• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

WCG Tech Assistance Thread

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.79/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#1
As the title states, any issues or tech assistance that you need related to WCG, post it here. :toast:

***BIG THANKS TO KieX for the idea :toast:
 

Pembo210

New Member
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
98 (0.04/day)
Likes
62
Location
Lakeland, FL
System Name Pembo-Asus
Processor Core i7-990x @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D Premium X58
Memory 12GB Corsair XMS 1600MHz (6x2048)
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX470 1280MB Fermi - GTS 250 1GB
Storage 1GB Seagate SataIII x2 RAID0, Seagate 1TB, WD 2TB, WD 320GB
Display(s) Dell G2410 24" 1920x1080 | Dell 22" 1050x1680
Case Ultra M923 Full Tower ATX
Power Supply Ultra LSP750 X4 750w Modular
Software Win 7 x64 Ult | Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit
#2
:cool:

I asked this in the "Crunchers helping Crunchers" one, didn't get a response...

Help!:confused:

When I open BOINC and then open the Prefs, it opens that window on my screen to the side(Monitor2). Even when I disable Monitor 2 it still opens there. I can see a tiny slit of the window on the right side of Mon 1 but i cant grab it or "right-click -> Move" from the taskbar. I have to enable Mon 2 just to close/move the window:mad:. I can't do anything with BOINC until that Prefs window is closed.:banghead:

Is there a Reg entry or something that will make it open on Mon1?
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#3
Have you tried restarting? If so, can you uninstall & reinstall BOINC?
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.79/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#4
Try to open it and dragging it to monitor 1. After you do that shut down BOINC completely then open it back up and see if it now comes out on monitor 1.
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#5
Ohhh that's a good idea.....
 

Pembo210

New Member
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
98 (0.04/day)
Likes
62
Location
Lakeland, FL
System Name Pembo-Asus
Processor Core i7-990x @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D Premium X58
Memory 12GB Corsair XMS 1600MHz (6x2048)
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX470 1280MB Fermi - GTS 250 1GB
Storage 1GB Seagate SataIII x2 RAID0, Seagate 1TB, WD 2TB, WD 320GB
Display(s) Dell G2410 24" 1920x1080 | Dell 22" 1050x1680
Case Ultra M923 Full Tower ATX
Power Supply Ultra LSP750 X4 750w Modular
Software Win 7 x64 Ult | Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit
#6
Have you tried restarting? If so, can you uninstall & reinstall BOINC?
Oh yeah. Restart, enable/disable monitors, make another monitor my primary monitor, opening and closing the BOINC windows from different monitors....

It always opens that Prefs window to the right where I cant grab it unless I have that monitor enabled/on.
 

Pembo210

New Member
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
98 (0.04/day)
Likes
62
Location
Lakeland, FL
System Name Pembo-Asus
Processor Core i7-990x @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D Premium X58
Memory 12GB Corsair XMS 1600MHz (6x2048)
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX470 1280MB Fermi - GTS 250 1GB
Storage 1GB Seagate SataIII x2 RAID0, Seagate 1TB, WD 2TB, WD 320GB
Display(s) Dell G2410 24" 1920x1080 | Dell 22" 1050x1680
Case Ultra M923 Full Tower ATX
Power Supply Ultra LSP750 X4 750w Modular
Software Win 7 x64 Ult | Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit
#7
Try to open it and dragging it to monitor 1. After you do that shut down BOINC completely then open it back up and see if it now comes out on monitor 1.
Will try at lunch time... Im at work right now
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#8
Oh yeah. Restart, enable/disable monitors, make another monitor my primary monitor, opening and closing the BOINC windows from different monitors....

It always opens that Prefs window to the right where I cant grab it unless I have that monitor enabled/on.
Very strange, in that case I'd definitely try CP's suggestion.
Will try at lunch time... Im at work right now
TY, keep us posted :)
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.79/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#9
Let us know how it goes dude.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
2,406 (0.82/day)
Likes
2,460
Location
London, UK
System Name Slick
Processor Intel i5 2467M
Motherboard Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook
Memory 8GB Corsair Value
Storage Crucial M4 7mm 256GB
Display(s) 13"
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#10
I very embarrasingly posted this on the wrong TPU thread today :slap::rolleyes:

I think I found the key relating to where BOINC manager opens the window in registry. Although I don't really know much about editing things in there so someone else may be able to help:

Code:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Space Sciences Laboratory, U.C. Berkeley\BOINC Manager
You have two values corresponding to window coordinates: XPos and YPos. Maybe you are missing these entries and it's why it's not saving where you close the window. If you do have them I guess I'm all out of ideas.
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#11
Not so sure about editing hex codes, but here you go:
 

Pembo210

New Member
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
98 (0.04/day)
Likes
62
Location
Lakeland, FL
System Name Pembo-Asus
Processor Core i7-990x @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D Premium X58
Memory 12GB Corsair XMS 1600MHz (6x2048)
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX470 1280MB Fermi - GTS 250 1GB
Storage 1GB Seagate SataIII x2 RAID0, Seagate 1TB, WD 2TB, WD 320GB
Display(s) Dell G2410 24" 1920x1080 | Dell 22" 1050x1680
Case Ultra M923 Full Tower ATX
Power Supply Ultra LSP750 X4 750w Modular
Software Win 7 x64 Ult | Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit
#12
Try to open it and dragging it to monitor 1. After you do that shut down BOINC completely then open it back up and see if it now comes out on monitor 1.

Chicken Patty Nailed it! :respect:

I moved my Prefs window to the middle of Mon1, closed that window then went to the tray icon, right click -> Exit, then relaunched BOINC. Now both windows open in the middle of Mon 1 :toast:

I just got back to work. I'll look more into the Reg entries when i'm messing around later.
(It looks like it has a default skin, we might be able to create custom TPU skins for the BOINC manger)


Edit: There is a way..here - New link
 
Last edited:

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#13
Excellent, I'm very glad to hear that you have it resolved!
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
2,406 (0.82/day)
Likes
2,460
Location
London, UK
System Name Slick
Processor Intel i5 2467M
Motherboard Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook
Memory 8GB Corsair Value
Storage Crucial M4 7mm 256GB
Display(s) 13"
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#14
Glad it got sorted :rockout:

Nice find on the skin thing too. TPU definitely deserves it's own gonna PM t77 in case he can use his firefox one as a basis.
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.79/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#15
Can you tell I speak from experience. I have three monitors LOL. things disappear every now and then LOL.
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#16
Multiple monitors can be great but they can also be a huge pain in the ass :p
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.79/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#17
Multiple monitors can be great but they can also be a huge pain in the ass :p
Yeah, they give their little issues here and there, but I will not get rid of them. :)