1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

VBE7 - vBIOS Editor for Radeon HD 7000 series cards

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by darkhmz, Aug 16, 2013.

  1. darkhmz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Hungary
    basco, could you post your stock BIOS please? thanks
     
  2. basco

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    773 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    austria
    sure,here you are sir.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. darkhmz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Hungary
    Thanks basco, one more question. :) What is your GPU's ASIC quality?
     
  4. darkhmz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Hungary
    Since the VRM is unknown, you have to choose voltage from the BIOS voltage table (1175mV is the closest to what you want).
     
  5. quejo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    will be support for UEFI since latest release disables UEFI partition? Also memory voltages editing would be useful for overclocking
     
  6. basco

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    773 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    austria
    good morning,
    asic=69,6

    have a nice day
     
  7. Chopper1591 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Mornin yall,

    I have the 7950 vapor-x and want to use this tool because I find the hex bios editor too complicated.

    Can someone tell me if I can lower the clocks through Sapphire Trixx after if modded the bios?
    Like when I make the default clock 1150/1300 1.2v

    Can I make an profile in trixx to make the card run at 850/1250 with lowered voltage?
    I want to do that because of power savings.


    Thanks
     
  8. basco

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    773 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    austria
    hey chopper,
    i flashed my own modified bios 10 times and never loose my powerplay.still downclocks.
    does your card downclock now with orig bios?


    i have a feeling these asus cards make no difference in powertune.
    do you guys see more vddc current or higher temps on the vrm if ya change powertune settings?
    even if i change volts from 1,00 to 1,10v i get same vddc+vrm-temps.
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2013
  9. darkhmz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Hungary
    quejo, UEFI won't be supported. I'll work on memory voltages later. :)
    basco i have tested your BIOS and VBE7 calculates the right voltages.
    Chopper1591 you still will be able to do whatever you want with clocks/voltages. Modifying your BIOS is only about changing defaults.
     
  10. basco

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    773 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    austria
    thanks for looking into bios darkhmz.
    its same with other bios on 7970 too=has 1,170v and benchmarks are running with 1,050v.
    so its normal and like cadaveca said maybe for multimonitor use.

    last question:what is max volt i could give-1,40v ? -just for benching
     
  11. darkhmz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Hungary
    I don't know what is the max safe voltage for these chips, but i would not go above 1300mV.
     
  12. watwat New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  13. Goldn3agle New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    No 7790 support I see

    Will this support the 7790's? Nothing else seems to.
     
  14. The Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    575 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    191
    This is the first one that supprts "ANY" 7xxx
     
  15. Goldn3agle New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I've tried it with several BIOS images from 7770's and 7790's. All the 7770's loaded fine but none of the 7790's would.
     
  16. The Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    575 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    191
    i didnt mean it supports all 7xxx, just that its the first one that even works with a 7xxx.
     
  17. Chopper1591 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No I am not talking about power tune. I have a Hex edited bios now, which someone edited for me. And the stock settings are now 1050/1300. Trixx shows 1.25v but gpu-z shows it hovers between 1.111-1.120 when running furmark full load.

    It does clock back to 2d clocks.

    Ok. I get what you mean.
    But can this bios editor raise the voltage higher then i can set in Trixx?
    Because whatever I set in Trixx the voltage won't raise.

    But someone on overclock.net edited my bios with Hex Editor and rose the voltage a bit but didn't unlock it. It can be done in the bios, multiple guys have done it but I am not very good with the Hex Editor. In fact I don't know at all what to do. :laugh:

    With the stock bios the voltage is mostly around 1.09Xv so that wouldn't even let me clock to 1100.
    The temps are great with the 1050/1300 clocks. When gaming at around 75-80% load the core stays at around 60-64 and the vrms 56-60 with fan at around 45-50%

    In the opening post it states the 7790 isn't supported.
     
  18. Goldn3agle New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ah I feel silly, I think I got a little excited and missed that part :p
     
  19. Chopper1591 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Happens to the best of us. :D
    Maybe you can find someone who can edit it for you with Hex Editor.
     
  20. patapalo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello all.
    I edited my bios powerplay and fan profile save it and flash with the new edited bios.
    The edits done to powerplay work but no the fan profile that i edited they stay same tan bios original.
    So, what i did bad?
     
  21. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    Do you have any overclocking programs running(TriXX, AfterBurner, etc.) or OverDrive enabled in CCC? If so, those will override BIOS settings.

    BTW, thank you darkmhz for this tool. If you were able to create this tool without messing with the signatures, it makes me wonder why BAGZZlash couldn't get RBE working with the 7K series.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. patapalo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No trixx or afterburner and overdrive in ccc is disabled.
     
  23. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,402 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,727
    Location:
    Parkland County, Alberta
    Driver team changed, as far as I understand it, and at the very least, the core driver is different now than it was some months ago.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Chopper1591 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Nobody?

    Can someone actually inform me on my question.
    Sorry for the pushiness :cool:
     
  25. darkhmz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Hungary
    Goldn3agle: HD7790 is not supported yet, but i will add support for it later.
    Chopper1591: this tool only sets the voltage you want to use.
    Random Murderer: np... glad you find it useful. :)
    patapalo: could you post your original/modified BIOS please?
     
    Random Murderer and Goldn3agle say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)