• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Vista can't be installed, RAM timing problem? Please help

Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor AMD X2 6000+
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA69G-S3h
Memory 2 GB
#26
So, now I should disable it, and then update the bios? I only found an exe file, and since I cant get to desktop... Can I still use it with the "update from drive" option from the bios? And really thank you guys putting so much effort in helping me.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,006 (4.03/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#27
I believe thats what you need to do... Im not 100% on this for the fact it was about 3 in the morning and I fell asleep while my friend was helping put it in.. Like I said, I'll talk to him in a bit and see what he says... and no problem.. it helps us to help you.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor AMD X2 6000+
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA69G-S3h
Memory 2 GB
#28
So, now I should wait until you are clear about it and asked him? Will this be still today?

Anyway, I think it is better to wait until you know it. :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,006 (4.03/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#29
It will be today for me... I just have to wait to eat and then get started on my night time stuff... but I'd wait til one of us who has been helping you say its the right thing to do... the best thing is that its a fresh hdd, but its also the worst thing if you keep installing and restalling an os, it can fry your hdd..
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor AMD X2 6000+
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA69G-S3h
Memory 2 GB
#30
It is not a fresh hdd. I didn't buy it new, I used it before. It only works with XP tho. How I said.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,006 (4.03/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#31
I'm saying fresh as the fact that you have reformatted it... not that its new.. sorry for the miss wording.
 

Graogrim

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
308 (0.08/day)
Likes
31
Location
East Coast US
System Name Paradigm
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G43
Cooling OEM
Memory 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 2133
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 670 2 GB
Storage 128 MB Corsair M4 SSD + 1 TB WD Caviar Black
Display(s) Samsung 24"
Case Rosewill Challenger USB 3
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 7 64 bit
#32
So, now I should disable it, and then update the bios? I only found an exe file, and since I cant get to desktop... Can I still use it with the "update from drive" option from the bios? And really thank you guys putting so much effort in helping me.
It depends. Sometimes an executable BIOS update will run in place and update the BIOS directly. Other times it is a self-extracting archive which will write out the BIOS image and sometimes a flashing tool. If your particular update is of the latter form, place that image on a floppy and load it with your "update from drive" option in your BIOS. If it's the former, see if you can make a bootable disk on another system and place the executable on it.

...

OK I just checked and it is indeed a self extracting archive, so just copy the files it produces to a bootable floppy. You can either boot the floppy and let the extracted flashing tool do the work or you can flash the update from within your BIOS setup utility. I'd personally lean toward using the BIOS integrated option, but either should work fine.
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#33
Vista has known issues with boards that have onboard ieee1394(fire wire). disable your onboard ieee1394 controller in bios and try reinstalling vista.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor AMD X2 6000+
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA69G-S3h
Memory 2 GB
#34
You think it would only show effect when I reinstall? And also disable onboard lan and usb hubs?
 
Last edited:

Graogrim

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
308 (0.08/day)
Likes
31
Location
East Coast US
System Name Paradigm
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G43
Cooling OEM
Memory 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 2133
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 670 2 GB
Storage 128 MB Corsair M4 SSD + 1 TB WD Caviar Black
Display(s) Samsung 24"
Case Rosewill Challenger USB 3
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 7 64 bit
#35
I wouldn't bother disabling the integrated network interface. It's useful to let the OS configure for it during initial setup. And if you're using a USB keyboard or mouse then you shouldn't disable the USB ports either. However, if you're using the PS2 connectors then go for it.

But definitely disable the IEEE 1394 connector.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor AMD X2 6000+
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA69G-S3h
Memory 2 GB
#36
I wouldn't bother disabling the integrated network interface. It's useful to let the OS configure for it during initial setup. And if you're using a USB keyboard or mouse then you shouldn't disable the USB ports either. However, if you're using the PS2 connectors then go for it.

But definitely disable the IEEE 1394 connector.
Alright. And then reinstall it? Just boot from cd again, and do a quick format? Or how?
 

Graogrim

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
308 (0.08/day)
Likes
31
Location
East Coast US
System Name Paradigm
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G43
Cooling OEM
Memory 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 2133
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 670 2 GB
Storage 128 MB Corsair M4 SSD + 1 TB WD Caviar Black
Display(s) Samsung 24"
Case Rosewill Challenger USB 3
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 7 64 bit
#37
Yep. Just repeat the installation like you've been doing.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,006 (4.03/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#38
+1 on that... and rm was the friend I was talking about.. Graogrim is going at it right all the way
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#39
+1 on that... and rm was the friend I was talking about.. Graogrim is going at it right all the way
+1 to that, you go graogrim!

try disabling one thing at a time, even though ieee1394 has known issues it may not be the only thing causing problems. only disable what you don't need, however. onboard lan and usb are good things to keep enabled, and obviously your sata/raid controller if you're using it. onboard sound isn't needed currently, so disable that if you think it will help.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor AMD X2 6000+
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA69G-S3h
Memory 2 GB
#40
Did like said above, still failed. A bit later now, but still it failed. Now it said: Preparing for the first start. Then it showed the cursor, and again the bluescreen. :( Oh man.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#41
Guy's do you think it's corruption in the dvd he is installing it from?

Have you installed from the disk before?

Just throwing that out there as a possibility.
 

Graogrim

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
308 (0.08/day)
Likes
31
Location
East Coast US
System Name Paradigm
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G43
Cooling OEM
Memory 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 2133
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 670 2 GB
Storage 128 MB Corsair M4 SSD + 1 TB WD Caviar Black
Display(s) Samsung 24"
Case Rosewill Challenger USB 3
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 7 64 bit
#42
Well, that's progress at least. Is the BSOD the same one that you were getting previously?
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#43
Guy's do you think it's corruption in the dvd he is installing it from?

Have you installed from the disk before?

Just throwing that out there as a possibility.
well he's saying it installs fine, then when it tries to boot to vista for the first time it bsod's.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,006 (4.03/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#44
if thats the fact... video card??? rm remember my old rig having that problem with my agp card? the card couldn't handle starting up vista.. we did the fan mod and it started... Am I right?
Also made Bios think the card is a PCI-e card and not a AGP card...
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#45
if thats the fact... video card??? rm remember my old rig having that problem with my agp card? the card couldn't handle starting up vista.. we did the fan mod and it started... Am I right?
yes and no. your video card problem stemmed from various things, among them was the fan controller not being able to be properly accessed by the drivers from within vista. it also had to do with the fact you were on an agp card and a via chipset.
 

Graogrim

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
308 (0.08/day)
Likes
31
Location
East Coast US
System Name Paradigm
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G43
Cooling OEM
Memory 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 2133
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 670 2 GB
Storage 128 MB Corsair M4 SSD + 1 TB WD Caviar Black
Display(s) Samsung 24"
Case Rosewill Challenger USB 3
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 7 64 bit
#46
I believe that Annihilator is using the board's integrated video.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor AMD X2 6000+
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA69G-S3h
Memory 2 GB
#47
Well I tried to install with another disk as well. And my video card is the onboard card, and the comments on the store where I bought said that some guys installed vista and it worked.

I am not exactly sure if it is the same bluescreen message, it doesnt let me check that "no auto restart" thingy, because that screen doesnt show.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,006 (4.03/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#48
I believe that Annihilator is using the board's integrated video.
I forgot that... sorry annihilator... where did you buy it at annihilator.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#49
So you can't disable automatic restart by pushing F8 before load so you can see the BSOD message?

@ RM

Thanks I wasn't too sure but thats what I thought.
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#50
So you can't disable automatic restart by pushing F8 before load so you can see the BSOD message?

@ RM

Thanks I wasn't too sure but thats what I thought.
no problem, we're all here to help:toast: