1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

USB not recognized error

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Black Panther, Oct 6, 2010.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,878 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,140
    My dad just bought an HTC Desire phone. He is not interested in synching it with his pc, but whenever he plugs the phone in through USB it gives an error saying that there was a malfunction and usb drive not recognized. We tried it in 3 different pc's and it gives the same error.

    Installing the HTC Sync driver didn't work either - the software says the phone is offline, and it still pops up on the bottom right of the pc monitor that there was a malfanction and the usb is not recognized.

    Am I missing something or could it be that the cable or phone is faulty?
     
  2. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    PC specs? What OS is this in? I have a Desire which works just fine...
     
  3. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,878 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,140
    We tried it in a E7500 2GB RAM Win 7 x86, in a Q9400 2GB RAM Win 7 x86 and in laptop 1.6Ghz pentium 1GB RAM XP x86.

    So you mean you plug your Desire and it is instantly recognized like a drive (my LG Arena works like that too)...
     
  4. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    When I plug my Desire in it asks me what I wanna do (charge, USB disk, those kinds of things) and the drive shows up. Both in WinXP x86 (work) and Win7 x64 (home)

    Got another micro-USB cable to test?
     
    Black Panther says thanks.
  5. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,878 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,140
    This one lights up and starts charging, and this appears on the pc monitor:

    [​IMG]

    If I click the message I get this:

    [​IMG]


    :ohwell:

    I don't have a spare cable, but guess there's no choice except getting one...
     
  6. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Well as my Desire does ask me the question, you might have, at some time, selected to use the phone as a modem and ticked the "Don't ask me again" box. I'm not that much into the OS but you might wanna search how you can reset that.
     
  7. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,519
    this i think is most likely - I have an evo and it too asks me every time, as I sometimes do and sometimes do not want to use it as a drive.

    I recommend getting an AC wall->USB adapter - one should have came with the phone. they are cheap, convenient, and will charge the phone faster than from a computer's usb port.
     
  8. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,878 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,140
    He had ticked that box but setting it to sync, and he did it to try to solve this same problem.

    I've done 'set phone to factory default' now just in case....

    Edit: After setting to factory default, now the phone asks me if I want to active-sync or use as disk drive. I choose disk drive but still get the precise error in screenshots above.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2010
  9. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,519
    yeah it should give you the option to charge only, if it doesn't do that - maybe there is something wrong with it ?
     
  10. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,878 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,140
    After more googling I found advice to stick it to one of the back USB's because they supply more voltage (really?)

    Anyway, this worked, but I got a popup saying that I need to format the drive before I can use it :eek:

    Is it safe to do this or would my dad end up with a working usb disk instead of a working phone?
     
  11. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Hmm, maybe his mem card isn't formatted yet. Sounds weird tho.
     
  12. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,878 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,140
    I removed the micro-sd card from the phone and re-attached the phone to the pc and still got the message that I need to format 'drive e:' :wtf:
     
  13. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,519
    i wouldn't, especially after the mem card is removed.
     
  14. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,524 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,526
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Well, on my LG you have to tell the phone, first, to use external memory device or the the internal memory.

    Just saying...:)

    If you don't, or don't have a card plugged in, it is on internal memory , by default.
    (Most) phones will format the card and set up the directory structure when you plug it in and turn it on.
     
  15. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,878 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,140
    I guess this is important - he just told me that yesterday he plugged phone onto laptop and (using his words) "the computer was loading or installing something from the phone"....
    Then he was distracted and just pulled out the USB without letting it finish what it was doing :eek: :ohwell:
    It even worked because he had installed music on the phone (and I was like huh how had you managed to install music.....)

    It was only after this incident that every computer we plug in the phone insists on wanting to format it.

    ______________________

    This makes sense, once I pulled out a pendrive like that and I kept getting the message that it needed to be formatted to be used again.
    But well, formatting a pendrive is routine but formatting a phone especially just the phone without the micro-sd card just sounds not good..
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2010
  16. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,579 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Format it. Fix FAT. Start over.

    Oh, and don't forget to teach dad lesson about safely-remove-usb device.

    PPS. Twighlightzone, is this some kind of freaky role-reversal? LOL. Anyway, hope it works out fine, if not warranty return it
     
  17. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,095 (3.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,215
    Location:
    Pune
    have you tried bluetooth?
     
  18. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,878 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,140
    Won't formatting a phone remove its functions as a phone?

    The pc's here don't have bluetooth.

    Edit: By golly I tried to scan it several times without success, then suddenly it was Win 7 which prompted me to scan, I did and problem is solved now :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)