• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

WD Velociraptor speed problem

Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#1
I have a problem with this drive as you can see in the picture, HD Tune gives me the same result. When I first got the drive, it was fine, the maximum read speed was around 145-150 mb/s minimum 80 mb/s, that was on Vista with the Bios set to IDE as I got no performance increase with the AHCI setting plus the computer would take ages to boot; I then installed Windows 7 and got this speed of 100 mb/s, I since installed Vista back and still got the same problem. I've tried different Sata ports but nothing happened. :confused: Any ideas? Thanks to everybody in advanced.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#2
I have a problem with this drive as you can see in the picture, HD Tune gives me the same result. When I first got the drive, it was fine, the maximum read speed was around 145-150 mb/s minimum 80 mb/s, that was on Vista with the Bios set to IDE as I got no performance increase with the AHCI setting plus the computer would take ages to boot; I then installed Windows 7 and got this speed of 100 mb/s, I since installed Vista back and still got the same problem. I've tried different Sata ports but nothing happened. :confused: Any ideas? Thanks to everybody in advanced.
use a better program... such as ATTO to benchmark.



perhaps you have Anti virii or somthing like that running in the background....
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
496 (0.18/day)
Likes
45
Location
Portsmouth,UK
Processor Core i7 950 @ 4.025GHz 1.3125V
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Extreme
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory G.SKill PI Silver Edition 6GB Kit 1600MHz 3- Channel (@1403MHz 7-7-7-20)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 480 835 Core/1670 Shader/1900 Memory
Storage Primary: Velociraptor 300GB,Secondary:Caviar Black 500GB,External:WD Elements 500GB ,SG 300GB
Display(s) LG W2261VP 22" full HD LCD @ 1920 x 1080 via HDMI
Case HAF 932 default fan setup + 120mm Akasa Apache + 2 x 120mm Noctua NF-P12 Vortex
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark Vantage GPU:21754 / CPU:66169 / Total:P26141 3dMark11 P5857
#3
When I first got the drive, it was fine, the maximum read speed was around 145-150 mb/s minimum 80 mb/s
Uuhmm,are you certain about that speeds?Cos I have WD Velociraptor which is newer and faster that its older brother WD Raptor.and from the very beginnig my speed reaches maximum of 120 mb/s.

EDIT:Im confused now,in your specs you mention Velociraptor,but in your thread its Raptor.so which one you have?

EDIT 2: Here is my result in the same program,I had to run it in XP compatibility mode though..I dont like the curve,what can you read from it?something wrong?
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#4
afaik.... the 600GB velociraptor is the fastest and newest witch is whats in his specs and in the screenshot.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#5
ATTO made no difference. :(
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#6
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#7
Uuhmm,are you certain about that speeds?Cos I have WD Velociraptor which is newer and faster that its older brother WD Raptor.and from the very beginnig my speed reaches maximum of 120 mb/s.
This one reached 148 mb/s when I first installed it
EDIT:Im confused now,in your specs you mention Velociraptor,but in your thread its Raptor.so which one you have?
Sorry, it's this one
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/600-gb-western-digital-wd6000hlhx-velociraptor-sata-6gb-s-10000rpm-32mb-cache-42-ms
afaik.... the 600GB velociraptor is the fastest and newest witch is whats in his specs and in the screenshot.
You're right but my drive's not working now as it was one month ago. :cry:
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#8
idk... perhaps its a south bridge driver issue... its very unlikely however.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#9
Uuhmm,are you certain about that speeds?Cos I have WD Velociraptor which is newer and faster that its older brother WD Raptor.and from the very beginnig my speed reaches maximum of 120 mb/s.

EDIT:Im confused now,in your specs you mention Velociraptor,but in your thread its Raptor.so which one you have?

EDIT 2: Here is my result in the same program,I had to run it in XP compatibility mode though..I dont like the curve,what can you read from it?something wrong?
That drive is fine, nothing wrong with it.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
496 (0.18/day)
Likes
45
Location
Portsmouth,UK
Processor Core i7 950 @ 4.025GHz 1.3125V
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Extreme
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory G.SKill PI Silver Edition 6GB Kit 1600MHz 3- Channel (@1403MHz 7-7-7-20)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 480 835 Core/1670 Shader/1900 Memory
Storage Primary: Velociraptor 300GB,Secondary:Caviar Black 500GB,External:WD Elements 500GB ,SG 300GB
Display(s) LG W2261VP 22" full HD LCD @ 1920 x 1080 via HDMI
Case HAF 932 default fan setup + 120mm Akasa Apache + 2 x 120mm Noctua NF-P12 Vortex
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark Vantage GPU:21754 / CPU:66169 / Total:P26141 3dMark11 P5857
#10
That drive is fine, nothing wrong with it.
but your sequential read curve is nice and constant,while mine is dramatically droping in the cesond half of the graph..anyways I'd like to help you,but nothing coming up in my mind atm,but try to google the issue with the right key words and maybe something usefull comes up.good luck
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#11
Uuhmm,are you certain about that speeds?Cos I have WD Velociraptor which is newer and faster that its older brother WD Raptor.and from the very beginnig my speed reaches maximum of 120 mb/s.

EDIT:Im confused now,in your specs you mention Velociraptor,but in your thread its Raptor.so which one you have?

EDIT 2: Here is my result in the same program,I had to run it in XP compatibility mode though..I dont like the curve,what can you read from it?something wrong?


the 300GB drive is not quite as fast as the 600GB drive. most drives will start to slow down as the head reaches towards the inner tracks.... there are less sectors? to read to a revolution of the platter.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#12
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#13
Forgot to mention that recently I added another GTX 480 and a second drive http://www.scan.co.uk/products/320gb-samsung-hd322gj-spinpoint-f4-sata-3gb-s-7200rpm-16mb-cache-89-ms-ncq which by the way is faster than the Velociraptor. The Samsung is not in the computer right now. Any thoughts?
the samsung drive should be slower then the raptor... it might have a slightly higher throughput but latency will also be much higher.




what drive is your OS installed on?
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#14
but your sequential read curve is nice and constant,while mine is dramatically droping in the cesond half of the graph..anyways I'd like to help you,but nothing coming up in my mind atm,but try to google the issue with the right key words and maybe something usefull comes up.good luck
That's the problem, the sequential read curve used to be like yours but starting around 150 mb/s now it's a constant 100 mb/s Access time hasn't changed though.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#15
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,479 (1.26/day)
Likes
1,028
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#16
Here is my 300GB Velociraptor benchmark.
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,455 (1.07/day)
Likes
708
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#17
So what system drivers are you using from nVidia?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,103 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,258
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#18
my guess is that this is his boot drive which will never reliably give you its speed as things are constantly running regarless of how many programs/services you disable.

so the benchmarks are going to be less reliable than actually seeing how long it takes to boot, load a game, etc. as compared to before the issue started.

velociraptors should vary between 120 and 160 MB/s read. 80 is retardedly slow, that's what my RaptorX runs at. But again synthetics aren't going to be reliable on a boot drive. if you had a raid 0 array or ssd I'd say try a file transfer but single drive to single drive is going to be conclusive.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#19
So what system drivers are you using from nVidia?
Latest.
my guess is that this is his boot drive which will never reliably give you its speed as things are constantly running regarless of how many programs/services you disable.

so the benchmarks are going to be less reliable than actually seeing how long it takes to boot, load a game, etc. as compared to before the issue started.

velociraptors should vary between 120 and 160 MB/s read. 80 is retardedly slow, that's what my RaptorX runs at. But again synthetics aren't going to be reliable on a boot drive. if you had a raid 0 array or ssd I'd say try a file transfer but single drive to single drive is going to be conclusive.
As I said before, the drive reached the speed seeing on the reviews but one decided to reach only 100 mb/s flat. I just a had crash (while writing this post) and on reboot a black screen said windows needed to check the hard drive which is the only one in the system; I think it's RMA time, I just did a fresh/clean windows install last week and don't want to do another one (install updates and programs) How can I transfer everything from my WD to my Samsung? Is it possible? Never had to do something like this before. All in all I'm very dissapointing with this drive, the sammy is just as fast, except for the access time and way cheaper. :shadedshu
 

Attachments

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,025
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#20
Have you error checked the drive? Have you tried different SATA ports? I'm thinking the drive itself has a problem.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#21
Have you error checked the drive? Have you tried different SATA ports? I'm thinking the drive itself has a problem.
I did and I'm sure the drive has a problem; I'm going to try on my second computer and if I get the same results I'll RMA it; now after cloning the drive how can I format/delete it properly if you know what I mean; it's not like I have important documents or anything but I'll like to RMA the drive with nothing on it.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,025
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#22
Run-->Type: CMD

at the prompt type: format Z:

Z: = Drive you want to format

Or, after you clone the drive over, just format it by right clicking on it and select format.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#23
Is Ghost the best program? any other that I should know?
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#24
Well, I put the drive in my other system, a three year old lga775 socket motherboard and what do you know? the drive works fine so I guess the problem now shifts to the motherboard then.
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,103 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,258
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#25
Well, I put the drive in my other system, a three year old lga775 socket motherboard and what do you know? the drive works fine so I guess the problem now shifts to the motherboard then.
a couple things to consider

1. I'm guessing you're 775 rig has a seperate boot drive, believe me it makes a huge difference in synthetics

2. your other drive works fine in your mobo

3. your mobo has 4 blue sata's and 1 black, which did you have the vraptor plugged into?

if the issue is the mobo I'd recomend looking into a raid controller providing nothing else is wrong. much less hassle in the long run. (especially if you're running raid)

but if you can try booting up the vraptor as secondary in your primary rig just too check.