• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Usb Mouse cutting out....

Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
103 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
System Name Pops pc
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 2700
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 Aorus Ultra Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series F4-3200C16D-16GVK DDR4 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE AORUS Radeon RX 570 4GB
Storage SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB NVMe, Black 2TB, WD Red 6TB, WD Gold 10 TB, 2x Seagate 2TB, Seagate 4TBext
Display(s) Planar 27"
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F-51 Window
Audio Device(s) Xfi Titanium pushing logitech Z-5500's
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ, 80+ GOLD 650W
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Azio Large Print Backlit
Software Win 10 64
#1
Very weird. All of a sudden, my mouse stops working, light even goes out.
I switch ports, it works again until it doesn't.

Thoughts...??
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2012
Messages
1,125 (0.46/day)
Likes
1,109
Location
Anchorage Alaska
System Name Matter's / Helios 300 Predator
Processor Intel i5 4690k / i7 7700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD3H / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Cooling Cooler Master Siedon 120 AIO
Memory 32gb PNY Anarchy DDR3 1866mhz / 32gb gskill ddr4
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 8gb / GTX 1060 6gb
Storage 2 240gb SSD PNY Optima ( 1 w/OS, other gaming) Storage - 1tb WD Black & 1.5tb Seagate
Display(s) Acer 24" 1080p / 15.6 1080p HD
Case Antec 300 / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Audio Device(s) On Board - steel series siberia elite prism cans
Power Supply Antec 850watt high power
Mouse Steel series Sensei wireless
Keyboard Corsair K40 / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Software Win 10 Pro / Win 10 Home
#2
Sounds like it is time for a new mouse, yours is about dead.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
103 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
System Name Pops pc
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 2700
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 Aorus Ultra Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series F4-3200C16D-16GVK DDR4 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE AORUS Radeon RX 570 4GB
Storage SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB NVMe, Black 2TB, WD Red 6TB, WD Gold 10 TB, 2x Seagate 2TB, Seagate 4TBext
Display(s) Planar 27"
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F-51 Window
Audio Device(s) Xfi Titanium pushing logitech Z-5500's
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ, 80+ GOLD 650W
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Azio Large Print Backlit
Software Win 10 64
#3
Always possible I suppose...
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2012
Messages
1,125 (0.46/day)
Likes
1,109
Location
Anchorage Alaska
System Name Matter's / Helios 300 Predator
Processor Intel i5 4690k / i7 7700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD3H / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Cooling Cooler Master Siedon 120 AIO
Memory 32gb PNY Anarchy DDR3 1866mhz / 32gb gskill ddr4
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 8gb / GTX 1060 6gb
Storage 2 240gb SSD PNY Optima ( 1 w/OS, other gaming) Storage - 1tb WD Black & 1.5tb Seagate
Display(s) Acer 24" 1080p / 15.6 1080p HD
Case Antec 300 / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Audio Device(s) On Board - steel series siberia elite prism cans
Power Supply Antec 850watt high power
Mouse Steel series Sensei wireless
Keyboard Corsair K40 / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Software Win 10 Pro / Win 10 Home
#4
If you are switching ports and it is continuing to work then stop, something inside the mouse is shorting out. Have you tried reinstalling the drivers or updating them? If it does the same after reinstalling/updating drivers I would say it is dying. Try it in another machine, if the problem follows you definitely know you have a mouse going south for the winter.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,071 (2.06/day)
Likes
4,482
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor 2600K@5GHz / Xeon E3-1290 / Phenom II X6 1100T / Dual Xeon X5675's (12c24t)
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z77 / MSI 970 Gaming / GIGABYTE GA-7TESM
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin / TRUE 120 / Stock
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 / Samsung Reg - 24GB DDR3 Hexa-Channel
Video Card(s) MSI 7970/EVGA GTX 980 / ASUS 980ti Strix
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatality / X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1/ EVGA SuperNOVA 750
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#5
That means the cables are fraying inside the casing.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,180 (5.61/day)
Likes
7,350
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
103 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
System Name Pops pc
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 2700
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 Aorus Ultra Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series F4-3200C16D-16GVK DDR4 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE AORUS Radeon RX 570 4GB
Storage SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB NVMe, Black 2TB, WD Red 6TB, WD Gold 10 TB, 2x Seagate 2TB, Seagate 4TBext
Display(s) Planar 27"
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F-51 Window
Audio Device(s) Xfi Titanium pushing logitech Z-5500's
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ, 80+ GOLD 650W
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Azio Large Print Backlit
Software Win 10 64
#7
That means the cables are fraying inside the casing.
Nah, everythings brand new...

Oh, shoot, you meant inside the cable casing, not the case itself, my bad.

Yea, that could well be, the mouse is about the only thing not recently replaced...
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
370 (2.57/day)
Likes
250
Location
Florida
System Name getting back into it - constant WIP
Processor Ryzen 5 2600 [4.2GHz @ 1.3v]
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F
Cooling Scythe Mugen MAX - 2x 120mm NZXT stock fans top/rear exhaust - 2x 140mm Corsair ML140's front intake
Memory 2x8GB TridentZ RGB 3466Mhz CL16 [bad-luck b-die]
Video Card(s) MSI RX 580 Armor OC [1467MHz core / 1951MHz mem]
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB - Samsung 860 Evo 250GB
Display(s) crappy 720p 34" Vizio [for now - 1080p downscaling helps :P]
Case NZXT S340 Elite
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 2 Uber, Sys, Vali 2, Scarlett 2i2 2nd gen - LSR 305's, DT-990 Pro's, HD600's
Power Supply Corsair RM650x v2
Mouse iunno whatever cheap crap logitech *clutches Xbox 360 controller security blanket*
Keyboard see: mouse
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Costs more than my last ex, but it never complains and has much better throughput.
#8
Loose cable maybe? Either shorting out or just losing contact. Not sure how possible this is, but if you can get to where the cable actually connects inside of the mouse, might try securing it with something... ...I'd probably use epoxy adhesive or something similar. Probably open it up, plug it in and confirm it first. If it's loose, put the epoxy on, position it so it works and for gods sake don't move it until the epoxy cures after that. Wouldn't want it to cure in a position where it always shorts!

I think @natron has it. Not impossible to fix, but not ideal either. Best fix is just to desolder it, cut back to fresh wire, and resolder it and add some heat shrink or something for strain relief so it doesn't happen again. You could try my fix, but if the wires are fraying the connection is already too compromised. All you can do is resolder... ...or maybe try to strip the wire around the frayed parts and just tin them with solder and put some liquid electrical tape on as an insulator.

Of course, you could always just forget about it and buy a new mouse, hah. Chances are its completely fixable, but I think most people just wouldn't bother. Personally I'd try to fix it, but I'm not normal!

EDIT: Well if it's new... ...can you just RMA it? Maybe the mouse is just no good. Shouldn't be doing that fresh out of the package.

I wonder if it's a problem with the ports... ...I recall an old machine where things would drop out if I moved the cable too much. They just had a lot of wiggle to them - too much movement and contact would break just long enough to force a d/c.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
103 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
System Name Pops pc
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 2700
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 Aorus Ultra Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series F4-3200C16D-16GVK DDR4 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE AORUS Radeon RX 570 4GB
Storage SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB NVMe, Black 2TB, WD Red 6TB, WD Gold 10 TB, 2x Seagate 2TB, Seagate 4TBext
Display(s) Planar 27"
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F-51 Window
Audio Device(s) Xfi Titanium pushing logitech Z-5500's
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ, 80+ GOLD 650W
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Azio Large Print Backlit
Software Win 10 64
#9
Off to the store tomorrow morning I guess...

Thanks guys...
 
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
370 (2.57/day)
Likes
250
Location
Florida
System Name getting back into it - constant WIP
Processor Ryzen 5 2600 [4.2GHz @ 1.3v]
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F
Cooling Scythe Mugen MAX - 2x 120mm NZXT stock fans top/rear exhaust - 2x 140mm Corsair ML140's front intake
Memory 2x8GB TridentZ RGB 3466Mhz CL16 [bad-luck b-die]
Video Card(s) MSI RX 580 Armor OC [1467MHz core / 1951MHz mem]
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB - Samsung 860 Evo 250GB
Display(s) crappy 720p 34" Vizio [for now - 1080p downscaling helps :P]
Case NZXT S340 Elite
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 2 Uber, Sys, Vali 2, Scarlett 2i2 2nd gen - LSR 305's, DT-990 Pro's, HD600's
Power Supply Corsair RM650x v2
Mouse iunno whatever cheap crap logitech *clutches Xbox 360 controller security blanket*
Keyboard see: mouse
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Costs more than my last ex, but it never complains and has much better throughput.
#10
Off to the store tomorrow morning I guess...

Thanks guys...
Sucks, but what are you gonna do? Happens sometimes.

If its any consolation, I've done more new builds where I had to return something than builds where everything just worked. Even on the high end, they really don't make stuff like they used to.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
1,975 (1.45/day)
Likes
1,629
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
#11
I'm using a mouse right now that randomly acts up like that. And by randomly I mean it does it for like a week. Then doesn't do it for several months. Then does it again for a day or 2. Then doesn't do it for 3-4 years. Then just did it again for about a half an hour about 2 weeks ago.

I've learned to just wait it out. It'll work right again when it feels like it...:p
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
103 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
System Name Pops pc
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 2700
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 Aorus Ultra Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series F4-3200C16D-16GVK DDR4 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE AORUS Radeon RX 570 4GB
Storage SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB NVMe, Black 2TB, WD Red 6TB, WD Gold 10 TB, 2x Seagate 2TB, Seagate 4TBext
Display(s) Planar 27"
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F-51 Window
Audio Device(s) Xfi Titanium pushing logitech Z-5500's
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ, 80+ GOLD 650W
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Azio Large Print Backlit
Software Win 10 64
#12
I'm using a mouse right now that randomly acts up like that. And by randomly I mean it does it for like a week. Then doesn't do it for several months. Then does it again for a day or 2. Then doesn't do it for 3-4 years. Then just did it again for about a half an hour about 2 weeks ago.

I've learned to just wait it out. It'll work right again when it feels like it...:p

Yea, I'm simply not blessed with that type of patience...
I'm from the "We want the world, and we want it NOW" generation.....:rockout:
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,826 (0.60/day)
Likes
816
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage Samsung 850EVO,PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro 1809/W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#13
@Rickkins : Is this a corded mouse, if I missed it?
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
103 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
System Name Pops pc
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 2700
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 Aorus Ultra Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series F4-3200C16D-16GVK DDR4 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE AORUS Radeon RX 570 4GB
Storage SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB NVMe, Black 2TB, WD Red 6TB, WD Gold 10 TB, 2x Seagate 2TB, Seagate 4TBext
Display(s) Planar 27"
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F-51 Window
Audio Device(s) Xfi Titanium pushing logitech Z-5500's
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ, 80+ GOLD 650W
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Azio Large Print Backlit
Software Win 10 64
#14
Yup, corded mouse. On my way to get a new one as soon as the stores open....
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,826 (0.60/day)
Likes
816
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage Samsung 850EVO,PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro 1809/W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#15
Yup, corded mouse. On my way to get a new one as soon as the stores open....
If you make a short loop in the cord starting near the mouse and kneed the cord you may be able to locate the weak spot in the cable. You are bending the cord but not trying to fold it in half, more like a soft bend.

If you find the break you could splice the wire. There should be 4 wires like yellow black red green, you then have to locate which of the 4 is bad, it's a messy job but you could salvage for a spare.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,681 (3.95/day)
Likes
10,966
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#16
My daughters mouse does that from time to time,its an older Azio mouse, the functionality & even the lighting just cuts out suddenly, then i wiggle the cord & all goes back to normal. This thread reminds me that it actually hasn't done this in a while, but I haven't repaired it, its weird.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
103 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
System Name Pops pc
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 2700
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 Aorus Ultra Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series F4-3200C16D-16GVK DDR4 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE AORUS Radeon RX 570 4GB
Storage SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB NVMe, Black 2TB, WD Red 6TB, WD Gold 10 TB, 2x Seagate 2TB, Seagate 4TBext
Display(s) Planar 27"
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F-51 Window
Audio Device(s) Xfi Titanium pushing logitech Z-5500's
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ, 80+ GOLD 650W
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Azio Large Print Backlit
Software Win 10 64
#17
They're like $10. at the local shop, maybe I'll buy two... always good to have a backup...
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,834 (2.50/day)
Likes
2,064
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard ASUS STRIX
Cooling Deepcool Ice Edge
Memory 8 Gb Team Delta 2
Video Card(s) Radeon R250
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 4Tb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse A4Tech X7
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 10 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#18
Very weird. All of a sudden, my mouse stops working, light even goes out.
I switch ports, it works again until it doesn't.

Thoughts...??
Suspect the mouse itself, looks like the cable or internal parts

What mouse?
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
103 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
System Name Pops pc
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 2700
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 Aorus Ultra Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series F4-3200C16D-16GVK DDR4 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE AORUS Radeon RX 570 4GB
Storage SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB NVMe, Black 2TB, WD Red 6TB, WD Gold 10 TB, 2x Seagate 2TB, Seagate 4TBext
Display(s) Planar 27"
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F-51 Window
Audio Device(s) Xfi Titanium pushing logitech Z-5500's
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ, 80+ GOLD 650W
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Azio Large Print Backlit
Software Win 10 64
#19
Two new mouses bought. If the problem returns you guys will be the first to know.

Well, actually the second to know, because I'll know first, won't I. But definitely the second....:D

Thanks again....
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
103 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
System Name Pops pc
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 2700
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 Aorus Ultra Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series F4-3200C16D-16GVK DDR4 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE AORUS Radeon RX 570 4GB
Storage SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB NVMe, Black 2TB, WD Red 6TB, WD Gold 10 TB, 2x Seagate 2TB, Seagate 4TBext
Display(s) Planar 27"
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F-51 Window
Audio Device(s) Xfi Titanium pushing logitech Z-5500's
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ, 80+ GOLD 650W
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Azio Large Print Backlit
Software Win 10 64
#20
Ruh roh....

Worked great for two days, now I'm getting mini-freezes this morning.

That can't be good...

Worse, I just unwrapped the second mouse I bought Thursday, same shit...

Uh, ok so I may be an idiot. In my defense, the dog woke me up way too early.

The fix..?? Turned my second monitor 'on'....
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,826 (0.60/day)
Likes
816
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage Samsung 850EVO,PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro 1809/W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#21
Ruh roh....

Worked great for two days, now I'm getting mini-freezes this morning.

That can't be good...

Worse, I just unwrapped the second mouse I bought Thursday, same shit...

Uh, ok so I may be an idiot. In my defense, the dog woke me up way too early.

The fix..?? Turned my second monitor 'on'....

Begs the question," where is the mouse plugged into, the PC, a USB Hub or one of the Monitors?"

Also, are you installing specific mouse software/ drivers or letting Windows install generic mouse drivers?
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
103 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
System Name Pops pc
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 2700
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 Aorus Ultra Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series F4-3200C16D-16GVK DDR4 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE AORUS Radeon RX 570 4GB
Storage SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB NVMe, Black 2TB, WD Red 6TB, WD Gold 10 TB, 2x Seagate 2TB, Seagate 4TBext
Display(s) Planar 27"
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F-51 Window
Audio Device(s) Xfi Titanium pushing logitech Z-5500's
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ, 80+ GOLD 650W
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Azio Large Print Backlit
Software Win 10 64
#22
Begs the question," where is the mouse plugged into, the PC, a USB Hub or one of the Monitors?"

Also, are you installing specific mouse software/ drivers or letting Windows install generic mouse drivers?
Plugged into back of pc, in the slot usually used for mouse/keyboard.

I always have both monitors running, except this morning I did not. Once I turned the second monitor on, problem fixed itself.

Mind you, I don't think that is supposed to happen, but what are ya gonna do.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,826 (0.60/day)
Likes
816
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage Samsung 850EVO,PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro 1809/W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#23
What about the Drivers? Are you spanning the image across 2 screens?
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
103 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
System Name Pops pc
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 2700
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 Aorus Ultra Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series F4-3200C16D-16GVK DDR4 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE AORUS Radeon RX 570 4GB
Storage SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB NVMe, Black 2TB, WD Red 6TB, WD Gold 10 TB, 2x Seagate 2TB, Seagate 4TBext
Display(s) Planar 27"
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F-51 Window
Audio Device(s) Xfi Titanium pushing logitech Z-5500's
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ, 80+ GOLD 650W
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Azio Large Print Backlit
Software Win 10 64
#25
Uh, no image is duplicated on each screen. One is used as a 'tv', with streaming content(currently morning news for example) and/or media content from the computer.

For reasons that elude me for the moment, my monitor is listed as screen 2, despite being label as main display.
 
Top