• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Vista Keygen a Hoax

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#1
The other day, techPowerUp! reported on a keygen for Windows Vista which supposedly allowed users to (illegally) generate activation codes for use with Vista which could fool the activation. However, the creator of this brute force keygen, known simply as “Computer User” on the KezNews forums, is himself admitting that the keygen was a joke and he’s never gotten it to work, saying “everyone who said they got a key a probably lying or mistaken!” There have been some reports of success, and although there is a slight chance the keygen could work, the chances of actually generating a working code are slim – it would probably take days if you got one at all. So it looks like he’s either worried about action from Microsoft and pretending it doesn’t work, or it genuinely is a fake.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.73/day)
Likes
663
#2
hmmm...this would been a nice April fools joke...

probably it just gave the ip's of all peeps who attempted to get a illegal copy of vista to microsoft ;)
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2006
Messages
1,497 (0.34/day)
Likes
100
Location
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
System Name Bones Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k@4.5ghz
Motherboard ASROCK Extreme 3 Z87
Cooling Corsair H100 4x120mm fans!
Memory 2x4gigs Corsair Vengance 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290 @1151/1350/Corsair H55
Storage Samsung 120gig 840/OCZ Vector 120gig SSD/500gig SG/320
Display(s) Samsung S27A950D 27in 3D 120hz monitor
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Asus Zonar d1/Z506 Speakers
Power Supply Coolermaster GX750watt PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#3
Hope its ok to say this but i found one that worked easily
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
675 (0.17/day)
Likes
7
Location
Michigan, US
System Name Clarise
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Toledo) @2.8 (255 X 11)
Motherboard Asus A8v Deluxe rev 2
Cooling Gigabyte 3D Cooler Pro + 5 Case Fans
Memory 2GB G-Skill (2.5-3-3-6 1T) @ 467mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 7600GT 256MB GDDR3 @ 640-814
Storage Western Digital WD5000AAKS 500GB (Sata) Maxtor 120GB (Sata) Western Digital 120GB (ide)
Display(s) 19" HP Pavilion M90 / 33" Sony Wega Trinitron
Case Antec Lanboy with a few mods :0)
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 4 Pro - Bose Free Style 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply Rosewill Extreme Edition 500W 34A 12V rail
Software Windows XP Pro & Vista Ultimate
#4
mine worked like a charm :D
 

Scavar

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2006
Messages
573 (0.14/day)
Likes
0
Location
Ft Lauderdale, FL
System Name ScarredWolf(Desktop), MBlackWolf(Laptop)
Processor E6600(Desktop), T7300(Laptop)
Motherboard EVGA 680i(Desktop), IFL90(Laptop)
Cooling Akasa EVO 120(Desktop), No idea(Laptop)
Memory G Skill PI 8GB 4x2gb(Desktop), G Skill 3GB 1GB/2GB(Laptop)
Video Card(s) 8800GTS 640mb(Desktop), 8600m GT(Laptop)
Storage 3x250GB 1x500GB(Desktop), 1x320GB(Laptop)
Display(s) Acer AL2216W 22"(Desktop), 15.4"(Laptop)
Case Cosmos 1000(Desktop), PowerPro J 10:15(Laptop)
Audio Device(s) CreativeX-Fi/Z-5500(Desktop), Realtek/No idea(Laptop)
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling Silencer 610w(Desptop), *shrug*(Laptop)
Software Windows Vista Ultimatex64 with tweaks(Both)
Benchmark Scores I'm too lazy to benchmark anything.
#5
Eh Im sure an offline one could worked. At least I guess less chance of buying it and getting screwed
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#6
HAHAHAHA to all the fools who rushed out and tried it. I hate liars.
 

BXtreme

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2007
Messages
1,324 (0.33/day)
Likes
1
Location
Kolkata, India
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 ghz|| Core2 T5250
Motherboard Asus P6N Platinum || 965GM
Cooling Air cooling
Memory Kingston 2x1gb DDR2 677mhz || 2x1gb 667mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 8800 GTS 640mb || Geforce 8600GT M
Storage Seagate 500GB Sata || 160gb
Display(s) Samsung 30" HD LCD || 15" lcd (laptop)
Case A not-so-known brand case w/ two fans and some blue lightings
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD
Power Supply Corsair HX620W
Software Mac OS X Leopard, Linux Mint 4.0, and all windoze...geez...
#7
a vista k**gen IS however possible, i know it..........
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#8
It didn't look like a hoax at the time, that's for sure :p.
 

BXtreme

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2007
Messages
1,324 (0.33/day)
Likes
1
Location
Kolkata, India
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 ghz|| Core2 T5250
Motherboard Asus P6N Platinum || 965GM
Cooling Air cooling
Memory Kingston 2x1gb DDR2 677mhz || 2x1gb 667mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 8800 GTS 640mb || Geforce 8600GT M
Storage Seagate 500GB Sata || 160gb
Display(s) Samsung 30" HD LCD || 15" lcd (laptop)
Case A not-so-known brand case w/ two fans and some blue lightings
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD
Power Supply Corsair HX620W
Software Mac OS X Leopard, Linux Mint 4.0, and all windoze...geez...
#9
i have proof that it is possible, but forum rules........
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#10
Actually it wasn't a hoax, the keygen does work. It is however very inefficient and the writer doesn't want people to use it anymore. MS probably send a suicide lawyer to his home or something.
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.20/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#11
Keygen aye :D

Im sure there are plenty out there, i just havent looked yet :p
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.20/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#13
Well not plenty, but they do exist
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.20/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#15
Sorry, against forum rules :)
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
2,007 (0.48/day)
Likes
219
Location
New Jersey
System Name SINNAH
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 955 3.8ghz AIR
Motherboard ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling 3 fans of MADNESS
Memory 4GB ADATA XPG DDR3 1600G
Video Card(s) ATI 4890 1GB GDDR5 memory
Storage 500gb SATAII
Display(s) 23" 1080p Acer H233Hbmid
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream / 600W / Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Professional 64bit
#17
-_- i guess if your lucky it could work but i tried it (though i DO have a LEGAL vista copy) just to try it ...and well i noticed the resources on my PC would go back down to normal after like 10-20 minutes :p


:shadedshu

i bet bill gates made it up so he can make people feel like they waisted days of there lives

:rockout:

seriously guys, its not like your paying 500 dollars for it :COUGH:MAC LEOPARD ::COUGH::

its 120 dollars for the home premium which is definitely not that bad...

it goes like this ..people want vista and windows to be "easier" and not so aggravating with activation.

THAN STOP F@#KING STEALING IT...and they wont have to take all these measures to prevent piracy
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.20/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#18
lmao im not even using vista...i agree, its cheap...its probably better to buy it (unless you have a lot of comps)

My point was that im pretty sure (not 100% cus i havent even looked) that there has to be a keygen for it
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
2,007 (0.48/day)
Likes
219
Location
New Jersey
System Name SINNAH
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 955 3.8ghz AIR
Motherboard ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling 3 fans of MADNESS
Memory 4GB ADATA XPG DDR3 1600G
Video Card(s) ATI 4890 1GB GDDR5 memory
Storage 500gb SATAII
Display(s) 23" 1080p Acer H233Hbmid
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream / 600W / Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Professional 64bit
#19
im sure that there is...ha, but like i said there getting more and more ticked off with people soon you will only be able to activate vista through phone haha every 180 days

:p
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.20/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#20
even with phone activation - people can get around it with cracks/keygens

I remember with norton 2005, there was this nifty keygen that generated a key, then when you went to "activate it" by phone, you put the phone code in the keygen and it gave u the phone code :p
 

BXtreme

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2007
Messages
1,324 (0.33/day)
Likes
1
Location
Kolkata, India
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 ghz|| Core2 T5250
Motherboard Asus P6N Platinum || 965GM
Cooling Air cooling
Memory Kingston 2x1gb DDR2 677mhz || 2x1gb 667mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 8800 GTS 640mb || Geforce 8600GT M
Storage Seagate 500GB Sata || 160gb
Display(s) Samsung 30" HD LCD || 15" lcd (laptop)
Case A not-so-known brand case w/ two fans and some blue lightings
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD
Power Supply Corsair HX620W
Software Mac OS X Leopard, Linux Mint 4.0, and all windoze...geez...
#21
even with phone activation - people can get around it with cracks/keygens

I remember with norton 2005, there was this nifty keygen that generated a key, then when you went to "activate it" by phone, you put the phone code in the keygen and it gave u the phone code :p
even 2006 was cracked this way...
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
2,007 (0.48/day)
Likes
219
Location
New Jersey
System Name SINNAH
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 955 3.8ghz AIR
Motherboard ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling 3 fans of MADNESS
Memory 4GB ADATA XPG DDR3 1600G
Video Card(s) ATI 4890 1GB GDDR5 memory
Storage 500gb SATAII
Display(s) 23" 1080p Acer H233Hbmid
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream / 600W / Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Professional 64bit
#22
yeah and they figured it out, and now you cant do it anymore ;) everything is stopped at some point and time

its always finding new ways around it that is really time consuming

if people spent half as much time at work and getting money together as they did searching for ways and techniques for cracking vista, they'd be able to buy it...at least twice over ;P
 

hotrippr

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
158 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel C2D E6300 @ 2.41 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5ld2 r2.03 945p @ FSB 344
Cooling H20
Memory Ballistix DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1900XT
Storage 160GB Raid0 Hitachi
Display(s) BenQ 19"LCD
Case ThermalTake Armor
Audio Device(s) Auzen Xplosion DTS Audio
Power Supply iStar 620
Software XP Pro SP2/Vista HP
#23
if people spent half as much time at work and getting money together as they did searching for ways and techniques for cracking vista, they'd be able to buy it...at least twice over ;P
I agree. But piracy is high because of prices. If you looked at a curve, you would find a point where sales price is moderate and piracy is low, MS needs to rethink their pricing. Then people would do like u say just buy it in ten minutes rather than spend hours downloading and cracking and run the risk of backdoors or malware put in by hackers. This would up their sales, save on staff and R&D defending against piracy, also would up marketshare lost to OpenSource. Guess they already know all this wont work and are way smarter than I, or they would be doing it.
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
2,007 (0.48/day)
Likes
219
Location
New Jersey
System Name SINNAH
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 955 3.8ghz AIR
Motherboard ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling 3 fans of MADNESS
Memory 4GB ADATA XPG DDR3 1600G
Video Card(s) ATI 4890 1GB GDDR5 memory
Storage 500gb SATAII
Display(s) 23" 1080p Acer H233Hbmid
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream / 600W / Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Professional 64bit
#24
I agree. But piracy is high because of prices. If you looked at a curve, you would find a point where sales price is moderate and piracy is low, MS needs to rethink their pricing. Then people would do like u say just buy it in ten minutes rather than spend hours downloading and cracking and run the risk of backdoors or malware put in by hackers. This would up their sales, save on staff and R&D defending against piracy, also would up marketshare lost to OpenSource. Guess they already know all this wont work and are way smarter than I, or they would be doing it.


perhaps but i really dont think Vista cost alot? i mean 119 dollars (online) for Vista Home Premium is NOT a lot by any means, granted all the "restrictions" they put on it (1 copy per 1 system in a house).

Take Apple for example, Leopard is going to cost. roughly 500 dollars (USD). PER license copy, which means ONE mac computer..i mean granted they dont have "activation" and what not.. im sure there going to implement something soon concidering mac's software is easier to pirate cause the lack of protection measures.!:rockout:

but never the less you are pretty much right i mean yes, i believe XP was over priced at launch way over priced..but Vista isn't that much money, aside from needing a decent system these days but who here doesn't have that ha, even so look at prices for performance notice the better it is the more expensive it is...but in Vista's case microsoft lowered the launch price by around one hundred dollars

so they were trying to play and be smart

they failed by saying this line

"it will be very hard if not impossible for someone to hack/crack windows vista"

M$'s fate was sealed when they said this :banghead:
 

hotrippr

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
158 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel C2D E6300 @ 2.41 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5ld2 r2.03 945p @ FSB 344
Cooling H20
Memory Ballistix DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1900XT
Storage 160GB Raid0 Hitachi
Display(s) BenQ 19"LCD
Case ThermalTake Armor
Audio Device(s) Auzen Xplosion DTS Audio
Power Supply iStar 620
Software XP Pro SP2/Vista HP
#25
Yes it is cheap...if you have the HW. I mean I got my copy of HomePrem for $69 academic price. Should be everyones price. But yes OEM is a bargain too at 119. Too bad many people are spreading rumors like u cant reactivate if you get a new MB, so I think alot of people are are being misled into thinking retail is the only solution...and that is expensive.

I am not too happy with Vista, best things are appearance, installs faster, and Media center. But other than that I am not ready to ditch my XP partition.