1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Want to try Vista SP2 beta?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Solaris17, Nov 22, 2008.

  1. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    898
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Is this one going to be similar to 1 in where if your up to date with your updates ya wont have as big a download?
     
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,204 (4.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,071
    Location:
    Florida
    i was upto date with all of mine and SP2 was around 400mb
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,181 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    731
    you probly wont notice the speed increase that much with a quad cpu or a fast dual but i think on older systems things will be better
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. James1991

    James1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    267 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Port Lincoln, South Australia
    YAY, 100% on stage 3 of 3 and guess what popped up on the screen. "service pack did not install, reverting changes". i still hate it
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,204 (4.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,071
    Location:
    Florida
    do a disk clean up do a registry clean up and make absolutely 100% sure that you defrag and delete everything in the temp nd prefetch folders i run into this problem at work...and these steps fix it ...as well as people who have updates pending (little sheild icon next to shutdown button in start menu)
     
    James1991 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. James1991

    James1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    267 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Port Lincoln, South Australia
    im cleaning the registry and just deleted 2.6GB of temporary crap:eek:. i will continue to delete stuff i dont need and then try it again
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,204 (4.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,071
    Location:
    Florida
    remember to do everything above it increases your odds :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. James1991

    James1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    267 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Port Lincoln, South Australia
    yeah, the prefetch and the 3 temp folders i found are empty, im checking for file system errors. i did a registry clean(did a few until no more errors), 737 problems:laugh:. then i will defrag and try again and i will let you know what happens:)

    oh and i dont have any updates waiting:)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,204 (4.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,071
    Location:
    Florida
    did you delete the stuff in the "temp" folder? its in the same folder you found prefetch
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. James1991

    James1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    267 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Port Lincoln, South Australia
    yep
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,204 (4.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,071
    Location:
    Florida
    cool well GL dude :)
     
    James1991 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. James1991

    James1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    267 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Port Lincoln, South Australia
    im defraging then i will see what happens
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,052 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    MS are moving away from HUGE Service Pack downloads, instead they will check what updates you already have, then only download what is needed. Also you will be REQUIRED to have SP1 first, so no SP2 from RTM.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    898
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    So more of the same excellent.
     
  15. James1991

    James1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    267 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Port Lincoln, South Australia
    no luck here, exact same thing happened "service pack did not install - reverting changes"

    i will just wait for the real one and if that doesn't work then FORMAT:rockout:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    898
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    I was about to say that obviously there something your sytem dont like =/
     
  17. James1991

    James1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    267 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Port Lincoln, South Australia
    my system is just too good for SP2:D. i will be formatting soon anyway so i can use RAID but i will wait for the full SP2 and see if it installs straight after a format
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)