1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Water Chiller - that's her modified for Subzero ;-)

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Nicholas Peyton, Jan 12, 2017.

  1. Nicholas Peyton

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    441 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Scotland
    EDIT: 22/01/2017

    delete_me.jpg

    Frost ;-)
    20170122_023223b.jpg




    -------------------------------------------




    ORIGINAL MESSAGE: 12/01/2017



    Quite pleased with myself tonight, lol.
    err... Google...... :respect:

    Never broke anything; and it's working perfectly (so far lol -- I hope the wire I used, was thick enough) :slap:

    It might just be me, my excitement; but I am actually sure, it is cooling more powerfully too. (Usually by now, with GPU & CPU fully loaded + overclocked, falling water temp would have slowed) :wtf:


    Thermostat set to 32c -- but Chiller still running at temp of 25c (for demonstration) :)

    After my insulation order arrives, (and I've set it all up) I'll update this video showing sub-zero temps,

    Front cover off
    beautiful.jpg


    front panel & thermometer disconnected
    front panel & thermometer disconnected.jpg


    First Attempt (brown wire)
    first_attempt_a.jpg


    What a donut; I never cut wire long enough:banghead:
    first_attempt_b.jpg



    That's more like it :) (outside left, to outside right, blue wire) this bypasses thermostat; chiller now runs as soon as power is switched on; regardless of water temperature
    2nd_attempt_with_longer_wire_(in_blue).jpg



    to regain Temperature Control & still have sub-zero
    and/or
    Run off external temp controller

    -If I wanted; I could wire a Ranco Temperature Controller up to a Surge Protector/Extension.
    -Plug the Water Chiller in to the Surge Protector/Extension.
    external temp_controller.jpg
    -The Ranco Temperature Controller applies power to the SP/Extension socket when the temperature reaches what you set it to.
    -You can learn how to wire a Surge Protector/Extension to a Ranco Temperature Controller at you-tube :)






    So far:
    1) Pick a subzero compatible coolant
    (complete, 2 picked out; 1 for backup) :toast:
    2) Modify Chiller electrics for subzero (complete):toast:

    3) Insulation (never done this before -- research starts now) any advice?








    ~My Dream Machine~
    EK_and_Chiller - Grega.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2017
    Knoxx29 and phanbuey say thanks.
  2. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    25,635 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,859
    Location:
    Houston
    Fix the tubing so it isn't uselessly long in the case and run the same style insulation you have in the cooler on the tubing. The board is a bit more work.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Nicholas Peyton

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    441 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Scotland
    Thanks,.. this is.. I suppose.. maybe going to be the scariest part of all :)

    especially where the GPU is concerned :) (insulation)
     
  4. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,773 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,363
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    These are great... benchies and temps!


    Would it help the chiller if you ran the triple rad prior to it hitting? or would that just create additional condensation?
     
    Nicholas Peyton says thanks.
  5. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    25,635 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,859
    Location:
    Houston
    It would help to remove the radiator.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Toothless

    Toothless

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    4,586 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,397
    Location:
    Washington, USA
    Way too much tubing. More tubing seems like it would have more area for heat to get back in before it hits the chip.
     
    Mr.Scott and Nicholas Peyton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. basco

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    756 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    398
    Location:
    austria
    i really dont want to spoil your enthusiasm.
    just my opinion
    i think you should have let the chiller be chiller and get a single stage for benching thats the only way for really going below 0° except ln² or dry ice
    but i see you like pushing your hardware.
     
    Nicholas Peyton says thanks.
  8. Nicholas Peyton

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    441 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Scotland
    Radiator isn't connected. Just left it in the top of the case.. its not affecting anything. Almost forgot it was there. The fans are still left spinning at their lowest setting to help create good airflow (they're on exhaust) and the front is on intake. Not that any of this will matter much during a subzero run...

    Evening,

    Last step on my little mission, is figuring out the insulation requirements for condensation.

    After a bit of research, I placed orders tonight for all this:




    • Duct Tape - self explanatory (this is also waterproof) £4



    Total = £40 (after delivery costs about £55 due to all from different suppliers)

    Can anyone think of anything I've missed?

    Thanks :)


    Nick Peyton
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 14, 2017
  9. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,626 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Art eraser you said you have some is it the gray one?

    You can knead it and it should get softer or also stretch it out or folded over and over just to make it softer to work with
     
    Nicholas Peyton says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Nicholas Peyton

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    441 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Scotland
    I was scared to bump this.

    Thank you, for following this up, after the other thread was closed.:)

    I've found this on Ebay:
    "Kneaded putty rubber which can be moulded and shaped by hand. Ideal for picking out highlights and erasing pencil, chalk or charcoal.
    Approximate eraser dimensions: 48mm x 37mm"
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Koh-I-Noo...224323?hash=item360e2f71c3:g:mN4AAOSwB09YRvYS

    Perfect, thank you. I've ordered 7.




    ------------------------

    On a similar note;


    Dielectric Grease - anyone have an opinion on this? I've read conflicting information....

    Is it easy to remove without corroding your equipment in the removal process?
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2017
  11. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4,363 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,059
    Location:
    Behind a VPN
    It won't create condensation.

    As you can see i kept the Radiator.

    IMG_20170114_125418.jpg

    The reason i kept the Radiator.

    Keeping the radiator it's something positive in winter months, i have a 280mm Rad inside the case with 2 fans attached to it, the water that flows into the radiator makes the Rad very cold + 2 fans pushing air inside the Machine through the Rad at 1200rpm helps to keep temps inside the Machine at least 1c less than the room's temperature.

    Right now the room's temperature is 17c and inside the Machine is 16.1c
     
    CAPSLOCKSTUCK says thanks.
  12. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    25,635 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,859
    Location:
    Houston
    You lose efficiency from the chiller when you leave the radiator in the loop. If the goal is the best water temps it needs to go.
     
    Aquinus, theoneandonlymrk and Mr.Scott say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Mr.Scott

    Mr.Scott

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    764 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,106
    Location:
    Spencerport NY
    Only place I use dielectric grease is in the socket. Yes, you can clean it out without damage.
     
    Nicholas Peyton says thanks.
  14. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4,363 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,059
    Location:
    Behind a VPN
    Give me a good reason.

    If you're looking for -c maybe it could be but for what i need it i don't think so.
     
  15. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    25,635 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,859
    Location:
    Houston
    It's not a thought thing if you run chilled water through a radiator with higher temperature air pushed through it you literally heat the water.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4,363 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,059
    Location:
    Behind a VPN
    How am i heating the water?
     
    Nicholas Peyton says thanks.
  17. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    25,635 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,859
    Location:
    Houston
    If the air temperature is above the water temperature then using the radiator will heat the water.

    Something about physics.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Nicholas Peyton

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    441 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Scotland
    You're chiller will be working harder IF you're running the water temperature below your ambient.. If you're running it anywhere above ambient -- you're probably helping the Chiller... it all depends on ambient. I know you don't have a heater in your room :)

    Its entirely up to you, though, how you want to run it.. it depends on what suits your needs the most :) The quick connect/disconnect was a very good idea.

    Some people during gaming may have a water temp that will equalise at between 28-32c. If you only plan on running at 18c (for peace of mind that you're a still 5-10c cooler than an extra radiator could ever, have managed) then I don't see a problem with that :)

    You probably paid the cost of 2 radiators for the "guaranteed" 18c(?) which you will always be able to match, regardless of day-to-day differences in ambient/weather. You'd never have this level of consistency simply buying more radiators.. but with the Chiller.. you do :)

    So again it all depends what your goal is, if you're happy that's the main thing :)

    You still, of course.. have the extra power to go even lower if you are feeling more adventurous one day... again.. if you'd just upgraded your radiators... you'd of had to roll your rig outside to get another 10c. So again, the Chiller still wins.. in my eyes :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2017
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  19. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4,363 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,059
    Location:
    Behind a VPN
    It depends how you set the loop, if i would have the Rad between Chiller and CPU i would agree with you but i have the loop set this way: Pump/reservoir ---->Rad---->Chiller---->CPU
    the last component in the loop is the Rad because in that way the water that goes from the Rad to the Chiller before it goes to the CPU it has been already cooled.
     
  20. Mr.Scott

    Mr.Scott

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    764 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,106
    Location:
    Spencerport NY
    Doesn't matter. The order affects nothing. Fact is, that rad pumping ambient air into your chilled loop is heating it up slightly, and giving you a very large condensation target.
     
    Aquinus and cdawall say thanks.
  21. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4,363 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,059
    Location:
    Behind a VPN
    There is no way that it will heat the water because the ambient air is cooler than the Chiller's water temp.

    The water temp it is not running below ambient.

    I know that very well:toast:

    I will running it depending the Machine's needs, could be lower than 18c or maybe higher.


    Ambient temperature

    IMG_20170114_193825.jpg


    Water temperature

    IMG_20170114_193804.jpg

    Temp inside Machine

    IMG_20170114_195532.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2017
  22. Mr.Scott

    Mr.Scott

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    764 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,106
    Location:
    Spencerport NY
    In your case, I concede. Normal people's ambient is usually between 20-23c. I had no idea that you live in a morgue.
     
  23. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,626 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Why is this even going on in the op thread?

    And 4.5 oc with a chiller Knoxx?
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2017
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4,363 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,059
    Location:
    Behind a VPN
    I don't use a Heater in the room where i have my Machines, that is why i have low ambient temps.

    Maybe i am not normal,:rolleyes: i hate Heaters, it doesn't matter how cold it is i don't use the heater.

    A big heater.

    I just use it to decorate the room:roll:

    20170114_200702.jpg


    4.6GHz

    The CPU it is not mine, that's why i don't OC higher.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2017
  25. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,626 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    TX, USA
    What a waste I run 4.6 on air lol
     
    Toothless, jaggerwild and eidairaman1 say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)