1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Use GPU-Z to attain wattage?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Soup, Feb 8, 2012.

  1. Soup

    Soup New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    159 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    'merica
    Given that Watts = Amps x Volts, couldn't I use the info provided by GPU-Z to obtain my GPU's actual wattage?
    The only problem I see is that I don't know which V or A to use... see below.
    [​IMG]

    The only reasonable wattage's I got came from:
    • 12v * VDDC Current In = ~209W
    • VDDC * VDDC Current = ~161W
    • MVDDC * VDDC Current = ~239W

    Any thoughts?

    P.S. I hope this is in the correct section. Preemptive sorry if it is not.
     
  2. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,743 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    i believe it's VDDC*VDDC Current
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,539 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,647
    that calculation would be correct and give your the gpu only power consumption of the board (excluding memory and other consumers on the board). there is no way to calculate board power for the whole card
     
    Soup and Athlon2K15 say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,322 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    748
    Location:
    Vietnam
    How much additional power would the components on the board use, percentage wise? 20% +/- 5%?
     
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,539 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,647
    screenshot above shows 149 A @ 1.08 V GPU = 160.92 W for the GPU only.

    Assuming the user was running Furmark, I measured 270W board power, so 90 W missing. Obviously this can change depending on application and power state.
     
    silkstone says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Soup

    Soup New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    159 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    'merica
    I guess I'll just break down and buy a Kill-a-Watt. Thanks for the input guys/gals? Very useful.

    BTW I was running DiabloMiner
     
  7. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,743 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    Soup says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,903 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Or use a clamp meter around the +12VDC wires between the PSU and the card while checking the voltage with another voltmeter, then apply Ohm's Law.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,539 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,647
    missing up to 75W power through the pcie slot
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,903 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Is that 75W used first?

    Is it used always, or does it vary?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,539 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,647
    varies. you must measure it
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,903 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    I see... then I would get a PCI-E riser extension cable, determine which conductors supply +12VDC, and use the clamp meter.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)