1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

USB Host Controller Not Found at Specified Address (?)

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Trackr, Jan 19, 2012.

  1. dorsetknob

    dorsetknob "YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,304 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,231
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
    Dont want to piss over the advice and help that Mussels has offered you

    But
    If your Motherboard has a cracked or broken trace (copper line on the motherboard )
    Reflowing it with a heatgun wont work.

    Reflowing is a workaround (bodge) for repairing cracked/broken solder joints
    this wont repair a broken copper trace
    the only way to repair a broken trace is to bridge it either by soldering a small piece of wire to eitherside of the broken trace or to Paint the gap in the trace with silver electrical conducting paint. either method will probably alter the resistance value of the trace which aint good in a specialy designed circut

    Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but i think your going to have to consider a replacement for the motherboard
     
    Mussels says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Trackr New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    265 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    But isn't that only a theory? I don't think I should replace it based on a theory.

    Now, if you could show me how to find this cracked trace, I could see what I can do.
     
  3. dorsetknob

    dorsetknob "YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,304 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,231
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
    its not a theory
    To melt solder you can use a heatgun
    Soft solder is what is most often thought of when solder or soldering are mentioned and it typically has a melting range of 90 to 450 °C (190 to 840 °F).
    copper on the other hand has a melting range of 865 - 955°C (blowtorch Temperatures)

    your Motherboard traces are made from copper and each trace has a resistance value if you change that value (by using silver paint or tin/lead solder both which have different resistance values) you alter the electrical propertys of the circut your motherboard will in all lightlyhood become unstable

    So to recap unless the Solder joint where the trace connects to a component is cracked reflowing wont work
    as to finding a broken trace no idea as most traces are printed onto the motherboard and only the surface visable ones are laqured
    please bear in mind that
    All Modern Motherboards are MULTI LAYERED your broken trace " IF IT IS A BROKEN TRACE "
    might be in layer 3 or 4 of a 7 layered motherboard
     
    Mussels says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Trackr New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    265 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Okay, so the trace idea isn't going to work. I obviously don't own a blowtorch.

    That leaves the solder. How do I find which part to solder? That's all that matters right now..
     
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,068 (9.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,732
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i think we chalk this one up to magic.
     
    dorsetknob says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,476 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,696
    I would just replace the board to be honest. You may well have problems with it now for the rest of the time you have it, is it worth it?
     
    dorsetknob says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. dorsetknob

    dorsetknob "YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,304 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,231
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
    unless you have access to oem equipment ie oscilloscope and engineering tech specs for the motherboard to aid and pinpoint which of the Several hundreds of solder points which may be faulty
    i don't think anyone on this or ANY other SITE can help you locate which solder points may be the problem.

    I'm Not ONE OF THOSE PEOPLE THAT ADVOCATE THROWING MONEY AT A PROBLEM TO SOLVE IT
    but in this case i think your going to have to consider a replacement for the motherboard

    other reasons for this i think are
    "quote
    I noticed two things:

    1.) When I place the Clear CMOS tab over the pins that clear the CMOS, the rig doesn't shut off like it usually does.
    clearing the cmos by shorting the pins with tab should be done with no battery in the system and the system powered down
    it sounds like you done this with the system powered up " Not a good idea you probably corrupted your bios"

    2.) When I jump start one of the pins of the Power SW with one of the pins of the HDD LED, it doesn't cause a spark and it doesn't shut off the computer. "it wont
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Trackr New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    265 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    No, but it does spark.

    This is a difficult choice, guys.

    Right now, I'm running Crysis butter-smooth on this rig.

    So to go to eBay and dig up a P45 motherboard for maybe even a higher price than a new P67.. just sounds insane.

    I think I'll hang onto this motherboard and if it ever dies, I'll replace all the parts. By then, I could even get Ivy Bridge.

    Oh, and I think I know why this happened in the first place.

    I did some modding to the front of the case and caused it to become less stable. So when I pick it up, it causes the motherboard tray and thus the motherboard to bend. I have done this before, but I guess this case was less sturdy than I had thought (Antec 300). I will now lift it so that the motherboard has as little movement in it as possible.

    Thanks for everything guys!
     
  9. Trackr New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    265 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Hmm..

    I am having a problem where I can't enable 1920x1080 on my 1080p HDTV.

    Not even games work at 1080p. At some point, the screen freezes.

    Do you guys think this could have something to do with the motherboard or is it a completely different issue?

    Thanks.
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,068 (9.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,732
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.

    could well be a system problem, setting a resolution shouldnt crash ever. worst case normally would just be a blank screen for an unsupported res.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Trackr New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    265 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Okay, well now that I have made sure all the contact are in place, it doesn't crash.

    For example, Heaven 2.5 @ 1080p shows as blank in the settings and if you go all the way to the end of the benchmark, it shows 1600x1024.

    Crysis seems to work fine now at 1080p.

    I can set 1920x1080 through the nVidia Control Panel, but the problem is.. the computer detects the Native resolution as 1024x768. That's odd.
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,068 (9.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,732
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    no its not odd, most likely you have a plasma that actually does run at 1024x768. just because it has 1080p inputs doesnt mean its a 1080p panel.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Trackr New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    265 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    LOL

    No, it's an LCD and it's been running at 1920x1080 NATIVE on 8 other computers for about 5 months now.

    Oh, and by the way, I fixed the problem.

    Ends up that there was a short and it was caused by me..

    You see, I was modding the case with a dremel, because I hadn't bought my jigsaw at the time. So, since it wasn't the prettiest cut, and I didn't want my sleeved cables to get cut, I placed a small strip of tape across the cut.

    Apparently, it was touching the motherboard and shorting something out near the CPU.

    Removed it and the system works fine with the motherboard properly screwed in.

    I hope this has been as enlightening to you as it has to me.

    Now if I can only get my C300 256GB to work..
     
    Mussels says thanks.
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,068 (9.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,732
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    lol sounds like you're having tons of fun with this build



    and really, 1024x768 HDTV's are stupidly common around here. i know heaps of people who got sucked into buying them and wondered why they suck for PC/game console use.
     
    Trackr says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Trackr New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    265 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Yeah, I know. But I would never buy a 1024x768 HDTV.

    That would be like buying a 24" monitor with a 640x480 resolution.

    I'm running it now on my 2500k build, and 1080p shows up and works just fine.

    It may have been a driver issue.

    I just hope it continues to work..

    But if it doesn't, at least I know that none of the components are mortally damaged, so I could just as well sell them and get Ivy Bridge in their place for roughly the same price when it comes out.
     
  16. dorsetknob

    dorsetknob "YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,304 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,231
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
    Glad to hear that you have managed to resolve your problem without throwing loads of cash at it by buying a replacement motherboard.
    I was interested to see the root cause of the problem was the motherboard shorting on your modified case.
    quote
    "Apparently, it was touching the motherboard and shorting something out near the CPU."
    I'm glad that this shorting didn't damage the traces or irreversibly burn/damage the board as this area of the motherboard carry's some high amperage loads
    Still you can console yourself with the thought that your problem and its resolvment will be a lesson and help to others that may have similer issues
     
    Trackr says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)