• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Volts needed to keep E6300 @ 3.5ghz stable

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.42/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#2
Mine was 1.325v at that clockspeed.
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.36/day)
Likes
124
Location
London, England
#3
Bah, I clocked mine to 2.33, and haven't bothered budging it since. Don't even know the stock voltage, I just set to 1.25v in BIOS, and it's clocked well, so I'm interested in seeing what others are using.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.42/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#4
I dunno,i suppose it depends on your chip,tho' mine would do it at that voltage,others might not.stock is 1.3v i think.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.42/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#5
My best with the chip i had is in my sig,which was at 1.57vcore.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
11,061 (2.69/day)
Likes
5,156
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#6
My 6300 is 3.5 stable @ 1.35vcore (1.34 load & idle), I performed a vdroop mod to do this. Before I had to use 1.40vcore (1.38idle/1.34 load), this would pass orthos for 24h+. But @ 500fsb, the rest of the system will need to be prepared for that kind of OC.

:toast:
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2006
Messages
448 (0.11/day)
Likes
39
#7
Indeed. Mine is rock stable at 1.31875V (7*500Mhz=3500Mhz), with Infinity CPU cooler, TR HR-05 heatsink on the Northbridge and Delta PSU.
 
Last edited:

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,371 (2.14/day)
Likes
1,005
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#8
Man, the E6300's must be great. It takes 1.6V to go 3500 stable on my E4300.
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.36/day)
Likes
124
Location
London, England
#9
Depends on the stepping, I read that the B2 stepping (one I have in fact), overclocks better, while the L2, needs a drop fo the multiplier for even a 10MHz FSB increase. YMMV here, as always, but if that's correct, then I've got a good stepping for once.
 

mortal

New Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2006
Messages
151 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
Location
Croatia - Umag
Processor q6600 G0 @ 3400 1,30V
Motherboard DFI LP T2R P35
Cooling Sonic tower @ 40C
Memory 2x1024 Team Elite 4 4 4 12 @ 850mhz
Video Card(s) x1950xtx @ vf-900
Storage Segate 500GB server edition
Display(s) Hanns-g
Case Chieftec LCX Big tower
Audio Device(s) Hercules Muse
Power Supply Silwerstone Strider 560W 12.01-12,04V
#10
Ofcourse it depends on stepping. But most of first C2D like 6300 and 6600 had some blockade around 3500mhz, and it also depend on chipset of your motherboard because 6300 has small multy so you need mbo with high chipset volatge to get high FSB.

My 6600 is B2 and tahat is later revision and is not so god oc-er. I reached 3900mhz with very high voltage.
Here are some aother examples:
L621A-L625A = tops 3.6-3.7
L627A-L628A = 3.8-3.9
L630A-L632A = Can hit 3.6 with 1.4vcore
L628B-L632B = Can hit 4.0 on air


For example 6750 G0 has very good oc potential