• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

VBE7 - vBIOS Editor for Radeon HD 7000 series cards

Joined
Mar 30, 2011
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Gaming Rig
Processor Intel Core i5 2500 K @ 4 GHz @ 1.21 V
Motherboard Asus P8P67
Cooling Zalman CNPS 10X Performa, 2 fans
Memory 2x 4 GiB G.Skill DDR3 1866 9-10-10-29 2T
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon 7950 iceQ Turbo 900 MHz without Boost
Storage Corsair Performance Pro 128 GiB
Display(s) 27" Acer S273HLbmii
Case Xigmatek Utgard Mesh
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Audio PCIE
Power Supply Bequiet PurePower L7 530W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/7170231
My latest settings for HIS 7950 iceQ are 1030 / 1250 MHz @ 1.137 volts (BIOS 015.019 without EFI-GOP). It is fully stable over hours in all games and fast enough. Memory overclocking is because of the wide memory bus not important.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
37 (0.03/day)
Likes
16
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 960T @ 4.0GHz - 1.4V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 PRO R1.0 | CPU-NB @ 3.0GHz - 1.325V
Cooling Zalman CNPS 10X PERFORMA - Push/Pull + 6 case fans
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws X 8GB DDR3 1600MHz (2x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 7850 1GB @ 1150/1300 - 1.2V
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) BENQ FP73E 17" 1280x1024
Case Cooler Master HAF XM
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Many thanks for that great tool darkhmz!

I flashed modified bios with previously tested max clocks for my gpu - 1150/1300 and it's working as it should.
Also i have made hex-edits to 2D/UVD clocks along with voltages and no issues too. Thanks again! :D
 

neklec

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Hello guys.
Somebody can help me to unblock my vbios for asus 7970 DC. I can't change voltage and powerlimit in vbe7. Simply I want to use this vbios. Thanks.
.
 

Attachments

Screemer

New Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2013
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Many thanks for that great tool darkhmz!

I flashed modified bios with previously tested max clocks for my gpu - 1150/1300 and it's working as it should.
Also i have made hex-edits to 2D/UVD clocks along with voltages and no issues too. Thanks again! :D
are you willing to tell me which values you have to change for 2d and uvd clock and voltages?
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
37 (0.03/day)
Likes
16
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 960T @ 4.0GHz - 1.4V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 PRO R1.0 | CPU-NB @ 3.0GHz - 1.325V
Cooling Zalman CNPS 10X PERFORMA - Push/Pull + 6 case fans
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws X 8GB DDR3 1600MHz (2x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 7850 1GB @ 1150/1300 - 1.2V
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) BENQ FP73E 17" 1280x1024
Case Cooler Master HAF XM
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
are you willing to tell me which values you have to change for 2d and uvd clock and voltages?
Hi, I can make all the edits you want but first I need to know what exactly you want to be changed.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
37 (0.03/day)
Likes
16
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 960T @ 4.0GHz - 1.4V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 PRO R1.0 | CPU-NB @ 3.0GHz - 1.325V
Cooling Zalman CNPS 10X PERFORMA - Push/Pull + 6 case fans
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws X 8GB DDR3 1600MHz (2x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 7850 1GB @ 1150/1300 - 1.2V
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) BENQ FP73E 17" 1280x1024
Case Cooler Master HAF XM
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Ok, I've made edits to your bios as you wanted: 2D/UVD clocks has been set to 400/600 MHz @ 1.000V - although I think voltage could be set to lower value.
As for that 500/1400 state, can you please check with GPU-Z what voltage is reported when this state occurs?
I also noticed that you wanted another version with 350/500 MHz clocks, so if you wish I can make that one too.

IMPORTANT:
Always keep backup of your original bios before flashing any modified bios in case something goes wrong.
 

Attachments

Screemer

New Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2013
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
thanks a lot!

the voltage of the 500MHz state is the same as it is for full speed. gpu-z reports 1.14v. is i said in my previuose post i am not sure if it's really a bios state or if it is forced by the browser if high pixel clocks are uses.

i can hex edit the files my self if you could guide me to the values. that way i could fiddle around with voltage settings and clocks to find the lowest stable one. if you want to just send me a pm.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
37 (0.03/day)
Likes
16
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 960T @ 4.0GHz - 1.4V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 PRO R1.0 | CPU-NB @ 3.0GHz - 1.325V
Cooling Zalman CNPS 10X PERFORMA - Push/Pull + 6 case fans
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws X 8GB DDR3 1600MHz (2x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 7850 1GB @ 1150/1300 - 1.2V
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) BENQ FP73E 17" 1280x1024
Case Cooler Master HAF XM
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Hi, it's right at the bottom of first post and more precisely right here :)
 

KennyW

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Hey Guys.

I got a XFX 7870 DD and was using a modded Bios because the Voltages as Stock were just overkill. The Problem is that when using 2D/UVD Stock VDDC is 0.95 which is figgn much. The modded one used 0.8 which did run ok but not fine.

I thought it would be possible to change them with this tool but then realised its not possible.

Is it possible that someone changes the entrys for me per hex to 0.85 for 2D/UVD ?

Thank you in advance
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 3, 2014
Messages
21 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Processor i7 3770K @ 4.5 [IHS mod Coollaboratory Liquid Pro]
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa feat. Enermax T.B.SILENCE 12cm (UCTB12P) x 2
Memory Hynix HMT41GU6MFR8C-PBN0 @ 2400(11-12-12-36) x 2
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon R9 290 DirectCU II (290-DC2OC-4GD5)
Hello. Who can help edit BIOS ASUS R9 290 DirectCU II OC? Need to increase fans speed in all states. Because in load fans work by 50-60% and the card heats up to 95 degrees.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
Hi

Hello. Who can help edit BIOS ASUS R9 290 DirectCU II OC? Need to increase fans speed in all states. Because in load fans work by 50-60% and the card heats up to 95 degrees.
Use MSI Afterburner software here to set a custom fan profile
or
Adjust fan speed manualy in catalyst control center
or
Use ASUS propriatory softwares here

Note: 95c may be down to: ambient air temps in the room; poor case design and or air flow issues

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2014
Messages
21 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Processor i7 3770K @ 4.5 [IHS mod Coollaboratory Liquid Pro]
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa feat. Enermax T.B.SILENCE 12cm (UCTB12P) x 2
Memory Hynix HMT41GU6MFR8C-PBN0 @ 2400(11-12-12-36) x 2
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon R9 290 DirectCU II (290-DC2OC-4GD5)
Hi



Use MSI Afterburner software here to set a custom fan profile
or
Adjust fan speed manualy in catalyst control center
or
Use ASUS propriatory softwares here

Note: 95c may be down to: ambient air temps in the room; poor case design and or air flow issues

atb

Law-II
I know this all. I want fan speed automatically with out software so need edit BIOS.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,745 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,011
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
Joined
Jun 3, 2014
Messages
21 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Processor i7 3770K @ 4.5 [IHS mod Coollaboratory Liquid Pro]
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa feat. Enermax T.B.SILENCE 12cm (UCTB12P) x 2
Memory Hynix HMT41GU6MFR8C-PBN0 @ 2400(11-12-12-36) x 2
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon R9 290 DirectCU II (290-DC2OC-4GD5)
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
37 (0.03/day)
Likes
16
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 960T @ 4.0GHz - 1.4V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 PRO R1.0 | CPU-NB @ 3.0GHz - 1.325V
Cooling Zalman CNPS 10X PERFORMA - Push/Pull + 6 case fans
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws X 8GB DDR3 1600MHz (2x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 7850 1GB @ 1150/1300 - 1.2V
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) BENQ FP73E 17" 1280x1024
Case Cooler Master HAF XM
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Yes, I have flash the latest BIOS. It is in attach above.
Hi Ilyasick

I've checked your BIOS and this is how your current fan profile looks like:

Temperature Hysteresis = 6°C​
First temperature = 50°C
Second temperature = 90°C
Third temperature = 110°C
Fan speed (for first temp) = 20%
Fan speed (for second temp) = 55%
Fan speed (for third temp) = 80%
Fourth temperature (max temp) = 110°C

So my question is how would you like it to be set?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 3, 2014
Messages
21 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Processor i7 3770K @ 4.5 [IHS mod Coollaboratory Liquid Pro]
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa feat. Enermax T.B.SILENCE 12cm (UCTB12P) x 2
Memory Hynix HMT41GU6MFR8C-PBN0 @ 2400(11-12-12-36) x 2
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon R9 290 DirectCU II (290-DC2OC-4GD5)
Hi Ilyasick

I've checked your BIOS and this is how your current fan profile looks like:

Temperature Hysteresis = 6°C​
First temperature = 50°C
Second temperature = 90°C
Third temperature = 110°C
Fan speed (for first temp) = 20%
Fan speed (for second temp) = 55%
Fan speed (for third temp) = 80%
Fourth temperature (max temp) = 110°C

So my question is how would you like it to be set?
Hi. What a horrible setup. Therefore I think that something is wrong. Thanks!
So I want:
Temperature Hysteresis = 6°C​
First temperature = 40°C
Second temperature = 60°C
Third temperature = 85°C
Fan speed (for first temp) = 30%
Fan speed (for second temp) = 75%
Fan speed (for third temp) = 100%
Fourth temperature (max temp) = 105°C

Will test this set and look.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
37 (0.03/day)
Likes
16
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 960T @ 4.0GHz - 1.4V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 PRO R1.0 | CPU-NB @ 3.0GHz - 1.325V
Cooling Zalman CNPS 10X PERFORMA - Push/Pull + 6 case fans
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws X 8GB DDR3 1600MHz (2x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 7850 1GB @ 1150/1300 - 1.2V
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) BENQ FP73E 17" 1280x1024
Case Cooler Master HAF XM
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Hi. What a horrible setup. Therefore I think that something is wrong. Thanks!
So I want:
Temperature Hysteresis = 6°C​
First temperature = 40°C
Second temperature = 60°C
Third temperature = 85°C
Fan speed (for first temp) = 30%
Fan speed (for second temp) = 75%
Fan speed (for third temp) = 100%
Fourth temperature (max temp) = 105°C

Will test this set and look.
Hi, I've set new fan profile in your BIOS just as you've wanted.

Before you flash it, don't forget to make a backup of your original BIOS - just in case.

Regards
 

Attachments

civeriano

New Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2014
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hi sentye:

I've got a problem with a Windforce 290x OC (stock voltage and stock clocks cause artifacts and-or black screens, I tried overvolting, but didn't work). I suspect that I have the same problem with capacitors with electromigration of 7870 bugged cards (I have no warranty, because i dissasembled the card, so no RMA chance for me :( )

I have to undervolt it to 1.063V and to underclock it to 945 mhz clock (I don't need to touch memory speeds) to run it stable (without artifacts or black screens).

Do you know how to edit 290x bioses to manually modify the vcore and frequencies? (the idea is to undervolt it and to underclock it a little without the need of using msi afterburner each time, i want to use linux in my system).

Thanks in advance!

BTW: I send you a copy of my two bioses (one is quiet, other is uber).
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 3, 2014
Messages
21 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Processor i7 3770K @ 4.5 [IHS mod Coollaboratory Liquid Pro]
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa feat. Enermax T.B.SILENCE 12cm (UCTB12P) x 2
Memory Hynix HMT41GU6MFR8C-PBN0 @ 2400(11-12-12-36) x 2
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon R9 290 DirectCU II (290-DC2OC-4GD5)
Hi, I've set new fan profile in your BIOS just as you've wanted.

Before you flash it, don't forget to make a backup of your original BIOS - just in case.

Regards
BIG THANKS!!! Now in load max 75c:clap: These settings require more fine-tuning, but this after more tests.
 

suth

New Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2014
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hello, I just bought Sapphire Vapor-X R9 280x graphic card. And it works fine on default settings which are 1100mhz/1500mhz @ 1.2v. But if i try to raise 3d clocks for +5mhz or +10mhz I get black screens and/or artefacts. And my card`s voltage is locked at 1.2v. Can`t raise it from MSI Afterburner or Sapphire Trixx. I tried to modify bios wiht VBE7 to raise voltage but every time I do it my card just crashes in 3d mode. I reinstalled driver after changing voltage of course but everytime its same thing. So any solution to this problem, or is my gcard simply locked at 1.2v? It`s a nice card beside that, running cool and quiet. I think it can handle 1.25v with no probs 24/7 but simply every try editing bios ends up in card crashing in 3d mode. Can anyone please help I uploaded my stock bios? Thanks in advance.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
37 (0.03/day)
Likes
16
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 960T @ 4.0GHz - 1.4V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 PRO R1.0 | CPU-NB @ 3.0GHz - 1.325V
Cooling Zalman CNPS 10X PERFORMA - Push/Pull + 6 case fans
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws X 8GB DDR3 1600MHz (2x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 7850 1GB @ 1150/1300 - 1.2V
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) BENQ FP73E 17" 1280x1024
Case Cooler Master HAF XM
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Hi sentye:

I've got a problem with a Windforce 290x OC (stock voltage and stock clocks cause artifacts and-or black screens, I tried overvolting, but didn't work). I suspect that I have the same problem with capacitors with electromigration of 7870 bugged cards (I have no warranty, because i dissasembled the card, so no RMA chance for me :( )

I have to undervolt it to 1.063V and to underclock it to 945 mhz clock (I don't need to touch memory speeds) to run it stable (without artifacts or black screens).

Do you know how to edit 290x bioses to manually modify the vcore and frequencies? (the idea is to undervolt it and to underclock it a little without the need of using msi afterburner each time, i want to use linux in my system).

Thanks in advance!

BTW: I send you a copy of my two bioses (one is quiet, other is uber).
Hi civeriano

I can try to edit your BIOS, but first I'll need to know what's the exact stock voltage of your GPU.

Regards

BIG THANKS!!! Now in load max 75c:clap: These settings require more fine-tuning, but this after more tests.
Hey I'm glad that new fan profile is working good for you :D
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2014
Messages
21 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Processor i7 3770K @ 4.5 [IHS mod Coollaboratory Liquid Pro]
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa feat. Enermax T.B.SILENCE 12cm (UCTB12P) x 2
Memory Hynix HMT41GU6MFR8C-PBN0 @ 2400(11-12-12-36) x 2
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon R9 290 DirectCU II (290-DC2OC-4GD5)
Hi civeriano

I can try to edit your BIOS, but first I'll need to know what's the exact stock voltage of your GPU.

Regards

Hey I'm glad that new fan profile is working good for you :D
Сan you tell me how are you editing BIOS?:toast: