• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Vega owners club

Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,744 (1.92/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy
in the gaming section of radeon settings app, click on global settings then global wattman.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
848 (0.17/day)
Location
Calgary Alberta, Canada
System Name PussySlayer
Processor Intel Core i7 4770
Motherboard Asrock Z87E-ITX
Cooling Some crappy Silverstone ITX Cooler
Memory 2x8GB Gskill RipjawsX 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage 1x500gb Crucial SSD
Display(s) BenQ 24" 1080P
Case Couger QBX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 650W EVGA BR
Software Windows 10 64bit Pro
OK, so here I am:


What should I do exactly?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,744 (1.92/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy
OK, so here I am:


What should I do exactly?
Click on frequency, it's going to open boxes like volts show now, set the two highest p states to 1500, typing into each box , then click on each p states voltage and set it to 1100 mV then adjust the power slider to +25% , apply and test with a windowed 3d load then increase the core soeed by 25 and leave for ten minutes to heatup , when it crashes you face the option of upping voltage a but or stepping back on frequency.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
400 (0.16/day)
Location
Babylon 5
System Name DaBeast! DaBeast2! HTPC
Processor AMD AM4 Ryzen 9 3900X/Intel LGA2011 i7 3960X/LGA 1150 i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Xtreme/Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme/ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 360/Corsair H150i Pro/Thermaltake Floe Riing 360
Memory 32GB XPG D60G DDR4 3200/DDR3 2133Mhz Corsair Dominator Plat/RipJawsX 16GB 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Vega 64 Red Devil/CF 2x Gigabyte RX VEGA 64 Gaming OC/Leadtek GTX 1080
Storage 256GB Sabrent Rocket NVMe PCIe M.2 + 2TB Samsung QVO + 4TB Samsung EVO + 6TB WD Black
Display(s) Acer XR341CK 75Hz Freesync/Samsung LC49HG90DMEX 32:9 Freesync 2/Panasonic 65" UHD TV
Case CoolerMaster H500M/Caselabs Magnum M8/Tt View 31
Audio Device(s) Oppo HA-1 + Philips Fidelio HTL9100/iFi Micro iDSD Black Label/Fostex HPA4
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Platinum/Seasonic X-1250/Enermax MaxRevo 1500W
Mouse Tecware Vector Pro/Logitech G703I/Logitech G603 WL
Keyboard Armaggeddon MKA-5R RGB Hornet/Logitech G613/Logitech K345
Software 64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro
Posting here just to say I'm officially in the VEGA Club, got my Gigabyte RX VEGA 64 (stock model) and had initially had Green Screen of Death successively while installing drivers (was trying to install 18.10.1 and backed down to 18.9.3). I was beginning to think that I'd made a mistake when, after a few GSoD's, I'd licked the problem. Turns out MSI AB was running in the background but tuned to my old GTX Titan setup...MSI AB caused the GSOD's and I can't but shake my head in wonder, such a small app but yet it caused me an hour of head banging and hair pulling.

I'm not putting the card through its paces, weird thing though, Gears Of War Ultimate PC ran beautifully smooth and with max setting. The RTX had weird framerate drops and mild stuttering....I'd thought the RTX 2080 Ti would stomp on the VEGA 64 in that game.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,744 (1.92/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy
Posting here just to say I'm officially in the VEGA Club, got my Gigabyte RX VEGA 64 (stock model) and had initially had Green Screen of Death successively while installing drivers (was trying to install 18.10.1 and backed down to 18.9.3). I was beginning to think that I'd made a mistake when, after a few GSoD's, I'd licked the problem. Turns out MSI AB was running in the background but tuned to my old GTX Titan setup...MSI AB caused the GSOD's and I can't but shake my head in wonder, such a small app but yet it caused me an hour of head banging and hair pulling.

I'm not putting the card through its paces, weird thing though, Gears Of War Ultimate PC ran beautifully smooth and with max setting. The RTX had weird framerate drops and mild stuttering....I'd thought the RTX 2080 Ti would stomp on the VEGA 64 in that game.
Welcome, I recently swapped platform from fx 8350 to 2600X ,i was happy before but im often surprised by just how capable vega is, like forza 4 with everything maxed besides blur(i hate) and AA at 2xms and 4K and a nice solid 60.
Im looking forward to the Xmas driver update though.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
400 (0.16/day)
Location
Babylon 5
System Name DaBeast! DaBeast2! HTPC
Processor AMD AM4 Ryzen 9 3900X/Intel LGA2011 i7 3960X/LGA 1150 i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Xtreme/Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme/ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 360/Corsair H150i Pro/Thermaltake Floe Riing 360
Memory 32GB XPG D60G DDR4 3200/DDR3 2133Mhz Corsair Dominator Plat/RipJawsX 16GB 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Vega 64 Red Devil/CF 2x Gigabyte RX VEGA 64 Gaming OC/Leadtek GTX 1080
Storage 256GB Sabrent Rocket NVMe PCIe M.2 + 2TB Samsung QVO + 4TB Samsung EVO + 6TB WD Black
Display(s) Acer XR341CK 75Hz Freesync/Samsung LC49HG90DMEX 32:9 Freesync 2/Panasonic 65" UHD TV
Case CoolerMaster H500M/Caselabs Magnum M8/Tt View 31
Audio Device(s) Oppo HA-1 + Philips Fidelio HTL9100/iFi Micro iDSD Black Label/Fostex HPA4
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Platinum/Seasonic X-1250/Enermax MaxRevo 1500W
Mouse Tecware Vector Pro/Logitech G703I/Logitech G603 WL
Keyboard Armaggeddon MKA-5R RGB Hornet/Logitech G613/Logitech K345
Software 64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro
Welcome, I recently swapped platform from fx 8350 to 2600X ,i was happy before but im often surprised by just how capable vega is, like forza 4 with everything maxed besides blur(i hate) and AA at 2xms and 4K and a nice solid 60.
Im looking forward to the Xmas driver update though.
I'm not into playing the benchmark game, so for me, a kickbutt card like the VEGA or the RTX series + older i7 platform systems would do nicely in games. My Vega 64 is in an i7 4770K @4.2ghz rig, my RTX 2080 Ti is in my SB-E i7 3960X @4ghz and my GTX 1080 is in my i7 2600K @4.2ghz and games run just fine.

I'd thought of building a Threadripper rig, the 2920X looks pretty awesome, but I'm putting that off for now. The older i7's I have seems to be doing a good enough job for the games I play so I don't feel the urge to build a new rig, this recent GPU upgrade phase I'd embarked on recently is now finished, all the GPU's in my rig have been upgraded and I think I'm good for another couple of years with the CPU's I have.

A pic of my VEGA as proof positive that I'd gotten it....


A pic of all the boxes from my recent GPU upgrade spree.....feelin' kinda poor now.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2009
Messages
5,463 (1.41/day)
Location
Northampton,UK
System Name Spiderman
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-Plus
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire Cooler/2x140mmCorsair SP140 /1x140mmCorsair AF140mm/1x140mm Noctua Industrial!
Memory TeamGroup Vulcan 16GB DDR4 2400MHZ CAS-13
Video Card(s) AMD Sapphire RX Vega 64 8GB
Storage SSD - OCZ ARC 100 256GB HDD + Sandisk Ultra 3D 500GB - Western Digital Green 1TB
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG27CQ 1440p 144Hz Monitor
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium - Grey Window Version
Audio Device(s) onboard/Speakers: Logitech Z-4
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Gold+ 850W Modular
Mouse CMStorm Laser Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Red Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
Reference card is a certain feet warmer.
Any ideas on how to reduce the heat with exception of changing to water cooling card, would changing to slightly faster fan help or more case fans? I'm still using the 3 fractal design 1000rpm fans that came with the case.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2017
Messages
1,770 (1.79/day)
Processor i5-8400
Motherboard ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-I GAMING
Cooling Alpenföhn Black Ridge
Memory 2*16GB DDR4-3200 CL16
Video Card(s) Gainward GeForce RTX 2080 Phoenix
Storage 1TB Samsung 970 Pro, 2TB Intel 660p
Display(s) ASUS PG279Q, Eizo EV2736W
Case Dan Cases A4-SFX
Power Supply Corsair SF600
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Corsair K60
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
2,899 (1.20/day)
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance l under construction
Processor 2600x
Motherboard x470 taichi
Cooling stock wrath
Memory TridentZ rgb 3200mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 nitro+
Storage 970 evo nvme
Display(s) c27gh70
Case tt core x5 tge
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat leader
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 10
Reference card is a certain feet warmer.
Any ideas on how to reduce the heat with exception of changing to water cooling card, would changing to slightly faster fan help or more case fans? I'm still using the 3 fractal design 1000rpm fans that came with the case.
try to add fan that dumps air in at the bottom next to the psu. this should provide some fresh air for the card's fan.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
400 (0.16/day)
Location
Babylon 5
System Name DaBeast! DaBeast2! HTPC
Processor AMD AM4 Ryzen 9 3900X/Intel LGA2011 i7 3960X/LGA 1150 i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Xtreme/Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme/ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 360/Corsair H150i Pro/Thermaltake Floe Riing 360
Memory 32GB XPG D60G DDR4 3200/DDR3 2133Mhz Corsair Dominator Plat/RipJawsX 16GB 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Vega 64 Red Devil/CF 2x Gigabyte RX VEGA 64 Gaming OC/Leadtek GTX 1080
Storage 256GB Sabrent Rocket NVMe PCIe M.2 + 2TB Samsung QVO + 4TB Samsung EVO + 6TB WD Black
Display(s) Acer XR341CK 75Hz Freesync/Samsung LC49HG90DMEX 32:9 Freesync 2/Panasonic 65" UHD TV
Case CoolerMaster H500M/Caselabs Magnum M8/Tt View 31
Audio Device(s) Oppo HA-1 + Philips Fidelio HTL9100/iFi Micro iDSD Black Label/Fostex HPA4
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Platinum/Seasonic X-1250/Enermax MaxRevo 1500W
Mouse Tecware Vector Pro/Logitech G703I/Logitech G603 WL
Keyboard Armaggeddon MKA-5R RGB Hornet/Logitech G613/Logitech K345
Software 64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro
Kinda excited, I'll be getting a 2nd VEGA (Powercolor VEGA 64 Red Devil) and I'll be running it as the main card with my first VEGA and secondary. I'll be installing them in my 3960X system since the Asus Rampage IV Extreme does 2x PCIE x16 3.0 slots, my i7 4770K in the Asrock Z87 Extreme6 does only 2x PCIE x8 3.0 slots (in CF mode)
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
400 (0.16/day)
Location
Babylon 5
System Name DaBeast! DaBeast2! HTPC
Processor AMD AM4 Ryzen 9 3900X/Intel LGA2011 i7 3960X/LGA 1150 i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Xtreme/Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme/ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 360/Corsair H150i Pro/Thermaltake Floe Riing 360
Memory 32GB XPG D60G DDR4 3200/DDR3 2133Mhz Corsair Dominator Plat/RipJawsX 16GB 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Vega 64 Red Devil/CF 2x Gigabyte RX VEGA 64 Gaming OC/Leadtek GTX 1080
Storage 256GB Sabrent Rocket NVMe PCIe M.2 + 2TB Samsung QVO + 4TB Samsung EVO + 6TB WD Black
Display(s) Acer XR341CK 75Hz Freesync/Samsung LC49HG90DMEX 32:9 Freesync 2/Panasonic 65" UHD TV
Case CoolerMaster H500M/Caselabs Magnum M8/Tt View 31
Audio Device(s) Oppo HA-1 + Philips Fidelio HTL9100/iFi Micro iDSD Black Label/Fostex HPA4
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Platinum/Seasonic X-1250/Enermax MaxRevo 1500W
Mouse Tecware Vector Pro/Logitech G703I/Logitech G603 WL
Keyboard Armaggeddon MKA-5R RGB Hornet/Logitech G613/Logitech K345
Software 64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro
It's here!

The card is monstrous! It easily dwarfs the Palit RTX 2080 Ti...


Runnin CF with a stock Gigabyte VEGA 64...


Tried the Metro 2033 Redux benchmark, and I do believe GPU-Z can't read the primary card core speed properly....primary card (Red Devil) GPUZ readings on the left tab. The tab on the right (Gigabyte RX VEGA 64) seems to be okay, core and mem clocks look about right.
Weird GPUZ reading.JPG

Tried the benchmark again, this time with SSAA enabled to further stress the cards. Again do note the readings on the lower tab is for my Gigabyte card, and they seem plausible. The top tab, however indicate an even higher core clock than my first run. Guess I'll have to wait for GPUZ to be updated to read the core speed correctly.
Weird reading 2.JPG
 
Last edited:

SpeedHunter

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2018
Messages
8 (0.02/day)
Hi all !

I just buy a Gigabyte RX VEGA 64 GAMING OC ... I not able to set manually fan speed with MSI AFTERBURNER ... even with wattman ... I see the fan are off until I start gaming and the gpu go higher in temp ... is it possible to manually put the fan at 60% default and higher if the temp go higher too ...

I see tomshardware see the same thing with this model ... no 0% speed fan until a certain temp program in the BIOS

I'm on 18.10.2 the last one

Thanks for your help
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,744 (1.92/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy
Hi all !

I just buy a Gigabyte RX VEGA 64 GAMING OC ... I not able to set manually fan speed with MSI AFTERBURNER ... even with wattman ... I see the fan are off until I start gaming and the gpu go higher in temp ... is it possible to manually put the fan at 60% default and higher if the temp go higher too ...

I see tomshardware see the same thing with this model ... no 0% speed fan until a certain temp program in the BIOS

Thanks for your help
Seams it's working like it should, in that it's designed to do that, i don't know of anything that specifically adjusts gigabyte cards, i stick with sapphire personally ,sorry.
 

SpeedHunter

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2018
Messages
8 (0.02/day)
Is it possible to change the BIOS for a more customize on like your Sapphire ?
 

INSTG8R

My Custom Title
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,621 (1.03/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Is it possible to change the BIOS for a more customize on like your Sapphire ?
Sapphire is the same. My Nitro+ fan doesn’t spin up until it hits 56C.
 

SpeedHunter

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2018
Messages
8 (0.02/day)
ok so no way to be able to control the fan my myself like on my old gigabyte 290x and but it to like 40% even if the card don't work ... there is no way ?
 

INSTG8R

My Custom Title
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,621 (1.03/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
ok so no way to be able to control the fan my myself like on my old gigabyte 290x and but it to like 40% even if the card don't work ... there is no way ?
I know it’s not ideal , I’m not a huge fan either but it’s not like it’s dangerous or the cards overheating is it?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,744 (1.92/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy
all vega are like this ???
Not all, different Aibs build different boards , does gigabyte not have any Oc software?.
Other software won't support your hardware specifically.
A bios flash would just make it worse in compatibility terms and bios cannot at this point be modified either so I can't recommend that.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
400 (0.16/day)
Location
Babylon 5
System Name DaBeast! DaBeast2! HTPC
Processor AMD AM4 Ryzen 9 3900X/Intel LGA2011 i7 3960X/LGA 1150 i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Xtreme/Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme/ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 360/Corsair H150i Pro/Thermaltake Floe Riing 360
Memory 32GB XPG D60G DDR4 3200/DDR3 2133Mhz Corsair Dominator Plat/RipJawsX 16GB 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Vega 64 Red Devil/CF 2x Gigabyte RX VEGA 64 Gaming OC/Leadtek GTX 1080
Storage 256GB Sabrent Rocket NVMe PCIe M.2 + 2TB Samsung QVO + 4TB Samsung EVO + 6TB WD Black
Display(s) Acer XR341CK 75Hz Freesync/Samsung LC49HG90DMEX 32:9 Freesync 2/Panasonic 65" UHD TV
Case CoolerMaster H500M/Caselabs Magnum M8/Tt View 31
Audio Device(s) Oppo HA-1 + Philips Fidelio HTL9100/iFi Micro iDSD Black Label/Fostex HPA4
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Platinum/Seasonic X-1250/Enermax MaxRevo 1500W
Mouse Tecware Vector Pro/Logitech G703I/Logitech G603 WL
Keyboard Armaggeddon MKA-5R RGB Hornet/Logitech G613/Logitech K345
Software 64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro
My PowerColor Red Devil does that as well, I mean, the fans would only start spinning when the GPU core hits 40°C. After a gaming session, the fans would keep spinning till core temp hits 40°C, then it would stop. I don't mind because the Red Devil temps is easily >10°C less than my Gigabyte reference card.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,744 (1.92/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy
So I finally got bored messing with my vegas shipped config, so I flashed a Lc vega 64 bios to it(Ek block fitted).
I can't at this point bench any higher but it will game at 1740 happily, it wouldn't before so I'm fairly happy ,has anyone else got any tips so far as under volting it as i can't get 1800mh/z stable.
 

SpeedHunter

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2018
Messages
8 (0.02/day)
Not all, different Aibs build different boards , does gigabyte not have any Oc software?.
Other software won't support your hardware specifically.
A bios flash would just make it worse in compatibility terms and bios cannot at this point be modified either so I can't recommend that.
yes oc software from gigabyte but no fans control

ok so right now I must deal with these default setting ... no way I can modify it and 100% control my fan speed ...

so nobody here with your Vega 64 you deal with the default company setting
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,744 (1.92/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy
yes oc software from gigabyte but no fans control

ok so right now I must deal with these default setting ... no way I can modify it and 100% control my fan speed ...

so nobody here with your Vega 64 you deal with the default company setting
I got a reference so wattman works fine and sapphire and asus have Oc software, it is just unlucky bro, question does your card not have a dual bios switch, normally one is more performance focused in every way.
Other than that ,try msi afterburner as it's support is better than most, personally I would try everyone's software ,trixx, Ab ,asus gpu tweak sny i can find just to see , hopefully gigabyte get there software act together and sort this out, i could do with them looking at their RGB software personally it's also janky.
 

SpeedHunter

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2018
Messages
8 (0.02/day)
i always use msi afterburner for years ... but for this card ... no way msi afterburner can override today
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,744 (1.92/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy
i always use msi afterburner for years ... but for this card ... no way msi afterburner can override today
Maybe with time, it is a new ish card.
 
Top