• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Vista thinks Ethernet isn't working when it is!

kebabs

New Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2006
Messages
125 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Processor Kentsfield Q6600 @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5W DH Deluxe Wifi
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory 2x 1gb's DDR2 PC2-6400 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) ATI HD 4870 512MB
Storage 2x 320GB
Display(s) SyncMaster940N 19" + Phillips dunno the model but it's a 17"
Case CM Stacker 832
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy 2
Power Supply 1010W OCZ Game X Stream
Software Windows Vista Ulimate
#1
This is probably something simple but I'm too stupid to realize.

Problem is basically what the title says. I've tried repairing it and it said it repaired it but didn't do jack =/.



Any ideas?
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.11/day)
Likes
1,331
#2
That's a Hamachi connection, it most likely tests the connection in some way that is blocked by Hamachi.
Besides, if it works, who cares what Vista says.
 

kebabs

New Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2006
Messages
125 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Processor Kentsfield Q6600 @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5W DH Deluxe Wifi
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory 2x 1gb's DDR2 PC2-6400 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) ATI HD 4870 512MB
Storage 2x 320GB
Display(s) SyncMaster940N 19" + Phillips dunno the model but it's a 17"
Case CM Stacker 832
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy 2
Power Supply 1010W OCZ Game X Stream
Software Windows Vista Ulimate
#3
That's a Hamachi connection, it most likely tests the connection in some way that is blocked by Hamachi.
Besides, if it works, who cares what Vista says.
It was doing this before I installed Hamachi and I care what it says because I'm groovy :p.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,291 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
What does ipconfig /all say?
 

kebabs

New Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2006
Messages
125 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Processor Kentsfield Q6600 @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5W DH Deluxe Wifi
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory 2x 1gb's DDR2 PC2-6400 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) ATI HD 4870 512MB
Storage 2x 320GB
Display(s) SyncMaster940N 19" + Phillips dunno the model but it's a 17"
Case CM Stacker 832
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy 2
Power Supply 1010W OCZ Game X Stream
Software Windows Vista Ulimate
#5

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,291 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
The section that shows the network connection in question. Or just give a screenshot. :)
 

kebabs

New Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2006
Messages
125 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Processor Kentsfield Q6600 @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5W DH Deluxe Wifi
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory 2x 1gb's DDR2 PC2-6400 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) ATI HD 4870 512MB
Storage 2x 320GB
Display(s) SyncMaster940N 19" + Phillips dunno the model but it's a 17"
Case CM Stacker 832
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy 2
Power Supply 1010W OCZ Game X Stream
Software Windows Vista Ulimate
#7
Code:
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8053 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
net Controller #2
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-92-E7-AB-A7
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f102:fff7:6320:c9ac%9(Preferred)
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.5(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 02 September 2008 15:29:36
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 05 September 2008 15:29:35
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234887826
   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
That bit?
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,291 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
Everything seems normal there. Network and Sharing Center just can't detect that there is a network for some reason, that is odd.
 

kebabs

New Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2006
Messages
125 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Processor Kentsfield Q6600 @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5W DH Deluxe Wifi
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory 2x 1gb's DDR2 PC2-6400 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) ATI HD 4870 512MB
Storage 2x 320GB
Display(s) SyncMaster940N 19" + Phillips dunno the model but it's a 17"
Case CM Stacker 832
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy 2
Power Supply 1010W OCZ Game X Stream
Software Windows Vista Ulimate
#9
Damnit... Any ideas anyone?
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.20/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#10
Tried disabling/re-enabling?
 

kebabs

New Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2006
Messages
125 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Processor Kentsfield Q6600 @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5W DH Deluxe Wifi
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory 2x 1gb's DDR2 PC2-6400 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) ATI HD 4870 512MB
Storage 2x 320GB
Display(s) SyncMaster940N 19" + Phillips dunno the model but it's a 17"
Case CM Stacker 832
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy 2
Power Supply 1010W OCZ Game X Stream
Software Windows Vista Ulimate
#11
Yup, and unplugging / plugging in. No luck here =/

Also tried restarting no luck.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#12
Could it be because Hamachi is using the 5.x.x.x address space for its VPN tunnel and that confuses Vista when testing connectivity?

Just a guess ;)
 

kebabs

New Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2006
Messages
125 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Processor Kentsfield Q6600 @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5W DH Deluxe Wifi
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory 2x 1gb's DDR2 PC2-6400 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) ATI HD 4870 512MB
Storage 2x 320GB
Display(s) SyncMaster940N 19" + Phillips dunno the model but it's a 17"
Case CM Stacker 832
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy 2
Power Supply 1010W OCZ Game X Stream
Software Windows Vista Ulimate
#13
How can I get Vista to not test hamachi apart from uninstalling? I've disabled it but no luck.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#14
Are you running version 1.0.2.0 or later?
I know there were some issues with Vista prior to that version.
Latest is 1.0.3.0 I believe.
 

kebabs

New Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2006
Messages
125 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Processor Kentsfield Q6600 @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5W DH Deluxe Wifi
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory 2x 1gb's DDR2 PC2-6400 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) ATI HD 4870 512MB
Storage 2x 320GB
Display(s) SyncMaster940N 19" + Phillips dunno the model but it's a 17"
Case CM Stacker 832
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy 2
Power Supply 1010W OCZ Game X Stream
Software Windows Vista Ulimate
#15
Running 1.0.3.0 already so that's out of the equation to success... (If you get my meaning lol)

Edit:

What the hell?

Now windows update thinks I don't have SP1 installed when I installed it 2 weeks ago...
I'll try updating again... Maybe that will fix it.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#16
no surprise, another vista bug?
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,321 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,726
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#17
Does the internet start working after a reboot ?.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,130 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,566
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#18
manually set the IP addresses in hamachi. set your gateway to 5.0.0.0
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#19
Hey why not try this for kicks. You've got nothing to lose.

"Ok thanks guys, I have managed to fix the problem and a few others at the same time.

If anyone has this problem and cannot fix it this is what you need to do.

Go to the command prompt and type this in:

net localgroup Administrators /add Local Service

Then reboot your computer.

After you run that command you can verify its success by typing in:

net Localgroup Administrators

It should spit out something to this effect:

Administrator
LOCAL
NT AUTHORITY\SERVICE
<Insert your user name here>
The Command Completed Successfully

This also fixed my internet icon in vista, it would never show the globe thingy NOW IT DOES:)"

taken from here by me. http://forums.techpowerup.com/archive/index.php/t-44036.html
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#20
Remember that 5.x.x.x is not a private IP address range (like 10.x.x.x, 172.16.x.x or 192.168.x.x) it is simply unassigned at the moment. If the IANA ever assigns that address, you will not be able to access any of those addresses on the internet while the Hamachi client is running.

Just a reminder :toast:
 

kebabs

New Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2006
Messages
125 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Processor Kentsfield Q6600 @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5W DH Deluxe Wifi
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory 2x 1gb's DDR2 PC2-6400 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) ATI HD 4870 512MB
Storage 2x 320GB
Display(s) SyncMaster940N 19" + Phillips dunno the model but it's a 17"
Case CM Stacker 832
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy 2
Power Supply 1010W OCZ Game X Stream
Software Windows Vista Ulimate
#21
Quick Update :)

Okay first things first. It now works perfectly! All it was, was that Vista SP1 had installed before well kind of it corrupted it self... So anyway reinstalled SP1 and it's backup and working :).

Just to point out - My problem was that Vista wasn't actually thinking it was connected to the net but it was and was working good apart from not displaying the network icon. That's all fixed now!

Anyway Thanks all for your help! I will have each and everyone of your babies.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#22
Quick Update :)
Anyway Thanks all for your help! I will have each and everyone of your babies.
:eek: LOL ... That was worth a "thanks".