• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

USB drive format

Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Messages
189 (0.07/day)
Likes
3
System Name Antec 1200
Processor Core i7 92 DO
Motherboard Gigabyte EX-58UD5
Cooling Corsair H50 Dual fan
Memory Corsair XMS3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 5850 HD
Storage 1 x Intel M25 SSD, 3 x Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) Dell 24 inch
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Creative Fatal1ty Champion
Power Supply Corsair HX 1000W
Software Win 7 Pro 64 bit
#1
Just got a pair of 8gb usb drives. I've plugged em in and tried to format but it just comes up as "cannot format" ... any hints ... using win7 64 bit
 

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,848 (0.66/day)
Likes
499
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#2
Just got a pair of 8gb usb drives. I've plugged em in and tried to format but it just comes up as "cannot format" ... any hints ... using win7 64 bit
what do you mean cannot format? what are you using to format it? can you copy files on it?
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,633
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#3
Just use them don't worry about format. No reason
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,911 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,004
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#4
8 GB would use FAT32. in excess of 128 GB would use FAT64/exFAT. If you intend to only use it on Windows NT and newer systems and it has 32+ GiB, you could use NTFS. NTFS may cause more wear on the drive than FAT but it's also far more flexible.

Is there a read-only switch? Have you tried a different USB port (e.g. in stead of front, try rear)? What operating system are you trying this on?
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#5
8 GB would use FAT32. in excess of 128 GB would use FAT64/exFAT. If you intend to only use it on Windows NT and newer systems and it has 32+ GiB, you could use NTFS. NTFS may cause more wear on the drive than FAT but it's also far more flexible.
By default you can't format as NTFS, you need to disable the quick removal option. When using NTFS you can't just pull out the stick without risking corruption. You'll have to eject the drive in Windows first. So it's not really more flexible.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,911 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,004
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#6
Ya'll should be in the habit of ejecting before removing anyway. XD
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,633
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#8
Why?
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Messages
189 (0.07/day)
Likes
3
System Name Antec 1200
Processor Core i7 92 DO
Motherboard Gigabyte EX-58UD5
Cooling Corsair H50 Dual fan
Memory Corsair XMS3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 5850 HD
Storage 1 x Intel M25 SSD, 3 x Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) Dell 24 inch
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Creative Fatal1ty Champion
Power Supply Corsair HX 1000W
Software Win 7 Pro 64 bit
#9
ok I've got a brand new pair of 8gb Patriot xpress usb 3.0 sticks. I plugged them in and straight away I can see them in "my computer". It shows up as FAT32 removable drive. As soon as I try and write to them, I get the error needs formating. I used patriots own format utility but the error comes up "unable to format". I downloaded several USB format software tools. They say that the drives are write protected. I've tried to format through Win7, through the command prompt, via different software and done all the usual things. I cannot believe that two new sticks can be bad .. gotta be me doing something wrong surely.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,633
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#10
Sure sounds like there bad. And there is not switch on the sticks for write protecting data?
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Messages
189 (0.07/day)
Likes
3
System Name Antec 1200
Processor Core i7 92 DO
Motherboard Gigabyte EX-58UD5
Cooling Corsair H50 Dual fan
Memory Corsair XMS3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 5850 HD
Storage 1 x Intel M25 SSD, 3 x Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) Dell 24 inch
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Creative Fatal1ty Champion
Power Supply Corsair HX 1000W
Software Win 7 Pro 64 bit
#11
nope no switch that I can find and they are brand new, never been written on ??
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,911 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,004
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#12
Can you right click on the drive in my computer, go to properties, and look through there to make sure Read Only is not checked? If there's no such option, I'd contact Patriot and ask if they know what is going on.

I can only think of three possible scenarios:
1) virus preventing access to external devices
2) administrator account required and/or software running on the computer that forbids data from being copied to an external devices
3) the drives are defective (static discharge during shipping, perhaps)
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Messages
189 (0.07/day)
Likes
3
System Name Antec 1200
Processor Core i7 92 DO
Motherboard Gigabyte EX-58UD5
Cooling Corsair H50 Dual fan
Memory Corsair XMS3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 5850 HD
Storage 1 x Intel M25 SSD, 3 x Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) Dell 24 inch
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Creative Fatal1ty Champion
Power Supply Corsair HX 1000W
Software Win 7 Pro 64 bit
#13
1. I've got an external 1tb hdd that runs off the same usb port. So I know that the port works fine.
2. I've enabled "use usb devices" under gpedit.msc.
3. I've restored the usb drives to factory settings using Patriots own utility.

Perhaps I should try formatting them in safe mode .. ??