• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

vrm temperature 240C..is it a bug

Joined
May 24, 2014
Messages
22 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor intel xeon e5405 2ghz quad core
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) asus HD 7870 directcu ii v2
Power Supply cooler master 1000w
#1
Hey I have asus hd7870-dc2-gd5-v2..when I was using gpu-z monitoring my vrm temp..everything looked normal..I had 65C while gaming..and when I turned on gpu tweaks to monitor power temperature. .suddenly I had 240C for one second..and then back to 65C again at the next second.. does it affect my gpu card..I turn off gpu tweak now..and it never happen again...is it sensor bug? There were no artifacts, flashing, smoke etc
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,404 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,486
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#2
If it were 240C your graphics card would be on fire or at the very least smoking like crazy. It was probably a sensor or software glitch. I think you're okay. ;)
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,273 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,082
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#3
your VRMS would no longer exist.
 
Joined
May 24, 2014
Messages
22 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor intel xeon e5405 2ghz quad core
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) asus HD 7870 directcu ii v2
Power Supply cooler master 1000w
#4
Thanks thats a relief..I was really terrified lolol now there is no spike anymore. .I think the problem is I activated gpu tweak power temperature and gpu-z at the same time
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2011
Messages
1,891 (0.86/day)
Likes
813
Location
Brisbane QLD, Australia
System Name Белая коробка | Alienware 13R3 | Asus T300 Chi | Synology DS416 w/ 4X6TB WD Red | Huawei P10
Processor Intel i7-7700k @ 4.8GHz | Intel i7-7700HQ
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix Z270G | Dell/Alienware thing
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w/ A15 & F12 | Double fan
Memory G.Skill 2X8gb Trident Z RGB DDR4 3000mhz | DDR4 2X8GB 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 | Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB, Crucial MX200 500GB, 1X WD 4TB Black | 256gb M.2 SSD, 512GB Intel 600p M.2
Display(s) LG 27UD68 & BenQ FP241W (ANCIENT!) | 13" 1080p IPS & Sony X7000E 49" 4K HDR TV
Case InWin 301 (white) | Alienware 13R3
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | onboard sound -Onkyo 808 Receiver
Power Supply InWin Classic Series 900W | Dell 180W brick
Mouse Logitech G403 Wireless | Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G810 | Red Square OLD SCHOOL TKL - Gateron Blue
Software Windows 10 Home | Windows 10 Home
Benchmark Scores Citroen DS3 THP155 DSport6-spd manual|
#5
lol the responses here are great :lovetpu:

Just something I've noticed with gpu tweak is that it is nearly always very buggy for me with my 280x. Afterburner seems quite a bit more stable from my side.
 
Joined
May 24, 2014
Messages
22 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor intel xeon e5405 2ghz quad core
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) asus HD 7870 directcu ii v2
Power Supply cooler master 1000w
#6
Really? Did you encounter this kind of spike bug too with gpu tweak.? Yeap I often used msi but when I bought asus..I tried gpu tweak and got trolling experience lolol..
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,273 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,082
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#7
Honestly its not program specific to understand the problem you have to understand the underlying issue. It doesnt have as much to do with gpu tweak as it does the nature of the sensors. the way they are polled by the programs is sensitive and prone to off bugs. Fans and temp sensors show this the most. when multiple programs attempt to pull data at the same time most sensors can only handle one thing at a time asking the controller what it is doing so when more then one program attempts to access the driver or the controller responsible for the read outs weird things happen.

Alot of this can also be software interference and not have anything to do with the hardware but instead the software interferes with one another because they attempt to access the hardware the same way.
 
Joined
May 24, 2014
Messages
22 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor intel xeon e5405 2ghz quad core
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) asus HD 7870 directcu ii v2
Power Supply cooler master 1000w
#8
Okay I get it thankss..I will only use one application right now..this kind of bug doesnt affect on gpu's temp right? Im really afraid it affect my hardware...240c really did freak me out to death backthen..lol
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,273 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,082
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#9
No effect on hardware just read outs. this is purely cosmetic.
 
Joined
May 24, 2014
Messages
22 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor intel xeon e5405 2ghz quad core
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) asus HD 7870 directcu ii v2
Power Supply cooler master 1000w
#10
Okay thank you so much for the Info...Im just using 1 application now..and no more glitch again hehehehe..im so glad my gpu are safe
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2011
Messages
1,891 (0.86/day)
Likes
813
Location
Brisbane QLD, Australia
System Name Белая коробка | Alienware 13R3 | Asus T300 Chi | Synology DS416 w/ 4X6TB WD Red | Huawei P10
Processor Intel i7-7700k @ 4.8GHz | Intel i7-7700HQ
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix Z270G | Dell/Alienware thing
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w/ A15 & F12 | Double fan
Memory G.Skill 2X8gb Trident Z RGB DDR4 3000mhz | DDR4 2X8GB 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 | Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB, Crucial MX200 500GB, 1X WD 4TB Black | 256gb M.2 SSD, 512GB Intel 600p M.2
Display(s) LG 27UD68 & BenQ FP241W (ANCIENT!) | 13" 1080p IPS & Sony X7000E 49" 4K HDR TV
Case InWin 301 (white) | Alienware 13R3
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | onboard sound -Onkyo 808 Receiver
Power Supply InWin Classic Series 900W | Dell 180W brick
Mouse Logitech G403 Wireless | Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G810 | Red Square OLD SCHOOL TKL - Gateron Blue
Software Windows 10 Home | Windows 10 Home
Benchmark Scores Citroen DS3 THP155 DSport6-spd manual|
#11
Really? Did you encounter this kind of spike bug too with gpu tweak.? Yeap I often used msi but when I bought asus..I tried gpu tweak and got trolling experience lolol..
I didn't get this issue as that was probably down to having two monitoring programs using the one sensor as Solaris said. I mean more clocking issues where I might set it at one clock speed and it will be reported differently in the graph for some reason. This didn't happen when I used afterburner. Same with temp differences too but that is pretty normal from my experience using different software (I'm talking 1-3C difference in temps so nothing to worry about).
 
Joined
May 24, 2014
Messages
22 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor intel xeon e5405 2ghz quad core
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) asus HD 7870 directcu ii v2
Power Supply cooler master 1000w
#12
Aah okay...I had different voltage reading too from gpu tweak..but it seems gpu-z reading my voltage correctly..as long it doesnt affect the hardware I relief lolol
 
Joined
May 24, 2014
Messages
22 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor intel xeon e5405 2ghz quad core
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) asus HD 7870 directcu ii v2
Power Supply cooler master 1000w
#13
This kind of bug can happen to gpu temp, voltage usage, etc right? Im so glad its normal again now
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,074 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,991
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#14
Honestly its not program specific to understand the problem you have to understand the underlying issue. It doesnt have as much to do with gpu tweak as it does the nature of the sensors. the way they are polled by the programs is sensitive and prone to off bugs. Fans and temp sensors show this the most. when multiple programs attempt to pull data at the same time most sensors can only handle one thing at a time asking the controller what it is doing so when more then one program attempts to access the driver or the controller responsible for the read outs weird things happen.

Alot of this can also be software interference and not have anything to do with the hardware but instead the software interferes with one another because they attempt to access the hardware the same way.
this
 
Joined
May 24, 2014
Messages
22 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor intel xeon e5405 2ghz quad core
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) asus HD 7870 directcu ii v2
Power Supply cooler master 1000w
#15
Really? Did you encounter this kind of spike bug too with gpu tweak.? Yeap I often used msi but when I bought asus..I tried gpu tweak and got trolling experience lolol..
No effect on hardware just read outs. this is purely cosmetic.
hey what about the voltage usage misreading(like overvoltage) when opening two application at the same time? it doesnt affect the hardware's real voltage too right?
 
Joined
May 24, 2014
Messages
22 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor intel xeon e5405 2ghz quad core
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) asus HD 7870 directcu ii v2
Power Supply cooler master 1000w
#16
Anyone?
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,273 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,082
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#17
mis reads are mis reads they are not commands your cards are fine.
 
Joined
May 24, 2014
Messages
22 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor intel xeon e5405 2ghz quad core
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) asus HD 7870 directcu ii v2
Power Supply cooler master 1000w
#18
Thanks im sorry for being paranoid lolol
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
2,712 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,781
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC / Folder 1 & 2 (+3 on/off)
Processor W3670 4.00 GHz/ W3670 3.8 / 4790K 4.4/ i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5/UD7/Maximum Hero/ UD5
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D14/Noctua NH-D15/D14
Memory 6 GB A-Data/6 GB Mushkin /8 GB Corsair Vengance/ Mus
Video Card(s) 1070 X MSI/ 970 ASUS / 2x970 MSI/970 MSI
Storage 480 GB SSD / 480 GB SSD /480 GB SSD, all EVO 840
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Fractel R4 /none
Power Supply Enermax 87+ 600 W/ 500 W / AX 860/700 W Enermax
Software WIN7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
#19
No effect on hardware just read outs. this is purely cosmetic.
I could have quoted the entire post but this post is down right wrong - if you have two programs that reads GPU values you MIGHT have a have a driver crash. I'm to lazy to find the posts but even our Z-GPU guru have admitted to that. I had it a couple of times and then stopped using ASUS/MSI tools at the same time as Z-GPU.

We can fill pages off wrong readings, no in fact I can do that on my own having GIGABYTE MBs. If the value is off the it is for 100 % sure a software issue
 
Joined
May 24, 2014
Messages
22 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor intel xeon e5405 2ghz quad core
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) asus HD 7870 directcu ii v2
Power Supply cooler master 1000w
#20
Thank you I have turn off all reading tools and only use gpu-z and no issues anymore. ..I often used two reading softwares at the same time..but it never glitch on gpu core temp..but when I turned on voltage and vrm temp monitoring..sudden spike came up..hehehe
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,273 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,082
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#21
I could have quoted the entire post but this post is down right wrong - if you have two programs that reads GPU values you MIGHT have a have a driver crash. I'm to lazy to find the posts but even our Z-GPU guru have admitted to that. I had it a couple of times and then stopped using ASUS/MSI tools at the same time as Z-GPU.

We can fill pages off wrong readings, no in fact I can do that on my own having GIGABYTE MBs. If the value is off the it is for 100 % sure a software issue
Buggy software readings caused by multiple reading programs will not cause 250C VRMs or random 300mhz overclocks. a driver crash caused by over clocking tools or running multiple monitors is just that. a Software problem. OP wanted to know if such readings caused by multiple programs actually affected the card itself IE causing over voltages overclocks fan speed adjustments. It does not.
 
Joined
May 24, 2014
Messages
22 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor intel xeon e5405 2ghz quad core
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) asus HD 7870 directcu ii v2
Power Supply cooler master 1000w
#22
Buggy software readings caused by multiple reading programs will not cause 250C VRMs or random 300mhz overclocks. a driver crash caused by over clocking tools or running multiple monitors is just that. a Software problem. OP wanted to know if such readings caused by multiple programs actually affected the card itself IE causing over voltages overclocks fan speed adjustments. It does not.
Yeap thats what i want to know..hehehe:)
 
Joined
May 24, 2014
Messages
22 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor intel xeon e5405 2ghz quad core
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) asus HD 7870 directcu ii v2
Power Supply cooler master 1000w
#23
Hey today i got record from gpu-z that my voltage was at 1.368 mV without opening another monitoring application..are there any chances that it was still just a misreading? i'm so worry...and there were no issues like artifact, flickering, or fps drop..my vrm temperature didnt change to at 1.368 mV...aaa