• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Vista users, who has noticed this?

Oliver_FF

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
544 (0.11/day)
Processor Intel q9400 @ stock
Motherboard Lanparty P45-T2RS
Cooling Zalman CNPS-9500
Memory 8GB OCZ PC2-6400
Video Card(s) BFG Nvidia GTX285 OC
Storage 1TB, 500GB, 500GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung T200HD
Case Antec Mini P180
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply 700w Hiper
Software Ubuntu x64 virtualising Vista


Move your mouse to your system tray, go to the very bottom of your screen just after the first icon in the tray, and before the first system icon. Check the image for clarification ;)

Now double click. Weird?
 

Attachments

Cold Storm

Battosai
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,010 (3.34/day)
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haro
Processor AMD 1700x
Motherboard AsRork x370 Taichi
Cooling EK Custom Loop - CPU only
Memory 32gb G-Skill Trident Z
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Superclock 2
Storage Too Many
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & LG 32 IPS
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 500
Software Win10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55

Oliver_FF

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
544 (0.11/day)
Processor Intel q9400 @ stock
Motherboard Lanparty P45-T2RS
Cooling Zalman CNPS-9500
Memory 8GB OCZ PC2-6400
Video Card(s) BFG Nvidia GTX285 OC
Storage 1TB, 500GB, 500GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung T200HD
Case Antec Mini P180
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply 700w Hiper
Software Ubuntu x64 virtualising Vista
You should get Windows Defender leaping out at you from nowhere?

I've tried it on two separate Vista computers, both running Vista Business.
 

Cold Storm

Battosai
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,010 (3.34/day)
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haro
Processor AMD 1700x
Motherboard AsRork x370 Taichi
Cooling EK Custom Loop - CPU only
Memory 32gb G-Skill Trident Z
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Superclock 2
Storage Too Many
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & LG 32 IPS
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 500
Software Win10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
It doesn't happen to me... no window defender for me...
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,514 (0.78/day)
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard B450 MSI Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 16GB Flare X @ 3200MHz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro+
Storage 500GB evo 970 m.2 + 4TB HDDs
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
me niether :confused:

But one thing I have noticed is that Vista has a bad memory. It always forgets folder's icon size settings and power options in control panel always reverts back to "turn monitor off after 20 mins of inactivity".
 

Oliver_FF

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
544 (0.11/day)
Processor Intel q9400 @ stock
Motherboard Lanparty P45-T2RS
Cooling Zalman CNPS-9500
Memory 8GB OCZ PC2-6400
Video Card(s) BFG Nvidia GTX285 OC
Storage 1TB, 500GB, 500GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung T200HD
Case Antec Mini P180
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply 700w Hiper
Software Ubuntu x64 virtualising Vista
Maybe it's just Vista Business edition then? (We both got it for free off of MSDNAA)

Whenever either of us double left clicks under the user icons in the system tray Windows Defender appears as if we've clicked on it's icon...

[edit] I just tried making a video, but FRAPS doesn't seem to let you record off your desktop...[/edit]
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (2.92/day)
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
It seems to do it when you click underneath any non-windows related icons in the system tray.
It doesn't do it under the date, volume or network connection, but it does for all the other apps.
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
doesnt happen to me at all :confused:

I still dont get what supposed to happen, or the relevance to anything at all? :confused:
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (2.92/day)
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
If you double click underneath the application icons in the system try, it opens Windows Defender.

Maybe it's only on 32 bit Vista ?

Not relevant to anything, just something the Olliver_FF noticed.
I never noticed it before either.
 

Cold Storm

Battosai
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,010 (3.34/day)
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haro
Processor AMD 1700x
Motherboard AsRork x370 Taichi
Cooling EK Custom Loop - CPU only
Memory 32gb G-Skill Trident Z
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Superclock 2
Storage Too Many
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & LG 32 IPS
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 500
Software Win10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
Thats strange. I'm using 32bit right now, but I don't get anything... I've been clicking under both Steam, and MSN.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Staff member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,830 (3.08/day)
Location
Mid-Atlantic
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard AsRock MicroATX Z170M Extreme4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x 16 Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2400
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 5700
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB m.2 NVMe + Samsung 860 EVO 2 TB SATA3 SSD
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B 34" 21:9 Ultragear WQHD Nano IPS Curved Gaming Monitor with Radeon FreeSync 2
Case Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair K63 Wireless
Software Windows 10
doesn't do it for me. vista home premium.
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
If you double click underneath the application icons in the system try, it opens Windows Defender.

Maybe it's only on 32 bit Vista ?

Not relevant to anything, just something the Olliver_FF noticed.
I never noticed it before either.
oh right, ive disabled windows defender anyway.
 

Oliver_FF

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
544 (0.11/day)
Processor Intel q9400 @ stock
Motherboard Lanparty P45-T2RS
Cooling Zalman CNPS-9500
Memory 8GB OCZ PC2-6400
Video Card(s) BFG Nvidia GTX285 OC
Storage 1TB, 500GB, 500GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung T200HD
Case Antec Mini P180
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply 700w Hiper
Software Ubuntu x64 virtualising Vista
Maybe it's just a weird bug?
 

Cold Storm

Battosai
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,010 (3.34/day)
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haro
Processor AMD 1700x
Motherboard AsRork x370 Taichi
Cooling EK Custom Loop - CPU only
Memory 32gb G-Skill Trident Z
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Superclock 2
Storage Too Many
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & LG 32 IPS
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 500
Software Win10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
I do have windows defender going.. but I guess its just a bug on the system...

Edit: does anyone, besides me, have sp1?
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (2.92/day)
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Maybe Business and Ultimate only ?

I have SP1 on mine.
 

Cold Storm

Battosai
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,010 (3.34/day)
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haro
Processor AMD 1700x
Motherboard AsRork x370 Taichi
Cooling EK Custom Loop - CPU only
Memory 32gb G-Skill Trident Z
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Superclock 2
Storage Too Many
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & LG 32 IPS
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 500
Software Win10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55

Oliver_FF

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
544 (0.11/day)
Processor Intel q9400 @ stock
Motherboard Lanparty P45-T2RS
Cooling Zalman CNPS-9500
Memory 8GB OCZ PC2-6400
Video Card(s) BFG Nvidia GTX285 OC
Storage 1TB, 500GB, 500GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung T200HD
Case Antec Mini P180
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply 700w Hiper
Software Ubuntu x64 virtualising Vista
Neither myself, nor my friend, have SP1...
 

stordoff

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2005
Messages
175 (0.03/day)
Location
Sheffield, UK
Processor Q6600
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory 4x2GB Patriot PC2-6400 C4
Video Card(s) Saphhire HD4870X2
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS (RAID0), MyBook 500GB
Display(s) 2x LG L225WS 22" LCD
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX1000W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate (x64)
I just tried this (Vista Ultimate SP1 RC) and it opened Threatfire. I double clicked under both the AVG logo and the MSN logo, both opened Threatfire :confused:
 

Oliver_FF

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
544 (0.11/day)
Processor Intel q9400 @ stock
Motherboard Lanparty P45-T2RS
Cooling Zalman CNPS-9500
Memory 8GB OCZ PC2-6400
Video Card(s) BFG Nvidia GTX285 OC
Storage 1TB, 500GB, 500GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung T200HD
Case Antec Mini P180
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply 700w Hiper
Software Ubuntu x64 virtualising Vista
Ok, one of my other friends, also on Vista Business 32bit SP1 just tried it and got his mouse properties... If he disables the mouse icon that's in the tray he gets nothing :s
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.62/day)
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
Nothing happens for me im using vista ultimate 64 bit :/
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312 (0.47/day)
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Ultimate 32bit SP1 -opens Safely Remove Hardware for me!!
 
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
120 (0.03/day)
Location
central ,IL
Processor AMD FX 8350
Motherboard Asrock 970M pro
Cooling Gigabyte G-Power 2 Pro CPU heatsink
Memory 16GB Gskill 1600
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 4GB
Storage Patriot Ignite 480GB SSD 3TB seagate 750 Seagate for programs 1TB seagate
Display(s) 40" led Tv and a 24" acer
Case Corsair Carbide Spec Alpha
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Cougar 1000 watt modular
Mouse steelseries
Keyboard Steelseries
Software windows10 Pro
home premium 32 here w/o sp1 and it DOES pop up a windows defender window for me .
i dunno why tho LOL
onry
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.62/day)
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
I cant get it to werk dang no fair :/
 
Top