• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

VID Higher than Core?

Joined
May 15, 2005
Messages
3,480 (0.76/day)
Likes
537
#1
Just fooling around with my e8600 and wanted to see how low I could run stable @4Ghz.
I always thought the Core was suppose to run higher than VID.
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#2
:confused:

i can run mine just below vid at 4GHz
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
5,105 (1.33/day)
Likes
1,249
Location
Kansas
Processor Core i5 3570K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Pro4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Extreme
Memory 2x4GB GSkill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming
Storage 240GB OCZ ARC 100, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Antec P100
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Edge 750W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64
#3
VID is approximated I think.

Lucky ducky.:p
 

aCid888*

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
2,754 (0.79/day)
Likes
630
Location
In a state of flux...
#4



I just wish I could OC with this board...if only the damn BIOS didn't corrupt each time and give me an "88" error code....RMA time once I get round to it lol :banghead:



Edit: Resized image from 1920x1080 to 1280x720
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.23/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#5
VID is basically the default voltage, most likely vdroop has brought it lower in your case (cpu-z will report lower voltage than set in the bios), run superpi on it and likely that voltage will drop some more. Of course EIST and C1E can drop voltage as well, but it doesn't look like you have those going. In short, you can always undervolt if you want, it's especially nice when you gain some clockage as well.

par exampla:

This is a result of vdroop, EIST, and C1E. Almost 200mv below stock and 600mhz oc.

 

aCid888*

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
2,754 (0.79/day)
Likes
630
Location
In a state of flux...
#6
E6750 set to 3.4GHz for purpose of SS (425x8) and 1.32v in the BIOS and running Prime95 and Real Temp 2.60.


As you can see, not much droop at all...very stable in my view. :toast:



Time to RMA this damn DFI and get clocking this E8400 when it comes back!!! :rockout:


Edit: Pink background and XP layout is for my fiance, it isn't mine before you ask or wonder lol ( it looks like Vista but it isn't, before you say that too :) )