1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[WTB] Want: Socket A (462) Heatsink Fan & Northbridge Heatsink Fan

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by [AK]Zip, Sep 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. [AK]Zip

    [AK]Zip New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    287 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    I should have all I need. If not I will reopen this. Thanks to everyone who offered help.

    So like always I gave away all of my older stuff and now I need some stuff to complete an older system.

    I need any cpu and northbridge hsf that will mount on a socket a cpu/motherboard. I don't really care what hsf it is as long as it will work. Just let me know what you have and how much you want for it shipped to Texas.

    Thanks,
    Alex
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2011
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Heatware:
    401 0 0 
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,435 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,196
    Location:
    Wyoming
    :laugh::laugh::laugh:I'll bet i know what that system is for:roll:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. [AK]Zip

    [AK]Zip New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    287 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    What is the system for? :confused:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Heatware:
    401 0 0 
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,435 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,196
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Wouldn't be the contest would it? :rockout:

    I am also digging around all my crap trying to find what I know I have; both cpu and northbridge coolers. I think they are all in storage, so I will run out there later today and check. If I do I will just ship them to ya man. :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Heatware:
    0 0 0 
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,451 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,793
    who cares, Heres the Deal, Win 7 Will Run fine on it, but Nvidia scrapped drivers for vista n have none for 7 for the NF2 Chipset. Yet Via Tech n others have drivers for Vista. Drivers for Vista Work in Win 7 just fine
     
  6. [AK]Zip

    [AK]Zip New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    287 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    I am building this as a system to give away to someone who needs it more than I do. On side note what contest? Link? :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,169 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,989
    I've got tons of coolers, but it would be pretty expensive to ship them to Texas. Good luck thouhg. :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Heatware:
    401 0 0 
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,435 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,196
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Heatware:
    0 0 0 
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,451 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,793
    Well As Im saying to get max potential on it while using Win 7, Run 2-3 Gigs (4 if the board supports it- only Via KT880 Chipset supports 4 Gigs)

    Nvidia Scrapped NF2 and NF3 chipsets from Win Vista and Higher with driver support, even though they are very capable of running those OS.

    Best bet would to go on Ebay and search or motherboard pro

    Heres the Link to several boards

    http://www.amdboard.com/via_kt880.html
     
  10. [AK]Zip

    [AK]Zip New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    287 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Thanks and thanks for the heads up on the contest. I may try and enter. :)

    I do not want to buy anything for this build other than the heatsinks since I already have everything to build a complete functional system. I don't care about Windows 7 for this old build. Will be running Windows XP.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Heatware:
    851 0 0 
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,960 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,525
    I have fans, but no heatsinks to go with them. Bump for your generousity.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Jetster

    Jetster

    Heatware:
    26 0 0 
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9,346 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,706
    Location:
    Oregon
    I might have a HS...Ill look

    This is what I have ...

    if I remember right its a 462 Texas ant that far...Ill ship it free if you need it

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2011
  13. [AK]Zip

    [AK]Zip New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    287 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    That may just work. What size fan would I need to fit on that? Also do you know if it would be able to cool an Athlon XP 2500+? I know it was a bit complicated with those CPU's unless you bought the top end coolers.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Jetster

    Jetster

    Heatware:
    26 0 0 
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9,346 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,706
    Location:
    Oregon
  15. BeepBeep2

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    237 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    o_O
    That's a 754/939/AM2/AM2+/AM3/FM1/AM3+ (looool compatibility) cooler, Socket A hold down bracket looks nothing like that. Those exact heatsinks still come with AM3 Athlon II CPUs, and I'd imagine low end Bulldozer parts too

    I've got a cooler in an old Socket A rig, however I can't get it off due to the way they were designed. It was only rated for 2200+ anyway. I can't pry the clip off the motherboard retention bracket.
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2011
  16. Jetster

    Jetster

    Heatware:
    26 0 0 
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9,346 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,706
    Location:
    Oregon
    Now that I think about it didnt the socket A have a notch on one side about 1/2 inch wide? And the stock retainer was spring loaded and you used a screw driver to push down on a tab to unlatch it
    [​IMG] So mine wont work
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2011
  17. [AK]Zip

    [AK]Zip New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    287 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Yes I am pretty sure it was notched on one side due to the socket itself. The retainer was spring loaded not sure about the screw driver. I would have remember this if it wasn't for the fact that the entire time I used the Athlon XP CPU's I was on water cooling.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.