• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Using a Belkin Wireless N router in bridge mode

Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
3,057 (0.58/day)
Likes
1,694
Location
Visalia, CA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K @ 5GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime Z370-A
Cooling Swiftech H220-X
Memory 2x16GBs G.Skill Trident DDR4 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix 2080 Ti Black Ops Ed
Storage OS: 256GBs Samsung 850 Pro SSD/Games: 3TBs WD Black
Display(s) Sony 75" 4K HDR TV - Samsung Odyssey VR
Case Corsair Graphite Black 760T
Audio Device(s) Sony STR-DN1080 - 7.2 Klipsch Dolby ATMOS Speaker Setup
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Keyboard Logitech K830 wireless keyboard/trackpad
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#1
Hello guys and gals, just wanted to know if you can help we with this problem I have:

About two weeks ago I bought a new desk for the room I keep my PC at, and it seems the desk's size, and the position I'm placing my PC at, greatly reduced my wireless signal.

I used to have a Belkin Wireless N (not the N1) router in my room, and my PC has an Encore Wireless N PCI card, before getting the new desk, I never had signal problems, and the signal strength was always excellent, my speed being a constant 300 Mbps.

After getting the desk, my signal went to about 140 Mbps, and the signal strength was degraded to low... needless to say my connection got dropped many times :(

I looked on the net for a new router, and got a Belkin Wireless N1, which was supposed to have a longer range and stronger signal, but I still get a low signal strenght, and my wireless card still disconnects very often, the speed only increased to about 200 Mbps.

My question is:

I still have my old wireless N router, is there anyway I could use it as a wireless bridge, to get a signal from the N1 router in my room? I cannot move the N1 router in my room as, the apartment has a cable connection there only, and I have my 360 and PS3 hooked to it.

If I were to use my Belkin wireless N router as a bridge, what settings should I use, and should I just plug it directly to my PC using my NIC connection?

Thanks so much for your advice, any help would be greatly appreciated :)
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
3,057 (0.58/day)
Likes
1,694
Location
Visalia, CA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K @ 5GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime Z370-A
Cooling Swiftech H220-X
Memory 2x16GBs G.Skill Trident DDR4 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix 2080 Ti Black Ops Ed
Storage OS: 256GBs Samsung 850 Pro SSD/Games: 3TBs WD Black
Display(s) Sony 75" 4K HDR TV - Samsung Odyssey VR
Case Corsair Graphite Black 760T
Audio Device(s) Sony STR-DN1080 - 7.2 Klipsch Dolby ATMOS Speaker Setup
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Keyboard Logitech K830 wireless keyboard/trackpad
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#2
OK, I connected my old N Wireless router to my PC using my NIC cable, and enabled its use as an access point from the setup menu.

My wireless card detects the router with a 100%% signal strength, but when I connect to it the wireless network icon has a warning sign on it, and if I click on it, I get a message stating that this network has a limited connectivity.

If I try to open any web pages, none of them load, but if I connect to the router in the room, I can surf the web with no problems, so its like the routers are not seeing each other.

How can I make both routers to see each other, so I can get a better signal in my PC room? id there anything else I need to configure?

Help? Anyone??...
 

Polaris573

Senior Moderator
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
4,268 (0.84/day)
Likes
672
Location
Little Rock, USA
Processor LGA 775 Intel Q9550 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard MSI P7N Diamond - 780i Chipset
Cooling Arctic Freezer
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDRII 800 4-4-3-5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7850 2 GB PCI-E
Storage 1 TB Seagate 32MB Cache, 250 GB Seagate 16MB Cache
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#3
Most stock router firmwares do not support bridging between routers. You can check to see if your router is supported by any of the third-party firmwares such as DD-WRT that do support wireless bridging.

Belkin models supported by DD-WRT
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
3,057 (0.58/day)
Likes
1,694
Location
Visalia, CA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K @ 5GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime Z370-A
Cooling Swiftech H220-X
Memory 2x16GBs G.Skill Trident DDR4 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix 2080 Ti Black Ops Ed
Storage OS: 256GBs Samsung 850 Pro SSD/Games: 3TBs WD Black
Display(s) Sony 75" 4K HDR TV - Samsung Odyssey VR
Case Corsair Graphite Black 760T
Audio Device(s) Sony STR-DN1080 - 7.2 Klipsch Dolby ATMOS Speaker Setup
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Keyboard Logitech K830 wireless keyboard/trackpad
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#4
Most stock router firmwares do not support bridging between routers. You can check to see if your router is supported by any of the third-party firmwares such as DD-WRT that do support wireless bridging.

Belkin models supported by DD-WRT
Neither my old wireless router model F5D8233uk4 nor my new model F5D8231uk4 are on that list :(

Will keep on looking for other alternatives... Thanks for your help though.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
3,057 (0.58/day)
Likes
1,694
Location
Visalia, CA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K @ 5GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime Z370-A
Cooling Swiftech H220-X
Memory 2x16GBs G.Skill Trident DDR4 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix 2080 Ti Black Ops Ed
Storage OS: 256GBs Samsung 850 Pro SSD/Games: 3TBs WD Black
Display(s) Sony 75" 4K HDR TV - Samsung Odyssey VR
Case Corsair Graphite Black 760T
Audio Device(s) Sony STR-DN1080 - 7.2 Klipsch Dolby ATMOS Speaker Setup
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Keyboard Logitech K830 wireless keyboard/trackpad
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#5

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.38/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#6
If that doesn't work, just buy a better antenna for your wireless card. You can find some pretty cheap.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,540 (0.37/day)
Likes
173
System Name :3
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard
Cooling cm 212 EVO
Memory G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275
Storage WD black 500gb Samsung 1tb
Display(s) 27" 1366x768 Olevia 527v
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Ac
Software Windows 8 pro
#7
i dont think that was a very good idea, i would invest in something good, since the best routers are the cheapest

i run openWRT + X-Wrt[webif²] on a WRT54G v2.0 with 32mb ram, and a couple antennas about twice the size of the normal ones, they were only about 10 dollars on sale

i have only spent about 30 dollars total on my router ever. which is funny because befor i got it, i spent like a few hundred dollars on junk, countless piles of junk that everybody swore on their life were really great routers, then 30 bux and ive got the router I'l have for the rest of my life [unless i ever replace it with an avila gateworks or something]
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
1,192 (0.27/day)
Likes
129
Location
scotland
System Name spuds K8-X2
Processor amd athlon X2 4200+ toledo s939 2794mhz 254x11 1.4 vcore
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo4-F v1.0 (MS-7125) nforce4 sata2 mod, laptop cpu heatpipe copper nb cooler
Cooling akasa evo "blue" + 90mm fan, 2x120mm front, 250mm side, 120mm rear, 120mm in psu, pci slot exhaust.
Memory OCZ Platinum XTC DDR PC3200 4GB(4x1024) @254mhz 3-3-3-8 2T
Video Card(s) sapphire HD3870 512mb GDDR4 vf900cu, several ramsinks on components / nvidia 7300gt 256mb secondary
Storage hitachi 160gb (slightly fried) / hitachi 120gb ATA / Seagate 160gb / 2x ps3 seagate 60gb
Display(s) CTX EX1300F 20" flat CRT, 1280x1024@100hz / 19" benq FP91G X / 19" hanns-g (all free)
Case mesh server/gaming black case, 9x 5.25' drive bays, silvestone auto fan controller
Audio Device(s) onboard realtek alc850 7.1/soundblaster LIVE! ct4780 + kxaudio - sony home theatre surround
Power Supply winpower 650w, system draws around 470-500w under load(+all screens)
Software win7 64bit
Benchmark Scores ~16m trips/sec using mty trip generator. triple monitor gaming using SoftTH. 3840x1024
#8
Top