• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

VIA Launches 8-drive NSD7800 Data Storage Server for Home Use

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
VIA Technologies, Inc, a leading innovator of power efficient x86 processor platforms, today announced the VIA NSD7800 home server, supporting up to 8 full sized hard drives with a fraction of the hassle associated with larger servers, enabling system integrators to offer the ideal solution for SOHO and family storage needs. Measuring only 13.4" x 13.4" x 5.9" (34cm x 34cm x 15cm) and powered by an energy-efficient 1.5GHz VIA C7-D processor, the VIA NSD7800 offers substantial storage space through its eight easy access 3.5" drive bays. The VIA NSD7800 server is fully compatible with Microsoft Windows Home Server so that users can now securely store their personal data and enjoy peace of mind with automatic data mirroring, as well as easy access to documents while away from home.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.54/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#2
8 drive server for home use. LOL. Get those torrents seeding :pimp:
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2006
Messages
486 (0.11/day)
Likes
56
Location
Stamford, UK
System Name The Money Sink
Processor Intel i7-5960X at 4.60Ghz
Motherboard MSI X99A Godlike
Cooling Custom watercooling loop, single D5 -> CPU, dual D5 -> GPU's
Memory 64GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) 2 x 1080Ti @ Stock for the moment (40oC LOAD)
Storage 960GB Mushkin Scorpion Deluxe and 2 x 512GB M.2 SSD RAID0
Display(s) Dual Curved LG 34" Display
Power Supply EVGA 1600W G2
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores ALOT
#3
Gutted it doesn't come with more than one LAN port as standard, if I was going to get something like this for home use I'd probably have 4 LAN ports teamed together :O
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,059 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,123
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#4
Not bad. Would have been nice to see hardware raid, even if it was low-end.

WHS does a pseudo RAID-1E as far as I can tell while Linux and Windows Server (certain versions) can do RAID-5. Though with just gigabit, I'd probably just keep it simple with (4) RAID-1's.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.11/day)
Likes
1,331
#5
Not bad. Would have been nice to see hardware raid, even if it was low-end.

WHS does a pseudo RAID-1E as far as I can tell while Linux and Windows Server (certain versions) can do RAID-5. Though with just gigabit, I'd probably just keep it simple with (4) RAID-1's.
Four RAID 1's? Waste of space if you ask me. What's wrong with RAID5 (or even 6)? Besides, how is having four different arrays keeping things simple? For a user creating a RAID 1 or 5 array is the same thing, select drives, choose RAID level, click ok.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,059 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,123
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#6
True - I have never tried software RAID-5 on a VIA 1.5Ghz. It very well could be decent.

RAID-1 is simple, to me at least. Could pull a drive and read the data off it with little or no problem in case of failure.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.11/day)
Likes
1,331
#7
RAID-1 is simple, to me at least. Could pull a drive and read the data off it with little or no problem in case of failure.
True, though when a drive in a RAID 5 array fails the remaining drives can be accessed without problems as well. And it's far more efficient with space, specially if you use 8 drives.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
Not bad. Would have been nice to see hardware raid, even if it was low-end.

WHS does a pseudo RAID-1E as far as I can tell while Linux and Windows Server (certain versions) can do RAID-5. Though with just gigabit, I'd probably just keep it simple with (4) RAID-1's.
The NSD7800 has Raid :) I am running WHS on it with 2x 1TB as Raid 1 running WHS on it and 8 additional drives in single mood added to the drive pool in WHS. SO you get about 7GB for data storage :rockout: