• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Waking up to BIG problems with McAfee

Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
796 (0.18/day)
Likes
37
System Name Current
Processor Core i5 2500k
Motherboard Z77MA-G45
Cooling Cooler Master Tx3
Memory 8gb DDR3 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 960 4GB GDDR5
Storage (1) SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" WQHD 2560x1440 IPS
Case Fractal Core 1000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 430 Watt Corsair
Mouse Logitech g602
Keyboard K70 LUX Mech LB, Red LED, Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 + Hackintosh
#1
McAfee has a bad day

If any of you are McAfee users, you may have noticed a cool new Security Center installation this morning. But one thing that makes this new launch interesting is that with the Launch of four other new products McAfee is Issuing a major bug fix.

TheINQ said:
The bug fix closes a hole in its SecurityCenter application which had been spotted by security expert, eEye. McAfee rated the hole as 'medium' in terms of its severity.

Show full news post
 
Last edited:

Corrosion

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
821 (0.19/day)
Likes
73
Location
Maplewood, Mn
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ Windsor 3.2GHz @ 3.45
Motherboard ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe SLi
Cooling ZALMAN 9500A
Memory CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) @ 860
Video Card(s) ATi Asus 5770
Storage Seagate Barracuda ES 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s X2
Display(s) ViewSonic X Series VX2245wm Black-Silver 20" 5ms
Case APEVIA X-Navigator
Software Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate DVD
#2
mcafee sux either way so it doesnt really matter if they have a problem or not, because the whole program is a problem. AVG is good use that, and ad aware, thats all i use
 

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956 (2.08/day)
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
#3
i used them both too, i had mcafee for a while a few months ago, it eated a lot of memory
 

bruins004

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
2,479 (0.56/day)
Likes
74
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (939)
Motherboard MSI Neo K8n Neo4-F with Nforce 4
Cooling ThermalTake Venus12 + 3 case fans + PCI slot cooler for GPU
Memory 2x 512mb Kingston PC-3200
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 7800GT
Storage Western Digital 160GB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2025WM
Case Logisys Dracula Case (Black)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound, Logitech X-530 Surround Sound Speakers
Power Supply OCZ PowerStream 520W
Software Window XP Pro, Office Suite, Tons of Games
#4
I used McAfee a while back and I gotta say the program was def. messed up. It came with a DELL I used to have and when I used to run it I always got an alert that there was a virus. The funny thing was that it said the virus was the McAfee program (lol). It was pretty much doing this to itself :nutkick: .

Anyways I now use Nortons, Adaware and Yahoo Anti-Spy. They all work great together. That is on top of my two firewalls as well. Another piece of software which is also good to use (I use it sometimes) is Peer Guardian. It closes ports to certain IPs so they cannot get into your computer.
 
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
654 (0.15/day)
Likes
18
Location
Newcastle upon Tyne
Processor Intel Core I7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30
Memory 32GB DDR3 (16GB Corsair XMS3 / 16GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical)
Video Card(s) AMD 280X
Storage Samsung 840 / Crucial BX100
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T / BenQ EW2430
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 831
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3D
Power Supply Corsair 750W HX Modular
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Professional
#5
I had mcafee ages ago and I'm never going to use that program again. It didnt stop crap getting onto my computer and when something did and it found it in a scan I would get, sorry cannot clean this item, sorry cannot delete this item, sorry cannot quarentine this item, would you like to exculde this item from future searches :roll: all it could ever do is pretend the virus wasn't there lol

Personally I use Bitdefender 9 with ZoneAlarm Pro, Spyware Blaster, and Spybot S&D. Havent had anything major get into my system since I started using this.
 
Last edited:

Canuto

New Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
2,153 (0.51/day)
Likes
4
Location
Portugal
Processor Pentium D 930 @3.6Ghz
Motherboard Biostar 945P-A7A(8.0)
Cooling Stock cooling, 1x92mm outtake fan
Memory Infineon 2x512Mb DDR2-533 @641Mhz 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Powercolor X550 512Mb Hipermemory @510/261Mhz
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 200Gb
Display(s) iMax 17" LCD
Audio Device(s) Realtek AC'97 ALC655
Power Supply LC Power 550w Silent Giant GREEN POWER
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x86
#6
Im running sygate personal firewall and a 6 month trial F-secure that's all i need.