• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

VBE7 - vBIOS Editor for Radeon HD 7000 series cards

darkhmz

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2013
Messages
81 (0.05/day)
Likes
159
Location
Hungary
Processor Core i5-2500
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-D2-B3
Memory 2x4GB Kingston DDR3@1333
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD 7870 Myst Edition
Display(s) DELL U2412M
Power Supply FSP Raider 550W
Software W7 x64
#1
PLEASE NOTE THE DEVELOPER OF THIS SOFTWARE HAS NOT VISITED HERE SINCE 2013, THE SOFTWARE IS FOR A LIMITED GROUP OF Tahiti, Pitcairn, Cape Verde, Oland, and Malta based GRAPHIC CARDS SO PLEASE DO NOT MAKE ANY REQUESTS RELATING TO UPDATES OR FEATURES..... WHAT YOU SEE IS WHAT YOU GET!

Download links can be found at the bottom of this post


Hi!


After a few weeks of developing / testing / tweaking, - and with the help of a guy (DroiDMester) who has BIOS modding experience - here is a small utility which lets you modify your Radeon HD 7000 series card's BIOS (HD 7790 not supported).


With this tool you will be able to
  • Change Vendor ID / Subsystem ID (not recommended)
  • Change clocks and voltages
  • Change OverDrive's core clock and memory clock limits, TDP limit, power limit
  • Make custom fan profile


There are some limitations though...
  • You cant change 2D / UVD voltages
  • You cant set 2D / UVD clocks higher than the values stored in BIOS (these limitations are intentional, without these limits powerplay would go nuts...)
  • The following voltage regulators are fully supported: CHL822x, CHL8214, UP1637, UP1801, ST6788A, VT1556M
  • For unknown voltage regulators, you can select voltage from a predefined table.


When you open a file, the first thing you'll see is the Overview panel with some information about the loaded BIOS




...including BIOS version, Device ID, VRM type, memory type(s) supported by BIOS etc...



Notes regarding the 3D voltage(s) displayed on the PowerPlay panel




VBE7 shows the first entry of the voltage table, which is the highest voltage (for the lowest ASIC quality). So, for example, if your GPU's ASIC quality is 85%, and needs 1050mV, but the first entry of the voltage table is 1188mV (70.9% ASIC quality), the displayed value would be 1188mV. You'd expect 1050mV but its not a problem, because if you edit the voltage, VBE7 modifies all entries of the table, which means the GPU will get the voltage you set, regardless of ASIC quality.

Also, since its not possible to adjust voltage by 1mV steps, VBE7 recalculates the value - while taking into account the VRM type - when you leave the edited field.

If you want to get rid of boost, just make your 3D clocks / voltages equal, thats what i did with my Tahiti LE ;)



Fan Profile




You can make, save, and load your custom fan profiles.

A few words about temperature hysteresis... Basically, temperature hysteresis is the fan controller's sensitivity to temperature changes (applied to decreasing temperatures only). For example if the controller has a hysteresis of 6°C, and the last fan speed change was at 72°C, the fan speed wont chage while the temperature is higher than 72-6 (66°C). Without hysteresis, the fan speed would change too frequently, which is really annoying.



New Fan Profile Editor in version 0.0.7


fan_editor.png




How to use
  • Save your BIOS with GPU-Z
  • Open with VBE7
  • Modify
  • Save
  • Think twice before flashing
  • Flash your modified BIOS either with atiflash or atiwinflash (preferably atiflash)
  • Reboot


Please read the following before you give it a go
  • This is a new software so even though it worked for me and some others, i cant guarantee it will work for you as well. USE IT AT YOUR OWN RISK!
  • Dont forget to make backup of your original BIOS
  • Use it only if you know what you're doing, and if you can recover from a bad BIOS flash if something goes wrong...
  • This software is not foolproof, use it carefully
  • Modifications only affect the legacy BIOS, and after saving, UEFI image will be disabled (in case you have UEFI vBIOS)
  • If you're experiencing problems with your modified BIOS, please post your original and modified files.
  • Note to crossfire users: it is strongly recommended to disable ULPS before BIOS flashing


Changes in version 0.0.4
  • added voltage control support for VRMs reported as unknown


Changes in version 0.0.5
  • added support for Volterra VT1556M


Changes in version 0.0.6
  • now VBE7 recalculates the BIOS checksum, no need to use the -f (force flashing) parameter


Changes in version 0.0.7
  • new fan profile editor
  • modifiable power limits


Changes in version 0.0.7a
  • Fixed a bug in the fan profile editor


Changes in version 0.0.7b
  • Fixed some bugs


Ive attached the executable, a comparison picture of my card's original and modified BIOS, two GPU-Z shots showing modified clocks in action, and a picture of od window...
 

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,048 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,945
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#2
How did you manage to work around the digital signature requirement for the overdrive section?
 

darkhmz

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2013
Messages
81 (0.05/day)
Likes
159
Location
Hungary
Processor Core i5-2500
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-D2-B3
Memory 2x4GB Kingston DDR3@1333
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD 7870 Myst Edition
Display(s) DELL U2412M
Power Supply FSP Raider 550W
Software W7 x64
#3
How did you manage to work around the digital signature requirement for the overdrive section?
I didnt do anything related to digital signature, I just modify the values and it works with no problems.
 
Joined
May 13, 2013
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
Likes
13
Location
MADAGASCAR, Antananarivo
Processor AMD Fx 8320 stock@1.080v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Memory Gskill Trident-X 2133mhz 9-11-10-28-1N
Video Card(s) r9 290 tri-X: 1000/1250
Display(s) Philips 227ELH
Case Gigabyte 3D Mars
Power Supply Raidmax RX-1200AE
Software Win 10 64bit
#4
please can you extend the voltage regulator support, mine is reported as unknown :respect:
 

darkhmz

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2013
Messages
81 (0.05/day)
Likes
159
Location
Hungary
Processor Core i5-2500
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-D2-B3
Memory 2x4GB Kingston DDR3@1333
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD 7870 Myst Edition
Display(s) DELL U2412M
Power Supply FSP Raider 550W
Software W7 x64
#5
please can you extend the voltage regulator support, mine is reported as unknown :respect:
I'm afraid only the types mentioned above will be supported. I might look into it later though.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
1,644 (0.48/day)
Likes
344
System Name Black Killing Machine
Processor Delidded NO IHS mount Intel i7-4770k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Cooling Swiftech DIR655 pump, Watercool HEATKILLER® GPU-X³ 79X0 Ni-Bl gpu, DT SNIPER CPU block, UT60 420 RAD
Memory Gskill Trident 2400mhz CL9 Samsung IC9
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE HD7950 OC 950mhz Edition, VaporX HD7950
Storage 2xM4 Crucial 64GB RAID 0, 1 OCZ AGILILITY 3 60GB, WDCB 500GB x2RAID0, WD Green, Hitachi 1TB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW and 24" 120hz BenQ gamer
Case SilverStone Raven rv-02
Audio Device(s) Audio Technica ATH-AD900 headphones, Topping D2 DAC/Headphone AMP
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 860
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/sonda5/ Delidding is magic. http://valid.canardpc.com/2878462
#6
Will be trying this out with VaporX hd7950. Thanks. :)
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#7
Tested on v1.0 (2x 6-pin, 900/1250 @ 0.900 V) Gigabyte 7950 WindForce (F2 non-UEFI BIOS originally). Card already tested to have full software voltage control on original BIOS and other non-BOOST/BOOST BIOSes.


Power Limit(to 225) and voltage increases(to 1.182 V) work fine with Catalyst 13.6 B2 drivers. Haven't checked other drivers or other BIOSes for this card.

1.182 V gives 1.162 V idle, 1.112 V loaded, measured via multimeter.

Entering values and hitting "enter" on keyboard makes GUI tabs go blank, but moving to other tab, then going back to modified tab, shows changes made. Had to manually flash BIOS via DOS.
 
Last edited:

darkhmz

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2013
Messages
81 (0.05/day)
Likes
159
Location
Hungary
Processor Core i5-2500
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-D2-B3
Memory 2x4GB Kingston DDR3@1333
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD 7870 Myst Edition
Display(s) DELL U2412M
Power Supply FSP Raider 550W
Software W7 x64
#8
Entering values and hitting "enter" on keyboard makes GUI tabs go blank, but moving to other tab, then going back to modified tab, shows changes made. Had to manually flash BIOS via DOS.
Thanks for the bug report, ive fixed it...
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#9
I needed something to play with this wkend Thanks :D ;)
 

darkhmz

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2013
Messages
81 (0.05/day)
Likes
159
Location
Hungary
Processor Core i5-2500
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-D2-B3
Memory 2x4GB Kingston DDR3@1333
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD 7870 Myst Edition
Display(s) DELL U2412M
Power Supply FSP Raider 550W
Software W7 x64
#11
Added overdrive window picture to 1st post, showing modified od limits (3000/3000/42).
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,041 (0.91/day)
Likes
1,852
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i7 3770k @ 4.5 GHz /1.25 volt
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H with Beta Bios F20e
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, 1xDelta EFB1212VH, 2xYate Loon 140 PWM, 2xCorsair 120 PWM
Memory Samsung 30nm Green MV3V4G3D DDR3 16 GB (4x4GB) @ 1800 MHz CL9 1.35 volt
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB @ Core 1254 MHz / Ram 1800 MHz
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD (Boot) + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05 (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD USB Audio Dongle
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A, Corsair MM600, inateck 900mm x 300mm Mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL and Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key (Cherry Browns)
Software Win7 64 Pro
Benchmark Scores Wprime 32 5.758 http://www.wprime.net/Scores/19988/View
#12
Card is a Gigabyte 7970 OC 3GB Windforce rev 2.1 I used this bios: http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4290#bios and it worked perfectly but didn't like the new native memory overclock at 1500. It would crash unless I used CCC to lower the memory to original 1375. I'd like to change it down to 1375 (stock for card) in the bios so I don't need to rely on software underclocking. Do I just load the ghz bios and change all the 1500 mentions back to 1375 on the performance and UVD screens?

What does UVD panel mean?

To disable boost, set #6 and #0 to same settings in the performance window?

Heres what I have it changed to now:




Any issues you guys forsee?
 
Last edited:

darkhmz

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2013
Messages
81 (0.05/day)
Likes
159
Location
Hungary
Processor Core i5-2500
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-D2-B3
Memory 2x4GB Kingston DDR3@1333
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD 7870 Myst Edition
Display(s) DELL U2412M
Power Supply FSP Raider 550W
Software W7 x64
#13
Hi Vario!

I'd recommend you to modify your original BIOS. Just change clocks / VDDC to the values you want. The drop-down combo is only to show you what clocks are used in different states. For example if you're watching a HD movie with a player that using hardware acceleration, the clocks listed on the UVD panel will be used.

Yep, to disable boost, make clocks #6 and #0 equal.

After you tried it, please let me know if it works, thanks. :)

btw UVD stands for Unified Video Decoder
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,041 (0.91/day)
Likes
1,852
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i7 3770k @ 4.5 GHz /1.25 volt
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H with Beta Bios F20e
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, 1xDelta EFB1212VH, 2xYate Loon 140 PWM, 2xCorsair 120 PWM
Memory Samsung 30nm Green MV3V4G3D DDR3 16 GB (4x4GB) @ 1800 MHz CL9 1.35 volt
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB @ Core 1254 MHz / Ram 1800 MHz
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD (Boot) + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05 (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD USB Audio Dongle
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A, Corsair MM600, inateck 900mm x 300mm Mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL and Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key (Cherry Browns)
Software Win7 64 Pro
Benchmark Scores Wprime 32 5.758 http://www.wprime.net/Scores/19988/View
#14
Hi Vario!

I'd recommend you to modify your original BIOS. Just change clocks / VDDC to the values you want. The drop-down combo is only to show you what clocks are used in different states. For example if you're watching a HD movie with a player that using hardware acceleration, the clocks listed on the UVD panel will be used.

Yep, to disable boost, make clocks #6 and #0 equal.

After you tried it, please let me know if it works, thanks. :)

btw UVD stands for Unified Video Decoder
I would mod the original bios but it doesn't like my changing the voltage. Core voltage is "locked" in Rev 2.1.


edit: one small step for man... (gonna test this modbios.rom)...

edit2: hung in 3dmark11 instantly.

edit3: remade it without any custom fan profiles or forcing boost and reinstalled the catalyst drivers and ....


IT WORKS!
 
Last edited:

darkhmz

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2013
Messages
81 (0.05/day)
Likes
159
Location
Hungary
Processor Core i5-2500
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-D2-B3
Memory 2x4GB Kingston DDR3@1333
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD 7870 Myst Edition
Display(s) DELL U2412M
Power Supply FSP Raider 550W
Software W7 x64
#15
edit: hung in 3dmark11 instantly.
Could you test your clocks / voltage with the GPU-Z render test? Start render test and check your clocks and VDDC. Did you modify VDDC too?
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,041 (0.91/day)
Likes
1,852
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i7 3770k @ 4.5 GHz /1.25 volt
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H with Beta Bios F20e
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, 1xDelta EFB1212VH, 2xYate Loon 140 PWM, 2xCorsair 120 PWM
Memory Samsung 30nm Green MV3V4G3D DDR3 16 GB (4x4GB) @ 1800 MHz CL9 1.35 volt
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB @ Core 1254 MHz / Ram 1800 MHz
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD (Boot) + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05 (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD USB Audio Dongle
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A, Corsair MM600, inateck 900mm x 300mm Mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL and Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key (Cherry Browns)
Software Win7 64 Pro
Benchmark Scores Wprime 32 5.758 http://www.wprime.net/Scores/19988/View
#16
Could you test your clocks / voltage with the GPU-Z render test? Start render test and check your clocks and VDDC. Did you modify VDDC too?
Just did the render test, it passed, started up 3dm11 and it is running now, its working great I think! When I made a second modbios.rom this time I just changed the memory clock only, nothing else. No Boost vs non boost stuff. I think it was either the drivers or forcing boost 100% of the time.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,041 (0.91/day)
Likes
1,852
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i7 3770k @ 4.5 GHz /1.25 volt
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H with Beta Bios F20e
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, 1xDelta EFB1212VH, 2xYate Loon 140 PWM, 2xCorsair 120 PWM
Memory Samsung 30nm Green MV3V4G3D DDR3 16 GB (4x4GB) @ 1800 MHz CL9 1.35 volt
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB @ Core 1254 MHz / Ram 1800 MHz
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD (Boot) + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05 (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD USB Audio Dongle
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A, Corsair MM600, inateck 900mm x 300mm Mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL and Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key (Cherry Browns)
Software Win7 64 Pro
Benchmark Scores Wprime 32 5.758 http://www.wprime.net/Scores/19988/View
#17
Just did the render test, it passed, started up 3dm11 and it is running now, its working great I think! When I made a second modbios.rom this time I just changed the memory clock only, nothing else. No Boost vs non boost stuff. I think it was either the drivers or forcing boost 100% of the time.
http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/7031098

Thanks so much for this tool! :toast:

P9823 with AMD Radeon HD 7970(1x) and Intel Xeon Processor E3-1230V2

Graphics Score
10219

Physics Score
9239

Combined Score
8218



Graphics Card
AMD Radeon HD 7970
Vendor
Unknown
# of cards
1
SLI / CrossFire
Off
Memory
3,072 MB
Core clock
1,100 MHz
Memory clock
1,375 MHz
Driver name
AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
Driver version
12.104.0.0
Driver status
FM Approved

heres my old score: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6989036
 

darkhmz

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2013
Messages
81 (0.05/day)
Likes
159
Location
Hungary
Processor Core i5-2500
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-D2-B3
Memory 2x4GB Kingston DDR3@1333
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD 7870 Myst Edition
Display(s) DELL U2412M
Power Supply FSP Raider 550W
Software W7 x64
#18
Just did the render test, it passed, started up 3dm11 and it is running now, its working great I think! When I made a second modbios.rom this time I just changed the memory clock only, nothing else. No Boost vs non boost stuff. I think it was either the drivers or forcing boost 100% of the time.
Thanks for your feedback, glad it works. :) Making clocks equal should not cause problems, at least works fine on my Tahiti LE (and many other cards).
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,041 (0.91/day)
Likes
1,852
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i7 3770k @ 4.5 GHz /1.25 volt
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H with Beta Bios F20e
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, 1xDelta EFB1212VH, 2xYate Loon 140 PWM, 2xCorsair 120 PWM
Memory Samsung 30nm Green MV3V4G3D DDR3 16 GB (4x4GB) @ 1800 MHz CL9 1.35 volt
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB @ Core 1254 MHz / Ram 1800 MHz
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD (Boot) + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05 (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD USB Audio Dongle
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A, Corsair MM600, inateck 900mm x 300mm Mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL and Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key (Cherry Browns)
Software Win7 64 Pro
Benchmark Scores Wprime 32 5.758 http://www.wprime.net/Scores/19988/View
#19
Thanks for your feedback, glad it works. :) Making clocks equal should not cause problems, at least works fine on my Tahiti LE (and many other cards).
I am running valley now, it seems stable. I'll keep running benchmarks for a few hours and deem it stable if it passes all.

edit: testing new fan profiles now. Love how easy your software is to use.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,625 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#20
I am going to try this for fun.

What is the difference between the two files?
 

darkhmz

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2013
Messages
81 (0.05/day)
Likes
159
Location
Hungary
Processor Core i5-2500
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-D2-B3
Memory 2x4GB Kingston DDR3@1333
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD 7870 Myst Edition
Display(s) DELL U2412M
Power Supply FSP Raider 550W
Software W7 x64
#21
I am going to try this for fun.

What is the difference between the two files?
The difference is that VBE7_staticlib.exe has the required libs compiled into the file. If you try the other version, and your OS complains about missing dll's then try the staticlib version.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,048 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,945
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#22
The difference is that VBE7_staticlib.exe has the required libs compiled into the file. If you try the other version, and your OS complains about missing dll's then try the staticlib version.
I strongly recommend just releasing the static build to public. 2 builds will confuse people and you'll get additional problem reports when people don't have the vc++ runtimes
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,041 (0.91/day)
Likes
1,852
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i7 3770k @ 4.5 GHz /1.25 volt
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H with Beta Bios F20e
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, 1xDelta EFB1212VH, 2xYate Loon 140 PWM, 2xCorsair 120 PWM
Memory Samsung 30nm Green MV3V4G3D DDR3 16 GB (4x4GB) @ 1800 MHz CL9 1.35 volt
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB @ Core 1254 MHz / Ram 1800 MHz
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD (Boot) + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05 (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD USB Audio Dongle
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A, Corsair MM600, inateck 900mm x 300mm Mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL and Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key (Cherry Browns)
Software Win7 64 Pro
Benchmark Scores Wprime 32 5.758 http://www.wprime.net/Scores/19988/View
#23
Are there any advantages to raising the TDP?
 

darkhmz

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2013
Messages
81 (0.05/day)
Likes
159
Location
Hungary
Processor Core i5-2500
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-D2-B3
Memory 2x4GB Kingston DDR3@1333
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD 7870 Myst Edition
Display(s) DELL U2412M
Power Supply FSP Raider 550W
Software W7 x64
#24
I strongly recommend just releasing the static build to public. 2 builds will confuse people and you'll get additional problem reports when people don't have the vc++ runtimes
Good call, already been thinking about that. :) Done, attached only the static build.
 

darkhmz

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2013
Messages
81 (0.05/day)
Likes
159
Location
Hungary
Processor Core i5-2500
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-D2-B3
Memory 2x4GB Kingston DDR3@1333
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD 7870 Myst Edition
Display(s) DELL U2412M
Power Supply FSP Raider 550W
Software W7 x64
#25
Are there any advantages to raising the TDP?
With the stock BIOS my clocks fluctated between boost and non-boost. I had to increase power limit to 20% to avoid that. Now with my modded BIOS power limit is at 0% and clocks not jumping, no throttling at all.