1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

VRAM - only thermal pads or can I use CPU TIM?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Black Panther, Feb 20, 2013.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,878 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,140
    I've got no experience on this, changed the cooler off a graphics card only once and I used thermal pads for the vram coolers.

    Is it unrecommended to use regular TIM?
     
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,866 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    871
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    If it had thermal pads; replace with thermal pads

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,770 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,572
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Main reason is that thermal paste isn't effective when bridging the spaces where pads are used(hence why a pad is used in the first place, generally).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,335 (7.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,787
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea as Law mentioned, only use thermal pads. TIM can damage the VRMs since some TIM is conductive.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    13,787 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,624
    Depending on the TIM it might be hard to make them stick, as they would be on upside down.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)