• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Vega 56 question

DrSkeen

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2019
Messages
6 (0.50/day)
Hello all,

I just purchased a refurb Powercolor Vega 56. I realize this is an old card now but I'm upgrading from a HD 7870XT. My old card performed admirably ( I played Sekiro with it) but it's started to randomly green screen so I thought it was time to move on. So I believe I have the reference card (PowerColor Radeon RX Vega 56 DirectX 12 AXRX VEGA 56 8GBHBM2-3DH) and I've confirmed it has samsung memory. Is it still safe to flash a Vega 64 bios? I've read old posts that talk about it but many newer posts say its not worth it as it bricks the card. If I can, does anyone have a bios suggestion? Any tweaking advice? I've tried to undervolt it in Wattman but it doesn't seem to even reach its targeted clocks. In Superposition I'm getting 1510 core and 800 mem. Any advice is welcome.
 

Ebo

Joined
May 9, 2013
Messages
775 (0.35/day)
Location
Nykoebing Mors, Denmark
System Name the little fart
Processor AMD Ryzen 2600X
Motherboard MSI x470 gaming plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C14S
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaw 2400Mhz DDR 4
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 56 Pulse
Storage 1 Crucial MX100 512GB SSD,1 Crucial MX500 2TB SSD, 1 1,5TB WD Black Caviar, 1 4TB WD RED HD
Display(s) IIyama XUB2792QSU IPS 2560x1440
Case White Lian-Li PC-011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar SE pci-e card
Power Supply Thermaltake DPS G 1050 watt Digital PSU
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software windows 10 64 pro bit
I have a vega 56 also, I dont dare to try, since my card is working perfect, so I see no reason to ruin it.
 

DrSkeen

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2019
Messages
6 (0.50/day)
If its safe I've heard good things about RAM overclocking and the extra voltage the Vega 64 BIOS provides. Yeah its not necessary but overclocking my cpu isnt either, yet I've done it since the socket A days. My Abit NF7-S was a beast.
 

Ebo

Joined
May 9, 2013
Messages
775 (0.35/day)
Location
Nykoebing Mors, Denmark
System Name the little fart
Processor AMD Ryzen 2600X
Motherboard MSI x470 gaming plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C14S
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaw 2400Mhz DDR 4
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 56 Pulse
Storage 1 Crucial MX100 512GB SSD,1 Crucial MX500 2TB SSD, 1 1,5TB WD Black Caviar, 1 4TB WD RED HD
Display(s) IIyama XUB2792QSU IPS 2560x1440
Case White Lian-Li PC-011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar SE pci-e card
Power Supply Thermaltake DPS G 1050 watt Digital PSU
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software windows 10 64 pro bit
I wasent talking about your CPU or Ram, but if you wanna brick your card, just go try it.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,658 (1.70/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
If its safe I've heard good things about RAM overclocking and the extra voltage the Vega 64 BIOS provides. Yeah its not necessary but overclocking my cpu isnt either, yet I've done it since the socket A days. My Abit NF7-S was a beast.
Gpu bios flashing is a different beast to just overclocking your cpu or gpu, it is possible only on some cards bear in mind you need to make sure you find one with the same vram chips and id subsystem, same display ports etc and even then there's no guarantee. I haven't owned a vega myself though there are powerplay mods you can do that will probably help you achieve what you want without the risk of bricking your gpu
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
321 (0.59/day)
Location
Asia
Processor Intel Core i5 4590
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97x Gaming 3
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-800MHz [1600MT/s]
Video Card(s) Intel HD 4600
Storage Transcend SSD370S 128GB; Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S20D300 20" 768p TN
Case Delux DLC-MV888
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Corsair VS450
Mouse A4Tech OP-620D
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores BaseMark GPU : 250 Point
What Powersupply you have?? It looks powersupply issue to me.
Vega need quality powersupply of at least 550 Watt.
 

DrSkeen

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2019
Messages
6 (0.50/day)
Yeah Ebo I know. I was just trying to illustrate that I'm into overclocking for the free performance boost. NdMk2o1o, thank you. I've flashed cards in the past but was asking about this card in particular. I get the impression that it used to be safe but no longer. I'll google powerplay mods and let you know what I achieve.

IceShroom, I have a Bequiet 600 Silver.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,300 (0.93/day)
Location
Hong Kong
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard X399 Fatal1ty Professional Gaming
Cooling Custom loop water, 3x 420 Rad
Memory Team T-FORCE XCALIBUR RGB 4000 @3466 CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2080 Ti
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB 3-way Raid 0
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Thermaltake Level 20 XT
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX II
Power Supply FSP Aurum PT 1200W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
The reference Vega cards has dual bios, so as long as you don't fuck both of them up you be fine.
 

DrSkeen

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2019
Messages
6 (0.50/day)
Ryzen 2600 @4 GHz
Crosshair Hero VI
16GB @ 3400
1 NVME
1 SSD
2 HHD
Vega 56

Zubusa, is that the red/blue switch?

I got my answer thank you, everyone!!
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,300 (0.93/day)
Location
Hong Kong
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard X399 Fatal1ty Professional Gaming
Cooling Custom loop water, 3x 420 Rad
Memory Team T-FORCE XCALIBUR RGB 4000 @3466 CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2080 Ti
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB 3-way Raid 0
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Thermaltake Level 20 XT
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX II
Power Supply FSP Aurum PT 1200W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Joined
Feb 27, 2019
Messages
21 (0.24/day)
Location
South Carolina, USA
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Be Quite Dark Rock TF
Memory 16 GB Adata 3133Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Vega 56
Display(s) Viotek GN32Q
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) Audioengine A5
Power Supply FSP 850G Hydro
Mouse Niexus Revel Fit
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Green
As someone who's flashed their 56 to a 64 and mounted a Morpheus II cooler to it, it's not worth the risk. You can get a bigger performance increase by undervolting/ocing and keeping the card as cool as you can. The only real advantage the 64 bios gives you is increased voltage on the HBM which should equal higher clocks on the HBM. Powerplay mods are also an option, it allows you to raise the power limit of the card past 50% but I haven't noticed any difference even @ 100% power limit
 

DrSkeen

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2019
Messages
6 (0.50/day)
Thank you for all the replies. After running time spy and superposition a few times, the card started blacking out. It continued when just on the desktop. I thought maybe my psu couldn't handle it, so I hooked up a second psu just to the Vega 56. Same thing. Had to RMA.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
32 (0.04/day)
Location
Stockholm
I just bought a MSI Vega 56 Airboost with blower style cooler. I flashed to Vega 64 bios. I used wattman to set voltage to 0.930Mv for P6 and P7 and memory to 1000Mhz. The card stays at 1500-1530Mhz core and 1000Mhz memory and fans runs at a maximum 2300rpm. I am very happy with the performance and noise levels.

 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
156 (1.70/day)
Location
Poland
Processor i5 3470
Motherboard MSI B75A-G43
Cooling Stock intel orb
Memory 2x8 GB DDR3 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) BenQ BL2411PT
Case Tacens Signum
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply XFX Core 550W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Hey OP, out of pure interest - what's the price you've paid for your refurb?
 

DrSkeen

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2019
Messages
6 (0.50/day)
229 shipped from newegg. Unfortunately, the warranty is for replacement only until they run out.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
40 (0.73/day)
Location
Bletchley Park,Milton Keynes,England
System Name AMD™ Red Tiger
Processor AMD™ Ryzen™ 7 1700 @ 3750mhz
Motherboard MSI™ X370 Gaming Carbon Pro
Cooling XSPC™ Raystorm™ 750 2x360 radiators 6x Cooler master™ Blademasters™
Memory Avexir™ Blitz™ 3200mhz 16.18 @ 3400 14.16 1.45v
Video Card(s) 2x MSI™ Radeon™ RX Vega 56 under Bykski™ Vega water blocks
Storage 1x Intel™ 660p 1TB 1x Seagate™ 2TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Electriq™ VM280UHD 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master™ Cosmos™ Pure Black
Audio Device(s) 7.1 onboard with Logitech™ X540 5.1
Power Supply EVGA™ 1000w G2
Mouse EasySMX™ 4000dpi Red led on MSI™ Lava Dragon giant mouse mat
Keyboard Rii™ K66 Red switch mechanical keyboard with red led
Software Windows™ 10 Home
Benchmark Scores 13000 3dMark™ Time spy.
Top