• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Video output not working - new rig

Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
732 (0.24/day)
Likes
367
System Name Current
Processor Intel Core i7 3770 @ 3.8GHz (4.3GHz Turbo)
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo Push-Pull
Memory 16GB DDR3 1866MHz @ 9-9-9-24-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 OC x2 SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD + Seagate 2TB HDD
Display(s) 28" Asus PB287Q 3840x2160p
Case Thermaltake Urban S41
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Cougar CMX 700W v3
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro | Linux Mint
#26
I don't really know why DVI would work and VGA (D-SUB) wouldn't, but could give it a try, if you think it's worth while.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
137 (0.07/day)
Likes
19
Location
Portugal
System Name The Homer
Processor i5 3570k @4.3 ghz
Motherboard gigabyte-z77m-d3h
Cooling Titan Cooler
Memory 2 x 4 gb corsair vengeance LP LV white @ 1600 7-8-7
Video Card(s) gigabyte gtx 670 @ 1225/6700
Storage Corsair Force GT 120 Gb; 1 Tb Hard-drive 5400 rpm
Display(s) HP L2335
Case Corsair Carbide 500r white
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dg / sennheiser hd 598
Power Supply Corsair gaming series 720w
#27
I have tryed unplugging all PSU cables, resiting cpu, still nothing, is it possible that my CPU is DOA?

How can I test this?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
137 (0.07/day)
Likes
19
Location
Portugal
System Name The Homer
Processor i5 3570k @4.3 ghz
Motherboard gigabyte-z77m-d3h
Cooling Titan Cooler
Memory 2 x 4 gb corsair vengeance LP LV white @ 1600 7-8-7
Video Card(s) gigabyte gtx 670 @ 1225/6700
Storage Corsair Force GT 120 Gb; 1 Tb Hard-drive 5400 rpm
Display(s) HP L2335
Case Corsair Carbide 500r white
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dg / sennheiser hd 598
Power Supply Corsair gaming series 720w
#28
I woul go ahead and buy a new GPU on the cheap, but the whole reason I chose trinity on this was for iGPU (and supporting a dying AMD)... Besides I still do not know if the CPU is not the issue.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
732 (0.24/day)
Likes
367
System Name Current
Processor Intel Core i7 3770 @ 3.8GHz (4.3GHz Turbo)
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo Push-Pull
Memory 16GB DDR3 1866MHz @ 9-9-9-24-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 OC x2 SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD + Seagate 2TB HDD
Display(s) 28" Asus PB287Q 3840x2160p
Case Thermaltake Urban S41
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Cougar CMX 700W v3
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro | Linux Mint
#29
is it possible that my CPU is DOA?
Anything is possible. Have you made sure the motherboard is correctly seated? It might be screwed in properly, just may be shorting somewhere?

How can I test this?
Only reliable way of testing for this is to have a working computer that supports the CPU to test it in, or have another CPU to put in the computer you are building and see if it works.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
137 (0.07/day)
Likes
19
Location
Portugal
System Name The Homer
Processor i5 3570k @4.3 ghz
Motherboard gigabyte-z77m-d3h
Cooling Titan Cooler
Memory 2 x 4 gb corsair vengeance LP LV white @ 1600 7-8-7
Video Card(s) gigabyte gtx 670 @ 1225/6700
Storage Corsair Force GT 120 Gb; 1 Tb Hard-drive 5400 rpm
Display(s) HP L2335
Case Corsair Carbide 500r white
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dg / sennheiser hd 598
Power Supply Corsair gaming series 720w
#30
Anything is possible. Have you made sure the motherboard is correctly seated? It might be screwed in properly, just may be shorting somewhere?


Only reliable way of testing for this is to have a working computer that supports the CPU to test it in, or have another CPU to put in the computer you are building and see if it works.
Seated properly? it is micro, has 3 places for screws, screwed them into the case ... Maybe I didn't understand what you meant.

BTW this build really made me aprecciate the ease of building inside my corsair 500r, cheap cases and PSUs really are a horror to work with.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
137 (0.07/day)
Likes
19
Location
Portugal
System Name The Homer
Processor i5 3570k @4.3 ghz
Motherboard gigabyte-z77m-d3h
Cooling Titan Cooler
Memory 2 x 4 gb corsair vengeance LP LV white @ 1600 7-8-7
Video Card(s) gigabyte gtx 670 @ 1225/6700
Storage Corsair Force GT 120 Gb; 1 Tb Hard-drive 5400 rpm
Display(s) HP L2335
Case Corsair Carbide 500r white
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dg / sennheiser hd 598
Power Supply Corsair gaming series 720w
#31
Please guys, I really need to finish this. Does anyone have something I can try?
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
732 (0.24/day)
Likes
367
System Name Current
Processor Intel Core i7 3770 @ 3.8GHz (4.3GHz Turbo)
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo Push-Pull
Memory 16GB DDR3 1866MHz @ 9-9-9-24-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 OC x2 SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD + Seagate 2TB HDD
Display(s) 28" Asus PB287Q 3840x2160p
Case Thermaltake Urban S41
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Cougar CMX 700W v3
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro | Linux Mint
#32
Well, if you're adamant that everything is seated and connected properly, and it's not the cable, etc, then maybe something is DOA.
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2012
Messages
508 (0.25/day)
Likes
165
Processor Intel Core 2 QX6850
Motherboard ABIT AB9 Pro
Cooling Zalman CNPS-9900 MAX-R
Memory Patriot PDC24G6400LLK (4x 2 GB)
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 560 Ti Twin Light Turbo
Storage Not Enough!
Display(s) Samsung T240HD
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Thortech Thunderbolt Plus TTBPK00G 1000W
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard CM Storm Trigger (Cherry MX Brown)
Software NOT Windows 10
#33
Check the monitor. Does it work with another computer?

Check the VGA cable. Use a different cable and see if it works.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
137 (0.07/day)
Likes
19
Location
Portugal
System Name The Homer
Processor i5 3570k @4.3 ghz
Motherboard gigabyte-z77m-d3h
Cooling Titan Cooler
Memory 2 x 4 gb corsair vengeance LP LV white @ 1600 7-8-7
Video Card(s) gigabyte gtx 670 @ 1225/6700
Storage Corsair Force GT 120 Gb; 1 Tb Hard-drive 5400 rpm
Display(s) HP L2335
Case Corsair Carbide 500r white
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dg / sennheiser hd 598
Power Supply Corsair gaming series 720w
#34
The cable and the monitor work with a different pc, first thing I checked, I am not adamant about anything, but I have disconnected/reconnected the cables 5 or so times, I am pretty sure at this point this is not the issue. Powering a PC without the 4 pin CPU power can cause damage to it?
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,041 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,646
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#35
Take the motherboard out of the case, place it on a wood table, non conductive surface, one chip of ram cpu and heat sink. power cables (both) and monitor, and short the pwr pins. Make sure to do the correct ones. Check manual. If it does not post send it back
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
137 (0.07/day)
Likes
19
Location
Portugal
System Name The Homer
Processor i5 3570k @4.3 ghz
Motherboard gigabyte-z77m-d3h
Cooling Titan Cooler
Memory 2 x 4 gb corsair vengeance LP LV white @ 1600 7-8-7
Video Card(s) gigabyte gtx 670 @ 1225/6700
Storage Corsair Force GT 120 Gb; 1 Tb Hard-drive 5400 rpm
Display(s) HP L2335
Case Corsair Carbide 500r white
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dg / sennheiser hd 598
Power Supply Corsair gaming series 720w
#36
It is working now... Thank you! I think one of the screws was causing it, because when I simply took it out of the case it worked immediatly. I am however getting 1.0 on WEI on both graphics scores. Any idea why?
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#37
It is working now... Thank you! I think one of the screws was causing it, because when I simply took it out of the case it worked immediatly. I am however getting 1.0 on WEI on both graphics scores. Any idea why?
tried installing the GPU drivers yet?? It might be still using a generic one
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#38
So it was the mobo shorting against the case? That figures.

WEI: have you installed the AMD drivers and all the Windows patches? No drivers will tank it for sure.

haha, beat me to it, bo$$. :)
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,041 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,646
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#39
Nice..glad it worked out
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
137 (0.07/day)
Likes
19
Location
Portugal
System Name The Homer
Processor i5 3570k @4.3 ghz
Motherboard gigabyte-z77m-d3h
Cooling Titan Cooler
Memory 2 x 4 gb corsair vengeance LP LV white @ 1600 7-8-7
Video Card(s) gigabyte gtx 670 @ 1225/6700
Storage Corsair Force GT 120 Gb; 1 Tb Hard-drive 5400 rpm
Display(s) HP L2335
Case Corsair Carbide 500r white
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dg / sennheiser hd 598
Power Supply Corsair gaming series 720w
#40
yeah, I installed the drivers directly from the mobo cd. I'll just download the lastest drivers and see if that works, but not right now, it is not a big issue and I am tired. Again, thanks to everyone who helped out.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#41
The latest drivers can make a big difference. Let us know how you get on!

Really glad that PC isn't DOA. :toast: I've been there and it's really frustrating.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
137 (0.07/day)
Likes
19
Location
Portugal
System Name The Homer
Processor i5 3570k @4.3 ghz
Motherboard gigabyte-z77m-d3h
Cooling Titan Cooler
Memory 2 x 4 gb corsair vengeance LP LV white @ 1600 7-8-7
Video Card(s) gigabyte gtx 670 @ 1225/6700
Storage Corsair Force GT 120 Gb; 1 Tb Hard-drive 5400 rpm
Display(s) HP L2335
Case Corsair Carbide 500r white
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dg / sennheiser hd 598
Power Supply Corsair gaming series 720w
#42
Everything is up to speed x) WEI now shows 5.9 (mechanic HD) and 6.7 for both Graphics Subscores. Strange that asrock mobo drivers didn't seem to work perfectly, I ran BL 2 in Medium but 1.0 on WEI... Strange, but I don't care anymore. I am actually fond of this trinity build (AMD has a real contender here for budget systems), very responsive for a non-ssd system, tryed a couple games in there and all fine on low/medium except for metro (figures...). This was without a doubt the hardest pc build I had, but now that it's over I can also say I really enjoyed it.

Thanks and keep on rolling them systems, I know I will, just hope that my next build will have a different kind of spotlight here on TPU, maybe a project log or something x)
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#43
It is working now... Thank you! I think one of the screws was causing it, because when I simply took it out of the case it worked immediatly. I am however getting 1.0 on WEI on both graphics scores. Any idea why?


LOL, everyone was saying DOA and RMA. What did I tell you?:twitch:
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
137 (0.07/day)
Likes
19
Location
Portugal
System Name The Homer
Processor i5 3570k @4.3 ghz
Motherboard gigabyte-z77m-d3h
Cooling Titan Cooler
Memory 2 x 4 gb corsair vengeance LP LV white @ 1600 7-8-7
Video Card(s) gigabyte gtx 670 @ 1225/6700
Storage Corsair Force GT 120 Gb; 1 Tb Hard-drive 5400 rpm
Display(s) HP L2335
Case Corsair Carbide 500r white
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dg / sennheiser hd 598
Power Supply Corsair gaming series 720w
#44
You win the prize, but really how often does that even happen? Well, I guess that is the downside of a cheap case or something, but still...
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,041 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,646
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#45
LOL, everyone was saying DOA and RMA. What did I tell you?:twitch:
What are you talking about . I answered it in my first post
And Caspase you would be suprized how often :cool:
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
732 (0.24/day)
Likes
367
System Name Current
Processor Intel Core i7 3770 @ 3.8GHz (4.3GHz Turbo)
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo Push-Pull
Memory 16GB DDR3 1866MHz @ 9-9-9-24-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 OC x2 SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD + Seagate 2TB HDD
Display(s) 28" Asus PB287Q 3840x2160p
Case Thermaltake Urban S41
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Cougar CMX 700W v3
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro | Linux Mint
#46
LOL, everyone was saying DOA and RMA. What did I tell you?
I specifically said:

My only other advice is to re-check, or even rebuild everything, if you have to; make sure everything is seated and connected properly.
and...

Well, if you're adamant that everything is seated and connected properly, and it's not the cable, etc, then maybe something is DOA.
:ohwell:

RMA was only ever a last resort, really. Luckily, Caspase found the problem was just a screw/standoff that had possibly been shorting on something.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,202 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,390
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#47
fortunately this was solved.

but next time remember to go to a local professional. you could have ended up damaging your system. and then you would blame AMD for making bad CPUs etc etc.

this is the reason professionals exist. lol.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#48
fortunately this was solved.

but next time remember to go to a local professional. you could have ended up damaging your system. and then you would blame AMD for making bad CPUs etc etc.

this is the reason professionals exist. lol.
Hey, stop touting your dodgy "services" ddd! :laugh:

j/k
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
137 (0.07/day)
Likes
19
Location
Portugal
System Name The Homer
Processor i5 3570k @4.3 ghz
Motherboard gigabyte-z77m-d3h
Cooling Titan Cooler
Memory 2 x 4 gb corsair vengeance LP LV white @ 1600 7-8-7
Video Card(s) gigabyte gtx 670 @ 1225/6700
Storage Corsair Force GT 120 Gb; 1 Tb Hard-drive 5400 rpm
Display(s) HP L2335
Case Corsair Carbide 500r white
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dg / sennheiser hd 598
Power Supply Corsair gaming series 720w
#49
fortunately this was solved.

but next time remember to go to a local professional. you could have ended up damaging your system. and then you would blame AMD for making bad CPUs etc etc.

this is the reason professionals exist. lol.
I remember the local professional... But I try to avoid them when I can. This was an extremely low budget build for a friend. I would never blame AMD for this, I didn't even know what the problem was at the time! I kept at it, asked for help and it surfaced.

Besides, I love building pcs, and stuff in general, I am a DIY man. When I can spare and help my friends I will.

There are (very) good and (very) bad IT professionals too. I've seen charges of 80€ for formatting and re-installing windows. 40€ for installing office. 300 on hardware repair of a 5 year old laptop...
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#50
I remember the local professional... But I try to avoid them when I can. This was an extremely low budget build for a friend. I would never blame AMD for this, I didn't even know what the problem was at the time! I kept at it, asked for help and it surfaced.

Besides, I love building pcs, and stuff in general, I am a DIY man. When I can spare and help my friends I will.

There are (very) good and (very) bad IT professionals too. I've seen charges of 80€ for formatting and re-installing windows. 40€ for installing office. 300 on hardware repair of a 5 year old laptop...
+1 Yeah, you might break it, but how will you ever gain experience if you pay someone else lots of money to do it for you? There's also the hobby factor and desire to do it yourself, too. And the rippoff merchants...