• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Vista Ultimate upgrade suggestions???

What os route should I go?

  • Should I install the Vista?

    Votes: 3 16.7%
  • Should I sell the Vista?

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • If I install it should I go 64 bit?

    Votes: 14 77.8%
  • or 32 bit?

    Votes: 1 5.6%

  • Total voters
    18
  • Poll closed .
Joined
Oct 7, 2006
Messages
1,335 (0.33/day)
Likes
90
Processor e8200 3.93mhz@1.264v
Motherboard P5E3 Pro
Cooling Scythe Infinity
Memory 4gb of G.Skill Ripjaw 6-7-7-18@1404 and 1.62v
Video Card(s) HIS 5770 v2 940/1275mhz stock volts
Storage 1TB Hitachi
Display(s) Acer 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Blue Cooler Master Centurion
Audio Device(s) Onboard audio :(, and Klipsch 5.1 Pro Media's
Power Supply 650 Watt BFG
Software Vista 64 Ultimate
#1
Ok I joined the wfp panel and will be getting the free Vista Ultimate software (email said 4 weeks).

Poll: should I install it or stay with xp?

Poll 2: If I install it should I go 64 bit?

I was looking at a 320gb hd for $72 and 4gb of Ballistix pc6400, not a big back breaker but I don't know that I want to spend anymore...unless I find a sale between now and then on hd's.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.96/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
#2
Yes get Vista ultimate and go with 64bit runs great for me and get 2 gig more of ram and youll be laughing.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,267 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,073
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#3
Yes get Vista ultimate and go with 64bit runs great for me and get 2 gig more of ram and youll be laughing.
+1 amazing stuff
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.23/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#4
Absolutely keep it. For free?! And definately 64-bit. Leaves you room for upgrade and all the bells and whistles you could want in an os (or you can turn whichever ones off if they don't suit you).
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.96/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
#5
64bit Vista for the win morning sol
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,314 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#6
If you want to even bother with Vista surly go for x64 as it will benefit you more than 32bit
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#7
wfp panel? Where's that at on the web? :)
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (2.01/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#8
wfp panel? Where's that at on the web? :)
windows feed back panel.

They did this offer about 4 months ago were if you signed up and let them see what you did they would send you vista ultimate or offive ultimate.

Its no longer available.

sorry dude
 

97sslude

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2007
Messages
171 (0.04/day)
Likes
5
Location
Smyrna, GA
Processor Intel i7 3930K @ 4.6ghz 1.35v
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Formula
Cooling WC with xspc raystorm, MCP355+XSPC top, Swiftech MCR320+MCR220, MCRES rev2
Memory 32gb g.skill ripjaws x
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX580 SC + Heatkiller GPX3
Storage Mushkin Chronos Enhanced 240gb SSD (boot), WD 1TB Green, WD 1TB Caviar Black
Display(s) HP 27" led 2711x, Samsung 32" LED 120hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos S
Power Supply Silverstone op 1000w
Software Windows 8 Pro / Hackintosh 10.8.2
#9
Dude keep it. Install it and try it, worst case scenario you could always reinstall XP.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#10
Aww... I always miss out on these damn offers; I had the chance to get Office 2k7 free but missed it because our internet messed up for a few days, so I didn't get the I'm from a friend telling me about it until it was too late.
I must say that I seem to have the worst luck, lmao.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#11
64-bit its just better in all aspects plus you can get more than 4gb or ram and run 64 bit apps

by chance do you get a performance boost running apps in 64 bit instead of 32 bit like crysis
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#12
64-bit its just better in all aspects plus you can get more than 4gb or ram and run 64 bit apps

by chance do you get a performance boost running apps in 64 bit instead of 32 bit like crysis
I have yet to DL any 64bit games, but I've heard the results are the roughly the same; you can re-compile a program into 64 bit with a click of a button if you got the source code, so I am amazed that anyone would be talking about how 'painful' migrating to 64 bit is... I think it's just sheer lazyness on behalf of the hardware and software makers... :shadedshu The world should be using 64 bit by now, not 32 bit.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2007
Messages
176 (0.05/day)
Likes
17
Location
Not far from NYC
Processor Intel Xeon X3210 Quad Core (G0) @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty Dark P35-T2RS
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120A w/ Scythe S-Flex F 120mm
Memory G.Skill 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2-1000
Video Card(s) eVGA Geforce 8800GT 512MB
Storage WD Black 1TB + 320GB
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 20.1" Widescreen 2005FPW (1680x1050)
Case Cooler Master Centurion 5 w/window (black inside and out, debadged)
Power Supply Seasonic X750 Gold
Software Windows 7 Professional x64
#13
Vista Ultimate x64 all the way...or Home Premium. If you got 4GB, you should go x64, if not stick with x86. And Vista x64 has much more support then XP x64, of course when it comes to x86 (32 bit) then XP obviously has more support. But Vista x64 is by far superior to XP x64, and is actually usable as an only OS.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,314 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#14

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#15
Vista Ultimate 32 is great too. I want to upgrade to 64, I am just not in the mood at the moment to reload everything.

you can re-compile a program into 64 bit with a click of a button
Right ... And I can turn my doorbell and welcome mat into a matter teleporter by just adding an extra wire. :rolleyes:
Migrating 32-bit managed code to 64-bit
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2006
Messages
1,335 (0.33/day)
Likes
90
Processor e8200 3.93mhz@1.264v
Motherboard P5E3 Pro
Cooling Scythe Infinity
Memory 4gb of G.Skill Ripjaw 6-7-7-18@1404 and 1.62v
Video Card(s) HIS 5770 v2 940/1275mhz stock volts
Storage 1TB Hitachi
Display(s) Acer 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Blue Cooler Master Centurion
Audio Device(s) Onboard audio :(, and Klipsch 5.1 Pro Media's
Power Supply 650 Watt BFG
Software Vista 64 Ultimate
#16
Alright when the time comes the 64 Vista bit goes in. Thanks