• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Video Streamers and Content Providers of TPU *UNITE*

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,383 (2.02/day)
Likes
1,113
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#76
I found the software difficult to use , and it gave no indication that the recoording had begun :(.
Can you recommend any other software like msi afterburner(this i like), which is just for youtube uploads and gaming

I found it difficult at first too, but once you figure it out, it's all good. Go to your settings and then to the encoding tab, if you are getting motion blur or pixelation under speed, lower the quality balance to around 2 or 3, that will solve it. Go to broadcast settings and set the mode to File Output Only, then set up where you want the file to go and what name to put it under. I put mine into My videos, filename SC2. Also setup hotkeys for starting and stopping. Also set it to an MP4 when you are setting up the file path and name.

Under the video tab, you can set what resolution you want it to record at.

Make sure that your game is open and you are alt tabbed to the desktop. Next go back to the main page of OBS and right click in the sources box, then click add. Select game capture, name it, then set the application to the game that you are playing. Make sure that it's checked and you are all set.

After you start, then stop the recording, it will make an MP4 file and then you can upload that directly to youtube.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,257 (0.36/day)
Likes
172
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
#78
I found it difficult at first too, but once you figure it out, it's all good. Go to your settings and then to the encoding tab, if you are getting motion blur or pixelation under speed, lower the quality balance to around 2 or 3, that will solve it. Go to broadcast settings and set the mode to File Output Only, then set up where you want the file to go and what name to put it under. I put mine into My videos, filename SC2. Also setup hotkeys for starting and stopping. Also set it to an MP4 when you are setting up the file path and name.

Under the video tab, you can set what resolution you want it to record at.

Make sure that your game is open and you are alt tabbed to the desktop. Next go back to the main page of OBS and right click in the sources box, then click add. Select game capture, name it, then set the application to the game that you are playing. Make sure that it's checked and you are all set.

After you start, then stop the recording, it will make an MP4 file and then you can upload that directly to youtube.
Hi , i made a test video with it, there was no sound and it was pixelated , i adjusted the sound settings and quality .
The file thus resulted was larger then my MSI afterburner file.
So i gave up on OBS , i tried bandicam, the quality of video created using bandicam was superb , but again no sound and no amount of setting change was fixing that.
So i am back to FRAPS and msi after burner :(.
BTW , i am thinking of adding audio to my video.But the problem is that audio length is one-third of video length , so i thought of looping it.
So does anyone know how to loop audio only using virtual dub?
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,383 (2.02/day)
Likes
1,113
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#80
Hi , i made a test video with it, there was no sound and it was pixelated , i adjusted the sound settings and quality .
The file thus resulted was larger then my MSI afterburner file.
So i gave up on OBS , i tried bandicam, the quality of video created using bandicam was superb , but again no sound and no amount of setting change was fixing that.
So i am back to FRAPS and msi after burner :(.
BTW , i am thinking of adding audio to my video.But the problem is that audio length is one-third of video length , so i thought of looping it.
So does anyone know how to loop audio only using virtual dub?
That is weird. I was recording just a touch less than 480P, a 20 minute video was like 66MB. As for the sound, I am not sure, what do you have set in the audio section?
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2011
Messages
149 (0.06/day)
Likes
30
Processor Intel i7-3770k
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V LX
Cooling GeminII S524
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz
Video Card(s) R9 290 with NZXT G10
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 120Gb, 1.5 TB Seagate Barracuda, 3TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 27" Achieva Shimian
Case NZXT Switch 810
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
#81
Hi , i made a test video with it, there was no sound and it was pixelated , i adjusted the sound settings and quality .
The file thus resulted was larger then my MSI afterburner file.
So i gave up on OBS , i tried bandicam, the quality of video created using bandicam was superb , but again no sound and no amount of setting change was fixing that.
So i am back to FRAPS and msi after burner :(.
BTW , i am thinking of adding audio to my video.But the problem is that audio length is one-third of video length , so i thought of looping it.
So does anyone know how to loop audio only using virtual dub?
You might want to try something like Mirillis Action
http://mirillis.com/en/products/action.html
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,257 (0.36/day)
Likes
172
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
#82
I have a xfi sound card , could that be causing problem in settings ?
plus i make videos in 720p
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,659 (2.12/day)
Likes
3,035
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#83
The game I am trying to record needs a lot of cpu grunt. What is a free recorder that does not hit performance much.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,257 (0.36/day)
Likes
172
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
#84
The game I am trying to record needs a lot of cpu grunt. What is a free recorder that does not hit performance much.
OBS is good but i cant seem to get it working
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,659 (2.12/day)
Likes
3,035
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#85
I am recording sound but no video. I just have black videos.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,257 (0.36/day)
Likes
172
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
#86
I am recording sound but no video. I just have black videos.
same here , i just cant seem to get it setup , no sound at all
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,659 (2.12/day)
Likes
3,035
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#87
One of my actual sources is black and not showing up
Are you trying to stream a fullscreen game? You’ll need to hook into it using the 'Game Capture' source in OBS or using a program like Dxtory. As well, OpenGL games like Minecraft have issues with Window Capture and you’ll need to use Monitor Capture to show them.
If desktop capture is showing up as black, it indicates that you either need to update windows or update directx.
I have the latest directx. I wonder if I have to try other capture modes. Maybe its an issue with my 13.3 beta drivers. I have read windows aero was giving this issue but I have aero disabled.
Hey man, I was trying to use your program to stream and I followed this guide doing everything you said but when I stream, everything works correctly and shows up but then when I try to stream starcraft it just becomes a black screen but I can see the starcraft cursor. Wondering what the issue is. Great program though!
--
Probably because your SC2 is on full screen, it only works when SC2 is on windowed fullscreen.
I am reading this:
http://dfenner.com/starcraft/open-broadcaster-software-guide/


I suspect our problem is with our mismanagement of streams.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,659 (2.12/day)
Likes
3,035
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#88
I got it working with monitor capture but I can not get a good video at any setting I tried. I got the best video quality with the game in windowed mode, being captured with monitor capture, and video quality 10, and cpu speed fast-slow but I kept it on fast. The game was so juttery while recording also at any setting I tried.
 

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (1.89/day)
Likes
1,735
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#89
I am recording sound but no video. I just have black videos.
same here , i just cant seem to get it setup , no sound at all
I have the latest directx. I wonder if I have to try other capture modes. Maybe its an issue with my 13.3 beta drivers. I have read windows aero was giving this issue but I have aero disabled.


I am reading this:
http://dfenner.com/starcraft/open-broadcaster-software-guide/


I suspect our problem is with our mismanagement of streams.
I got it working with monitor capture but I can not get a good video at any setting I tried. I got the best video quality with the game in windowed mode, being captured with monitor capture, and video quality 10, and cpu speed fast-slow but I kept it on fast. The game was so juttery while recording also at any setting I tried.
All of the above are issues I just have not experienced with OBS, so I don't have a lot of insight here. Both of your systems have more than enough to handle high quality recordings, and it isn't a video driver issue.

Maybe I can do a stream to explain the settings or make a video about it.

Some tips,
1) Make sure your game resolution and recording resolution are equal.
2) If your screen is black try using the windowed capture option "capture layered window"
3) If you have to do fullscreen remember to change your game resolution down to your recording resolution and use "game capture" instead of window capture.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,659 (2.12/day)
Likes
3,035
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#90
1) Make sure your game resolution and recording resolution are equal.
2) If your screen is black try using the windowed capture option "capture layered window"
3) If you have to do fullscreen remember to change your game resolution down to your recording resolution and use "game capture" instead of window capture.
1) I did experiment with this but it did reduce quality so I kept it at default.
2)That is how I ended up getting any video
3) Refer to number 1

I think in my case it might have to do with the game being recorded. I read a lot of people had problems with SC2. I should experiment with another game, but I can't until my motherboard comes back from rma.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
3,258 (1.00/day)
Likes
316
System Name Mercury KM-81
Processor Phenom II x4 B50
Motherboard ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory 6GB Ram (4GBx1 Corsair 2GBx1 Nanya)
Video Card(s) PowerColor AX6770 V2.0
Storage 2TB WD Black, 1TB Hitachi, 500 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Philips 247E-LPH 24" 1920x1080
Case Mercury
Audio Device(s) Integrated Realtek
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Maybe it is time to benchmark :D
#91
@binge
I still use the decoder you showed me, but I was thinking on how to get my videos stream in 1080p instead of 720p.
Is there another decoder? Pls tell me!!! :)
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,659 (2.12/day)
Likes
3,035
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#92
I gave up on starting to record games but just came back. Got it working. These are my settings right now. They give me nice smooth gameplay, quality video, but large file size. A 1 minute video is about 100mb.





Any settings I should try instead?
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,722 (1.53/day)
Likes
1,955
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#93
Anyone want a good converter use handbrake.

Uses all cores and is profusely fast and great quality.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.89/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#94
FF7 Tifas bootleg HD. Beating Emerald weapon w/ only items and weapons

Just some fraps I took of me killing Emerald weapon.
11 minutes using the Tifas bootleg HD remastered mods.

Only used weapons and items to do damage.

Uncompressed, raw footage, 10 gb in size.
Just as if you were in the game.
:toast:

FF7 Beating Emerald weapon with weapons and items ...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
731 (0.20/day)
Likes
87
System Name WhiteWalker2020 / LAN Box
Processor Intel i7 6900K 4.4GHz / 2500K i5@4.5GHz
Motherboard MSI X99A Krait / Gigabyte Z68-UD3P
Cooling Full custom liquid / XIGMATEK HDT-Aegir
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3000MHz/ 4x4GB G. Skill DDR1866 Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1080Ti SC ACX 2.0, EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 2.0
Storage 950 Pro 512GB M.2, 960GB SanDisk Ultra II, Intel 730 480GB and 240GB, 850 EVO 250GB, 17TB Mechanical
Display(s) 39" AMH 399A (no glass) UHD , Wasabi Mango 42" UHD IPS, Samsung 55" 4K
Case Thermaltake Core x9 / HAF 932 Red
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD-Audio On-Board
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850W / Corsair 650TX
Mouse 2x Logitech 610
Keyboard Razer DeathStalker / Logitech G910 Orion Spark RGB Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 10 64bit Professional
#95
I started a Youtube channel like 3 months ago and at the moment it's for sharing the fun times our group of friend has together. Started my first Let's Play a few days ago of Doom 3 just for fun to see if I could complete it with quality in mind. Tons of BF3 footage alot with Magic 2014, SWOTOR as well as many other games including an ongoing Diablo 3 Hardcore feed.

I use Dxtory and the lagarith codec to record and down-sample on the fly from 2560x1440p to 1920x1080p. Then I run it through handbrake. Next step is to get somewhat proficient at video-editing software and so on.

Doom 3 Let's Play
McPlay Doom 3 BFG #1 - Welcome to Mars Marine - Yo...

Also check out the awesome BF3 footage for a real look at the quality since it's the best looking game out of the bunch.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.89/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#96
Raw, Uncompressed video footage of Kerbal space program. 60 GB. & optional download

KSP 1 - YouTube

The video footage is 100% raw, it has not been even the slightest bit compressed.
This is as good as it gets for video footage.
Just like you were playing the game yourself.
Ran on 2x GTX 680 in sli @ absolute maximum settings.

It's a new ship I made, I lovingly call Gundam, with it's piggybacking ship.
Both ships are fully capable of take off and landing.

This is take off and landing of both ships.
with download links to the ships if you want them.
Enjoy.
I know I did.

KSP 1 - YouTube
 
Last edited:

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,432 (2.90/day)
Likes
2,150
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#97
Necro!

Does anyone have any experience with Nvidia Shadowplay?
 
Top