1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Use socket 478 CPU's in socket 775 boards

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Mussels, May 30, 2010.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
  2. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,681 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    399
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    and why....lol i kno some people have old hardware but one could probly get a used 775 processor for dam close to that for hella better perf than a 478 chip
     
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    it boggles my mind :p


    for example i have a 2.8GHz celeron here, which could be worth $30 for the adaptor if i had a spare 775 board... but still, WTF.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,964 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,757
    Location:
    Ohio
    wat

    I doubt that would even work...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,340 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Would not use that adapter - who knows what it fries over time..
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)