• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Water Cooling Question

Joined
Jan 1, 2021
Messages
82 (0.24/day)
So I have a nzxt kraken 280, what I would like to know is can I remove the tubing and put it onto a res/pump combo perferablly the thermaltake one, with an alpha cool 560 rad, and using ek cryo fuel coolant, is such a thing possible to do?
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
1,043 (0.73/day)
System Name Silent
Processor R9 5950x @5.2 ST PBO2/ 4.7 MT Curve Optimiser
Motherboard Asus Strix X570i Gaming
Cooling Optimus AMD Raw Copper/Plexi, EK Copper 240/40mm, Utilitube D5, 4x NF-A12x25, Mayhems XTR Nano White
Memory 16GB G-Skill Trident Z Neo 4000 14-16-14-28 w/2x NF-A4x10 fan
Video Card(s) Rtx 3070 Founders
Storage Optane 800p 118gb, Samsung 980 Pro 1tb
Display(s) 32" 240hz 1440p Samsung G7 , 32" 1440p 60hz
Case Sliger SM570 Custom 13-Litre
Audio Device(s) Schiit Hel, Vmoda Crossfade M100 Master, Razer Nommo Pro
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum
Mouse Razer Viper Ultimate
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Elite w/Mercury PBT keycaps
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
3,329 (5.11/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99 & Q9550 Old timer
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/EK Magnitude & Q9550 w/EK Evo
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth & Acer WG43M
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb & 4x2gb crucial
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming & Onboard graphic's need another gpu
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center/ 2 Test benches
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.1x2 & win-10 pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Hi,
Sure, not sure why you'd want to though.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2021
Messages
82 (0.24/day)
Oh i have a thermaltake 900 case that isnt aio compatible but I really like the lcd screen of the kraken z63 and and a bigger rad would be nice, cause of the room and glass I have, XD but ya So I can do it ThrashZone? theres no compatiblity issues I should worry about mix and matching so many differnt brands?
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
3,329 (5.11/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99 & Q9550 Old timer
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/EK Magnitude & Q9550 w/EK Evo
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth & Acer WG43M
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb & 4x2gb crucial
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming & Onboard graphic's need another gpu
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center/ 2 Test benches
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.1x2 & win-10 pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Hi,
Pump on an aio is in the water block/ lcd screen part
Just get the inlet/ outlet correct

The hosing has press on fittings so this will be fun or just use barb double male and clamps.

Brands don't matter.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2021
Messages
82 (0.24/day)
what is a press on fitting? and barb double male and clamps? (just wondering)

do you have an exsample of a double male barb?
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
3,329 (5.11/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99 & Q9550 Old timer
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/EK Magnitude & Q9550 w/EK Evo
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth & Acer WG43M
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb & 4x2gb crucial
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming & Onboard graphic's need another gpu
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center/ 2 Test benches
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.1x2 & win-10 pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Hi,
On the side of your water block these are press on fittings
1635426844013.png


Double male fittings are splices for soft tubing.

1635426921257.png
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2021
Messages
82 (0.24/day)
So I would stick in the doublesided barb into the press on fittings? or find a way to hook up the tubing to the presson fittings?

wait the presson fittings are attatched right? how would I attatch the new tubbing?
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
3,329 (5.11/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99 & Q9550 Old timer
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/EK Magnitude & Q9550 w/EK Evo
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth & Acer WG43M
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb & 4x2gb crucial
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming & Onboard graphic's need another gpu
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center/ 2 Test benches
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.1x2 & win-10 pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Hi,
You may not have the ghetto mod aptitude needed for this project after asking these last couple questions :)
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2021
Messages
82 (0.24/day)
It is weird I can't see any of the forums to post on the. In my web browser, anyways no no I'm just asking questions in general I am getting it done by someone who is going to do it for me but I am shopping around for advice and ideas from other people on how he's going to do it

Hence the questions on press fittings and double sided barbs just wondering in general what you mean on how it can be done,
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
3,329 (5.11/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99 & Q9550 Old timer
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/EK Magnitude & Q9550 w/EK Evo
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth & Acer WG43M
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb & 4x2gb crucial
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming & Onboard graphic's need another gpu
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center/ 2 Test benches
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.1x2 & win-10 pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Hi,
Don't worry about it since you're not doing it.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2021
Messages
82 (0.24/day)
Thanks for the advice atleast I know what I need to buy,

Still though could you explain it to me I am actually curious,
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2021
Messages
82 (0.24/day)
Anyone know what type of tubing it is for the kraken z63? i have to pick up the fittings for the guy thats doing it for me, and I am unsure what type i need to get, i called nzxt and they were pretty much like yeh we don't know and cant help you,
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
847 (0.20/day)
System Name Borg Cube
Processor R5 3600
Motherboard X470 Taichi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB @3800CL16
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64
Storage Silicon Power A80 1TB x2
Display(s) Samsung UE590
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z623
Power Supply LEADEX III
Mouse Cooler Master MM710
Keyboard Logi G105
Software 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://hwbot.org/user/damric/
It's fun to rip apart old AIOs and rebuild them. A lot of people say you can't but I haven't found one that was impossible yet. Not sure why you would pay someone to do it for you. At that point, just buy a new one or pay them to build you a $100 Ali Express loop.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2021
Messages
82 (0.24/day)
Its cause I have thermaltake 900 case and its not aio compatible, and i really like the lcd screen so I have extend the tubing for it to reach/fit where Its supposed to go in the back, thats sort of why I am asking, I am also picking up a bigger rad for it,

possibly I will make it a complete custom loop and just use the pump in the res combo but Yeh i just need to know the diameter of the tubing that is used in the kraken z63 I honestly have no clue
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2019
Messages
1,613 (1.53/day)
Location
Midlands, UK
System Name Nebulon-B Mk. 3
Processor Intel Core i7-11700 @ ASUS Optimized (200 W)
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming B560M-Plus (WiFi)
Cooling be quiet! Silent Loop 2
Memory 2x 8 GB Kinston Fury Beast 3200 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 Black
Storage 512 GB ADATA SU900, 1 TB Crucial P5, 1 TB Crucial P2, 1 TB Seagate Barracuda 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung C24F390, 7" Waveshare touchscreen
Case Corsair Crystal 280X black
Audio Device(s) Genius SP-HF160, AKG Y50
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 550W
Mouse Cherry MW 8
Keyboard MagicForce 68
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 multi core: 14,000, single core: 1,500. Superposition 1080p Extreme: 5,200.
Edit: Sorry, Google tricked me and I didn't read properly. Anyway, your case is more than big enough for any AIO. I don't understand why you'd want to ghetto mod yours.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 1, 2021
Messages
82 (0.24/day)
the mounting for said aio rad is in thje back of the case thing is theres no way to get it there without not only lengthening the tubing but also disconnecting/putting in the tubing with quick disconnects, its not size isnt the issue, its positioning really,

though im not sure on the diameter of the tubing i need for it, i found a post that says the x62 (earlyier version) used 3/4 tubing though i am not sure if its still the same in the z63
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2019
Messages
1,613 (1.53/day)
Location
Midlands, UK
System Name Nebulon-B Mk. 3
Processor Intel Core i7-11700 @ ASUS Optimized (200 W)
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming B560M-Plus (WiFi)
Cooling be quiet! Silent Loop 2
Memory 2x 8 GB Kinston Fury Beast 3200 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 Black
Storage 512 GB ADATA SU900, 1 TB Crucial P5, 1 TB Crucial P2, 1 TB Seagate Barracuda 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung C24F390, 7" Waveshare touchscreen
Case Corsair Crystal 280X black
Audio Device(s) Genius SP-HF160, AKG Y50
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 550W
Mouse Cherry MW 8
Keyboard MagicForce 68
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 multi core: 14,000, single core: 1,500. Superposition 1080p Extreme: 5,200.
the mounting for said aio rad is in thje back of the case thing is theres no way to get it there without not only lengthening the tubing but also disconnecting/putting in the tubing with quick disconnects, its not size isnt the issue, its positioning really,

though im not sure on the diameter of the tubing i need for it, i found a post that says the x62 (earlyier version) used 3/4 tubing though i am not sure if its still the same in the z63
Well, the product page says you can mount a 120/240/360 mm AIO ... at the HDD cage? :confused: Strange case, that's for sure. I would probably try to fit a 140 mm one on the top where the exhaust fan is, though that might not be enough, depending on what CPU you've got and how much you overclock it.

Sorry I couldn't help more. :(
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2021
Messages
82 (0.24/day)
you can fit a rad to be sure but you cant do an aio, theres no way for the cpu pump to fit through anything the closet thing it would go through would be the bottom hole (if angled right) and thats way at the bottom of the case and youd have to bring it all the way up to the motherboard and it most certainly wont reach hence why I have to pull it apart and lengthen the tubings so it can be ran from the bottom hole or even through one of the 6 cable ports just below the motherboard

unless you mean to mount it on the top of the front cage but then it would be horizontally mounted, which I thought was a bad thing for aio coolers?1
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2019
Messages
1,613 (1.53/day)
Location
Midlands, UK
System Name Nebulon-B Mk. 3
Processor Intel Core i7-11700 @ ASUS Optimized (200 W)
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming B560M-Plus (WiFi)
Cooling be quiet! Silent Loop 2
Memory 2x 8 GB Kinston Fury Beast 3200 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 Black
Storage 512 GB ADATA SU900, 1 TB Crucial P5, 1 TB Crucial P2, 1 TB Seagate Barracuda 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung C24F390, 7" Waveshare touchscreen
Case Corsair Crystal 280X black
Audio Device(s) Genius SP-HF160, AKG Y50
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 550W
Mouse Cherry MW 8
Keyboard MagicForce 68
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 multi core: 14,000, single core: 1,500. Superposition 1080p Extreme: 5,200.
you can fit a rad to be sure but you cant do an aio, theres no way for the cpu pump to fit through anything the closet thing it would go through would be the bottom hole (if angled right) and thats way at the bottom of the case and youd have to bring it all the way up to the motherboard and it most certainly wont reach hence why I have to pull it apart and lengthen the tubings so it can be ran from the bottom hole or even through one of the 6 cable ports just below the motherboard

unless you mean to mount it on the top of the front cage but then it would be horizontally mounted, which I thought was a bad thing for aio coolers?1
It's only bad if the pump is the highest point of the loop - which I guess it is, by looking at the pictures. :(

What I would do is either
- get a 140 mm AIO and try to fit it on the top where the exhaust fan goes, or
- get a new case.

I know it's not helpful in your situation. I just think destroying a perfectly good AIO just to fit it in a case is a waste. :(
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2021
Messages
82 (0.24/day)
Well, I found another option though its not as drastic but it might look alright, a guy at a company is going to help me out with some polycarbinate for replacing the side panel of glass so i can cut out the shape of the radiator and put holes in the polycarb to mount it on the side,
 
Top