• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Editorial WannaCry: Its Origins, and Why Future Attacks may be Worse

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,302 (3.09/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Some old Antec
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + slightly modded Sony DR-ZX302
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Sk3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.38/day)
Also the only people who were affected were the ones who weren't up to date on patches. Pointing out choice of AV at this point is like discussing what dental dam to use after going at it raw. Pointing out which AV being used is like telling car owner who's left all their doors unlocked with the keys in the ignition and as a result had their car stolen, people who were using x security system didn't get their car stolen.
Your logic is flawed on so many levels... You could have totally unpatched system, but if it you had AV on it, you'd be fine. The car and dental care analogy you used just doesn't work with this one...
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
13,253 (2.79/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) AMD RX 5700 XT (XFX THICC Ultra III)
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply SeaSonic Prime 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (yes, it's legit.)
Joined
Nov 21, 2010
Messages
1,555 (0.44/day)
Location
Right where I want to be
System Name Miami
Processor Ryzen 3800X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VII Formula
Cooling Ek Velocity/ 2x 280mm Radiators/ Alphacool fullcover
Memory F4-3600C16Q-32GTZNC
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE NITRO+ Radeon RX 5700 XT
Storage 1TB WD M.2 SSD/ 2TB WD SN750/ 4TB WD Black HDD
Display(s) DELL AW3420DW / HP ZR24w
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic XL
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Gold 1000W
Mouse Corsair Scimitar/Glorious Model O-
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro
Your logic is flawed on so many levels... You could have totally unpatched system, but if it you had AV on it, you'd be fine. The car and dental care analogy you used just doesn't work with this one...

If they were up to date on patches it wouldn't matter what av you used, same thing if you don't lock your doors it doesn't matter what security you have. How is that logic flawed? Where did you get dental from?
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,302 (3.09/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Some old Antec
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + slightly modded Sony DR-ZX302
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Sk3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/security/ms17-010.aspx

That's the issue report. You'll note patches were issued for Windows 10.
I know, and I think it is a different thing. They really should clarify what they mean, cause they would not say Win10 would not be affected by a certain aspect of the worm if it weren't true.

About IoT: different topic, but here goes: correctly implemented it could be amazing, and in fact it already is pretty great in the right context, such as industry and engines.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
13,253 (2.79/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) AMD RX 5700 XT (XFX THICC Ultra III)
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply SeaSonic Prime 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (yes, it's legit.)
I know, and I think it is a different thing. They really should clarify what they mean, cause they would not say Win10 would not be affected by a certain aspect of the worm if it weren't true.
As one who followed the history of this bug extensively, it's not a different issue. This is the same bug. They are probably just assuming Windows 10 would've autopatched (under normal circumstances it would have).

Or perhaps Windows 10 ships with a more sensible out of the box firewall config. That could explain it too, I guess.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
571 (0.13/day)
Location
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
System Name Built By Me
Processor Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5.1 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Custom Water Cooling - CPU Only
Memory 32GB (2 x 16) GSkill Ripjaws V DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 TI - EVGA FTW3 - Slave BIOS
Storage 1TB Samsung 970 Evo NVMe
Display(s) AOC AGON AG271QG @ 165 Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S2
Audio Device(s) HyperX Cloud Alpha
Power Supply 850W Seasonic Platinum
Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
Keyboard Logitech G413 - RomerG Switches
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
So, I have my PC directly hooked up to my cable modem. I was not aware there is any other way to get hardwire internet to the only PC in my house?
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
13,110 (2.98/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Phantom
Processor Core i7-8700k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F Black CPU cooler
Memory 2x 16GB Mushkin Redline DDR-4 3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 2TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black; 1x400GB VelRptr; 1x 3TB WD Blue storage (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III (large palm grip!)
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
So, I have my PC directly hooked up to my cable modem. I was not aware there is any other way to get hardwire internet to the only PC in my house?
That's baaad, really bad. :) You need a router, regardless, for security. the built in firewall is necessary, as well as IP-hiding.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,072 (4.27/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
So, I have my PC directly hooked up to my cable modem. I was not aware there is any other way to get hardwire internet to the only PC in my house?
Is it a combined modem/ router?
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,302 (3.09/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Some old Antec
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + slightly modded Sony DR-ZX302
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Sk3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
As one who followed the history of this bug extensively, it's not a different issue. This is the same bug. They are probably just assuming Windows 10 would've autopatched (under normal circumstances it would have).

Or perhaps Windows 10 ships with a more sensible out of the box firewall config. That could explain it too, I guess.
Or a slightly tweaked SMB server. I don't think they assume it is patched in that context.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
571 (0.13/day)
Location
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
System Name Built By Me
Processor Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5.1 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Custom Water Cooling - CPU Only
Memory 32GB (2 x 16) GSkill Ripjaws V DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 TI - EVGA FTW3 - Slave BIOS
Storage 1TB Samsung 970 Evo NVMe
Display(s) AOC AGON AG271QG @ 165 Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S2
Audio Device(s) HyperX Cloud Alpha
Power Supply 850W Seasonic Platinum
Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
Keyboard Logitech G413 - RomerG Switches
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Is it a combined modem/ router?
No, it is just a cable modem provided by my cable company. I have one of the outputs going to my PC and the other output going to my Roku. I don't need wireless for anything else as I have unlimited data for my phone.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
3,729 (1.68/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
That's crazy talk. If they were really working with spy agencies, it be far more easier for them simply to place a backdoor somewhere or write tailor-made software that defeats the OS security.
Yep I love crazy talk. :kookoo: A back door would be too easy for just about anyone to find, and who says they havent written "tailor-made" software, or are all the hundreds of 0Days totally on accident? Even if they are accidental, that means there is almost zero quality control @m$
 

RichardHeartYouTube

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2017
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Evil Ransomware improvements we may see:
1. Infect a friend. Get a discount on your ransom if you infect a friend and they pay.
2. Phone numbers directly to bitcoin vendors. (people running insecure systems love phones.)
3. Phone number to tech support company that bills your credit card to walk you through paying the ransom.
4. Delayed symptoms. Secretly encrypt backups (windows efs might be able to do it nonobviously) Then once all your backups are secretly encrypted, it encrypts the key, and now you can't use backups to save yourself.
5. Deterministic wallet stores all profit in a simple 12 word seed "password"
6. Advertise affiliated antivirus (I hear this is what cloudflare does by hosting bad actors, they inflate their demand from protection from bad actors, just a rumor though.)
7. New address per machine (easier to detect payments made, hides profit total.)
8. Lock computer out in addition to encrypting. (Makes it harder for them to buy bitcoin though.)
$2000 bitcoin sure is crazy. Stay safe, Richard Heart on Youtube.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2008
Messages
1,357 (0.30/day)
Processor RyZen R9 3950X
Motherboard ASRock X570 Taichi
Cooling Coolermaster Master Liquid ML240L RGB
Memory 64GB DDR4 3200 (4x16GB)
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Samsung 1TB SSD
Display(s) Asus VE276Q, VE278Q and VK278Q triple 27” 1920x1080
Case Zulman MS800
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic 650W
Software Windows 10 64bit
I totally agree with the sentiment but governments play by a different set of rules. Fair play simply isn't a consideration and if , the US government for example, didn't exploit vulnerabilities as weapons some other government would without compunction. Same thing with stem-cell research and just about anything else you can shake a stick at,....

This is quasi cold war methodologies though. I would rather have this then real weapons being used and I think most people would agree.

Having said that, it doesn't mean that there can't be a middle ground. For example, the US government, can and should advise the software / firmware companies of the vulnerability but have a standing agreement that such quasi weaponized vulnerabilities would be patched in a stealthy way only within the US and possibly within regions of its friends and allies. This would only be for a predefined period of time though because nothing lasts forever and therefore the genie will eventually get out of the bottle. American companies shouldn't have too much of an issue with this although clearly some would.

Part of the problem though is that the US likely wanted to use these vulnerabilities not just outside of the US but rather on their own population. That kind of mindset makes such problems an inevitability.

Other nations have rejected Windows on some level due to these issues and you really can't blame them for it.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
3,729 (1.68/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
I totally agree with the sentiment but governments play by a different set of rules. Fair play simply isn't a consideration and if , the US government for example, didn't exploit vulnerabilities as weapons some other government would without compunction. Same thing with stem-cell research and just about anything else you can shake a stick at,....

This is quasi cold war methodologies though. I would rather have this then real weapons being used and I think most people would agree.

Having said that, it doesn't mean that there can't be a middle ground. For example, the US government, can and should advise the software / firmware companies of the vulnerability but have a standing agreement that such quasi weaponized vulnerabilities would be patched in a stealthy way only within the US and possibly within regions of its friends and allies. This would only be for a predefined period of time though because nothing lasts forever and therefore the genie will eventually get out of the bottle. American companies shouldn't have too much of an issue with this although clearly some would.

Part of the problem though is that the US likely wanted to use these vulnerabilities not just outside of the US but rather on their own population. That kind of mindset makes such problems an inevitability.

Other nations have rejected Windows on some level due to these issues and you really can't blame them for it.
The USG's attitude is "its us, or its them, and we need to keep our jobs.".
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Messages
881 (0.20/day)
Processor Intel Core i3-8100
Motherboard ASRock H370 Pro4
Cooling Cryorig M9i
Memory 16GB G.Skill Aegis DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1060 WindForce OC 3GB
Storage Crucial MX500 512GB SSD
Display(s) Dell S2316M LCD
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black Pearl
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Corsair CX600M
Mouse Logitech M500
Keyboard Lenovo KB1021 USB
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
No, it is just a cable modem provided by my cable company. I have one of the outputs going to my PC and the other output going to my Roku. I don't need wireless for anything else as I have unlimited data for my phone.
In other words, your PC is directly attached to the Internet, and dangerously exposed. You need a good firewall (software or hardware) a.s.a.p.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
13,253 (2.79/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) AMD RX 5700 XT (XFX THICC Ultra III)
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply SeaSonic Prime 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (yes, it's legit.)
Yep I love crazy talk. :kookoo: A back door would be too easy for just about anyone to find, and who says they havent written "tailor-made" software, or are all the hundreds of 0Days totally on accident? Even if they are accidental, that means there is almost zero quality control @m$
If you understood how C compilers worked, you'd know why this happens and realize what you are saying is indeed crazy talk.

Buffer overflow attacks are almost par for the course with any lower level language such as C. Cost of entry.

Evil Ransomware improvements we may see:
1. Infect a friend. Get a discount on your ransom if you infect a friend and they pay.
2. Phone numbers directly to bitcoin vendors. (people running insecure systems love phones.)
3. Phone number to tech support company that bills your credit card to walk you through paying the ransom.
4. Delayed symptoms. Secretly encrypt backups (windows efs might be able to do it nonobviously) Then once all your backups are secretly encrypted, it encrypts the key, and now you can't use backups to save yourself.
5. Deterministic wallet stores all profit in a simple 12 word seed "password"
6. Advertise affiliated antivirus (I hear this is what cloudflare does by hosting bad actors, they inflate their demand from protection from bad actors, just a rumor though.)
7. New address per machine (easier to detect payments made, hides profit total.)
8. Lock computer out in addition to encrypting. (Makes it harder for them to buy bitcoin though.)
$2000 bitcoin sure is crazy. Stay safe, Richard Heart on Youtube.
Much of what you describe has already happened, just not with this variant.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2017
Messages
93 (0.07/day)
As a power user, I have had all incoming and outgoing SMB ports blocked on my firewall for at least 10-years now. Who knows what else might come along that might exploit some other vulnerability that may or may not be blocked by my firewall. Fortunately, I have never gotten a virus in my 20+ years of internet use.

However, since the Windows 10 update that was released in July of 16', I have disabled updates on my HTPC. Perhaps there will be those in this thread who will jump all over me for that, however, every time I have tried to update my HTPC since July of last year, something has broken that I use and consider essential that it functions every time I use that PC. Before anyone jumps on me for disabling updates, search for things like "Windows 10 black screen" (a particularly nasty one which a co-worker and I experienced) or "Windows 10 update breaks WiFi". Solutions for many of the issues do not exist, and going to Microsoft's support site is almost worthless when the supposed experts almost always respond with inane responses that often amount to "Is your computer on?"

Everyone may not realize this, however, Windows 10 updates are riddled with bugs some of which are serious enough to make a PC completely unusable, and it appears to be random as to whether or not your particular configuration of hardware and software will be impacted when a 10 update is applied. I simply do not want to spend the time to test an update, and ensure that it works when I apply it. That is supposed to be the job of Microsoft. Fortunately, I disk image before I attempt an update, so reverting is not that much of a time consumer; however, the update itself usually is a big time consumer.

So there is a tough choice here. Apply a 10 update, and potentially end up with a computer that is completely unusable, or apply the update and be safe from potential vulnerabilities if you are lucky enough not to encounter a bug in the update that breaks the PC.

To me, if an Update renders a PC unusable, then the update is much worse than a virus. I started with Win 3.1, and as I see it, 10 updates have been as bad as NT updates which could almost always be counted on to blue screen any PC on which they were installed. As I see it, Microsoft needs to stop pushing out Windows 10 updates that break either the entire computer or any subsystem that may be in use.

If Microsoft had wanted to, they could have their own people testing all the OS releases for vulnerabilities, and, as I see it (since they did not) they now want to pass the buck to the NSA for the release of this vulnerability. I realize that testing is expensive, but one thing that I don't think anyone in their right mind will argue is that with Big Bill's Billions, vulnerability testing would have been a drop in the bucket to his bank account.

As I see it, Microsoft should be doing a better job with update testing and vulnerability testing, and they have no excuse for the lackadaisical job they are currently doing with each.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2017
Messages
93 (0.07/day)
No, it is just a cable modem provided by my cable company. I have one of the outputs going to my PC and the other output going to my Roku. I don't need wireless for anything else as I have unlimited data for my phone.
Hmm, if those two outputs (or more if they exist) are Ethernet ports, to me at least, suggests that it may be a modem with a router. I suggest double-checking. Typically, the modem only devices, such as the one that I have, have only one Ethernet port.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2015
Messages
45 (0.02/day)
Processor AMD R7 3800X EKWB
Motherboard Asus Tuf B450M-Pro µATX +MosfetWB (x2)
Cooling EKWB on CPU + GPU / Heatkiller 60/80 on Mosfets / Black Ice SR-1 240mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill DDR4 3200C14 @ ----
Video Card(s) Vega64 EKWB
Storage Samsung 512GB NVMe 3.0 x4 / Crucial P1 1TB NVMe 3.0 x2
Display(s) Asus ProArt 23" 1080p / Acer 27" 144Hz FreeSync IPS
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini R2
Power Supply SeaSonic 850W
Keyboard Ducky One TKL / MX Brown
No, it is just a cable modem provided by my cable company. I have one of the outputs going to my PC and the other output going to my Roku. I don't need wireless for anything else as I have unlimited data for my phone.
If you open the start menu and type "CMD", then run an "IPCONFIG /ALL" (without the quotes each time), do you get an IP like 192.168.x.x , or something else ?
Do NOT post your full IP here, but you can post the first two numbers pretty safely (the first two numbers might give out your location (country) or service provider, if you're worried, don't post any of it.)

My original ADSL modem (years ago) used to be plugged in the USB port of the PC, never used it, bought a Netgear Modem/router instead ;) and configured it to work.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,072 (4.27/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
No, it is just a cable modem provided by my cable company. I have one of the outputs going to my PC and the other output going to my Roku. I don't need wireless for anything else as I have unlimited data for my phone.
Usually ISP's cheap out with the units they supply, but generally they are combined modem/ router, that's why I asked.
 

TheMailMan78

Big Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,599 (4.69/day)
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
Um, you guys understand there is a back door built into almost everyone of your CPUs on a hardware level don't ya?

Also the logic of this editorial is flawed. As long as defence systems are not effected, security agencies will ALWAYS stockpile. Think about our nuclear arsenal. Difference is they didn't protect it like the should have. They need to stop scouring this stuff out to contractors and keep it at a military level like we do our nukes. If they did, this wouldn't have happened.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
3,729 (1.68/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
Um, you guys understand there is a back door built into almost everyone of your CPUs on a hardware level don't ya?

Also the logic of this editorial is flawed. As long as defence systems are not effected, security agencies will ALWAYS stockpile. Think about our nuclear arsenal. Difference is they didn't protect it like the should have. They need to stop scouring this stuff out to contractors and keep it at a military level like we do our nukes. If they did, this wouldn't have happened.
You got proof about those back doors? Or are ya just wearing a condom for no reason?
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
3,729 (1.68/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
Top