• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Wanting to upgrade, need some advice

Satchmo

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
406 (0.10/day)
Likes
0
Location
cali
Processor A64 3200+ @ 2.7ghz Venice S-939 33c idle 40c load
Motherboard MSI RD480 Neo2-FI Crossfire 200
Cooling Arctic ALPINE 64 on CPU, Arctic silencer on GPU
Memory 2x 1GB Wintec Ampo DDR450 2.5,3,3,6 T1 DualChannel
Video Card(s) X1600XT HIS @ 650core/810 44c idle 62c load
Storage HITACHI Deskstar 7K80 80GB 3.5" S-ATA@150mbps
Display(s) CRT 17" E-View
Case Spire BlueFin SP-6190U Blue/Silver
Audio Device(s) Azalia High-Defintion integrated audio
Power Supply Aspire 520 Watt W/ 35a 12v Rail
Software WindowsXP Pro SP2, 6.4 Catalyst, ATI tool .25 beta
#1
Hello,

PC specs:

CPU: 2.2ghz athlon 64 800mhz newcastle

MOBO: No clue, its got radeon x200 integrated which i never used, only has 2- dimm slots, one pciX16 slot, bios wont let me OC anything. its an award-pheonix bios, no options for clocks/multipliers/voltage for ram/cpu.

RAM: 2x (1g G.skill) pc3200 ddr 400 both CAS 3.3.3.8, very loose timings but like i said mobo wont let me touch timings. benchmarks report read/write are both ~3gb/s so im not too concerned.

Main Video card: X1600 XT with HIS aftermarket fan @ 650 core, 810 ram (1620 effective)
which claims to be crossfire ready but doesnt use the external connector for communication.

I upgraded from an X600 pro when i first bought this computer, which i was not happy spending $120 at the time.

so reviewing what i have, i check out my favorite store newegg to see what the next step for each item would be.

the only upgrade for 754 socket is athlon 64 2.4ghz for ~ $150 which is a very good price but the speed increase wont be worth it as its the same processor just x12 clock instead of my x11. So spending $150 wouldnt be worth it in my mind.

so i thought instead why not buy a new mobo which i can overclock the cpu to 2.4-2.6, and up my ram timings. this way, i will get an increase in perfromance from many components for the price of an upgrade to one component.

so my main questions are, should i stick with socket 754 and get mobo i can OC?
if so what would be a good motherboard to buy that supports ddr400 pc 3200, athlon 64 2.2Ghz+ cpu 2-4 dimmslots, and will let me overclock cpu ram and voltage.

and can my x600 pro be used with x1600xt for crossfire?
if so what mobo has crossfire and all of the above?

money isnt really an issue, i just finished payments on my car, and have $800 to spare.
thank you in advance for your advice.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#2
I'd say get a new mobo and overclock... as for which motherboard to buy, I'd recommend looking on a few sites, reading reviews, looking for one that matches your criteria.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,956 (1.36/day)
Likes
830
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#3
if u want noticably better gaming performance buy a better grfx card..

noting else will give u any real benefits except in cpu and memory bandwidth benchmarks..

and if money really aint an issue.. make it a x1900xtx.. u might need a better psu to go with it thow..

trog
 

Satchmo

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
406 (0.10/day)
Likes
0
Location
cali
Processor A64 3200+ @ 2.7ghz Venice S-939 33c idle 40c load
Motherboard MSI RD480 Neo2-FI Crossfire 200
Cooling Arctic ALPINE 64 on CPU, Arctic silencer on GPU
Memory 2x 1GB Wintec Ampo DDR450 2.5,3,3,6 T1 DualChannel
Video Card(s) X1600XT HIS @ 650core/810 44c idle 62c load
Storage HITACHI Deskstar 7K80 80GB 3.5" S-ATA@150mbps
Display(s) CRT 17" E-View
Case Spire BlueFin SP-6190U Blue/Silver
Audio Device(s) Azalia High-Defintion integrated audio
Power Supply Aspire 520 Watt W/ 35a 12v Rail
Software WindowsXP Pro SP2, 6.4 Catalyst, ATI tool .25 beta
#4
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.23/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#5
The X600 Pro's aren't Crossfire Ready. The X1600XT's are and I think on the new RD580 MoBo's you don't need an external dongle, just another X1600XT from HiS. ATI is having a contest selling 2 X1600XT's of the same kind from Sapphire and they don't use the external dongle either, they're not even slave or master cards too, which I like because getting Master/Slave cards isn't as simple as nVidia's SLI, where you just get the exact same card.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.23/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#6
Wait, I just noticed that you got an SLI MoBo, so you can't use CrossFire anyway because you don't have the RD580 chip on the MoBo, it uses nForce.
 

Satchmo

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
406 (0.10/day)
Likes
0
Location
cali
Processor A64 3200+ @ 2.7ghz Venice S-939 33c idle 40c load
Motherboard MSI RD480 Neo2-FI Crossfire 200
Cooling Arctic ALPINE 64 on CPU, Arctic silencer on GPU
Memory 2x 1GB Wintec Ampo DDR450 2.5,3,3,6 T1 DualChannel
Video Card(s) X1600XT HIS @ 650core/810 44c idle 62c load
Storage HITACHI Deskstar 7K80 80GB 3.5" S-ATA@150mbps
Display(s) CRT 17" E-View
Case Spire BlueFin SP-6190U Blue/Silver
Audio Device(s) Azalia High-Defintion integrated audio
Power Supply Aspire 520 Watt W/ 35a 12v Rail
Software WindowsXP Pro SP2, 6.4 Catalyst, ATI tool .25 beta
#7
yeah lol i saw that too afterwards...i came to realize there is no such thing as a crossfire ready motherboard for socket 754 cpus...thats crazy.

so im doing an RMA for the SLI one and getting this combo instead

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813130038R
and
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103535

so im moving from 2.2ghz newcastle 754 to 2.0ghz venice 939...200 mhz less on a 400mhz faster FSB, should i expect a difference in overall performance if i leave the 2.0 venice at stock speed?

ive read people pushing the 939 2.0ghz venice to 2.53 with stock cooling and voltage... im getting a arctic 64 so i think ill up the voltage and see what i can do.

so my x600 wont work but my x1600xt will... so next time i buy a video card does it have to be the one with the fat Y cable and plug? or do they communicate across the pci bus?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,956 (1.36/day)
Likes
830
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#8
nope i would guess overall performance would work out about the same..

u will when u buy another x1600 and run two grfx cards thow.. he he

being able to run crossfire is about the only real gain u have made.. not doing it would be a waste.. course just bunging that x1900xt type card in your old set up would have given u a super gaming system with two gigs of system memory.. but there u go..

trog
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,103 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,258
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#9
at stock it should work out to about the same as the 939 has dual memory and a higher fsb to make up for the clock loss, as for temps you'll notice ahuge drop vs the newcastle and the 3200 venice is capable of hitting 2.8 on a good aircooler like the one you bought.