode at around 150PSI.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
107 (0.04/day)
Location
Oz down under
System Name K9
Processor i7 7700K @ 5.1Ghz and 32deg C - delid + Conductonaught liquid metal
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Z270X Gaming 9
Cooling Custom water cooling loop - GPU + mobo + CPU
Memory G Skill - Trident Z RGB DDR4 - 3866Mhz x 32Gb @ 3800Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 11Gb GTX 1080 Ti Waterforce Extreme
Storage Samsung 500Gb M2 970 EVO + Samsung 850 Pro SSD + ADATA 512Gb SSD + Samsung 1Tb & 3T + WD 1Tb + 3Tb
Display(s) ASUS 27" ROG Swift 1440p @ 165Hz & BenQ 27" LED
Case Thermaltake Core P5 - Open frame
Audio Device(s) Creative ZxRi 7.2 ch on board - Logitech Z906 - 5.1ch
Power Supply Corsair 1200W
Mouse Roccat LeadR
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX with Cherry Red switches
Software Win 10 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores v/fast
hi,

I wouldn't worry too much as I have the same situation with my loop.

I could eliminate all the air form my system if I wanted to, but then I'd have to put a flow meter back in the loop (Which I had in a previous loop) so I could tell if the pump was working.

After starting my system the water level drops by about 20% and stabilizes until I turn it off.

With the slight air gap in the top of the reservoir , I can see the water flow and know the pump is working.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
675 (0.20/day)
Processor Intel core i9 10900k @5.5ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus XII APEX
Cooling Custom loop 3*360 45mm thick+ mo-ra3 420+ 2x alphacool 1080mm
Memory 2x16gb Gskillz Trident Z 4600mhz cl16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming OC 3090
Storage 1TB Samsung 860Evo,2*2tb Samsung 970Evo Plus, 1tb Intel 660p nvme
Display(s) LG Ultragear 27" IPS 1440P 144HZ
Case Dynamic XL
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni 5.1 usb sound card
Power Supply Corsair AX1500i
Mouse Model O-
Keyboard Hyper X Alloy Origin Core
Hi,
You have a lot of air still shake the 1080 which ever rad you got a lot
Leave the top off the res until you get most out.
Thank you for your advice. I leave the top off when the pc is on and the water in a reservoir goes down like no more water in it, so I fill water to 1/4 of the reservoir. After that, I turn off power and I can see a little fountain in my pc. Water from somewhere shoots up through the top and soak my pc.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
1,741 (2.68/day)
System Name PowerEdge R730 DRS Cluster
Processor 4x Xeon E5-2698 v3
Cooling Many heckin screamy bois
Memory 480GB ECC DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) Matrox G200eR2
Storage SD Card. Yep, really no other local storage.
Display(s) It's probably a couple of boring Dell Ultrasharps and a sacrificial laptop.
Case 39U 6-rack server room with HEVC and 44KVA UPS
Mouse Maybe
Keyboard Yes!
Software ESXi 6.5 U3
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
Thank you for your advice. I leave the top off when the pc is on and the water in a reservoir goes down like no more water in it, so I fill water to 1/4 of the reservoir. After that, I turn off power and I can see a little fountain in my pc. Water from somewhere shoots up through the top and soak my pc.
It's really sounding like you need to remove the loop from the PC and fill it outside the PC and leak test it.

Based on what you're saying, I don't think your pump has enough static pressure to push water over the top of some runs in the huge radiator and continue siphoning the water down the other side, so when you stop the pump the weight of all that water falls back down.

If you fill and bleed the system with the radiator laid flat on a table, it should avoid this problem, and then you can leak test it. As long as there are no air locks in the system at that point you should be able to turn the radiator back up to vertical. Without air in the radiator the weight of the water on the upward routes through the radiator will match the weight of the water on the downward routes (this is called a balanced siphon) and then the pump will be able to handle it even without enough static pressure.

Also, outside the PC is the best possible time to leak-test the loop.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
4,011 (1.72/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
675 (0.20/day)
Processor Intel core i9 10900k @5.5ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus XII APEX
Cooling Custom loop 3*360 45mm thick+ mo-ra3 420+ 2x alphacool 1080mm
Memory 2x16gb Gskillz Trident Z 4600mhz cl16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming OC 3090
Storage 1TB Samsung 860Evo,2*2tb Samsung 970Evo Plus, 1tb Intel 660p nvme
Display(s) LG Ultragear 27" IPS 1440P 144HZ
Case Dynamic XL
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni 5.1 usb sound card
Power Supply Corsair AX1500i
Mouse Model O-
Keyboard Hyper X Alloy Origin Core
It's really sounding like you need to remove the loop from the PC and fill it outside the PC and leak test it.

Based on what you're saying, I don't think your pump has enough static pressure to push water over the top of some runs in the huge radiator and continue siphoning the water down the other side, so when you stop the pump the weight of all that water falls back down.

If you fill and bleed the system with the radiator laid flat on a table, it should avoid this problem, and then you can leak test it. As long as there are no air locks in the system at that point you should be able to turn the radiator back up to vertical. Without air in the radiator the weight of the water on the upward routes through the radiator will match the weight of the water on the downward routes (this is called a balanced siphon) and then the pump will be able to handle it even without enough static pressure.

Also, outside the PC is the best possible time to leak-test the loop.
Under a reservoir is a ddc pump which I just installed a few days ago then a tube then a mcp35x2 pump. Thats still not enough to push water? Any chance the mcp35x2 die coz I smell something burnt last week.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
10,167 (4.56/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Lower the height of the radiator, or raise the reservoir so it is level with the top of the radiator.
It is possible you have a burnt a pump out by trying to push too much volume of water.
A checkvalve will stop water flowing back when the pump is stopped.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
577 (0.29/day)
System Name The Banshee
Processor Intel i7 8700K @ 5GHz 1.35V
Motherboard AsRock Z170M OC Formula
Cooling CPU + GPU Custom loop
Memory 2x8GB G.SKILL Trident Z B-die @ 3200 CL14 1.35V
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 780 Ti @ 1250/1750 1.163V
Storage 120GB OS SSD & 1TB Mass Storage HDD
Display(s) LG 25UM57-P
Case Farctal Design Arc XL
Audio Device(s) ATH-M20x
Power Supply Evga SuperNova 1300 G2
Mouse Evga Torq X3
Keyboard Thermaltake challenger
Software Win 10 Pro 64-Bit
What? No LOL. Go back to school!
Fluids are pretty much incompressible which is why they are used in hydraulic rams and brake systems.

To compress water by 0.1% volume (so 1L becomes 999ml) you need 300PSI or 20Bar. That's a ridiculous amount of pressure that exceeds the strength of the o-rings and compression fittings on any PC watercooling loop. People have actually pressure-tested watercooling loops before and they explode at around 150PSI.
It's liquids that are pretty much incompressible, not fluids. ;) Gasses are fluids and can of course be compressed.

What orientation is the radiator in btw? If the inlet & outlet are both at the top it's going to make it very difficult for the pumps to push water through it. Ideally you want the inlet at the top and the outlet at the bottom so gravity can help you bleed the system.
Laying the radiator flat like others have suggested is also a good way to bleed it as well.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
2,868 (1.38/day)
Location
Long Island
1. You need to properly bleed the system. Without being bled, this is normal behavior.

2. Yes, you can compress fluids with E N OR MO U S amounts of pressure.... this does not occur with water based coolants on the pressure that water pumps are capable of. This has to do

3. Whats happening here is called gravity. When the pump is on, water displaces the air on the rads and when the pump is off, gravity takes it back down to.

4. How to build a bleed system:

a) Use a radiator with both top and bottom ports. Tubing in and out use the bottom ports. Bleeding and fill ports use the top ports, I use the side ports for temperature sensors of measuring temps on nd out of each radiator
b) From one of the top ports build an extension with Male G-1/4 screw => Acrylic tube fitting. 12" of rigid acrylic tube, another tube fitting, F X F Ball Valve /// use this with a small funnel that fits in the valve opening.
c) Use a multiport reservoir top; the bottom should feed the pump and have a anti-swirl device. On the top fill port use fill tube which will extend down below the water surface leaving about 1 inch of air space. For one of the other top ports use a M X Mal G-1/4 screw fitting , a ball valve and cap.
d) A loop drain system can be made from a bottom rad with push fans under the rad.... G-1/4 M x M Fittng, 90 Elbow, F x F extension as required, Quick Disconnect fitting. Keep the other half of the Quick Disconnect in a drawer with 3 feet of flexible tubing.

5. Procedure:

a) Place a thick book or a brick under the rear of the case where your top rad ports should be; if they in the front of the case, lift up the front end. Air bubbles will collect at the highest point, and if you rdd is lat, you won't have one. You want the air to collect on the small reservoir close to the rad ports so you can get it out. If it's an external rad, then just get the rad to a point where the rad's small end reservoir and bleed port is at the highest point in the loop.
b) Take of the port cap and screw in your bleeder assembly. Open the valve and fill the tube with water usung the funnel.
c) Close the valve and turn on the system. After a minute of so, crack the valve on the bleeder assembly, and watch the water level drop slowly. Close the valve to prevent the water level from dropping out of sight in the tube so as not to let water in. Turn off pump
d) Repeat step c) as necessary.
e) At some point, in most systems , the water level in the Reservoir will drop. Remember the cap on top of the valve in top of the reservoir and crack open the valve ...close valve when water level in the res is about an inch below top.
f) The reason you want that air gap is that while water is essentially uncompressible at the pressures in water loops, it does expand with temperature. That air gap will serve at allow for that thermal expansion.
g) repeat step c) if required

The above is for a typical loop with top and bottom (or front) radiators. You want to bleed at the highest point and drain from the lowest point.

Here's a parts list you can use for comparison / adaptation to your build:

Reservoir / Bleed Assembly:
-Reservoir - EK-MultiOption RES X3 250 - Liquid Cooling Reservoir - White Acetal (6 Total Ports) w/ (2) EK Extender Fittings http://www.frozencpu.com/products/21672/ex-res-677/EK-MultiOption_RES_X3_250_-_Liquid_Cooling_Reservoir_-_White_Acetal_6_Total_Ports.html?tl=g57c615s1940#blank ex-res-677
-Reservoir Top - EK X3 Reservoir Multiport Replacement Top - White (EK-RES X3 - Multiport TOP WHITE) http://www.frozencpu.com/products/18485/ex-res-481/EK_X3_Reservoir_Multiport_Replacement_Top_-_White_EK-RES_X3_-_Multiport_TOP_WHITE.html?id=4NiLmkLB&mv_pc=1254 ex-res-481
-Reservoir Fill Tube Internal Tube 12/16 - 140mm (EK-RES-X3-TUBE-140 http://www.performance-pcs.com/catalog/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=59_1165_1162&products_id=36312 Product 20/27
-EK - Extender Fitting - EK G1/4 Thread Fitting Extender - Nickel - 8mm (Fitting Extender G1/4 (Ni)) http://www.frozencpu.com/products/18760/scr-701/EK_G14_Thread_Fitting_Extender_-_Nickel_-_8mm_Fitting_Extender_G14_Ni.html?id=4NiLmkLB&mv_pc=1256 scr-701
-Bleeder Valve - Bitspower G1/4" Mini Valve - Matte Black (BP-MVV-MBK) http://www.frozencpu.com/products/14596/ex-tub-1035/Bitspower_G14_Mini_Valve_-_Matte_Black_BP-MVV-MBK.html?tl=c101s1332b145 ex-tub-103
-Male by Male Fitting - Bitspower Dual G1/4" Male / Male Fitting - Matte Black (BP-MBWP-C08) http://www.frozencpu.com/products/10363/ex-tub-609/Bitspower_Dual_G14_Male_Male_Fitting_-_Matte_Black_BP-MBWP-C08.html?tl=c101s1354b145 ex-tub-609


Top Radiator Bleed Assembly
- Valve as above
Rigid 10/12 mm Acrylic Tubing - EK 12mm OD Solid Tube Set - Clear - 2x 19.5" (EK-HD Tube 10/12mm 500mm (2 pcs)) http://www.frozencpu.com/products/21244/ex-tub-2002/ ex-tub-2002
-(2) G1/4" x Rigid Tubing Connector (Male) - Bitspower SLI / Crossfire Multi-Link Adapter Pair - Matte Black (BP-MBWP-C47) http://www.frozencpu.com/products/10743/ex-tub-668/Bitspower_SLI_Crossfire_Multi-Link_Adapter_Pair_-_Matte_Black_BP-MBWP-C47.html ex-tub-668

Of course I can't "see" your parts and their arrangement so youmay have to reconfigure as necessary to fit your situation.

For testing and bleeding, I would suggest you power the stsrem wuth the PC off with one of these.

PSU - AC to DC Adapter - 110V AC to 12V DC Converter w/ Standard 4 Pin (5000mA Max) http://www.frozencpu.com/products/9106/bus-192/AC_to_DC_Adapter_-_110V_AC_to_12V_DC_Converter_w_Standard_4_Pin_5000mA_Max.html bus-192
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
1,741 (2.68/day)
System Name PowerEdge R730 DRS Cluster
Processor 4x Xeon E5-2698 v3
Cooling Many heckin screamy bois
Memory 480GB ECC DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) Matrox G200eR2
Storage SD Card. Yep, really no other local storage.
Display(s) It's probably a couple of boring Dell Ultrasharps and a sacrificial laptop.
Case 39U 6-rack server room with HEVC and 44KVA UPS
Mouse Maybe
Keyboard Yes!
Software ESXi 6.5 U3
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
It's liquids that are pretty much incompressible, not fluids. ;) Gasses are fluids and can of course be compressed.

What orientation is the radiator in btw? If the inlet & outlet are both at the top it's going to make it very difficult for the pumps to push water through it. Ideally you want the inlet at the top and the outlet at the bottom so gravity can help you bleed the system.
Laying the radiator flat like others have suggested is also a good way to bleed it as well.
I was quoting his particular use of the word fluid and though as a scientist I agree that gases and plasmas are technically fluids, common language treats liquids as 'fluid' more often than not. In the context of a watercooling loop there's no doubt about whether this fluid is a liquid, gas, or plasma ;)

It's a shame this thread has no pictures or video; Seems like a pretty straightforward bleed issue to solve.
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
107 (0.04/day)
Location
Oz down under
System Name K9
Processor i7 7700K @ 5.1Ghz and 32deg C - delid + Conductonaught liquid metal
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Z270X Gaming 9
Cooling Custom water cooling loop - GPU + mobo + CPU
Memory G Skill - Trident Z RGB DDR4 - 3866Mhz x 32Gb @ 3800Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 11Gb GTX 1080 Ti Waterforce Extreme
Storage Samsung 500Gb M2 970 EVO + Samsung 850 Pro SSD + ADATA 512Gb SSD + Samsung 1Tb & 3T + WD 1Tb + 3Tb
Display(s) ASUS 27" ROG Swift 1440p @ 165Hz & BenQ 27" LED
Case Thermaltake Core P5 - Open frame
Audio Device(s) Creative ZxRi 7.2 ch on board - Logitech Z906 - 5.1ch
Power Supply Corsair 1200W
Mouse Roccat LeadR
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX with Cherry Red switches
Software Win 10 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores v/fast
I have a mora 420 external and uses it for a few months without a problem. I just installed a new 1080mm rad and the loop keep getting bubbles too much and water in reservoir keep going up and down, so I drained the loop. Now I just use the mora to see if the 1080 rad makes the problem.When I refill it, the water in the reservoir goes down when I turn on but it shoot up when I turn off. I tried to put the cap to seal the reservoir and the water does not goes up to the top when I power off but dam, it leaks out at the bottom of the reservoir. I look at the tube in the case and look like it does not have any water when I turn off the psu. I see water moving around the tube when psu is on. What is going on guys?
How about providing some pictures, as this would help us enormously, to help you.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
675 (0.20/day)
Processor Intel core i9 10900k @5.5ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus XII APEX
Cooling Custom loop 3*360 45mm thick+ mo-ra3 420+ 2x alphacool 1080mm
Memory 2x16gb Gskillz Trident Z 4600mhz cl16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming OC 3090
Storage 1TB Samsung 860Evo,2*2tb Samsung 970Evo Plus, 1tb Intel 660p nvme
Display(s) LG Ultragear 27" IPS 1440P 144HZ
Case Dynamic XL
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni 5.1 usb sound card
Power Supply Corsair AX1500i
Mouse Model O-
Keyboard Hyper X Alloy Origin Core
When I run the mora alone, its normal but when I connect to 2 1080 rad, that happens. Is it because I connect 2 1080 rad so the pump cant work properly? Maybe another pump before those 2 rads?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
1,741 (2.68/day)
System Name PowerEdge R730 DRS Cluster
Processor 4x Xeon E5-2698 v3
Cooling Many heckin screamy bois
Memory 480GB ECC DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) Matrox G200eR2
Storage SD Card. Yep, really no other local storage.
Display(s) It's probably a couple of boring Dell Ultrasharps and a sacrificial laptop.
Case 39U 6-rack server room with HEVC and 44KVA UPS
Mouse Maybe
Keyboard Yes!
Software ESXi 6.5 U3
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
Yep, waaaaaaaaaay too much air in that system.
Take it out of your system and bleed it on a flat surface with the reservoir being the tallest point in the loop.

The problem you have is that the MORA probably has a higher volume than your reservoir, and with the strong pump required for such a system you are churning air into the water. Bleeding and filling it will definitely be easier if you slow down the pump
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
675 (0.20/day)
Processor Intel core i9 10900k @5.5ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus XII APEX
Cooling Custom loop 3*360 45mm thick+ mo-ra3 420+ 2x alphacool 1080mm
Memory 2x16gb Gskillz Trident Z 4600mhz cl16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming OC 3090
Storage 1TB Samsung 860Evo,2*2tb Samsung 970Evo Plus, 1tb Intel 660p nvme
Display(s) LG Ultragear 27" IPS 1440P 144HZ
Case Dynamic XL
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni 5.1 usb sound card
Power Supply Corsair AX1500i
Mouse Model O-
Keyboard Hyper X Alloy Origin Core
I took the 1080 rad out and fill it manually and now the water in the reservoir looks normal. 2 d5 pumps and mcp35x2 are enough for my cooling system?
 
Top