• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Watercooling, Worth it ?

alleycat

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#1










Specs =
AMD 6000+ Black Edition OC to 3.5 ghz per core
4 gigs of OCZ 800 mhz ram OC to 1044 mhz
Gigabyte 3D Galaxy II Watercooling w/ 1/2 inch tubing
120 mm blue led fan X 4 (1 side pannel, 1 for rad, 1 back of case, 1 in front of case for HD)
600 Watt OCZ GameXStream SLI power-supply
20 speed LG DVD burner
EVGA 9600 GT clock OC to 775mhz from 665 (soon will have the 9800GTX)
1 TB WD Hard-Drive :toast:
22 inch Acer LCD monitor with a 2ms response time

My temps are =
Cpu - 26 degrese celcius - under load = 34 degrese celcius
Vid Card - 41 degrese celcius - under load = 51 degrese celcius
HD = 20 degrese celcius - under load = 25 degrese celcius

Ive been trying to get the coolest temps out of my watercooling as possible but i find that the rad that i have doesnt REALLY cool the liquid all that much and im trying to find an easier way to cool it then just the stock 120 mm fan that comes with it (NOISY FUCKER), i thought of taking off the fan and putting the rad in a container filled with cold water that way when the coolant goes threw the rad it will already be super cold. thanks in advance for all responses.
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
I moved your thread for you.:toast: What is your queston exactly? Your temps at 3.5ghz are pretty darn awesome!
 

alleycat

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#3
ya the kit i got is pretty good, ive been trying to get the temps a LITTLE lower to safely clock it a bit higher and was wondering if you had any ideas ?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#4
Well, with the temps you have you should have no problems pushing it more. But really, you may just want to go with a different kit. Perhaps going with a larger radiator and equipping two fans to it may yield the results you want.
 

alleycat

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#5
ya that was an option that i was considering, because il tell you they equiped it with a 120 mm fan which is good but it makes a STUPID ammount of noise so i was thinking maybe changing to a noctua fan but a dual fan would be able to fit more coolant at once AND have dual fans so it would probobly do the trick eh ?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#6
Probablly. You may want to try a different fan first since it's cheaper. I really like the Antec Tri-Cool fans, as they have a switch on them with three speed settngs. I think the highest setting is around 85 cfm.
 

alleycat

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#7
ok, we sell those at work so il check the pricing but that sounds pretty good, thanks for all your ideas and suggestions (Y)
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,786 (0.60/day)
Likes
435
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) between GPUs
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech PM MX / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores yes
#8
For the record, what's your room temperature?
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2005
Messages
4,640 (1.01/day)
Likes
415
Location
Toronto, Canada
System Name old school / new school
Processor 3.0e C0 @ 3.6 / e5200
Motherboard p4p800e-dlx / p5q-DLX
Cooling custom water see sig / air
Memory 2x1g oczPC4000EbPl / 2x2g ocz2rpr1066
Video Card(s) 3850AGP / 4890vaporX
Storage 36g raptor+120g wd / wd 1001fals 1tb
Display(s) BenQ / sharpAQUOS LC-37D64U
Case modded antec plusview / generic
Audio Device(s) audigy 2zs / ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3
Power Supply fan/cable modded powerstream 520 / OCZ 700mxsp
Software Xp pro SP2 / VISTA ultimate OEM
#9
sorry to burst your bubble but your temp readings are off, that kit cannot dissipate that amount of heat.

sorry.

nice rig though :rockout:

:toast:
 

alleycat

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#10
intel igent, i can take a screenshot for you if you do not believe me because those are my temps
 

alleycat

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#12
and largon, i cannot tell you what my rooms temps are but there is no window or ventilation in the room (its the basement) its not overly warm or anything but id say its average room temperature but with no ventilation
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,980 (1.39/day)
Likes
788
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor 6700K Skylake
Motherboard ASRock Z170 OC Formula
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 2x8GB DDR4 3400
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA ACX 2.0 Superclocked GTX 980 ti SLI'd
Storage 2TB Samsung 850 Pro , 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1150 with logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G500 Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win7 x64 Professional
#13
and largon, i cannot tell you what my rooms temps are but there is no window or ventilation in the room (its the basement) its not overly warm or anything but id say its average room temperature but with no ventilation
When you have cpuz up and HardwareMonitor etc. and prime95 "torture test" running for an hour "then a screenshot", and then he will be sure you are not getting the wrong info. ;)

Just a temp picture doesn't prove its OC'ed at the time.:)
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2007
Messages
669 (0.17/day)
Likes
53
Location
Eugene
System Name Foobox3000
Processor Core 2 Duo 36750@3.46ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-G33M-DS2R
Memory 2gb (2x1gb) Crucial Ballistix Tracer
Video Card(s) EVGA 9800gtx
Storage 500gb 7200prm IDE
Display(s) Sceptre 19"
Case Apevia X-Qpack 2 Red
Power Supply 500w Apevia generic
#14
It wasn't a question of whether you were making it up/reading it wrong, he just was saying your temp readings were wrong. I have to disagree with him because I'm running a E6750 on air @ 3.64ghz and getting 28C idle 38C load.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,980 (1.39/day)
Likes
788
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor 6700K Skylake
Motherboard ASRock Z170 OC Formula
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 2x8GB DDR4 3400
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA ACX 2.0 Superclocked GTX 980 ti SLI'd
Storage 2TB Samsung 850 Pro , 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1150 with logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G500 Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win7 x64 Professional
#15
It wasn't a question of whether you were making it up/reading it wrong, he just was saying your temp readings were wrong. I have to disagree with him because I'm running a E6750 on air @ 3.64ghz and getting 28C idle 38C load.

Must be special air. :laugh:
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,786 (0.60/day)
Likes
435
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) between GPUs
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech PM MX / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores yes
#16
There's something awry here. That HD idle temp means your ambients are <<20ºC, CPU load temp is wayyy too low for the pre-built water kit with a 3.5GHz X2 that pumps out >160W.

Btw, what vCore for 3.5GHz?
CPU-Z screenshot?
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,980 (1.39/day)
Likes
788
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor 6700K Skylake
Motherboard ASRock Z170 OC Formula
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 2x8GB DDR4 3400
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA ACX 2.0 Superclocked GTX 980 ti SLI'd
Storage 2TB Samsung 850 Pro , 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1150 with logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G500 Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win7 x64 Professional
#17
There's something awry here. That HD idle temp means your ambients are <<20ºC, CPU load temp is wayyy too low for the pre-built water kit with a 3.5GHz X2 that pumps out >160W.

Btw, what vCore for 3.5GHz?
CPU-Z screenshot?

The computer sits in a meat freezer.:laugh: j/k
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2007
Messages
669 (0.17/day)
Likes
53
Location
Eugene
System Name Foobox3000
Processor Core 2 Duo 36750@3.46ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-G33M-DS2R
Memory 2gb (2x1gb) Crucial Ballistix Tracer
Video Card(s) EVGA 9800gtx
Storage 500gb 7200prm IDE
Display(s) Sceptre 19"
Case Apevia X-Qpack 2 Red
Power Supply 500w Apevia generic
#18
No but I do think it helps that I'm using a SFF case. I have one 120mm exhaust and 80mm intake that are about 8 inches from eachother so theres almost no room for trapped air.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,980 (1.39/day)
Likes
788
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor 6700K Skylake
Motherboard ASRock Z170 OC Formula
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 2x8GB DDR4 3400
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA ACX 2.0 Superclocked GTX 980 ti SLI'd
Storage 2TB Samsung 850 Pro , 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1150 with logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G500 Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win7 x64 Professional
#19
No but I do think it helps that I'm using a SFF case. I have one 120mm exhaust and 80mm intake that are about 8 inches from eachother so theres almost no room for trapped air.
I was just being playful. I know you are telling the truth. ;)
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
564 (0.14/day)
Likes
97
Location
QLD, Australia
Processor i7 7820X (undervolted)
Motherboard MSI X299M Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory Corsair Vengance 3400MHz (4 x 8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti 11GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO NVMe M.2 500GB + Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Display(s) AOC U3277PWQU 32in 4K
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv mATX TG
Audio Device(s) Onboard - SPDIF Out - Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair HX850i 850W
Mouse Razer Mamba Chroma
Keyboard Corsair Gaming Strafe RGB Cherry MX Silent
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#20
Have you got a thermometer? Room temperature is important as obviously water alone can not bring the temps down past ambient. I would assume that the room temps are fairly cool with those readings as long as the readings are a true indication. What aare your system temps then?
 

alleycat

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#21
i could probably get a thermometer but the room temperature's change alot, would it help if i aimed a fan at the computer/radiator ? (like a household cooling fan)