• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Vista64 or XP64?

bigenuffumbrella

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
82 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard Abit IP35 Pro
Cooling Arctic Cooler Freezer 7
Memory 8 gig of Gskill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ
Video Card(s) BFG 8800 GT
Storage 250 WD/320 WD/320 Seagate/1 76 gig Raptor (swap)
Display(s) Viewsonic VP930b
Case Antec Sonata Piano Black ver I
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
Power Supply Silverstone SST-ST56F 560W
Software Vista 64
Guys I'm coming here first because I know you'll know best.

Ok so I love gaming, but I'm also getting into photography pretty heavy and want to upgrade my current box to an 8Gig Photoshop chomping monster.

I am thinking of going with the following:

8gigs of Gskill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ
Abit IP35 Pro
and a Quad 6600.

...I would like to OC this setup to around 3.0 if it'll go.

So my question is:

1. are there any comments about my choice in equipment? (quad or duo?)
2. what would you guys load: XP64 or Vista64?

Thanks for any and all help.
Happy Thanksgiving!
:toast:

BigE.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,467 (7.19/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 5900x
Motherboard MSI x570s Carbon Max WiFi
Cooling EK AIO 360. Phantek T30 fans.
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3600Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3070 Ti Trinity OC Watercooled
Storage Samsung 980 SSD's
Display(s) MSI MAG322CQR
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic Evo
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modius DAC, SMSL SP200 amp. HiFiMan Sundara Headphones, PreSonus Eris 4.5" powered monitors.
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Razer Viper V2 Pro
Keyboard Fantech Maxfit 67
Software Windows 11
Well.. If you must use a 64-bit O/S, use XP. I don't see any reason for you to use Vista, unless you need to use DX10 apps. Vista has more problems than XP esspecially with the 64-bit versions. I would actually recommend 32bit XP but with 8gigs of memory go with XP 64bit.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (0.85/day)
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Well.. If you must use a 64-bit O/S, use XP. I don't see any reason for you to use Vista, unless you need to use DX10 apps. Vista has more problems than XP esspecially with the 64-bit versions. I would actually recommend 32bit XP but with 8gigs of memory go with XP 64bit.

I've used both, and as he said, unless you need DX10 Vista is a no no.

And I can no longer recommend 32-bit XP after using 64-bit XP. It's miles better. I've had NO BSOD's. No instabilities, nothing. The only problem I have is my webcam doesn't have 64-bit drivers. Except for that 32-bit just isn't worth using, and Vista doesn't bring anything new to the table except for DX10, and unless you need it it's pointless.

XP x64 FTW!
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
1,238 (0.21/day)
Location
SoCal
Processor AMD Phenom II 1055T @ 3.6ghz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 EVO
Cooling Xigmatek SD1284
Memory 2x4GB Patriot Sector 5 PC3-12800 @ 7-8-7-24-1T 1.7V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 7950 DD @ 1100/1350 1.185V
Storage OCZ Agility 3 120GB + 2x7200.12 500GB Raid1
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 27" LCD 1440p @ 120hz
Case Cooler Master 690M
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W Eco Edition
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 / Ubuntu 12.04 x64
I've used both, and as he said, unless you need DX10 Vista is a no no.

And I can no longer recommend 32-bit XP after using 64-bit XP. It's miles better. I've had NO BSOD's. No instabilities, nothing. The only problem I have is my webcam doesn't have 64-bit drivers. Except for that 32-bit just isn't worth using, and Vista doesn't bring anything new to the table except for DX10, and unless you need it it's pointless.

XP x64 FTW!

Seconded. If you need to use a 32bit OS, use Ubuntu 7.10/Server 2003/Vista. IMHO, xp x86 is something I can no longer recommend either.
 

mas0n

New Member
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
88 (0.02/day)
Location
dallas
Processor Q6600 425x9=3825MHz @1.4625V
Motherboard DFI DK X38-T2RSB
Cooling PA120.3, Apogee GT, Swiftech MCP655-B
Memory 4GB Patriot 4-4-4-12 @425MHz
Video Card(s) HD4870 @ 820/1100
Storage 2x74GB | 2x400GB | JBOD 1.8TB
Display(s) Samsung 225BW
Case Antec P180B
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 610W Silencer
I've been using Vista 64 for over 10 months now and have had NO problems. If you know how to tweak your OS, Vista is a great one. My only complaints would be that video drivers are obviously not quite as mature as they are for XP, but we're only talking about a 5-7% performance hit in my experience.
 

Aguiar

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2004
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Location
PORTUGAL
Processor Prescott 2.8@3.16 # P4 3.2@3.5
Motherboard ASUS P4C800 Deluxe # MSI 915p Neo2 Platinum
Cooling Stock # Stock
Memory 4x512 PC3200 KINGSTON @DUAL # 1.512 TwinM /533
Video Card(s) 9800SE 128 R350@385/340 # X600HDMI
Storage 200 Gb # 2x80 GB RAID (0)
Display(s) CRT 17" SyncMaster # CRT 17" PHILIPS
Audio Device(s) Audigy2 # ONBOARD
Power Supply 580 w # 350 w
Software Windows XP Pro/SP2 & UBUNTU 7.10
W XP 64 bits

Hi Dudes...Man i´ve trying to get a 90 days copy of XP64bits and till now , nothing , no copy no answer from M$.Is there another way to get it ? Evaluation copy or else...Just wanna teste it before buying.THX.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,267 (0.75/day)
Location
Sanford, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
I can't say anything bad about XP64, it ran beautifully for me, but I did end up going with Vista 64 - that's where MS and devs are focusing their efforts.

Probably won't have a problem either way.
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2007
Messages
1,002 (0.18/day)
Processor i5-2500K @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Memory Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Storage 250GB Samsung EVO; 1TB WD Black
Display(s) 22" ASUS
Power Supply Rosewill Hive-650
Software Windows 8 64-bit
Vista is great for me i donno whats all the talk about programs not working i've had no problems whatsoever exept for Kazaa, so i would recommend vista if you love to play games.
 

iDash

New Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2007
Messages
48 (0.01/day)
System Name Black Hole
Processor Intel Q6600 Quad Core (OC)3.0ghz
Motherboard ASUS X38 Maximus Formula
Cooling Water Cooled
Memory 4GB Kingston Hyper-X DDR2 - 1066MHz
Video Card(s) ATI Sapphire HD 4870
Storage 2x-Seagate 320GB 7200rpm
Display(s) Sony 24, Samsung 22, Mits 22
Case GigaByte 3D Galaxy
Audio Device(s) SoundMax
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1000 Watt
Software Vista 64
Benchmark Scores 14900 3DMarks 06-x2 ATI HD 2900 Pros 14463 3DMarks- ATi HD 4870
Vista for games period, why waste money on an inferior product, Total of 4GB Ram, with the only problem so far for me is AdWare SE not Vista 64 yet!
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (0.85/day)
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Vista for games period, why waste money on an inferior product, Total of 4GB Ram, with the only problem so far for me is AdWare SE not Vista 64 yet!

Me thinks you need to do some research.

XP 64bit is NOT XP 32-bit with 64-bit support. It uses the Server 2k3 kernel (which Vista was based on), it is NOT limited to 4Gb like XP 32-bit is.

I've used both XP x64 and Vista Ultimate and Business x64, and out of both IMO XP x64 is the best.
 

bigenuffumbrella

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
82 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard Abit IP35 Pro
Cooling Arctic Cooler Freezer 7
Memory 8 gig of Gskill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ
Video Card(s) BFG 8800 GT
Storage 250 WD/320 WD/320 Seagate/1 76 gig Raptor (swap)
Display(s) Viewsonic VP930b
Case Antec Sonata Piano Black ver I
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
Power Supply Silverstone SST-ST56F 560W
Software Vista 64
Thanks Dark :toast:

I'm going with the XP64.

I've already got a copy of it. I got it for free as a promo back when it was brand new and have never used it. It's hard to beat free. And if it's as mature and familiar as XP with the stability of 64 I think it'll do me just fine.

I suspected as much anyway but it's nice to hear from someone who has used both.

Cheers!

BigE

PS by the way Dark...your system settings say Windows XP64 custom...no crap. Exactly what does that mean?
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (2.77/day)
Location
Republic of Texas
XP64 is garbage. i used it for 6 months and i had to reinstall 4 times. it's not stable at all. I've tried it on several different computers and the same problems occurred. vista home premium 64bit is cheaper than xp64... unless your using a hacked version on xp64 which i don't recommend.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
1,238 (0.21/day)
Location
SoCal
Processor AMD Phenom II 1055T @ 3.6ghz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 EVO
Cooling Xigmatek SD1284
Memory 2x4GB Patriot Sector 5 PC3-12800 @ 7-8-7-24-1T 1.7V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 7950 DD @ 1100/1350 1.185V
Storage OCZ Agility 3 120GB + 2x7200.12 500GB Raid1
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 27" LCD 1440p @ 120hz
Case Cooler Master 690M
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W Eco Edition
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 / Ubuntu 12.04 x64
XP64 is garbage. i used it for 6 months and i had to reinstall 4 times. it's not stable at all. I've tried it on several different computers and the same problems occurred. vista home premium 64bit is cheaper than xp64... unless your using a hacked version on xp64 which i don't recommend.
When did you try it? If it was any time before SP2 was released, it may interest you to try it again now, unless you are using a PC with specs like these:

Early Athlon64 S754
Unknown motherboard with single channel ddr2100 and SiS integrated video
really old pci tv tuner
really old sound card by some never heard of brand
XP x64 RTM

If you have something similar to that, any Windows x64 might not be right for you.

If you tried it recently using the PC in your specs, well then I don't know what to tell you. I guess just use w/e works best, although I would find it hard to believe.
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (2.77/day)
Location
Republic of Texas
When did you try it? If it was any time before SP2 was released, it may interest you to try it again now, unless you are using a PC with specs like these:

Early Athlon64 S754
Unknown motherboard with single channel ddr2100 and SiS integrated video
really old pci tv tuner
really old sound card by some never heard of brand
XP x64 RTM

If you have something similar to that, any Windows x64 might not be right for you.

If you tried it recently using the PC in your specs, well then I don't know what to tell you. I guess just use w/e works best, although I would find it hard to believe.

i had a amd x2 5200 at the time on a asus m2n32-sli with 2 7900gt's in sli. also, i started using xp64 about 5 months before vista came out.

my vista 64 has had absolutely no problems at all.
 

wazzledoozle

New Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
5,358 (0.80/day)
Location
Seattle
Processor X2 3800+ @ 2.3 GHz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory 2x1 Gb OCZ Plat. @ 3-3-2-8-1t 460 MHz
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 512Mb
Storage 640Gb & 160Gb western digital sata drives
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen LCD w/ DVI 5ms
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 softmod@Audigy 4, Logitech X-530 5:1
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 500w
Software XP Pro
Vista 64 will have better support going into the future. If you dont have any driver issues with it right now, there is no reason to use XP 64. If you dont like Aero, turn it off. Dont like the high memory usage? Turn off superfetch. After that you pretty much have XP 64/Server2k3 with better consumer-level support.

There is one big issue with Vista 64 though. You cant run unsigned drivers without pressing F8 and selecting unsigned driver mode at every boot. If you leave your PC on all the time, it isn't a problem.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2006
Messages
1,065 (0.18/day)
System Name [Primary Workstation]
Processor Intel Core i7-920 Bloomfield @ 3.8GHz/4.55GHz [24-7/Bench]
Motherboard EVGA X58 E758-A1 [Tweaked right!]
Cooling Cooler Master V8 [stock fan + two 133CFM ULTRA KAZE fans]
Memory 12GB [Kingston HyperX]
Video Card(s) constantly upgrading/downgrading [prefer nVidia]
Storage constantly upgrading/downgrading [prefer Hitachi/Samsung]
Display(s) Triple LCD [40 inch primary + 32 & 28 inch auxiliary displays]
Case Cooler Master Cosmos 1000 [Mesh Mod, CFM Overload]
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D1 + onboard Realtek ALC889A [Logitech Z-5300 Spk., Niko 650-HP 5.1 Hp., X-Bass Hp.]
Power Supply Corsair TX950W [aka Reactor]
Software This and that... [All software 100% legit and paid for, 0% pirated]
Benchmark Scores Ridiculously good scores!!!
Like wazzledoozle said, if you don't have any driver issues with it, then go for Vista 64bit. Myself, I've never heard of anyone who had an easy time with Vista 64bit, driver-wise. Aggravating experiences all around, at best. 64bit computing is not, definitely NOT, upon us. Well, yet anyways.
 

bigenuffumbrella

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
82 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard Abit IP35 Pro
Cooling Arctic Cooler Freezer 7
Memory 8 gig of Gskill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ
Video Card(s) BFG 8800 GT
Storage 250 WD/320 WD/320 Seagate/1 76 gig Raptor (swap)
Display(s) Viewsonic VP930b
Case Antec Sonata Piano Black ver I
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
Power Supply Silverstone SST-ST56F 560W
Software Vista 64
i had a amd x2 5200 at the time on a asus m2n32-sli with 2 7900gt's in sli. also, i started using xp64 about 5 months before vista came out.

my vista 64 has had absolutely no problems at all.

No problems at all with any games, any drivers, any programs you normally use?
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
1,966 (0.30/day)
System Name Commercial towing vehicle "Nostromo"
Processor 5800X3D
Motherboard X570 Unify
Cooling EK-AIO 360 RGB
Memory 32 GB Kingston Fury 3600 MHz
Video Card(s) 2070 SUPER™ GAMING X TRIO
Power Supply AX860
Mouse Viper 8K
Keyboard G512
Software Windows 11 22H2 - OS Build 22623.1250
I can absolutly recommend Vista 64-Bit....rock solid...until now...installed it yesterday

All my gear is Vista 64-bit driver supported (See system specs.)

my app. list that runs perfect under Vista 64-Bit :

-Office 2003 Professional
-FireFox 2.0.0.9
-Safari 3.0.4
-Steam ( CS:Source, HL2, TF2 and so on )
-Comrade ( Warmonger - UT3 - QW:ET )
-WinRAR
-Kaspersky AntiVirus 7.0
und so weiter.......

The only appl. that don´t work is : ATITool 0.27b2.....
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,420 (0.25/day)
Location
London, England
I dunno about 64-bit Vista, but 32-bit Vista is pissing me off, I'm going back to XP x64.
Never had any trouble setting it up, no driver problems, ran well, only slight incompatibility (GTR, was the only game I ever had problems installing under x64, but then again, it uses SecuROM, or something else similarly shite, and incompatible with 64-bit XP. Apart from that, Battlefield 2 just warns it was tested only on XP SP2 32-bit, but still works fine), and all of my main 32-bit applications run like clockwork.
 
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,487 (1.53/day)
Me thinks you need to do some research.

XP 64bit is NOT XP 32-bit with 64-bit support. It uses the Server 2k3 kernel (which Vista was based on), it is NOT limited to 4Gb like XP 32-bit is.

I've used both XP x64 and Vista Ultimate and Business x64, and out of both IMO XP x64 is the best.

Vista is less like 2k3 than 2k3 is like XP. The whole 4GB issue has nothing to do with XP either, it's just the limit of ANY 32 bit OS.

Personally I'd recommend Vista64 over XP64 simply due to support. Compatibility issues with older programs exist on both, so that's not the issue.
 

bigenuffumbrella

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
82 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard Abit IP35 Pro
Cooling Arctic Cooler Freezer 7
Memory 8 gig of Gskill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ
Video Card(s) BFG 8800 GT
Storage 250 WD/320 WD/320 Seagate/1 76 gig Raptor (swap)
Display(s) Viewsonic VP930b
Case Antec Sonata Piano Black ver I
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
Power Supply Silverstone SST-ST56F 560W
Software Vista 64
HOT DAMN! I just checked UPS and my goodies are officially here!
:rockout: woo hoo!

Now, debate aside...one way or the other...at some point this weekend whatever has invaded the jungles of North Korea in Crysis is in deep doo-doo. :) :cool: Like Jimi said "Here I come baby. Comin' to gitchoo!"

Because you guys have been so helpful I'll give you first dibs on any of my old stuff if anyone should want it. I'll be posting pix, and listing the stuff officially under the "for sale" forum later this weekend once I get it all out of my old box and some pix made.

But just so you know..this is what will be listed (provided no one wants any of it before hand)

Abit AN8 32X motherboard.
AMD 64x2 4400 (939 pin) processor
2 gigs of Corsair XMS DDR-400
Sapphire X1900XTX (modded with Arctic Cooling fan)
Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
1 real laser etched store bought copy of Windows XP Pro SP2.

For most of this stuff I still have the original boxes (I keep the stuff in case something dies in warranty) the board, the video card, the processor (I think)

Anyway...pix and prices will be listed later this weekend. If anyone is interested in any or all of this stuff give me a shout we'll work a deal.

Thanks again guys...

BigE.
 

B1gg3stN00b

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
1,944 (0.35/day)
System Name Free Rig/Compaq Laptop
Processor E6750/Turion X2 1.9ghz
Motherboard EVGA 680i SLI/Quanta EA30
Cooling Random big fans!
Memory 8GB Geil Black Dragon/2GB G-Skill 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Nvidia 8800GTS/Nvidia 7000M - Hauppage PCIX TV Tuner
Storage 250gb SATA WD/120gb internal Samsung SATA
Display(s) ASUS 21.5" 1080P monitor
Case Raidmax Smilodon/Regular
Audio Device(s) Stock into 2.1 Altec Lansing Rig
Power Supply Cooler Master 650W/12 cell HP battery
Software Vista Ult. 64 Bit, Ubuntu 64 Bit 8.10/Vista Ult. 32 Bit, Ubuntu 8.04 32
Like wazzledoozle said, if you don't have any driver issues with it, then go for Vista 64bit. Myself, I've never heard of anyone who had an easy time with Vista 64bit, driver-wise. Aggravating experiences all around, at best. 64bit computing is not, definitely NOT, upon us. Well, yet anyways.

I love 64 bit Vista, didn't have a bit of trouble at all getting it up and running on my custom build!
 

bigenuffumbrella

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
82 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard Abit IP35 Pro
Cooling Arctic Cooler Freezer 7
Memory 8 gig of Gskill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ
Video Card(s) BFG 8800 GT
Storage 250 WD/320 WD/320 Seagate/1 76 gig Raptor (swap)
Display(s) Viewsonic VP930b
Case Antec Sonata Piano Black ver I
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
Power Supply Silverstone SST-ST56F 560W
Software Vista 64
I love 64 bit Vista, didn't have a bit of trouble at all getting it up and running on my custom build!

What sort of games might you be playing, BiggieNoob? How about things like...your iPod? your cellphone? digital cameras? or maybe apps not everyone would use...like Perfect Disk, or Nero?
 

B1gg3stN00b

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
1,944 (0.35/day)
System Name Free Rig/Compaq Laptop
Processor E6750/Turion X2 1.9ghz
Motherboard EVGA 680i SLI/Quanta EA30
Cooling Random big fans!
Memory 8GB Geil Black Dragon/2GB G-Skill 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Nvidia 8800GTS/Nvidia 7000M - Hauppage PCIX TV Tuner
Storage 250gb SATA WD/120gb internal Samsung SATA
Display(s) ASUS 21.5" 1080P monitor
Case Raidmax Smilodon/Regular
Audio Device(s) Stock into 2.1 Altec Lansing Rig
Power Supply Cooler Master 650W/12 cell HP battery
Software Vista Ult. 64 Bit, Ubuntu 64 Bit 8.10/Vista Ult. 32 Bit, Ubuntu 8.04 32
Nero runs fine, my cellphone, Ipod, and Digital Camera hook up great.
I play CS:S, Starcraft BW, World in Conflict, Supreme Commander, the Battlefield Series, etc.

Only thing that doesn't work is my webcam, but that's probably because it came out around the same time as Windows 95.
 

Spunky

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
67 (0.01/day)
Location
Orlando, Florida, USA.
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 @ 3.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro (Rev. 2)
Memory 4GB (2 x 2GB) A-Data DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 465
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) ASUS 21" Full 1080p
Case Antec Nine Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts EA750 750W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
If you find yourself drooling for no apparent reason, or occasionally wake up and can't figure out where you are, you might want to stay away from Vista x64. Otherwise, it's a great OS and you won't regret using it.
 
Top