• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Water cooled system overheating?!

Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
31 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#1
CPU is overheating on boot! Can't get past the BIOS, temps are 65+.
Leak tested for hours and ran good. Using distilled water. Any suggestions?
 

Attachments

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.39/day)
Likes
14,252
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#2
I'm almost certain that there isn't proper contact between the CPU block and the CPU. I'd make sure that it's mounted properly and that the thermal paste is spreading properly.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,578 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,944
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#3
What is posted above. BUt...

CPU is overheating on boot! Can't get past the BIOS, temps are 65+.
Leak tested for hours and ran good. Using distilled water. Any suggestions?
Looks like loop goes from GPU, then CPU?

Honestly, I think that your loop is too complex for that single pump. I'd re-route it, res-pump-CPU-RAD-GPU-RAD, or CPU-GPU-RAD-RAD.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#7
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
4,014 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,832
System Name Abacus
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock p67 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X, EK HF Copper, 2.120 rad, 3.120 rad
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Sniper 1600
Video Card(s) 2 Zotac GTX 770 4GB w/ FC EK Blocks
Storage WD 640BG x2/WD 250GB/Samsung 2TB
Display(s) QNIX 27" PLS
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply EVGA G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MX Brown
Software Windows 10
#9
That's a DDC style pump with an after market top, so it should have enough head for the two rads and blocks. I'm assuming since you did all the leak testing that you can see movement in your res, so water is flowing. The res before the pump is a great rule of thumb, but with the location of your pump it's not going to be starved of water. I'm betting things will be just fine after a remount, but honestly, things have to be really jacked up mounting wise for the cpu to get that hot so quickly, the problem should be visible to the naked eye. I don't think too much TIM would screw things up that badly, your block would have to be cockeyed, or the sticker would still have to be on the bottom of the block. You have fans on the top of your upper rad?
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
31 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#10
That's a DDC style pump with an after market top, so it should have enough head for the two rads and blocks. I'm assuming since you did all the leak testing that you can see movement in your res, so water is flowing. The res before the pump is a great rule of thumb, but with the location of your pump it's not going to be starved of water. I'm betting things will be just fine after a remount, but honestly, things have to be really jacked up mounting wise for the cpu to get that hot so quickly, the problem should be visible to the naked eye. I don't think too much TIM would screw things up that badly, your block would have to be cockeyed, or the sticker would still have to be on the bottom of the block. You have fans on the top of your upper rad?
I took the sticker off before hand, and yes I have 2 fan for the top 240 rad.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,645 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,895
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#11
I think you've got air in that loop.

It's a very poor logical flow system you have there. You fill the reservoir which drops water into the pump via radiator. But... the water wont simply fill the loop up to reservoir height - it'll get caught by air pockets in the radiator. And when you switch the pump on it'll just suck air which will end up being circulated around that reservoir (especially if it's a bay res).

Unless you spent hours trying to fill it to the brim, I think air in loop. Ideally your pump should be fed cleanly by the fill point (reservoir or fill port). Otherwise air is going to be a problem.

So if you reseat your cpu block and still have the problem, change your loop orientation.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
4,014 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,832
System Name Abacus
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock p67 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X, EK HF Copper, 2.120 rad, 3.120 rad
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Sniper 1600
Video Card(s) 2 Zotac GTX 770 4GB w/ FC EK Blocks
Storage WD 640BG x2/WD 250GB/Samsung 2TB
Display(s) QNIX 27" PLS
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply EVGA G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MX Brown
Software Windows 10
#12
It's a closed loop, and once you put the cap on the reservoir it is pressurized. I imagine both the intake and exits of the res are at the bottom, so air won't magically get sucked into the loop. Regardless, even if the pump was below the res, most loops have the res in or around that position in the case .Sure, it's not ideal, but there isn't any hydraulic flaw with the loop.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#13
Take the side of the case off and post a photo.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,713 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,469
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#14
Take the side of the case off and post a photo.
There is an attachment in the OP;)

@ OP...Do you hear and gurgling when the loop is running?
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
394 (0.16/day)
Likes
158
Processor i7 4770k @ 4.6Ghz
Motherboard Asrock z97 Extreme6
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB @ 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Armor OC
Case Cooltek W2
#15
What rad is that in the front? seems to fit well.

Is the pump defiantly coming on? and the quickest way I can see that would put the loop into a better order would be to swap the hose coming off the bottom of the GPU with the hose going from the RES to the big Radiator at the front
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,578 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,944
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#16
There is an attachment in the OP;)

@ OP...Do you hear and gurgling when the loop is running?
Read loop order.


Pump-rad-res. He's pumping water into the res only, the rest of the loop, the 240 rad up top, the CPU, and the GPU, are running off of pump vacuum and gravity. I don't see how it is even working at all. :p

IF he flipped the pump around...OK...

loop.jpg
 
Last edited:

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,713 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,469
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#17
Res will still build pressure against the trapped air wouldn't it?
In no way would this be the way I ran a loop, but if the res is showing movement I'd go with that. IMHO the draw of the pump would collapse the tube if the flow was insufficient.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,578 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,944
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#18
Res will still build pressure against the trapped air wouldn't it?
In no way would this be the way I ran a loop, but if the res is showing movement, the draw of the pump would collapse the tube if the flow was insufficient.

Yeah, but how much pressure? enough to suck minimal water into the res. I bet the pump isn't even delivering half it's flow.

Like, it's so odd...I dunno wtf is going on there, but high temps, to me, are unsurprising.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
4,014 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,832
System Name Abacus
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock p67 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X, EK HF Copper, 2.120 rad, 3.120 rad
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Sniper 1600
Video Card(s) 2 Zotac GTX 770 4GB w/ FC EK Blocks
Storage WD 640BG x2/WD 250GB/Samsung 2TB
Display(s) QNIX 27" PLS
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply EVGA G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MX Brown
Software Windows 10
#19
Res will still build pressure against the trapped air wouldn't it?
In no way would this be the way I ran a loop, but if the res is showing movement I'd go with that. IMHO the draw of the pump would collapse the tube if the flow was insufficient.
Yup. I agree.

Remember: It's a pressurized loop. Pump placement doesn't mean doodley squat.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
4,014 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,832
System Name Abacus
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock p67 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X, EK HF Copper, 2.120 rad, 3.120 rad
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Sniper 1600
Video Card(s) 2 Zotac GTX 770 4GB w/ FC EK Blocks
Storage WD 640BG x2/WD 250GB/Samsung 2TB
Display(s) QNIX 27" PLS
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply EVGA G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MX Brown
Software Windows 10
#21

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,713 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,469
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#23
I still say if the tube from GPU to pump isn't collapsing he has mounting issues or trapped air. Even with minimal flow he should be able to boot without overheating it. I could see under stress, but I have booted air coolers with the plastic still on the base and they boot to windows at 50some degrees.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
394 (0.16/day)
Likes
158
Processor i7 4770k @ 4.6Ghz
Motherboard Asrock z97 Extreme6
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB @ 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Armor OC
Case Cooltek W2
#25
excuse the crude edit but its late over here, this would be the easiest fix for your loop order imo