• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

WANTED: mATX s775 C2D compatible with 4xDDR

Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,377 (1.53/day)
Likes
984
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#1
I'm looking to transfer my system over to C2D / E6600. But I would like to keep my 4 x 512MB Corsairs = 2GB and transfer them to the new mainboard. Board needs to be mATX format, otherwise don't care if PCEx16 or AGP.

Anyone got any suggestions? The only ones I've found, like ASUS and ASROCK are 2xDDR only, losing 2 sticks of RAM shrinking my memory footprint to 1GB which is not clever in a dual CPU multitasking system.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
#2
I'm looking to transfer my system over to C2D / E6600. But I would like to keep my 4 x 512MB Corsairs = 2GB and transfer them to the new mainboard. Board needs to be mATX format, otherwise don't care if PCEx16 or AGP.

Anyone got any suggestions? The only ones I've found, like ASUS and ASROCK are 2xDDR only, losing 2 sticks of RAM shrinking my memory footprint to 1GB which is not clever in a dual CPU multitasking system.
Whats the speed of the ram?
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,377 (1.53/day)
Likes
984
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#3
Corsair XMS Extreme CL2 stuff. Money to go into C2D, not small % gains from changing memory format to DDR2.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
#4
But your going to have a problem using all 4 sticks with the mobo's ive seen about, could you not sell it and get 2 sticks of 1gb ddr2, then atleast you can get all 2gb's and you get the board you want for what you want!
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,377 (1.53/day)
Likes
984
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#5
That exactly the route I was trying to avoid, and hence my OP. I cannot sell my memory FIRST... otherwise I will have a PC that doesnt work... and if I sell it second, then I need to finance the new memory. But either way, I'm having to both buy and sell (timewasting and always lose a margin) for what is, essentially, a memory format change without significant change in performance. (Unlike changing the CPU).

Nonetheless, thanks for the suggestion.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
#6
That exactly the route I was trying to avoid, and hence my OP. I cannot sell my memory FIRST... otherwise I will have a PC that doesnt work... and if I sell it second, then I need to finance the new memory. But either way, I'm having to both buy and sell (timewasting and always lose a margin) for what is, essentially, a memory format change without significant change in performance. (Unlike changing the CPU).

Nonetheless, thanks for the suggestion.
Good look finding a mobo that you want!
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,565 (0.62/day)
Likes
272
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#7
sux ! . i got an asrock dual vsta to keep compatibility with pc 3200 ram taht i
had , but now im thinking of getting a gigabyte board. all the talk of
incredible overclocks is too much.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
#8
Joined
Sep 24, 2005
Messages
242 (0.05/day)
Likes
30
#9
Have you taken a look at these: AsRock ConRoe865VG, ConRoe865PE,775i65G, or ASUS P5P800-VM? They all force you to compromise a bit though!
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2005
Messages
242 (0.05/day)
Likes
30
#10
Yeah, P5P800-VM needs a voltmod or bios tweak to get past Pentium D. The ony one that supports what you want to do is the ConRoe865PE and it is ATX!
 

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956 (2.07/day)
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
#11
there is a asus p5b-vm, probabily the best m-atx conroe board out there :)
4 slots
 

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956 (2.07/day)
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
#12