• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Videocard doesnt show display

Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
245 (0.12/day)
Likes
138
System Name Main Pc | Xeon rig
Processor Intel Core i5-4670 @3.6Ghz | Intel Xeon X5675 @stock
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3 | Sabertooth X58
Cooling Noctua NH-U9B SE2 | Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB Crucial OC @ 2133mhz | 12 GB Various
Video Card(s) MSI R9 390 | MSI R7970 TF III 3GD5 OC BE (Bios mod 1081 mV)
Storage 120GB Samsung Evo\ 4TB WD HDD | 120GB Samsung Evo
Case NZXT H440 | Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply Seasonic 650 Watt| Nexus 450
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2016 Datacenter x64
#1
So I just bought an new Asus GT630 (I know its not fast, but i dont game that much), to replace my GT520. They both dont have 6pin power connectors. the GT520 works fine, but whem i put in the GT630, the pc turns on, but it doesnt show anything, it even doesnt turn on the screen. Its not the power supply, i have already checked that.

Next week i will try another motherboard to test if its the card. Anybody any suggestions? a bios setting or something?

This are my specs:

Antec 450 watt
Asus P5G41C-M LX
Intel Q6600 OC @ 3.0 GHz
Asus GT630 2GB
8 GB kingston valueram
64 GB SSD
and a hard disk for storage.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
498 (0.20/day)
Likes
114
#2
It maybe because the motherboard has PCIe version 1.0 support when the 630 uses a bus standard of PCIe 2.0. But then again you did have a 520 GT in there and im not that informed about how PCIe works. What vendor is the 520 GT from?
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.48/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#3
A PCIE 2.0 card should be compatible with PCIE 1.0 slot and vice versa. The card maybe faulty.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
245 (0.12/day)
Likes
138
System Name Main Pc | Xeon rig
Processor Intel Core i5-4670 @3.6Ghz | Intel Xeon X5675 @stock
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3 | Sabertooth X58
Cooling Noctua NH-U9B SE2 | Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB Crucial OC @ 2133mhz | 12 GB Various
Video Card(s) MSI R9 390 | MSI R7970 TF III 3GD5 OC BE (Bios mod 1081 mV)
Storage 120GB Samsung Evo\ 4TB WD HDD | 120GB Samsung Evo
Case NZXT H440 | Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply Seasonic 650 Watt| Nexus 450
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2016 Datacenter x64
#4
The gt520 is a oem card from hp, i got it from someone who didnt need it anymore
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#5
Hi

While GT520 vga card was installed in the motherboard; Drivers where uninstalled *before installing the GT630

Check in BIOS that Initiate Graphic Adapter is set to [PEG/PCI]

Check HDMI and or DVI cable for bent pins

Clear CMOS; boot with minimal hardware, One stick of RAM [seated in DIMM_1], reseat VGA card [able to boot to bios] [able to boot to DOS prompt]

-hdd attached [able to boot to windows safe mode]

-check mobo bios is up to date Note:*"download and execute the file in USB flash drive only."*

Look - here

Still Blank Screen
-Test vga card in another PC

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
2,076 (0.68/day)
Likes
379
System Name Omen
Processor i7-4710HQ
Cooling Dual fan/heatpipe
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 860M
Storage 256GB PCIE SSD/256GB PNY UHS-1 SD Card
Display(s) 15.6' 1080P
Case Aluminium
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Brick
Software Win 10
#6
Make sure the new card is plugged into the slot 100% because same has happened to me with my 4850 ages ago. Spent forever trying to figure it out. Turned out to be card was not seated correctly in the pci-e slot. GL
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,680 (2.69/day)
Likes
1,998
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#7
btw have you tried clear your bios too, before you replace your vga card you need to clean up the driver first
but since its blank from start, i think you need to check from the card itself first, then try clear your bios and check does the card sit right or you can try to clean the contact area using pencil eraser
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.32/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#8
I think the card is faulty only a few boards had issues with pci-e 2.0 but it was just with the ati cards.

If you have a spare monitor plug one into your on board graphics and one in the graphics
card so you can be sure what one is booting.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
245 (0.12/day)
Likes
138
System Name Main Pc | Xeon rig
Processor Intel Core i5-4670 @3.6Ghz | Intel Xeon X5675 @stock
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3 | Sabertooth X58
Cooling Noctua NH-U9B SE2 | Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB Crucial OC @ 2133mhz | 12 GB Various
Video Card(s) MSI R9 390 | MSI R7970 TF III 3GD5 OC BE (Bios mod 1081 mV)
Storage 120GB Samsung Evo\ 4TB WD HDD | 120GB Samsung Evo
Case NZXT H440 | Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply Seasonic 650 Watt| Nexus 450
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2016 Datacenter x64
#9
So it tried it in another motherboard and it workt perfect.

right now i did this:

Reset bios
dvi in videocard
vga in igp

it boots into the igp screen (i started the computer, and it showed no gt630 in the device manager.)

when i look into the bios is says iniatiate graphic adapter Peg/pci like you said by default. memory remap feature and configure dram timing by spd are enabled. igd graphics also enabled, 32 mb. and DVMT memory is on 256 mb.
protect audio and video : lite.

so what now? :ohwell:
 

norbert.x

New Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2013
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name Rock
Processor AMD Fx-8350 @4,2 GHz
Motherboard Asrock 990fx fat. prof.
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalem black,
Memory 4x2Gb kingston 1333
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 7950wf3
Storage intel ssd 128Gb 520
Case Bitfenix Raider
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair AX850
#10
Try switching off the igp in BIOS.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
5,114 (1.78/day)
Likes
1,658
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
#11
On T opic , I rebuilt my main rig over the weekend and thought id put my gtx460 in slot 1 instead of a 5870, and similar occurred ie boots but no screen on any of the 9 outputs of 3 cards , not a whiff of the bios screen either but swapping them back fixed it.
Actual point is this is a fault type were seeing a lot here these days isn't it.

If you have two pciex slots install both cards temp then switch to the new card in windows as main then un install the old one again , thatsworked for me in the past
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
245 (0.12/day)
Likes
138
System Name Main Pc | Xeon rig
Processor Intel Core i5-4670 @3.6Ghz | Intel Xeon X5675 @stock
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3 | Sabertooth X58
Cooling Noctua NH-U9B SE2 | Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB Crucial OC @ 2133mhz | 12 GB Various
Video Card(s) MSI R9 390 | MSI R7970 TF III 3GD5 OC BE (Bios mod 1081 mV)
Storage 120GB Samsung Evo\ 4TB WD HDD | 120GB Samsung Evo
Case NZXT H440 | Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply Seasonic 650 Watt| Nexus 450
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2016 Datacenter x64
#12
Weird. I haven't found the solution yet.

But the workaround called buying a GTX650 seems to be doing fine :toast:

Thank you for your time, when i have way to much free time i will probably research the
problem. whatever the gtx is better anyway:laugh:

Ps. this was my first topic, and u guys reacted quickly and with good advice. thumbs up!
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
4,528 (1.11/day)
Likes
6,077
Location
Washington, US
System Name Lappy
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Sager NP9870
Cooling A lot smaller than I'd like
Memory Samsung 4x8GB DDR4-2133 SO-DIMM
Video Card(s) GTX 980 (MXM)
Storage 2xSamsung 950 Pro 256GB | 2xHGST 1TB 7.2K
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1080p G-SYNC
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-FI MB 5, Foster 2.1 channel integrated
Power Supply 330w Brick
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard 3-zone RGB integrated
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not slow
#13
Weird. I haven't found the solution yet.

But the workaround called buying a GTX650 seems to be doing fine :toast:

Thank you for your time, when i have way to much free time i will probably research the
problem. whatever the gtx is better anyway:laugh:

Ps. this was my first topic, and u guys reacted quickly and with good advice. thumbs up!
Odd. I had an old Soyo board that was famous for underpowering the AGP slot. After returning a handful of AGP cards, I ended up buying a GeForce 2 MX PCI. The local shop that sold me the parts waited until the second time I returned the card to tell me about the Soyo's AGP port. I don't think there were any restocking fees, thankfully. I wouldn't be surprised if it was an odd quirk with the power.

Glad you fixed it though!