• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

W10 Home > Pro

Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
13,316 (6.05/day)
Location
The Kitchen Table
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Question:

right now I made a bootable USB for W10, off my current installation which is a W10 Home.

Monday I'll use that on my new rig but I want to move to W10 Pro on that one. Is this possible with my bootable USB setup? My guess is that you just re-pick your version based on the activation code, amirite?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,270 (1.18/day)
Location
New York
Processor INTEL CORE I9-9900K @ 5Ghz all core 4.7Ghz Cache @1.305 volts
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z390-P ATX
Cooling CORSAIR HYDRO H150I PRO RGB 360MM 6x120mm fans push pull
Memory CRUCIAL BALLISTIX 3000Mhz 4x8 32gb @ 4000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORECE RTX 2080 SUPER XC HYBRID GAMING
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB 3D NAND NVMe,Intel 660p 1TB m.2 ,1TB WD Blue 3D NAND,500GB WD Blue 3D NAND,
Display(s) 50" Sharp Roku TV 8ms responce time and Philips 75Hz 328E9QJAB 32" curved
Case BLACK LIAN LI O11 DYNAMIC XL FULL-TOWER GAMING CASE,
Power Supply 1600 Watt
Software Windows 10
OEM or Retail?
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
13,316 (6.05/day)
Location
The Kitchen Table
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,270 (1.18/day)
Location
New York
Processor INTEL CORE I9-9900K @ 5Ghz all core 4.7Ghz Cache @1.305 volts
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z390-P ATX
Cooling CORSAIR HYDRO H150I PRO RGB 360MM 6x120mm fans push pull
Memory CRUCIAL BALLISTIX 3000Mhz 4x8 32gb @ 4000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORECE RTX 2080 SUPER XC HYBRID GAMING
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB 3D NAND NVMe,Intel 660p 1TB m.2 ,1TB WD Blue 3D NAND,500GB WD Blue 3D NAND,
Display(s) 50" Sharp Roku TV 8ms responce time and Philips 75Hz 328E9QJAB 32" curved
Case BLACK LIAN LI O11 DYNAMIC XL FULL-TOWER GAMING CASE,
Power Supply 1600 Watt
Software Windows 10
Theoretically the OEM is non transferable.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
13,316 (6.05/day)
Location
The Kitchen Table
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Theoretically the OEM is non transferable.
Yes I know this... but the link to the OEM license is the activation code. Not the OS. The license isn't transferrable :)

@DRDNA Thanks anyway for having a look!
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,270 (1.18/day)
Location
New York
Processor INTEL CORE I9-9900K @ 5Ghz all core 4.7Ghz Cache @1.305 volts
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z390-P ATX
Cooling CORSAIR HYDRO H150I PRO RGB 360MM 6x120mm fans push pull
Memory CRUCIAL BALLISTIX 3000Mhz 4x8 32gb @ 4000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORECE RTX 2080 SUPER XC HYBRID GAMING
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB 3D NAND NVMe,Intel 660p 1TB m.2 ,1TB WD Blue 3D NAND,500GB WD Blue 3D NAND,
Display(s) 50" Sharp Roku TV 8ms responce time and Philips 75Hz 328E9QJAB 32" curved
Case BLACK LIAN LI O11 DYNAMIC XL FULL-TOWER GAMING CASE,
Power Supply 1600 Watt
Software Windows 10
Maybe its way too early for me but I don't understand the question then. Sorry.
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
8,666 (1.53/day)
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
but the link to the OEM license is the activation code. Not the OS. The license isn't transferrable :)
as i understand it OEM Activation is Tied to hardware ( motherboard ) and as such is non transferable.
But i am Sure that microsoft in their Desire for the whole world and their pet Dogs to run W 10 and its associated Report home Telematary will ""allow the reactivation"" :)
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,270 (1.18/day)
Location
New York
Processor INTEL CORE I9-9900K @ 5Ghz all core 4.7Ghz Cache @1.305 volts
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z390-P ATX
Cooling CORSAIR HYDRO H150I PRO RGB 360MM 6x120mm fans push pull
Memory CRUCIAL BALLISTIX 3000Mhz 4x8 32gb @ 4000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORECE RTX 2080 SUPER XC HYBRID GAMING
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB 3D NAND NVMe,Intel 660p 1TB m.2 ,1TB WD Blue 3D NAND,500GB WD Blue 3D NAND,
Display(s) 50" Sharp Roku TV 8ms responce time and Philips 75Hz 328E9QJAB 32" curved
Case BLACK LIAN LI O11 DYNAMIC XL FULL-TOWER GAMING CASE,
Power Supply 1600 Watt
Software Windows 10
as i understand it OEM Activation is Tied to hardware ( motherboard ) and as such is non transferable.
But i am Sure that microsoft in their Desire for the whole world and their pet Dogs to run W 10 and its associated Report home Telematary will ""allow the reactivation"" :)
Right on OEM tide to original hardware when activated and Retail is tied to a user.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,542 (4.84/day)
You can just change the key in settings to move it to pro. Our MSI laptops came with home so I used a generic pro key (not pirated but a default MS key from their site) to upgrade to pro. Once it was on pro, we changed the key to our corp pro key to activate.
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
8,666 (1.53/day)
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
Vayra86
Do You wear Glasses ( :) even Sun glasses on a Sunny Day :cool: )
then i am sure you would Qualify as" Disability Enabled ( Vision Impaired:roll::) )By Microsoft" and as Such would still be able to upgrade/install W 10 under their Special Program :) for Free :)
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,497 (1.00/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The Great White Dragon in Zen Glass
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X "ZEN2"
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbono AC
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 XT Pulse 8GB OC / Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition 8GB
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVME|Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:2xWD 4TB, 1xWD 10TB & WD 1TB
Display(s) Asus XG27UQ 4K | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR
Case Cougar Conquer "HaYaBuZa style"
Audio Device(s) Audio-Technica ATH-A550Z @ Creative Sound Blaster Z (Retail)
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro UK x64 (2004)
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?
If u purchased a OEM version of Windows 7/8/8.1/10 u can still transfer it to a new computer if u have activation trouble do phone activation and u will be asked how many computers and laptops ur license is currently in-use on there I usually just push 1 and u get transfered to get ur phone activation key.

If ur license key came with a OEM branded PC like Acer, Asus, Lenovo, MSI and so on u cannot transfer it because it's a special key the manufactures get and needs their bios to get working.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
13,316 (6.05/day)
Location
The Kitchen Table
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
You can just change the key in settings to move it to pro. Our MSI laptops came with home so I used a generic pro key (not pirated but a default MS key from their site) to upgrade to pro. Once it was on pro, we changed the key to our corp pro key to activate.
Thanks, that's what I was looking for!
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,296 (5.04/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Thanks, that's what I was looking for!
Or if you put the Pro key in during Windows setup, it will just install Pro from the beginning. The installation media is universal, and will install whichever version matches the key you enter. I believe that answers your original question properly.

However, if this is a pre-built computer, the Windows installation will read the pre-loaded key from the motherboard and skip the screen asking you to put in a key. This can be annoying if you want Pro but the machine orignally came with Home. In that case, yes, you just put the Pro key in after Windows is installed and it will upgrade to Pro.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,542 (4.84/day)
Just for reference, here is the upgrade key from MS website. This is a generic upgrade key and will not activate but will allow you to upgrade to windows 10 pro

VK7JG-NPHTM-C97JM-9MPGT-3V66T
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
7,524 (1.59/day)
Processor Intel i9 9900K @5GHz w/ Corsair H150i Pro CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z390 Maximus XI Code
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 2080 STRIX OC
Storage Samsung 250GB 960 EVO m.2, 970 EVO 1TB, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX850w Platinum Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 23520 Heaven - 3670
Just for reference, here is the upgrade key from MS website. This is a generic upgrade key and will not activate but will allow you to upgrade to windows 10 pro

VK7JG-NPHTM-C97JM-9MPGT-3V66T
But only from Win10 home, right?
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
13,316 (6.05/day)
Location
The Kitchen Table
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Again @brandonwh64 thanks a lot, ur info is spot on

@newtekie1 thanks! and no its not a prebuilt, ain't nobody got time for that ;) Custom > custom. My old rig's gonna go to the living room, minus the GPU ^^
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,542 (4.84/day)
Again @brandonwh64 thanks a lot, ur info is spot on

@newtekie1 thanks! and no its not a prebuilt, ain't nobody got time for that ;) Custom > custom. My old rig's gonna go to the living room, minus the GPU ^^
You are welcome

But only from Win10 home, right?
Thats what I used it for. I found a thread on it a while back that mentioned using keys from the MS website to upgrade from home to pro then use your Corp key. This was very useful for us at work since our keys come from the volume licensing server and will NOT upgrade the OS, it will just activate it.
 
Top