• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

volt's question

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.16/day)
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
i was checking my mobo volts today and i find that everything was ok the +12v was 12 the 3.3v was 3,3 but then i look better and i find that the -12v was -6v is this a bad thing or it can destroy anything???
 

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.16/day)
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
really no one knows?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,101 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
did you use a multimeter to check?
 

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.16/day)
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
yes first i was see it on bios then i take a multimeter to check on a molex i thing i have to buy i new psu
 

kopper69

New Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
So you checked it using a multimeter and software program? And got the same reading on both? Interesting. I would get your motherboard manual out and just check that you dont have a unique setup that simply uses one or two pins in a different config. But otherwise I would be replacing it. Maybe give it to someone who knows a bit about electronics as it probably isnt too hard to fix (maybe just the regulator dieing).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 13, 2006
Messages
498 (0.10/day)
Not all mobos require a -12 line[ I think all p965 chipset do] and not all psus[ white wirer] have one. If your not having stability issues then I wouldn't worry about it. Could also be your psu is regulating it down because it has no draw on it or your other rails aren't loaded during testing. Chech your mobos manual and see if it needs the -12 rail before buying a new psu though, save your cash for beer and strippers:)
 

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.16/day)
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
if you have start know the strippers personly you only have to worry about beer...

i was have a irritating noise from my speakers and i was starting to get nervous so i was trying to see what's up and i was notice from bios that the -12 and -5 v was -6 and -3 so i was start to worry a little and make some checks with a multimeter then with software and yes both make same results


i will check with a bigger psu just to be sure either way i will needed it for my phenom... rig
 
Top