• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Urgent Partition Help

Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.66/day)
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
#1
Hi,

I installed Kubuntu 8.10 on my hard drive afew weeks ago, it was on an 80GB Partition. But i never used it and hated how when i booted my PC this showed:

Code:
Kubuntu 8.10
Kubuntu 8.10 (something...)
Kubuntu 8.10 (something...)
[B]Loader[/B]
Vista Home
If i didn't move down and select Vista, it would boot to Kubuntu. So yesterday i used the Vista Drive Manager to delete what was on that partition. Everything seemed fine, but after a restart it got the to boot screen and now shows:

Code:
GRUB Loading stage 1.5.

GRUB Loading, please wait...
Error 17
_
It just stays on this screen.

Please help, i really don't want to loose everything on that drive.

Thanks
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,404 (0.60/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
Maybe you have to make a repair install of vista.. it will correct to boot sector.. but lets see what the others suggest before you try first
 
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
1,258 (0.36/day)
Likes
221
Location
North Carolina
#3
Ok, I've done exactly what you've done before.

What happened is that when you uninstalled (deleted) Kubuntu, you also deleted GRUB, the boot loader. GRUB replaced the Windows boot loader, and now GRUB isn't there anymore so that's why you're getting an error.

What you have to do is to reinstall Kubuntu. That will reinstall GRUB and let you access Your Vista partition. Unfortunately, I don't know how to uninstall GRUB, but at least you can access your Vista partition. But I'm sure there's info about how to revert back to the default Windows boot loader somewhere on the internet.

And you can change the default choice with a program like SUM. You can also edit the number of choices, the order of the items, and the timeout.

Hope this helps.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,526 (0.73/day)
Likes
507
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#4
You have deleted the boot partition containing the info on OS you have and paths. I don`t know how to or there is a way to fix that. You could try to repair Ubuntu and hope that all will get like it was.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.66/day)
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
#5
ill try the Vista disk and the repair option. Thanks for the replies.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.66/day)
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,404 (0.60/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
You can backup your data with an ubuntu live cd
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.66/day)
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
#8
i don't want to back it up. I want to fix this and throw kubuntu out the window.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.66/day)
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
#9
Ok, it's installing at the moment. I messed around with some settings and it allowed me to continue.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.66/day)
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
#10
right, it's installed and i can get on Vista. Just need to get rid of Kubuntu, any ideas?
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.66/day)
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
#12
I'll have a go later on.

Thanks for the replies people.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.38/day)
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#13
fixboot and fixmbr are supposed to restore the windows boot mananger as far as XP goes(in recovery console)
 

dazed554

New Member
Joined
Feb 29, 2008
Messages
84 (0.02/day)
Likes
8
Location
East Greenbush, NY
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 945
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory 4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 260
Storage 2x WD Caviar 160gb
Display(s) Sceptre 20''
Case Cooler Master RC690
Power Supply Thermaltake Purepower 500
#14
Boot from your vista disk and open the recovery command prompt. Then run bootrec.exe and then type fixmbr.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/927392

the windows bootloader will then have replaced grub
 
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
3,577 (1.02/day)
Likes
533
Location
Huddersfield, uk
Processor E8200
Motherboard Asus P5KC
Cooling cooler master hyper tx3, 2x 120mm, 1x 80mm
Memory 4 GB DDR3 OCZ Black Edition
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 2600xt silent pipe II
Storage 500GB WD Sata / 60 GB Samsung IDE
Display(s) 20" samusng LCD, gaming at 1680 x 1050
Case some old amd thing
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 650W
Software Windows 8.1, with 'start is back' obviously
Benchmark Scores It boots whilst im still young so im pleased with that.
#15
if ur ubuntu is on a different partion (this is what i did with xp but i gues vista has the same options) i put the disk in that i used to load xp and it lets me create, delete and format new and old partions i worked out which partion had ubuntu on and which had xp i then deleted the one with ubuntu and created a new partion, it worked for me and now on my computer its like i got two hdds installed when i dont but other then that it fixed it all perfect, hope this helps man

edit: thats assuming you have fixed your vista and can boot it and just wanna sort out the partion that had ubuntu on