• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Virtual Cores On or Off?

Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Messages
459 (0.29/day)
Likes
236
#1
This is about simultaneous multithreading in general, so both Intel and AMD.
I've been watching several videos and reading tests and although the results are somewhat mixed I have the feeling that with higher (physical) core count, 6 and above, turning multithreading off can be beneficial in gaming.
What are your opinions and experiences with this? Did you do your own testing? Do you game with multithreading on or off?
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
7,471 (4.70/day)
Likes
6,405
Location
Duiven, Netherlands
Processor i7 8700k 4.8Ghz @ 1.31v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
#2
Minor if not negligible FPS boost in a very small selection of games, but a potential major FPS boost and min. FPS advantage in many others.

Keep it on. If you have stuff running in background, HT and SMT always improve performance. We are now actually reaching a point where devs are making better use of it too (both physical and virtual cores that is).

Its correct though, results are mixed, and hard to trust. The use of threads is almost unique per use case and even for each point in time. Why - because Win 10 for example has a tendency to do things on its own, and so do other apps, and because people tend to have several active applications alongside a game running, like a browser, but also things like Steam Overlay etc.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2018
Messages
540 (2.29/day)
Likes
176
Location
Jeddah , Saudi Arabia.
System Name POTATO
Processor Core 2 Duo E7600 @ 3.38 GHz stock voltage
Motherboard GA-945GCM-S2C
Cooling Intel stock cooler
Memory 3 GB DDR2 800 MHz @ 745 MHz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 750 TI FML OC 2GB
Storage Western Digital 500 GB 7.2K RPM (5000AAKX) + Western Digital 200 GB 7.2K RPM (2000 JS)
Display(s) Samsung E1920
Case Unbranded , Mini tower
Audio Device(s) Creative inspire 4.1 4400
Power Supply Microdigit MD2111P , unknown wattage!(probably around 400-500W)+Buying this thing was a huge mistake
Mouse Genius NetScroll 120
Keyboard HP SK-2885
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 32 bit
#3
Yes , enable it , why keeping it disabled?:confused:
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2011
Messages
1,129 (0.40/day)
Likes
1,122
Location
Greece
Processor AMD FX-8350 4GHz@1.3V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A UD3 Rev3.0
Cooling Zalman CNPS5X Performa
Memory 2*4GB Patriot Venom RED DDR3 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) XFX RX580 GTS 4GB
Storage Sandisk SSD 120GB, 2 Samsung F1 & F3 (1TB)
Display(s) LG IPS235
Case Zalman Neo Z9 Black
Audio Device(s) Via 7.1 onboard
Power Supply OCZ Z550
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Trust GXT280
Software Win 7 sp1 64bit
Benchmark Scores CB R15 64bit: single core 99p, multicore 647p WPrime 1.55 (8 cores): 9.0 secs
#4
Modern games use it as it should and helps. Old ones might have problems but more often than not it is beneficial. Older Intel CPUs (i7 920 gen mainly) had more of a problem using it properly back then but I guess with windows 7, 8.1 or 10 the os utilise HT better than when they came out. Now, from a security perspective some newfould flaws are helped by HT to penetrate. Double edge knife.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,836 (8.97/day)
Likes
14,517
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#5
its all over the place if it helps or hinders, but a basic rule of thumb would be the more modern the hardware and more modern the software, the more beneficial it is

The main times it ever helped was thermally limited hardware, that would boost higher/sustain higher base clocks without the added heat (think laptops with crap cooling, or a stock cooler filled with dust)
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.64/day)
Likes
6,922
#6
I've had HT enabled CPU for over a decade and not once I felt the need to disable HT in order to have a "boost" in games. They just all run super smoothly. Whenever I disabled it, it just ran worse.
 
Likes: 27MaD

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,800 (5.36/day)
Likes
12,177
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
I've had HT enabled CPU for over a decade and not once I felt the need to disable HT in order to have a "boost" in games. They just all run super smoothly. Whenever I disabled it, it just ran worse.
Yep, same here.

In fact, in at least one case having HT enabled made a game playable that was 100% not playable without HT.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,088 (3.66/day)
Likes
11,502
#8
What are your opinions and experiences with this? Did you do your own testing? Do you game with multithreading on or off?
The cores aren't "virtual". What happens is that each core has a singular FPU processing unit, some capable of 512-bit operations these days, that gets shared between the cores (usually fused 256-bit). The other parts of the CPU core are duplicated. These FPUs are capable of multiple operations packed into that 512-bit goodness. That's why there are "virtual" cores... they help pack those FPUs with data so they don't go wasted.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
4,901 (1.07/day)
Likes
3,267
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#9
I just don't understand why folks keep thinking changing the defaults is better. It rarely ever is. For the normal user, and that's all of us between 2 and 99% of the users out there, the defaults are the best setting for our systems. And note many of those settings are "dynamic". That is, when the motherboard BIOS and OS detect specific connected devices, hardware configurations and installed software, the BIOS and OS "dynamically" tweak the settings for us! That's a really good thing!

That's why the default settings are set the way they are. The hardware makers sure don't want to stifle performance. That would create bad press! The game makers don't want to stifle performance. And the OS makers don't want to stifle performance either. So why would they? ???

To you specifically, Joss, I doubt seriously any of the 81,513 members of this site have a computer setup exactly like yours. So I am 100% certain your computer is unique. Only you have that exact same CPU, motherboard, RAM, graphics, drives, network connection and operating system combination. And only you have your OS setup exactly the way you do. Nor does any user on this site run the exact same programs or use their computer in the exact same way as you do.

What does that mean? It means only you can determine if changing a default setting is better or worse for the tasks you perform on your computer. So I say, try it and see. Then let us know what you discovered. Just be aware of the placebo effect. It can influence even the best intentions and distort perceptions of even the most open-minded professionals.
 
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
433 (1.81/day)
Likes
315
Location
Florida
System Name getting back into it... constant WIP
Processor Ryzen 5 2600 [4.1GHz @ 1.23v]
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F
Cooling Scythe Mugen MAX [CPU] 2x 120mm NZXT FN v2 [exhaust] 2x 140mm Corsair ML140's [front intake]
Memory 2x8GB TridentZ RGB [3200Mhz 14-14-14-28-42 @ 1.37vCore/.98vSoc]
Video Card(s) MSI RX 580 Armor OC [1467MHz core / 1951MHz mem]
Storage 970 EVO 500GB [system] 860 EVO 250GB [non-core apps] Seagate Barracuda 1GB [porn/garbage]
Display(s) 32" Samsung F395 [1080/60]
Case NZXT S340 Elite
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 2 Uber, Sys, Vali 2, Scarlett 2i2 2nd gen - LSR 305's, DT-990 Pro's, HD600's
Power Supply Corsair RM650x v2
Mouse iunno whatever cheap crap logitech *clutches Xbox 360 controller security blanket*
Keyboard see: mouse
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Costs more than my last ex, but it never complains and has much better throughput.
#10
I always thought it was best to leave it enabled if you have it. Turning them off isnt the same as not having them. If anything turning it off hurts performance ime.
 

btb

New Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2018
Messages
4 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
#11
Basically its a non-issue, since its the graphic card that is by far the most important factor when it comes to FPS in games.

But my own personal preference is definitely towards only having "real" cores. That way you can avoid any potential issues with games where they might try to schedule too many threads on what the engine thinks is a real core, but in reality is a shared core, and end up hurting performance. In this video you can see several examples where the FPS with hyperthreading on is actually lower than with hyperthreading disabled(edit: fixed typo):
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
6,529 (4.20/day)
Likes
3,888
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#12
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
1,327 (0.94/day)
Likes
758
Location
Long Island
#13
This is not an either or thing .... back in 2011 (Sandy Bridge) , when I built my youngest son's box, read a review that tested on/ off and ON was 7C hotter. So, what I did was I got up to 4.6 GHz w/ HT on and i saved the BIOS settings as profile 46 ... I then turned HT off and tweaked and was able to get to 4.8 GHz at the same temps. But even at the same 4.6.... many games were a few fps faster w/ HT off. Anyway, I saved that BIOS profile as "Profile48". So when ya boot the machine, you can just hit delete key to get into BIOS select slot 3 (profile 46) or 4 (Profile 48) and play w/ it ON or OFF as you see fit ... that particular day.

It was a fun and enlightening investigation ... not so much tho that i wanted to repeat it as yet. Like RAID, it's something I just "gotta try" every cupla years but haven't as yet had the urge.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,208 (1.01/day)
Likes
1,290
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#14
Turned it on when the Xeons and Pentium 4s implemented it, haven't had a scenario so far that made me want to turn it off.

pentium-4-ht.png


Me playing around with a P4 HT doing a little 3DMark 2001 + an Ad-Aware scan back in the day. 3rd party app was used to allow two logins to the same computer.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
6,529 (4.20/day)
Likes
3,888
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#15
Turned it on when the Xeons and Pentium 4s implemented it, haven't had a scenario so far that made me want to turn it off.

View attachment 107153

Me playing around with a P4 HT doing a little 3DMark 2001 + an Ad-Aware scan back in the day. 3rd party app was used to allow two logins to the same computer.
I had a similar Dell box, it was the GX270 with a P4 in it.
Good little machine to work and play with.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
2,636 (1.18/day)
Likes
2,236
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name StreaMachine
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @ 4.15GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB G.Skill DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780
Storage Intel 600p 256GB, Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Green 2TB & 500GB
Display(s) 3x 1920x1080 (23" & 2x 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Super Flower Golden Green 500W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro
#16
I remember my friend running his 2600K with HT off. I said to him that why didn't he get a 2500K then.

In some scenarios HT can lower benchmark scores, but in general, why turn off something which have been the reason to pay more instead of a cheaper model (i7 vs i5)?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,836 (8.97/day)
Likes
14,517
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#17
I remember my friend running his 2600K with HT off. I said to him that why didn't he get a 2500K then.

In some scenarios HT can lower benchmark scores, but in general, why turn off something which have been the reason to pay more instead of a cheaper model (i7 vs i5)?
2600k had more cache, so it was faster at the same clock speed
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
2,636 (1.18/day)
Likes
2,236
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name StreaMachine
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @ 4.15GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB G.Skill DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780
Storage Intel 600p 256GB, Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Green 2TB & 500GB
Display(s) 3x 1920x1080 (23" & 2x 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Super Flower Golden Green 500W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro
#18
2600k had more cache, so it was faster at the same clock speed
I know as many i7 does when compared to i5 of the same generation. But i'd not pay that premium just for a little improvement in cache size, and not use HT.
 
Top