• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

VERY high MEMIO Temp on well cooled 4870

Joined
Jun 6, 2007
Messages
437 (0.08/day)
Location
Manchester, UK
System Name Colin #2 - the revenge!
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite V2
Cooling 4x Phanteks SK140 PWM & Arctic Freezer II 280 AIO
Memory 2 x 8Gb Patriot Viper Steel 4000MHz @ 3600 CL14 1.4v 1T 1:1
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G until I can get a 3080(!)
Storage 980 Pro 500Gb + WD SN550 1Tb
Display(s) Acer XB280HK 4K GSYNC
Case Phanteks P500A
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1200 or possibly 1220
Power Supply 750W Corsair RM750
Mouse Zalman ZM GM1
Keyboard Zalman ZM K400G
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I've just bought this

http://www.techspot.com/review/120-force3d-radeon-4870/

As you can see it's got an accelero cooler on it so shouldn't get hot at all. Fitted the card, installed drivers etc all fine. Then I thought I'd run a quick 3dmark06 bench to see how it compared to my 4850, It only managed to run for about 15 seconds before VPU recover kicked in.

So I loaded ATITool to test for artifacts, lo and behold I get some straight away with standard clocks! This card is factory o/c'd to 770/950 so I thought i'd drop everything down to ATI default settings and try again. It seems to be running ok now, it passes a 3dmark06 run but looking at the temperatures on GPU-z, the MEMIO temp is alarmingly high- at idle it's around 85°C and under load it can climb as high as 120°C! :eek: All the while the "main" GPU temperature never ventures above 60°C. Having a look around on here, it looks as though typical MEMIO temps are around 10-20°C above "main" GPU temp. So mine are way off. Looks like the card is duff, am I right?

memio.JPG
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,466 (7.20/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 5900x
Motherboard MSI x570s Carbon Max WiFi
Cooling EK AIO 360. Phantek T30 fans.
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3600Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3070 Ti Trinity OC Watercooled
Storage Samsung 980 SSD's
Display(s) MSI MAG322CQR
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic Evo
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modius DAC, SMSL SP200 amp. HiFiMan Sundara Headphones, PreSonus Eris 4.5" powered monitors.
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Razer Viper V2 Pro
Keyboard Fantech Maxfit 67
Software Windows 11
Yeah, I'd say your card is no good. It's possible the cooler isn't making good contact, however your other GPU temps are good so I don't think that's it.
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2007
Messages
437 (0.08/day)
Location
Manchester, UK
System Name Colin #2 - the revenge!
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite V2
Cooling 4x Phanteks SK140 PWM & Arctic Freezer II 280 AIO
Memory 2 x 8Gb Patriot Viper Steel 4000MHz @ 3600 CL14 1.4v 1T 1:1
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G until I can get a 3080(!)
Storage 980 Pro 500Gb + WD SN550 1Tb
Display(s) Acer XB280HK 4K GSYNC
Case Phanteks P500A
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1200 or possibly 1220
Power Supply 750W Corsair RM750
Mouse Zalman ZM GM1
Keyboard Zalman ZM K400G
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Yeah I had a go at cleaning and re-seating the cooler with some AS5, managed to drop my idle temps a bit but load temps are still no good. :( Thanks for the suggestion though! :)
 

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (1.33/day)
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
Does that cooler even make contact with the memory? Are there memsinks on the card???
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2007
Messages
437 (0.08/day)
Location
Manchester, UK
System Name Colin #2 - the revenge!
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite V2
Cooling 4x Phanteks SK140 PWM & Arctic Freezer II 280 AIO
Memory 2 x 8Gb Patriot Viper Steel 4000MHz @ 3600 CL14 1.4v 1T 1:1
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G until I can get a 3080(!)
Storage 980 Pro 500Gb + WD SN550 1Tb
Display(s) Acer XB280HK 4K GSYNC
Case Phanteks P500A
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1200 or possibly 1220
Power Supply 750W Corsair RM750
Mouse Zalman ZM GM1
Keyboard Zalman ZM K400G
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
No, the memory chips have not got any heatsincs on them. In the reviews i've seen on the net this doesn't seem to be a problem
 

Fastmix

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
627 (0.12/day)
Location
The Kingdom of Heaven
Wow:eek:
Something is not right, I get 50c with the stock cooler.
 

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (1.33/day)
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
No, the memory chips have not got any heatsincs on them. In the reviews i've seen on the net this doesn't seem to be a problem

Since there are no ramsinks, and your temps are that bad, I suggest not only ramsinks but better case airflow.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,540 (0.28/day)
System Name :3
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard
Cooling cm 212 EVO
Memory G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275
Storage WD black 500gb Samsung 1tb
Display(s) 27" 1366x768 Olevia 527v
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Ac
Software Windows 8 pro
if memory = hot then its time for ramsinks.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,181 (0.19/day)
Processor 7900
Motherboard Rampage Apex
Cooling H115i
Memory 64GB TridentZ 3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) Fury X
Case Corsair 740
Audio Device(s) 8ch LPCM via HDMI to Yamaha Z7 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse G903
Keyboard G810
Software 8.1 x64
It's possible the cooler isn't making good contact

This is exactly what is happening. Either you have uneven pressure on the GPU Die or the heatsink base isn't perfectly flat. RMA the card or switch out the heatsink.

Stock heatsink Idle:


Stock heatsink under max load:
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2007
Messages
437 (0.08/day)
Location
Manchester, UK
System Name Colin #2 - the revenge!
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite V2
Cooling 4x Phanteks SK140 PWM & Arctic Freezer II 280 AIO
Memory 2 x 8Gb Patriot Viper Steel 4000MHz @ 3600 CL14 1.4v 1T 1:1
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G until I can get a 3080(!)
Storage 980 Pro 500Gb + WD SN550 1Tb
Display(s) Acer XB280HK 4K GSYNC
Case Phanteks P500A
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1200 or possibly 1220
Power Supply 750W Corsair RM750
Mouse Zalman ZM GM1
Keyboard Zalman ZM K400G
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Since there are no ramsinks, and your temps are that bad, I suggest not only ramsinks but better case airflow.

if memory = hot then its time for ramsinks.

The memory isn't hot, it's the memory controller on the GPU that's getting hot. Case airflow is fine. These temps were recorded WITHOUT the side on! :eek:

Wow:eek:
Something is not right, I get 50c with the stock cooler.

Yeah that's what my 4850 is like. Definitely not right! Thanks for the replies everyone. The card will be going back, but I bought it off ebay. So this causes another issue...
 
Last edited:

Polarman

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
1,626 (0.31/day)
Location
Rimouski
System Name Polar's Dragon
Processor AMD Phenom II 975BE
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD65 (Bios 18.7)
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 Led
Memory Gskill 8GB DDR3-1333 (8,8,8,21)
Video Card(s) MSI HD6870 Hawk
Storage WD Raptor 250 - WD RE4 500GB
Display(s) Samsung T240 (1920 X1200)
Case Silverstone Raven 2
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling Silencer 750 (Red)
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit + SP1
I may not have the Force3D card but i do have a 4870 + twin turbo installed and i do not have that kind MEMIO temps.

My MEMIO is around 55 (idle) and my shadercore is a lot lower too. My other temps are similar to yours like VDDC. My fan speed is only at 75% too.
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2007
Messages
437 (0.08/day)
Location
Manchester, UK
System Name Colin #2 - the revenge!
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite V2
Cooling 4x Phanteks SK140 PWM & Arctic Freezer II 280 AIO
Memory 2 x 8Gb Patriot Viper Steel 4000MHz @ 3600 CL14 1.4v 1T 1:1
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G until I can get a 3080(!)
Storage 980 Pro 500Gb + WD SN550 1Tb
Display(s) Acer XB280HK 4K GSYNC
Case Phanteks P500A
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1200 or possibly 1220
Power Supply 750W Corsair RM750
Mouse Zalman ZM GM1
Keyboard Zalman ZM K400G
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Here's what force3d say:

force3d said:
Dear Sir,



Firstly, thank you for your kind support of our product.



For the 4870 reference board, since it is acquired with GDDR5 memory and Digital PWM circuit. The heat dissipation in full load condition is much more than 4850 (GDDR3 + Tradition LRC circuit)



The stability of 4870 will be not affect by the high temperature as it is in acceptable range of Digital PWM circuit.



So, I think the issue is independent to the high temperature.



Would you mind trying the followings so as to resolve the problem



1) disable all the CPU and VGA overclock settings

2) restore motherboard BIOS default

3) improve the ventilation inside the system

4) update the latest VGA driver from the URL below

http://ati.amd.com/support/driver.html

Before driver installation, make sure the old driver is uninstalled



5) Test the system with another power supply if available, make sure the power supply provides system with sufficient power.



Finally, if it does not resolve the problem, you may send your card to reseller (where you buy the VGA card) for warranty.



Any inquiry, please feel free to contact us.



Best Regards,

Ken Wong

Technical Support

This sounds like a generic response to me?
 

cpassamani

New Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Location
Brazil
I have a 4850 sapphire with the 2 slot cooler. The noise was bothering me and i decided to change and i chosed a accelero s1 with turbo module. My memio temps was always very high since then. When I move it away i could see the contact between the cooler and the GPU was horrible. About 25% of the GPU wans't touched by the cooler. I tried a lot of times mount and unmount the cooler. The only way that make it works was take away the clear plastic rings of the tails spins. Latter I can post my temps.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2008
Messages
3,013 (0.58/day)
Location
Northampton,UK
System Name Jaffakeik
Processor I9 12900K
Motherboard MSI Pro B660M-A WIFI DDR4
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II High Performance CPU Water cooler- 240mm
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX Black 32GB (2x16GB) 3600
Video Card(s) 7900XTX gigabyte OC edition
Storage WD Black SN770 1TB SSD M.2 2280 NVME x2
Display(s) TV LG C2
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro 2 Full Tower Case Tempered
Audio Device(s) Mother board + Sennhiser HD650+ Elgato wave xlr + shure SM7B
Power Supply EVGA 1600w G+
Mouse Glorious Model 0
Keyboard Corsair RBG mini K65 + Steelseries Apex150
Software Windows 11
Benchmark Scores over 9000
i hope u will make it mate:)
 

Jonny_doe

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2005
Messages
72 (0.01/day)
Location
South West U.K.
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition
Motherboard Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 CPU Cooler
Memory OCZ DDR2 PC2-8500 Platinum 4GB Edition Dual Channel
Video Card(s) ASUS EAH6870
Storage Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB 10,000 rpm
Display(s) Dell U2410 24"
Case Cooler Master Storm Sniper Case
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi titanium Fatality Professional
Power Supply Hiper Type-M MK II HPU-5M730 (730W)
Software Windows Seven X64
so for jumping in but where is the memio on the card ????
Mind is also the highest temp , so i wouldn't mind checking out what's cause this ....
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
2,206 (0.42/day)
System Name Budget AMD System
Processor Threadripper 1900X @ 4.1Ghz (100x41 @ 1.3250V)
Motherboard Gigabyte X399 Aorus Gaming 7
Cooling EKWB X399 Monoblock
Memory 4x8GB GSkill TridentZ RGB 14-14-14-32 CR1 @ 3266
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon RX Vega₆⁴ Liquid @ 1,800Mhz Core, 1025Mhz HBM2
Storage 1x ADATA SX8200 NVMe, 1x Segate 2.5" FireCuda 2TB SATA, 1x 500GB HGST SATA
Display(s) Vizio 22" 1080p 60hz TV (Samsung Panel)
Case Corsair 570X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X Series 850W KM3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
This is exactly what is happening. Either you have uneven pressure on the GPU Die or the heatsink base isn't perfectly flat. RMA the card or switch out the heatsink.

Stock heatsink Idle:


Stock heatsink under max load:

^^^^

Thats not full load...
Rename Furmark and voila.
Anyway, yes.... that is VERY high for temps on the memIO. The temps on my HD4850 @ 750Mhz never even get that high, so RMA or get some RAM/MOSFET Heatsinks.
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2007
Messages
437 (0.08/day)
Location
Manchester, UK
System Name Colin #2 - the revenge!
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite V2
Cooling 4x Phanteks SK140 PWM & Arctic Freezer II 280 AIO
Memory 2 x 8Gb Patriot Viper Steel 4000MHz @ 3600 CL14 1.4v 1T 1:1
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G until I can get a 3080(!)
Storage 980 Pro 500Gb + WD SN550 1Tb
Display(s) Acer XB280HK 4K GSYNC
Case Phanteks P500A
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1200 or possibly 1220
Power Supply 750W Corsair RM750
Mouse Zalman ZM GM1
Keyboard Zalman ZM K400G
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Got it Sent back for a refund. Waiting to see what hapens with the next gen now for an upgrade.
 

cpassamani

New Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Location
Brazil
Before i modify the instalation of the accelero s1 the memio temps at full load reached 110ºC...

Now my temps:
Idle:



Full load:



Full load OC::rockout:


My problem is solved, but i'll never buy an arctic cooling product again.
I have a zalman cooler in my another video card and i had no problem...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,212 (0.81/day)
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / HTPC-Server
Processor i7 8700K (@4.8 Ghz All-Core) / R7 5900X
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling CM ML360 / CM ML240L
Memory 16Gb Hynix @3200 MHz / 16Gb Hynix @3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac 3080 / Colorful 1060
Storage 750G MX300 + 2x500G NVMe / 40Tb Reds + 1Tb WD Blue NVMe
Display(s) LG 27GN800-B 27'' 2K 144Hz / Sony TV
Case Xigmatek Aquarius Plus / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex III Gold 750W / Andyson TX-700 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero / K400+
Keyboard Wooting Two / K400+
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 = 1542 3D Mark Timespy = 9758
It's definetly your Cooler not being seated correctly. I tried to add a water block to my gpu and the same thing happened. No matter which way i seated it my memio was always a lot higher. I ended up taking it off and going back with the stock cooler.
Check the thermal paste has been applied to the full face of the GPU, as the memio core is in one corner of the gpu (but i don't remember which. Also try taking off your cooler and reattatching it, turn each screw 360 then move onto the next screw till it's tight enough
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,212 (0.81/day)
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / HTPC-Server
Processor i7 8700K (@4.8 Ghz All-Core) / R7 5900X
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling CM ML360 / CM ML240L
Memory 16Gb Hynix @3200 MHz / 16Gb Hynix @3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac 3080 / Colorful 1060
Storage 750G MX300 + 2x500G NVMe / 40Tb Reds + 1Tb WD Blue NVMe
Display(s) LG 27GN800-B 27'' 2K 144Hz / Sony TV
Case Xigmatek Aquarius Plus / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex III Gold 750W / Andyson TX-700 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero / K400+
Keyboard Wooting Two / K400+
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 = 1542 3D Mark Timespy = 9758
It's definetly your Cooler not being seated correctly. I tried to add a water block to my gpu and the same thing happened. No matter which way i seated it my memio was always a lot higher. I ended up taking it off and going back with the stock cooler.
Check the thermal paste has been applied to the full face of the GPU, as the memio core is in one corner of the gpu (but i don't remember which. Also try taking off your cooler and reattatching it, turn each screw 360 then move onto the next screw till it's tight enough.

If you have proper contact, Shadercore, dispio and memio should only be a few degrees apart (even at load) My 4850 runs at 47.5-46-48 (disp-mem-shad)
 

summersend

New Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
37 (0.01/day)
Temps are insane but i got em 2.Actually alittle higher with the quimoda.I put a 5500 rpm fan on mine.It was an old 939 cpu fan that runs 5500 default.Took the old fan out as to not constrict airflow.I really wonder what kinda silicon there using nowadays since the old stuff would come no where near these temps?I just looked above i guess its the ac5 ur usinr but even with huge airflow i get past 70c in 3do6.I think these thermal pads actually insulate instead of transfering heat.I replaced my 8800gts with the ceramiq because i heard it was non conductive.Is ac5 non conductive or it got silver in it?Last the newer 4850 and some 4870 have nadda on there memory wtf.Ive always thought the mem was the most delicate part of the system but i guess ill go with trust on this one.120C on hardgaming seems unbelievable to me but its happening.
 
Last edited:

youssef_che

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2010
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Just increase the fan speed

I advise you to increase the fan speed in the overdrive section in AMD Catalyst Control Center(version 9.2 or higher) & retest the card
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
1,167 (0.24/day)
Location
Austria, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900x
Motherboard MSI PRESTIGE x570 CREATION
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S36
Memory 32Gb 4400Mhz Patriot Viper Steel(Samsung B-die) @ 3800Mhz 16-16-16-32-48-1T @ 1.38v
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3080 Ti Suprim X
Storage Adata SX8200Pro 512Gb/2x Crucial P1 1Tb/Samsung 840 EVO/6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/2x IronWolf 8Tb/
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K HDR TV (US - 9 series)
Case Fractal Design Define R6 Black Usb-C
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon X4400H reciever, 2x Dali Zensor 7, Dali Zensor Vokal, 2x Dali Zensor 1, Yamaha Sub
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 750W
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeed
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 11 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/26216445
He allready sent it back people. Oh and memio is not the temperatue of the memory, but of the memory controler inside the GPU chip. So his problem was caused by an uneven contact of the cooler with the core.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
18,166 (3.19/day)
Location
UK\USA
Processor AMD 3900X \ AMD 7700X
Motherboard ASRock AM4 X570 Pro 4 \ ASUS X670Xe TUF
Memory Patriot 2x16GB PVS432G320C6K \ G.Skill Flare X5 F5-6000J3238F 2x16GB
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX RX 6950XT RX-695XATBD9
Storage 2xIntel 80Gb (SATA2) Crucial MX500 \ Samsung 860 1TB +Samsung Evo 250GB+500GB Sabrent 1TB Rocket
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ LG 43UN700
Case HTPC400 \ Fractal Design Torrent.
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V677 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000\Paradigm P Studio 20, Blue Yeti
Power Supply Seasonic Focus 650w \ Seasonic Prime TX-750
Mouse Steelseries Sensei wireless \ Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
MEMIO is not the ram it's one of the VRMS so either check the contact of them or RMA it. I'd say either the chips faulty or it has bad contact with that chip.
 
Top