• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Visual C++ 2008 + Vista 64 Question

Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
532 (0.15/day)
Likes
162
Location
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
System Name This PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Water Cooling - CPU Only
Memory 8GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 TI - EVGA FTW3 - Slave BIOS
Storage Corsair Force GT 128GB / Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB
Display(s) AOC AGON AG271QG - 165 Hz - AHVA
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec 1.2kW HCP
Mouse Logitech G403 - Wired
Keyboard Rosewill - MX Browns
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#1
Can I use the visual c++ 2008 express IDE in vista 64, or do I need to get some kind of separate 64-bit compiler?
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
2,964 (0.73/day)
Likes
397
Location
your local vending machine
System Name HTPC||Lenovo IBM ThinkPad
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965 stock 3.4GHz||Intel C2D T9300 @ 2.5GHz
Motherboard Zotac 890GX-ITX WiFi||Lenovo 8918CTO
Cooling Stock 3x 120's||Stock stuff
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 6-6-6-15||3GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Asus 3870x2||nVidia Quadro NVS 140M
Storage 1TB Seagate Barracuda, 1x 2TB WD EARX ||Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung T260HD||
Case SilverStone Grandia GD05||
Audio Device(s) on-board||on-board
Power Supply Cooler Master 450W||6-cell
Software Windows 7 Pro x64||Windows 7 Pro x64/Linux Mint x64
#2
You should be fine. I used Visual Basic '08 on 7 x64. Just make sure Vista is updated.
 

Gzero

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
718 (0.15/day)
Likes
52
Location
Scotland
Processor Intel i5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-GD80
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 4x2gb G.Skill DDR3 1600mhz 8-8-8-24 1t
Video Card(s) HIS 4870 512mb - powerplay modded
Storage Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) Samsung LE40F86/Viewsonic vx2260wm
Case ThermalTake Tai Chi
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 889
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
#3
VS 2008 working fine here on Vista x64, can compile for x86 and x64(not tried yet).
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
532 (0.15/day)
Likes
162
Location
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
System Name This PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Water Cooling - CPU Only
Memory 8GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 TI - EVGA FTW3 - Slave BIOS
Storage Corsair Force GT 128GB / Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB
Display(s) AOC AGON AG271QG - 165 Hz - AHVA
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec 1.2kW HCP
Mouse Logitech G403 - Wired
Keyboard Rosewill - MX Browns
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
Thanks for the info guys. I guess I was just seeing if anybody else has used visual on vista x64. I remember reading that you can develop native x64 apps with the express editions, but that you had to download the windows sdk and then configure visual studio.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,902 (6.25/day)
Likes
9,994
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#5
I believe the ability to compile for x64 and IA-64 are packages (IA-64 especially is) which can be selected during installation. Which compiler it uses is choosen in your project properties.

Visual Studio 2008 itself works fine on Windows 98 through Windows 7 x64.


In x64, you can't edit a binary that is currently debugging. You have to stop the debugger, edit, then start it again. In x86, you can. Not sure about IA-64.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
532 (0.15/day)
Likes
162
Location
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
System Name This PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Water Cooling - CPU Only
Memory 8GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 TI - EVGA FTW3 - Slave BIOS
Storage Corsair Force GT 128GB / Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB
Display(s) AOC AGON AG271QG - 165 Hz - AHVA
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec 1.2kW HCP
Mouse Logitech G403 - Wired
Keyboard Rosewill - MX Browns
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
Do I need to install anything sql related if I just plan on doing basic to a little advanced c++ stuff?
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,902 (6.25/day)
Likes
9,994
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#7
Nope. That's just there for OLE/DBC stuff. You can always Add/Remove it later if you do need it.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
532 (0.15/day)
Likes
162
Location
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
System Name This PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Water Cooling - CPU Only
Memory 8GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 TI - EVGA FTW3 - Slave BIOS
Storage Corsair Force GT 128GB / Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB
Display(s) AOC AGON AG271QG - 165 Hz - AHVA
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec 1.2kW HCP
Mouse Logitech G403 - Wired
Keyboard Rosewill - MX Browns
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
Is 664K memory usage for a simple guessing game considered optimized? I just made it in VS2008 Express.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,902 (6.25/day)
Likes
9,994
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#9
I wouldn't worry about memory usage unless you are running into the megabytes.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
532 (0.15/day)
Likes
162
Location
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
System Name This PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Water Cooling - CPU Only
Memory 8GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 TI - EVGA FTW3 - Slave BIOS
Storage Corsair Force GT 128GB / Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB
Display(s) AOC AGON AG271QG - 165 Hz - AHVA
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec 1.2kW HCP
Mouse Logitech G403 - Wired
Keyboard Rosewill - MX Browns
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#10
Alright, I will keep that in mind.